فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / الجغرافيا / المدن / مدينة غزة

مدينة غزة

مدينة غزة هي أكبر مركز سكاني في فلسطين، مع ما يقارب من نصف مليون نسمة. وهذه نتيجة مباشرة لتدفق أعداد كبيرة من اللاجئين عام 1948. تقع المدينة على هضبة، على بعد 5 كم في الداخل، ولكنها اندمجت تماماً مع الميناء الذي يحمل اسمها خلال القرن العشرين.

تقع غزة على الطريق التجاري القديم الذي يمتد من مصر عبر البحر المتوسط  إلى سوريا وبعد ذلك إلى العربية. وإثر هذه الاتصالات التجارية، تواجد العرب في غزة قبل وقت طويل من وصول الفاتحين العرب والإسلام في القرن السابع. وكان من بينهم الجد الأكبر للنبي محمد، هاشم بن عبد مناف، تاجر بارز، حيث يقع قبره في مسجد السيد هاشم في غزة.

في الوقت نفسه، خدم الطريق التجاري كجسر بري عبرته جيوش عدة تابعة لإمبراطوريات كانت إما في أوجها أو في انحدارها – إلى الداخل أكثر، كانوا يواجهون نقصاً سريعاً في مياه الشرب. وعلى هذا النحو، تمت محاصرة غزة والاستيلاء عليها عدة مرات في تاريخها الطويل، وبالتالي تضررت بشدة في مناسبات عديدة، وسكانها إما أن قتلوا أو طردوا من المدينة. بسبب موقعها الاستراتيجي، كانت غزة – والتي كانت مسورة يوماً – كمدينة حامية.

في وقت لاحق من التاريخ، جاء الغزاة من أوروبا أيضاً. وهكذا سقطت غزة المتضررة والمقصوفة بشدة في يد الإمبراطور الفرنسي نابليون بونابرت عام 1799، وبعد أكثر من قرن، في يد أتباع الجنرال البريطاني إدوارد اللنبي عام 1917 بعد حصار استمر ثمانية أشهر. ووقعت غزة تحت سيطرة مصر بين عامي 1948 و 1967. ومنذ ذلك الحين احتلتها إسرائيل – بضمها عام 2005. ونتيجة لذلك تم تعطيل الهيكل الاجتماعي والاقتصادي لغزة تماماً.

لكن هناك جانب آخر للقصة، ففي أوقات السلم والاستقرار كانت غزة ميناء مزدهراً، وأيضاً مركزاً للثقافة والمثقفين، ومنذ السنوات الأخيرة للإمبراطورية العثمانية كانت واحدة من حصون فلسطين الفكرية والسياسية والقومية.

المسجد الكبير في غزة أوائل القرن العشرين
المسجد الكبير في غزة أوائل القرن العشرين
المسجد الكبير
المسجد الكبير
أفق مدينة غزة Photo Fanack
أفق مدينة غزة Photo Fanack
سيارة أجرة في غزة Photo Fanack
سيارة أجرة في غزة Photo Fanack
ميناء غزة Photo Fanack
ميناء غزة Photo Fanack
شاطئ غزة Photo Fanack
شاطئ غزة Photo Fanack
شاحنات على معبر حدود غزة مع إسرائيل Photo Fanack
شاحنات على معبر حدود غزة مع إسرائيل Photo Fanack
مبنى التلفزيون المدمر Photo Fanack
مبنى التلفزيون المدمر Photo Fanack

 

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Geography of Palestine / Cities / Gaza City

Gaza City

Gaza City is the largest population centre in Palestine, with almost half a million inhabitants. This is a direct result of the massive influx of refugees in 1948. The city is located on a hill, five kilometres inland, but completely merged with the eponymous port in the course of the 20th century.

Gaza (Ghazza) lies on the ancient trade route running from Egypt via the Mediterranean coast to Syria and further into Arabia. Following from these trade contacts, Arabs were present in Gaza long before the arrival of Arab conquerors and Islam in the 7th century. Among those Arabs was Prophet Muhammad’s great-grandfather, Hashim ibn Abd Manaf, a prominent tradesman, whose grave is located in the Sayyid Hashim Mosque in Gaza.

At the same time, the trade route also served as a land bridge crossed by a series of armies belonging to empires either on the rise or in decline. Further inland, they would soon have been confronted with a shortage of drinking water. As such, Gaza has been besieged and captured many times in her long history, and thus has been heavily damaged on numerous occasions, and her population either killed or driven from the city. Because of her strategic position, Gaza – once walled in – has often served as a garrison town.

Later in history, conquerors also came from Europe. Thus, in 1799, a heavily damaged and battered Gaza fell into the hands of the French emperor Napoleon Bonaparte, and, more than a century later, it was taken by the British general Edward Allenby (1917), after a siege which lasted for eight months. Between 1948 and 1967, Gaza came under the control of Egypt. It has since been occupied by Israel – since 2005 indirectly. As a result, Gaza’s socio-economic structure has been totally disrupted.

However, there is another side to the story. In times of peace and stability, Gaza was a flourishing port. It was also a centre of education, frequented by intellectuals – and from the latter years of the Turkish-Ottoman Empire, was one of Palestine’s political-intellectual and nationalistic bulwarks.

Great Mosque in Gaza City early 20th century
Great Mosque in Gaza City early 20th century
Great Mosque
Great Mosque
Gaza City skyline / Photo Fanack
Gaza City skyline / Photo Fanack
Gaza taxi / Photo Fanack
Gaza taxi / Photo Fanack
Gaza harbour / Photo Fanack
Gaza harbour / Photo Fanack
Gaza beach / Photo Fanack
Gaza beach / Photo Fanack
Destroyed TV building / Photo Fanack
Destroyed TV building / Photo Fanack
Trucks at the Gaza-Israeli border crossing / Photo Fanack
Trucks at the Gaza-Israeli border crossing / Photo Fanack
image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.