فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / الجغرافيا / المدن / القدس

القدس

القدس هي المدينة الأبرز في الضفة الغربية. والاسم مشتق من العبرية أورشليم، عاصمة المملكة اليهودية يوماً ما. ويدعو المسلمون المدينة بيت المقدس (المدينة المقدسة) أو باختصار القدس. نشأت المنزلة الشهيرة للقدس من المسجد الأقصى ومسجد قبة الصخرة. ويقع كل منهما في الموقع المسمى بالحرم الشريف، هضبة مسورة في المدينة القديمة. تشبهاً بالنبي محمد، اتجه أتباعه في البداية نحو القدس خلال صلواتهم اليومية، وبعد ذلك، حوّل النبي محمد قبلة الصلاة نحو مكة المكرمة.

في الإسلام، تعتبر القدس مكاناً مقدساً نتيجة لإسراء النبي إلى السماء من صخرة الحرم الشريف، المكان الثالث الأكثر أهمية بعد مكة المكرمة والمدينة المنورة (في شبه الجزيرة العربية). بعد الفتح العربي لفلسطين، أمر ثاني الخلفاء الراشدين (خليفة النبي محمد) عمر بن الخطاب ببناء المسجد الأقصى عام 638 م، في الموقع الذي يفترض بأن النبي صلى فيه. عام 690، استبدل الخليفة الأموي الخامس عبد الملك بن مروان البناء بآخر أكثر استدامة، كما أمر ببناء قبة الصخرة.

في العصور القديمة، كان الهيكلان اليهوديان الأول والثاني يقعان في نفس الموقع. تم تدمير الهيكل اليهودي الثاني على يد الرومان عام 70 م. ويعتبر اليهود المتدينون الحائط الغربي – المعروف أكثر باسم حائط المبكى – هو البقية الباقية من الهيكل اليهودي الثاني. وعلى هذا النحو يكون الموقع الأكثر قدسية بالنسبة لهم. أمام حائط المبكى ساحة كبيرة – موقع مميز في مثل هذه المدينة القديمة. وقد تم تشييدها مباشرة بعد احتلال إسرائيل للمدينة عام 1967 وتم تجريف حي المغربي الفلسطيني في العملية. وقد أعطي الـ 650 مواطناً هناك مدة ثلاث ساعات لأخذ أمتعتهم.

يطلق السكان اليهود على الحرم الشريف اسم جبل الهيكل. شيد الإمبراطور الروماني يوستنيان كنيسة القديسة مريم على الهضبة، والتي سويت بالأرض خلال غزو الفرس عام 614 م.

تعتبر القدس بالنسبة للمسيحيين أيضاً مكاناً مقدساً. فقد بنيت كنيسة القيامة في المكان الذي يزعم بأن المسيح صُلب فيه ودُفن وقام. إلى جانب كنيسة المهد في بيت لحم المجاورة، تعتبر هذه الكنيسة أهم موقع للحج المسيحي في العالم. ويمر طريق الآلام، وهو الطريق الذي يقال بأن يسوع سار فيه في طريقه إلى الصلب، عبر المدينة القديمة. ويوجد خارج المدينة مباشرة العديد من الأماكن المقدسة المذكورة في الكتاب المقدس، مثل جبل الزيتون وبستان جثسماني. وقد ظهرت في البلدة القديمة أربع مناطق مع مرور الزمن: حي المسيحيين والأرمن والمسلمين واليهود.

القدس: مدينة مقسمة

اضغط للتكبير
اضغط للتكبير

تم تقسيم مدينة القدس منذ حرب 1948-1949، عندما استحوذت إسرائيل على النصف الغربي من المدينة، بينما الأردن على النصف الشرقي منها، بما في ذلك المدينة القديمة مع أماكنها المقدسة والسوق الكبير. وخلال حرب حزيران عام 1967، احتلت إسرائيل القدس الشرقية. وأدى الاحتلال إلى ضمها في 28 حزيران/يونيو عام 1967. وأعلنت القدس في وقت لاحق عاصمة لدولة إسرائيل الأبدية غير القابلة للانقسام. وفي الوقت نفسه، تم توسيع الحدود البلدية فعلياً إلى كل من الشمال والشرق والجنوب. وبالتالي ضمت إسرائيل 64 كم2 إضافياً، بالإضافة إلى 6 كم2 من القدس الشرقية.

في ذلك الوقت، أدان المجتمع الدولي ضم القدس الشرقية، على سبيل المثال في قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 252. ونقلت بعض البلدان سفاراتها من القدس الغربية إلى تل أبيب تعبيراً عن استنكارهم لذلك. وحذت دول أخرى حذوها بعد ضم إسرائيل للقدس الشرقية بشكل رسمي عام 1980.

منذ عام 1967، ظهرت سلسلة من المستوطنات اليهودية حول القدس الشرقية في محاولة لتعزيز قبضة إسرائيل على المدينة ومنع النمو الطبيعي للقدس الشرقية الفلسطينية. وتشمل هذه المستوطنات، من بين غيرها (من الشمال إلى الجنوب)، جبعات زئيف، رامات ألون، بسجات زئيف، رامات شلوما، هار حوماه، جيلو. وقد تم فرض نفس السياسة النشطة في المدينة القديمة: فمنازل الفلسطينيين إما تم مصادرتها أو بيعها من قبل نصّابين فلسطينيين أو مسؤولين فاسدين، وبالتالي تم تخصيصها لمستوطنين يهود. ومنذ تطبيق تدابير تقييدية للغاية عام 1993، وبشكل خاص منذ إقامة الجدار مع “معابره الحدودية” الرهيبة، أصبحت القدس الشرقية في الواقع غير قابلة للوصول إليها بشكل أو بآخر بالنسبة للفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية، والذين أصبحت المدينة بالنسبة لهم، كما كانت، تقع في بلد أجنبي. ونتيجة لذلك، تم فصل الفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية عن مركزهم الديني الروحي كما عن الخدمات الصحية وغيرها من الخدمات في القدس الشرقية.

مستوطنات يهودية في القدس على خارطة 3500 بكسل، في أيار/مايو 2006، توزيع وكالة الاستخبارات المركزية (CIA) في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

الرابط الأصلي: memory.loc.gov

حرم الشريف Photo HH
حرم الشريف Photo HH
حي المغاربة أمام حائط المبكى، قبل تدميره عام 1967
حي المغاربة أمام حائط المبكى، قبل تدميره عام 1967
المسجد الأقصى Photo Fanack
المسجد الأقصى Photo Fanack
كنيسة القيامة Photo Fanack
كنيسة القيامة Photo Fanack
حائط المبكى Photo Fanack
حائط المبكى Photo Fanack
بوابة دمشق Photo Fanack
بوابة دمشق Photo Fanack
مبنى يهودي في المدينة القديمة Photo Fanack
مبنى يهودي في المدينة القديمة Photo Fanack
المدينة القديمة Photo Fanack
المدينة القديمة Photo Fanack


” width=”980″ height=”980″> <!–

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Geography of Palestine / Cities / Jerusalem/al-Quds

Jerusalem/al-Quds

The most prominent city in the West Bank is Jerusalem. The name derives from the Hebrew Yerushalayim, once the capital of a Jewish kingdom. Muslims call the city al-Bayt al-Muqaddas or Bayt al-Maqdis (Holy City), or, in short, al-Quds (the Holy One). Jerusalem’s prominent status is founded upon the Aqsa Mosque (al-Masjid al-Aqsa; the Farthest Mosque) and the Dome of the Rock (Masjid Qubbat al-Sakhra). Both are situated on the site known as the Haram al-Sharif (Sacred Noble Sanctuary), a walled plateau in the Old City. Emulating the Prophet Muhammad, his followers initially faced the direction of Jerusalem during their daily prayers. Later, Muhammad diverted the direction of prayer (qibla) towards Mecca. Within Islam, al-Quds is regarded a holy place as a result of the Prophet’s Night Journey to the heavens ascending from the rock of the Haram al-Sharif – the third most important place, after Mecca and Medina (in the Arab Peninsula). After the Arab conquest of Palestine, the second caliph (successor to the Prophet Muhammad), Umar ibn al-Khattab, commissioned the construction of the Aqsa Mosque in 638 CE on the spot where the Prophet supposedly prayed. In 690, the fifth Umayyad caliph, Abd al-Malik ibn Marwan, replaced the building with a more permanent structure. He also commissioned the construction of the Dome of the Rock.

In antiquity, the First and Second Jewish Temple were located in the same place. The Second Jewish Temple was destroyed by the Romans in 70 CE. Religious Jews regard the Western Wall (HaKotel HaMa’aravi) – better known as the Wailing Wall – as the last remnant of the Second Jewish Temple; as such, it is their most sacred site. In front of the Wailing Wall is a large square – a remarkable sight in such an ancient city. It was constructed directly after the city was taken by Israel in 1967. The Palestinian Mughrabi (Moroccan) quarter was bulldozed in the process. The 650 inhabitants were allowed only three hours to pack their belongings.

The Haram al-Sharif is called the Temple Mount by the Jewish inhabitants (Har HaBayith). The Roman (Byzantine) emperor Justinian erected the Church of St. Mary on the plateau, which was razed to the ground by invading Persians in 614.

For Christians, too, Jerusalem is a sacred city. The Church of the Holy Sepulchre was built on the spot where Jesus of Nazareth was purportedly crucified (Calvary or Golgotha), buried, and resurrected. Together with the Church of the Nativity in neighbouring Bethlehem, this church is the most important Christian site of pilgrimage in the world. The Via Dolorosa, the route which Jesus is said to have walked on the way to his crucifixion, runs through the Old City. Just outside the Old City are many places mentioned in the Bible, such as the Mount of Olives (Jabal al-Zaytun) and Gethsemane. In the Old City, four neighbourhoods have arisen over the course of history: a Christian, Armenian, Muslim and Jewish quarter.

Haram al-Sharif / Photo HH
Haram al-Sharif / Photo HH
Mughrabi quarter, in front of the Wailing Wall, before its destruction in 1967
Mughrabi quarter, in front of the Wailing Wall, before its destruction in 1967
al-Aqsa Mosque / Photo Fanack
al-Aqsa Mosque / Photo Fanack
Church of the Holy Sepulchre / Photo Fanack
Church of the Holy Sepulchre / Photo Fanack
Wailing Wall / Photo Fanack
Wailing Wall / Photo Fanack
Damascus Gate / Photo Fanack
Damascus Gate / Photo Fanack
Jewish property in the Old City / Photo Fanack
Jewish property in the Old City / Photo Fanack
Old City / Photo Fanack
Old City / Photo Fanack

Jerusalem: a divided city

Jerusalem has been a divided city since the War of 1948-1949, when Israel gained possession of the western half of the city and Jordan obtained the eastern half, including the Old City with its holy sites and large souk (market hall). During the June War of 1967, Israel also took East Jerusalem. The occupation led to annexation (28 June 1967), and Jerusalem was subsequently declared the ‘eternal, indivisible capital of the State of Israel’. At the same time, the municipal boundary was extended substantially both to the north, east and south. Israel thus annexed an additional 64 square kilometres besides the six square kilometres of East Jerusalem.

At the time, the international community condemned the annexation of East Jerusalem, for example in UN Security Council Resolution 252. In order to express their condemnation, some countries moved their embassies from West Jerusalem to Tel Aviv. Others followed after the formal annexation of East Jerusalem by Israel in 1980.

Since 1967, a chain of Jewish settlements was erected around East Jerusalem in a bid to strengthen Israel’s hold on the city and to block the natural growth of Palestinian East Jerusalem. These include, among others (from north to south), Givat Ze’ev, Ramat Allon, Pisgat Ze’ev, Ramat Shloma, Har Homa, and Gilo. The same active policy is also being enforced in the Old City: Palestinian homes are either expropriated or bought up by Palestinian straw men or corrupt officials, and subsequently assigned to Jewish settlers. Since the introduction of highly restrictive measures in 1993 and especially since the erection of the Wall with its intimidating ‘border crossings’, East Jerusalem has in effect become more or less inaccessible to Palestinians in the West Bank, for whom the city virtually lies in a foreign country. As a result, Palestinians in the West Bank are cut off both from their spiritual-religious centre as well as from important health and other services in East Jerusalem.

Jewish settlements in Greater Jerusalem on a 3,500 pixel map, of May 2006, distributed by Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) in the United States. Original link: memory.loc.gov

” width=”980″ height=”980″><!–

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Fanack

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.