فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / الجغرافيا / المدن / القدس / هل إسرائيل ملتزمة حقاً بالوضع الراهن للحرم القدسي الشريف؟

هل إسرائيل ملتزمة حقاً بالوضع الراهن للحرم القدسي الشريف؟

Debate over the status quo of the Temple Mount in East Jerusalem was the sparkle that lead to the recent wave of violence in Palestine and Israel
فلسطينيون منعوا من الدخول إلى المسجد الأقصى يصلون أمام الشرطة الإسرائيلية خارج المدينة القديمة في القدس الشرقية، اسرائيل. 16 أكتوبر 2015. Photo  Eddie Gerald/laif

قالت تسيبي هوتوفيلي مساعدة وزير الخارجية الإسرائيلي أن “حلمها” هو رؤية علم إسرائيل يرفرف فوق الحرم القدسي الشريف أو كما يُطلقون عليه “جبل الهيكل،” ودعت الحكومة الإسرائيلية السماح لليهود بالصلاة هناك. وبالإدلاء بهذه التصريحات على القناة التلفزيونية التابعة للكنيست في 26 أكتوبر 2015، صبت هوتوفيلي (الشؤون الخارجية) المزيد من الزيت على النقاش المحتدم بالفعل حول جبل الهيكل. وفي اليوم نفسه، سارع المتحدث باسم رئيس الوزراء نتنياهو إلى القول بأن التزام اسرائيل بالوضع الراهن لجبل الهيكل سيظل دون تغيير، وحثّ هوتوفيلي إلى إعادة صياغة تصريحها باعتباره “شخصياً.”

وجاءت تصريحات هوتوفيلي كضربة لجهود نتنياهو في الحفاظ على صورة إسرائيل بالتزامها بالوضع الراهن، الذي ينص على السماح للمسلمين فقط بالصلاة في المكان في حين يُسمح للأفراد من الديانات الأخرى زيارة المكان فقط. وقبل يومٍ واحدٍ فقط، اتفق رئيس الوزراء مع الأردن والولايات المتحدة بالسماح بوضع كاميرات مراقبة في الحرم القدسي الشريف، من أجل تقديم أدلة بالفيديو على الانتهاكات المحتملة للوضع الراهن.

كان جبل الهيكل النقطة المحورية في اندلاع أعمال العنف واسعة النطاق في إسرائيل وفلسطين التي أسفرت عن مقتل 11 إسرائيلي و75 فلسطيني منذ منتصف سبتمبر 2015. يخشى العديد من الفلسطينيين أن إسرائيل تريد تغيير الوضع الراهن والسماح لليهود بالصلاة في الموقع، أو ما هو أسوأ، الاستيلاء على جزء من الموقع لهم. فقد سبق وأصبح هذا الكابوس واقعاً قبل 20 عاماُ في مدينة الخليل، عندما تم تقسيم الحرم الإبراهيمي إلى شقيّن للمسلمين واليهود. وعلى الرغم من جهود نتنياهو، إلا أن تصريحات نائب وزير الشؤون الخارجية تقلق الفلسطينيين.

جبل الهيكل، أو الحرم القدسي الشريف– كما يُطلق عليه المسلمون، هو هضبة تقع في القدس الشرقية. يحتوي الموقع مزارين مقدسيّن للمسلمين، قبة الصخرة والمسجد الأقصى اللذان يهيمنا على مشهد الجبل. يعتبر اليهود الموقع الأكثر قُدسية في دينهم، ذلك أنه كان موقع معبد يهودي إلى أن تم تدميره على يد الرومان قبل ألفي سنة.

وفي عام 1967، عندما احتلت اسرائيل الضفة الغربية، وضِع العلم الإسرائيلي ليرفرف أعلى جبل الهيكل، ولكن لمنع التوترات الدينية بين المسلمين واليهود، أمر موشيه دايان، وزير الدفاع، بإنزال العلم ونقل سلطة الإشراف على الموقع للأوقاف الأردنية.

يصوّر جبل الهيكل بشكلٍ روتيني باعتباره “ثالث أقدس المواقع في الإسلام،” ولكن هذا مضلل وفقاً لحميد دباشي من مركز هاغوب كيفوركيان، أستاذ الدراسات الإيرانية والأدب المقارن في جامعة كولومبيا، في مقالة له على موقع الجزيرة. ووفقاً لدباشي فإن تصوير امتلاك الموقع أهمية دينية بالنسبة للفلسطينيين يخدم المصلحة الاسرائيلية للحد من الصراع كحرب دينية التي يميل فيها المسلمون إلى الانفجار غضباً عندما يلمس أياً كان موقعاً مقدساً بالنسبة لهم. ويقول دباشي أن الفلسطينيين “يثورون ليس لأنهم مسلمون أو مسيحيون أو ملحدون أو ينكرون وجود الله، بل يثورون لأنهم فلسطينيون سلبت أرضهم من بين أيديهم.”

هذه ليست المرة الأولى التي يلعب فيها جبل الهيكل دوراً في اندلاع المواجهات، ففي عام 2000، زار أرييل شارون الحرم عندما كان مرشحاً لرئاسة الوزراء. ويُنظر إلى هذه الزيارة، إلى حدٍ بعيد، باعتبارها السبب الرئيسي في نهاية المطاف لإندلاع شرارة الانتفاضة الثانية، التي قُتل فيها آلاف الفلسطينيين والاسرائليين. وبالتالي، تعتبر أي زيارة من قِبل أي سياسي إسرائيلي للحرم استفزازية بالنسبة للفلسطينيين.

ووفقاً لبن وايت، وهو صحفي وناشط في حقوق الإنسان متخصص في الشأن الفلسطيني – الاسرائيلي، فإن الجهود المبذولة من قِبل نتنياهو والتي تكرر الالتزام الإسرائيلي بالوضع الراهن مجرد أقوال. ويقول وايت أن اسرائيل تفرض قيوداً متزايدة حول السماح بدخول أعمار محددة للمصلين المسلمين، حيث تم فرض هذا الإجراء ثلاث مرات فقط عام 2012 ولكن في عام 2014 فرض لـ41 مرة. وفي هذه الأثناء، فإن عدد اليهود الذين يزورون الجبل “قد ارتفع بشكل ملحوظ خلال السنوات الأخيرة،” من 5,658 في عام 2009 إلى 10,906 في عام 2014.

ويختتم وايت قوله بأن نتنياهو يستطيع إدعاء “التحريض” كما يريد، إلا أن الأرقام واضحة. وأضاف “عندما يتعلق الأمر بالأقصى، كما هو حال باقي أنحاء القدس الشرقية والضفة الغربية المحتلة، غيّرت اسرائيل بالفعل الحقائق على أرض الواقع، ولم تظهر أي إشارات على توقفها.”

تاريخياً، يحرّم الحاخامات اليهود على المصلين اليهود أن تطأ أقدامهم أرض جبل الهيكل، لأنهم بذلك يخاطرون بالدوس على قدس الأقداس. ومع ذلك، فإن هناك أعداد بسيطة ولكن متزايدة من اليهود المتدينيين، يجادلون بأن لليهود حقاً لا يمكن التنازل عنه لا يتمثل فقط بزيارة الموقع المقدس، بل أيضاً الصلاة فيه. حتى أنّ العناصر الأكثر تطرفاً داخل هذه المجموعة تدعو لإعادة بناء الهيكل اليهودي، وهذا يعني أنّ واحداً على الأقل من المواقع المُقدسة للمسلمين سيختفي. إحدى هذه المجموعات المسماة “معهد الهيكل” مدعومة من قِبل الحكومة الاسرائيلية.

ولا تقتصر الرغبة في بناء معبد يهودي ثالث على اليهود المتشددين، ففي الأسبوع الماضي، أوردت صحيفة هآرتس الاسرائيلية تقريراً عند مدرسة دينية في القدس حيث يتم تدريس الأطفال الصلاة لإعادة بناء الهيكل.

يساهم كل هذا في تأجيج مخاوف الفلسطينيين، والسؤال المطروح هو ما إذا كان تركيب كاميرات في الموقع من شأنه أن يخفف من حدة التوتر. فقد عارض الفلسطينيون بالفعل هذا الإجراء، خوفاً من احتمالية استخدام الاسرائليين أي شريط فيديو كدليل ضدهم. ويرى اليمين الاسرائيلي مثل رئيس الكنيست يولي ادلشتاين يوئيل، أن الفلسطينيين سيعدلون الفيديوهات لتبدو إسرائيل سيئة.

وحتى الآن، يبدو أن الكاميرات ستوضع خارج الأضرحة فقط، وليس داخل المسجد الأقصى. ولا يوجد سوى بعض الأسباب الوجيهة لافتراض أن التوترات حول الموقع ستهدأ في المستقبل المنظور، كذلك الأمر بالنسبة للعنف في كلٍ من فلسطين واسرائيل.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Eddie Gerald/ Laif ©Hollandse Hoogte

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Palestine / Geography of Palestine / Cities / Jerusalem/al-Quds / Is Israel Really Committed to the Status Quo on the Temple Mount?

Is Israel Really Committed to the Status Quo on the Temple Mount?

Debate over the status quo of the Temple Mount in East Jerusalem was the sparkle that lead to the recent wave of violence in Palestine and Israel
Palestinians who have been denied to enter al-Aqsa mosque praying in front of Israeli police outside the old city, East Jerusalem, Israel, 16 October 2015. Photo  Eddie Gerald/laif

Israeli Deputy Minister Tzipi Hotovely said it was her “dream” to see the Israeli flag flying over the Temple Mount and called on the Israeli government to allow Jews to pray there. By making these statements on the Knesset’s TV channel on 26 October 2015, Hotovely (Foreign Affairs) added more fuel to the already heated Temple Mount debate. On the same day, a spokesperson of Prime Minister Netanyahu hastened to say that Israel’s commitment to the Temple Mount status quo would remain unchanged, urging Hotovely to recast her statement as “personal.”

Hotovely’s remarks came as a blow to Netanyahu’s efforts to preserve the image that Israel is committed to that status quo, which stipulates that only Muslims can pray on the holy site and people from other religions can only visit. Only one day before, the prime minister had agreed with Jordan and the United States that cameras would be placed on the Temple Mount, in order to provide video evidence of possible violations of the status quo.

The Temple Mount has been a focal point in the eruption of widespread violence in Israel and Palestine that has taken 11 Israeli and 75 Palestinian lives since mid-September 2015. Many Palestinians fear that Israel wants to change the status quo and let Jews pray at the site, or worse, take part of the site for themselves. Their nightmare became reality 20 years ago in Hebron, where the Ibrahimi Mosque was divided into Muslim and Jewish parts. Despite Netanyahu’s efforts, the remarks by his Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs will worry the Palestinians.

The Temple Mount—or al-Haram al-Sharif (the Noble Sanctuary), as as it is called by Muslims —is a plateau in East Jerusalem. Two Muslim shrines, the Dome of the Rock and al-Aqsa Mosque, dominate the mount. The Jews consider the site to be the holiest place in their religion, because it was the site of a Jewish temple until it was destroyed by the Romans two thousand years ago.

In 1967, when Israel captured the West Bank, an Israeli flag was planted atop the Temple Mount, but, to prevent religious tensions between Jews and Muslim, Moshe Dayan, then Minister of Defence, immediately ordered the flag taken down, and he transferred authority over the site to a Jordan waqf (charitable Islamic foundation).

The Temple Mount is routinely portrayed as the “third holiest site in Islam,” but this is disingenuous, says Hamid Dabashi, the Hagop Kevorkian Professor of Iranian Studies and Comparative Literature at Columbia University, in an opinion piece for al-Jazeera. According to Dabashi, the portrayal of the site as having no more than religious relevance to the Palestinians serves the Israeli interest of reducing the conflict to a religious war in which Muslims tend to erupt in blind rage when somebody touches their holy site. Palestinians, Dabashi says, “revolt not because they are Muslims, Christians, agnostics, or atheists. They revolt because they are Palestinians and their land is being robbed from under their feet.”

It’s not the first time the Mount played a part in the eruption of violence. In 2000, Ariel Sharon visited the Mount when he was a candidate for prime minister. This visit is widely seen as the event that led eventually to the outbreak of the Second Intifada, in which thousands of Palestinians and Israelis were killed. Any visit of an Israeli politician to the mount is regarded by the Palestinians as highly provocative.

According to Ben White, a journalist and and human-rights activist specializing in Palestine and Israel, the efforts by Netanyahu to reiterate the Israeli commitment to the status quo are just words. White argues that Israel increasingly imposes age restrictions for Muslim worshippers. This measure was imposed only three times in 2012 but 41 times in 2014. In the meantime, the number of Jews visiting the Mount has “risen markedly over recent years,” from 5,658 in 2009 to 10,906 in 2014.

Netanyahu, White concludes, can claim “incitement” all he wants, but the numbers are clear. “When it comes to Al-Aqsa, as across the rest of Occupied East Jerusalem and the West Bank, Israel has already changed the facts on the ground, and shows no signs of stopping.”

Historically, the chief rabbis forbid Jewish worshippers to set foot on the Temple Mount, because by doing so they would risk accidentally stepping on the Holy of Holies. A small but growing number of religious Jews, however, argue that Jews should have the inalienable right not only to visit their holiest site but also to pray there. The most extreme elements within this group even advocate the rebuilding of the Jewish Temple, for which at least one of the two Muslims shrines would have to disappear. One of these groups, the Temple Institute, is subsidized by the Israeli government.

The longing for a Third Jewish Temple isn’t restricted to religious extremists. Last week, Haaretz reported about a religious school in Jerusalem where the children are being taught to pray for the rebuilding of the temple.

All this contributes to Palestinian fears. The question is whether the installation of cameras on the site would reduce the tensions. The Palestinians have already opposed the measure, presumably out of fear that the Israelis would use any video evidence against them. Israeli right-wingers, such as Knesset Speaker Yuli Yoel Edelstein, argue that the Palestinians would alter the videos to make Israel look bad.

For now, it seems that the cameras will be placed only outside the shrines, not inside al-Aqsa mosque. There is little reason to assume that the tensions about the site will die down—nor will the violence in Israel and Palestine, for the foreseeable future.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Eddie Gerald/ Laif ©Hollandse Hoogte

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!