فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / الحكم والسياسة في فلسطين / تأجيل الانتخابات البلدية الفلسطينية مع تعمق الانقسام السياسي

تأجيل الانتخابات البلدية الفلسطينية مع تعمق الانقسام السياسي

palestine-past-to-present-supreme-court-of-justice-fanack-hh-1024px
رئيس محكمة العدل العليا، هشام الحتو، يُعلن قرار محكمة العدل العليا الفلسطينية بإجراء الانتخابات البلدية في الضفة الغربية فحسب، 3 أكتوبر 2016، رام الله، الضفة الغربية.Photo Anadolu Agenc

بتاريخ الثالث من شهر أكتوبر لعام 2016 كان قرار المحكمة العليا الفلسطينية بعدم جواز إجراء الانتخابات البلدية في قطاع غزة والسماح بإجرائها في الضفة الغربية فقط. فقد كان من المقرر إجراء الانتخابات البلدية في الثامن من شهر أكتوبر2016. واستشهد قرار المحكمة بإلغاء الانتخابات باستبعاد القدس الشرقية من العملية الانتخابية، فضلاً عن طرد خمسة مرشحين من حركة فتح من القوائم الانتخابية في خان يونس في قطاع غزة. هذا القرار القضائي الذي شكل حالة كبيرة من الجدل في أوساط المجتمع الفلسطيني ما بين مؤيد ومعارض، تم التعاطي معه سريعاً من قبل مجلس الوزراء الفلسطيني في رام الله بإيقاف الانتخابات البلدية برمتها وتأجيلها لمدة أربعة شهور، وذلك لعدم إضرار هذه الخطوة بالوحدة الوطنية الفلسطينية بين الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة.

أصل الحكاية

بتاريخ 21 يونيو لعام 2016 اتخذت الحكومة الفلسطينية برام الله قراراً بإجراء الانتخابات المحلية في جميع المناطق الفلسطينية. وحسب القرار، كان من المفترض مشاركة ما مجموعه 392 مجلس محلي في الضفة الغربية و24 مجلساً في قطاع غزة. علماً بأن الانتخابات البلدية السابقة جرت عام 2012 ، مع الجدير بالذكر هنا أن الانتخابات البلدية السابقة تمت فقط لعدد 353 مجلس محلي، ولم تتم في 16 مجلس بلدي بمن فيهم بعض المدن المهمة، حيث كانت هناك بعض الخلافات الداخلية في حركة فتح أدت لإلغاء اجراء الانتخابات للمجالس المتبقية. ففي تلك الانتخابات لم يتم إستخدام أسلوب الفائز يكسب الكل، وإنما تم استخدام الاسلوب التمثيلي النسبي للقوائم، حيث تم اعتماد النسبة المئوية لنصيب كل قائمة دخلت الانتخابات لكل مجلس بلدي، وتم تحديد نسبة الحسم بـ 8%.

وحيث أن الشعب الفلسطيني يعتبر شعباً مؤطراً سياسياً، أي بمعنى آخر أن جميع انواع الانتخابات، حتى لو كانت انتخابات طلابية في الجامعات، او خدماتية مثل المجالس المحلية، فإنها تستحوذ على اهتمام القوى السياسية الفلسطينية، وعليه فالحركتين الكبرى الفلسطينية، المتمثلة بكلٍ من فتح وحماس، تمارسان سياسة حشد جماهيري حزبي هائل عشية الانتخابات. وعليه فالاغلبية العظمى من اصوات المنتخبين سوف تتجه إما إلى حركة فتح وإما إلى حركة حماس، كما تشير إستطلاعات الرأي المختلفة على مدار السنتين الماضيتين، بالاضافة الى ما أثبتته التجربة العملية في الانتخابات التشريعية السابقة لعام 2006، مما يترتب عليه بأن نسبة الحسم تعتبر عالية على جميع الاحزاب الفلسطينية الصغيرة بخلاف حركتي فتح وحماس.

المواقف السياسية والتكتلات الحزبية

بعد اعلان الحكومة الفلسطينية في رام الله عن عقد الانتخابات المحلية، سارعت حركة حماس في البداية الى رفض العملية الانتخابية برمتها وطالبت باحترام اتفاقية المصالحة الفلسطينية لعام 2011 الموقع عليها من قبل جميع القوى السياسية الفلسطينية، والتي تنص على أن تتم المصالحة الفلسطينية الداخلية وفيما بعد اجراء الانتخابات الفلسطينية التشريعية والرئاسية، حيث اعتبرت حركة حماس ان المصالحة الداخلية يجب ان تسبق الانتخابات، وذلك من اجل تهيئ المناخ المناسب على الارض لإجراء عملية انتخابات ديمقراطية وحرة وتتسم بالنزاهة والشفافية. هذا الموقف عدلت عنه حماس بعد وقت قصير ووافقت على اجراء الانتخابات المحلية والمشاركة فيها ايضاً في جميع المناطق الفلسطينية.

كان هناك سببان من اجل موافقة حركة حماس، تمثلت أولاً بالضغط المجتمعي من قبل القوى السياسية ومن مؤسسات المجتمع المدني على حركة حماس في قطاع غزة، وثانياً موافقة لجنة الانتخابات الفلسطينية على تساؤلات طرحتهم قيادة حماس، وهي: من سيضبط الامن في قطاع غزة اثناء العملية الانتخابية، ومن هي الجهة القضائية التي سيتم التوجه اليها في حالة النزاع والطعون بالقوائم، وكيف ستتعامل السُلطة الفسلطينية مع نتائج الانتخابات في قطاع غزة، بغض النظر عمن سوف يفوز بها؟ كانت الإجابات من قبل رئيس لجنة الانتخابات السيد د. حنا ناصر، بأن جهاز الشرطة في قطاع غزة هي المخولة بضبط العملية الانتخابية، وأن المحاكم في قطاع غزة هي المخولة بالنظر بالطعون والمنازعات كما ينص عليه قانون الانتخابات الفلسطينية، وان الحكومة برام الله سوف تتعامل مع المجالس البلدية المنتخبة في قطاع غزة تماماً كما هو الحال مع المجالس البلدية الضفة الغربية.

على صعيد آخر، شعرت حماس انه لا يوجد ما تخسره في الضفة الغربية لانها ببساطة لا وجود لها في أي مجلس بلدي هناك. موقف حركة فتح من قرار إجراء الانتخابات البلدية كان من البداية مرحب لها، واعتبرها استحقاق ديمقراطي. فقد كان هناك توقع لدى حركة فتح بأن الانتخابات البلدية لن توافق عليها حركة حماس وبالتالي لن تشارك بها، ولكن يبدو للمراقب بأن حركة فتح تفاجأت من موافقة حركة حماس لإجراء الانتخابات في قطاع غزة. هذا ما أكده أيضاً احد الشخصيات البارزة داخل حركة فتح، لأن حركة فتح غير جاهزة وتنهش بها الانقسامات الداخلية بين تيارين، ما يسمى التيار الفتحاوي المناصر للرئيس محمود عباس، والتيار الآخر الذي يسمى بتيار القيادي الفتحاوي السابق المفصول عن الحركة محمد دحلان. وعلى الرغم من الاختلافات السياسية داخل حركة فتح، إلا أن الحركة وضعت في اعتبارها بأن المجتمع في قطاع غزة قد ضاق ذرعاً من حكم حركة حماس التعسفي، ومن حالة الحصار المفروض على القطاع والممتد منذ ما يقارب العشرة أعوام، ومن النتائج الكارثية للحروب الاسرائيلية الثلاث في السنوات الأخيرة، ومن حالة الفقر والبطالة المدقعين في القطاع، وحالة انعدام الرؤية في التحول للأفضل عما قريب، لذا فالمؤشرات على الأرض تضع حركة فتح رغم الانقسام الداخلي في وضع أفضل بكثير من حركة حماس.

وفي ظل هيمنة حركتي فتح وحماس، الأحزاب والقوى السياسية الفلسطينية الصغيرة وجدت لا مناص من عمل تحالف فيما بينها لكي تستطيع تجاوز نسبة الحسم 8% التي لن يستطيع ان يتجاوزها أي حزب لوحده، لذا كان هناك تشكيل لقائمة موحدة ومكونة من كل من الجبهة الشعبية، والجبهة الديمقراطية، وحزب الشعب، وحركة المبادرة الوطنية، وحزب فدا، تحت اسم “التحالف الديمقراطي.”

إشكاليات القوائم والقضاء المسيس!

منذ موافقة حركة حماس على الدخول في الانتخابات البلدية، كانت هناك منافسة شديدة بين كل من فتح وحماس على تشكيل قوائم تستطيع من خلالها حشد جماهيري لصالحها. في البداية كان الارباك واضحاً لدى حركة حماس اذ تود ترشيح قوائم من ذوي الكفاءات، ام من ذوي الولاء الحزبي، وتم في نهاية الامر تغليب صفة الكفاءات على صفة ذوي الولاء الحزبي. بالنسبة لحركة فتح تم تغليب صفة العائلية في المقام الأول ومن ثم الكفاءات في المقام الثاني. أما بالنسبة للقوائم الأخرى سواء التحالف الديمقراطي او كتل المستقلين فلقد اتسمت بالتوافق فيما بينهم وسمت عليهم صفة ناشطين مجتمع مدني، وكانت عملية الاختيار متناغمة بشكلٍ ملحوظ.

وعلى ضوء هذه المعطيات، تم التوقيع على ميثاق شرف بين الكتل الحزبية المختلفة على احترام نتائج الانتخابات وعلى العمل وفق القانون والنزاهة. لكن ميثاق الشرف لم يمنع وجود اختراقات واضحة المعالم من قبل السلطة الحاكمة ضد المنافسين، سواء كان ذلك في قطاع غزة أو الضفة الغربية. فقد تم تسجيل العديد من التجاوزات من قبل حركة حماس ضد بعض الكوادر من حركة فتح، كما رصدت مؤسسات حقوق الانسان والمجتمع المدني تجاوزات من قبل الاجهزة الامنية في الضفة الغربية ضد انصار حركة حماس.

وفي 29 2016 أغسطس، نشرت لجنة الانتخابات المركزية الفلسطينية كشفاً أولياً لمدة ثلاثة ايام لـ 874 قائمة انتخابية، تتنافس فيما بينها على انتخابات في 416 هيئة محلية، والمقررة في الثامن من أكتوبر لعام 2016، وذلك بهدف تمكين القوائم والمرشحين من ممارسة حقهم في تقديم الاعتراضات والطعون إلى لجنة الانتخابات، ونوهت اللجنة في ذات الوقت إلى أنها رفضت سبع قوائم لم تستوف الشروط القانونية الخاصة بالترشح، منها ست في الضفة الغربية، وواحدة في قطاع غزة. من جانبها تلقت لجنة الانتخابات المركزية 163 طلب اعتراض على قوائم ومرشحين في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة، وكانت اغلب الطعون بخصوص براءة الذمة، وبخصوص محل الإقامة لبعض المرشحين، وبخصوص مزاعم أحكام قضائية ضد بعض المرشحين. وعلى أثر هذه الطعون المقدمة أسقطت اللجنة المركزية للانتخابات اربعة قوائم في قطاع غزة تعود لحركة فتح في مجالس النصيرات، وبيت حانون، وأم النصر، والزهراء، وفي الضفة الغربية رفض قائمة في يطا، وإعادة قبول قائمتين في كل من بلدتي قفين وبني زيد الغربية.

لم تكتفى حركة حماس بقرار اللجنة واتجهت الى محكمة البداية لتقديم الطعون في مجالس اخرى تتبع لحركة فتح، وعليه قبلت محكمة بداية خانيونس الطعون المقدمة واسقطت بتاريخ 8 سبتمبر 2016 خمسة قوائم تابعة لقائمة التحرر الوطني و البناء “فتح” والتي تضم قائمة مدينة خانيونس البلد، وعبسان الكبيرة، والقرارة، والفخاري، ورفح الشوكة.

وعلى ضوء قرار محكمة البداية في خانيونس، أصدرت المحكمة العليا في رام الله قراراً مستعجلاً بوقف قرار مجلس الوزراء بإجراء الانتخابات المحلية مؤقتًا لحين البت في الدعوى المرفوعة الى يوم الثالث من اكتوبر. وفي تاريخ الثالث من أكتوبر اصدرت المحكمة العليا قرارها بإجراء الانتخابات البلدية في الضفة الغربية فقط وعدم اجرائها في قطاع غزة، وارجعت السبب بعدم قانونية محاكم الطعن في قطاع غزة. على ضوء هذا القرار اعلنت لجنة الانتخابات المركزية بإنها سوف تلتزم بقرار محكمة العدل العليا برام الله.

لقد شكل قرار المحكمة العليا حالة من الجدل الواسع ما بين مؤيد ومعارض لهذا القرار، واعتبره الكثير من المفكرين والمحليين السياسيين بأن قرار محكمة العدل العليا بإجراء الانتخابات في الضفة الغربية دون قطاع غزة، ينطوي على أبعاد سياسية خطيرة من شأنها تكريس حالة الانقسام المتواصلة بين المنطقتين. ومن ناحية أخرى، اظهرت نتائج إستطلاع للرأي، رفض ثلثي المواطنين الفلسطينيين تأجيل الانتخابات المحلية التي قرّرت المحكمة العليا التابعة للسلطة الفلسطينية إجرائها في الضفة الغربية المحتلة، وإلغائها في قطاع غزة.

مواقف الحركات والاحزاب الفلسطينية كانت متباينة حيال قرار المحكمة العليا، حيث رفضت حركة حماس ومعها بعض الفصائل الاخرى قرار محكمة العدل العليا في رام الله بإجراء الانتخابات المحلية دون قطاع غزة، مؤكدة أنه قرار مسيس يساهم في تعزيز حالة الانقسام بين شطري الوطن

من جهةٍ أخرى، أجمعت الفصائل اليسارية على أن هذا القرار يؤدي إلى تعميق ومأسسة الانقسام الفلسطيني، ودعت إلى تأجيل الانتخابات لكي يتم خلق مناخ ديمقراطي، كما دعت الى الابتعاد عن التسييس.

من ناحيتها عبرّت حركة فتح عن رضاها عن قرار المحكمة العليا القاضي بوقف إجراء الانتخابات في قطاع غزة، حيث برر ذلك أمين سر المجلس الثوري لحركة فتح، أمين مقبول، بإن حركة حماس أسست جهاز قضائي غير شرعي في القطاع، وبالتالي فإن قرار المحكمة العليا سيكون ملزماً. عضو اللجنة المركزية لحركة فتح محمد اشتيه حمّل حركة حماس كامل المسؤولية عن تعطيل المسار الديمقراطي، عبر تدخلها في الانتخابات، والطعونات غير القانونية، التي أقدمت عليها، ولجوئها إلى محاكم غير شرعية، على حد قوله.

العديد من المحللين وممثلي مؤسسات المجتمع المدني الحقوقية استهجنوا قرار المحكمة العليا واعتبروا زج القضاء في أتون الصراع السياسي أمرٌ خطير، حيث لا يمكن أن تجري انتخابات في منطقة دون أخرى، لأن هذا فرض عين يفرضه القانون، وتفرضه متطلبات القضية الوطنية على حد تعبيرهم.
كان من المفترض أن تكون هذه الانتخابات أول انتخاباتٍ مشتركة يشارك بها الفلسطينيون في كلٍ من غزة والضفة الغربية منذ تجذر الإنقسام بين حركتي حماس وفتح في عام 2007. ويأمل الكثيرون أنّ انتخابات هذا العام ستشكل حالة من التوافق السياسي، لكي تمهد الى إعادة العملية الديمقراطية واجراء انتخابات تشريعية ورئاسية، حيث أجريت الإنتخابات الرئاسية الأخيرة في عام 2005. وبدلاً من ذلك، يُشير التأجيل إلى أنّ الإنقسامات بين حركتي فتح وحماس، وداخل الأحزاب نفسها، أعمق مما يمكن للمرء تخيله.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Issam Rimawi ©Hollandse Hoogte | Issam Rimawi ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Palestine / Governance & Politics of Palestine / Palestinian Municipal Elections Postponed as Political Divisions Deepen

Palestinian Municipal Elections Postponed as Political Divisions Deepen

palestine-past-to-present-supreme-court-of-justice-fanack-hh-1024px
Chief of Court Board Hisham al-Hantu announces the Palestinian Supreme Court’s decision that municipal elections can be held only in the West Bank, 3 October 2016, in Ramallah, West Bank. Photo Anadolu Agenc

On 3 October 2016, the Palestinian Supreme Court of Justice ruled it illegal to hold municipal elections in the Gaza Strip, while deeming it legal to hold the same elections in the West Bank. Municipal elections were scheduled to take place on 8 October 2016. The court’s decision to cancel the elections cited the exclusion of East Jerusalem from the election process, as well as the ousting of five Fatah candidates from electoral lists in Khan Younis, Gaza Strip. The ruling, which sparked controversy across Palestine, prompted the government in Ramallah to postpone the elections for four months so as not to harm national unity.

Root Causes of the Issue

On 21 June 2016, the Palestinian government announced municipal elections would be held in all Palestinian territories. A total of 392 councils in the West Bank and 24 councils in the Gaza Strip were due to take part. Previous municipal elections were held in 2012. Those elections were held in only 353 councils, and were not held in 16 councils, including several in major cities. Internal differences within the Fatah movement led to the cancellation of the elections for the remaining councils. Also in those elections, the winner-takes-all voting system was not used. Rather, proportional representation was approved for each election list that ran in each council, and the electoral threshold was set at 8 per cent.

Palestinian political forces show interest in all types of elections, including university student elections and local council elections. Consequently, the two major Palestinian movements, Hamas and Fatah, engage in major mobilization and campaigning ahead of the elections. The vast majority of voters would elect either Fatah or Hamas, according to various polls conducted over the past years, and based on the experience of the previous legislative elections held in 2006. As a result, the electoral threshold is considered to be very high for parties other than Fatah and Hamas.

Political Stances, Partisan Blocs

After the announcement that there would be municipal elections, Hamas initially rushed to reject the election process. It demanded respect for the Palestinian reconciliation agreement signed in 2011, which states that internal Palestinian reconciliation should precede any legislative and presidential elections. This was intended to foster a favourable atmosphere for holding free, democratic and transparent elections. Hamas backtracked shortly after, however, and agreed to let the elections go ahead and to participate in them across the Palestinian territories.

There were two reasons for Hamas’s change of heart. First, the movement came under pressure, particularly from political forces and civil society organizations in the Gaza Strip. Second, the Central Election Commission (CEC) answered a number of questions raised by Hamas. These were as follows: Who will maintain security in the Gaza Strip during the election process? Which judicial body will be the point of reference for disputes and appeals about the electoral lists? How will the Palestinian Authority deal with the election results in the Gaza Strip, regardless of the winner? The answers to these questions were given by the head of the CEC, Dr Hanna Nasser, who said that the police apparatus in the Gaza Strip is authorized to maintain security during the election process; the courts in the Gaza Strip are authorized to receive and decide on appeals and disputes as stipulated in Palestinian election law; and the government in Ramallah will deal with the elected municipal councils in the Gaza Strip, just as they deal with the municipal councils in the West Bank.

Hamas also felt it had nothing to lose by participating in elections in the West Bank because it does not have a presence in any council there. Fatah welcomed the decision to hold elections from the start, and had expected that Hamas would not participate. Indeed, Fatah was surprised that Hamas agreed to hold elections in the Gaza Strip, according to observers. Despite Fatah’s confidence, however, it is facing its own internal divisions. One camp supports President Mahmoud Abbas and the other is affiliated with former Fatah leader Muhammad Dahlan. Despite these political differences, Fatah took into account the fact that Palestinians in Gaza are tired of Hamas’s arbitrary rule, the nearly ten-year blockade of the Strip, the disastrous outcomes of the last three Israeli wars and the abject poverty which is aggravated by the lack of any vision for the future. Therefore, the indicators on the ground put Fatah in a much better position than Hamas.

In light of the dominance of Hamas and Fatah, small political parties have had no alternative but to form an alliance in order to circumvent the 8 per cent electoral threshold. Thus, the Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine, the Democratic Front for the Liberation of Palestine, the People’s Party, the National Initiative Movement and the Fida Party united to form the Democratic Alliance.

Flaws in Electoral Lists, Politicized Judiciary

After Hamas agreed to participate in the elections, there was fierce competition between Fatah and Hamas on the formation of electoral lists, and both movements started to rally popular support. Initially, Hamas was clearly confused about whether it should nominate qualified candidates or choose its nominees based on their loyalty to the movement. Priority was eventually given to qualified candidates. Fatah, meanwhile, prioritized loyalty and family influence over qualifications. The other lists, whether for the Democratic Alliance or independent blocs, were largely composed of civil society activists, and the selection process was notably harmonious.

The various parties and blocs signed a code of honour to accept the election results and to act according to the law and the principles of integrity. However, the code did not prevent irregularities and breaches by the ruling authorities, both in the Gaza Strip and the West Bank. Hamas claimed to have seen several irregularities by some of Fatah’s cadres. Human rights groups and civil society organizations also witnessed irregularities by security forces in the West Bank against Hamas supporters.

On 29 August 2016, the CEC published 874 electoral lists that would run on 8 October 2016 in 416 local bodies, in order to allow the candidates to exercise their right to object and submit appeals to the commission. The CEC announced at the time that it had rejected the candidature of seven lists – six in the West Bank and one in Gaza – that did not meet the legal requirements to run. The CEC received 163 appeals. The majority related to candidate clearance, candidates’ place of residence or legal charges against candidates. Based on these appeals, the CEC additionally rejected the candidature of four Fatah-affiliated lists in the Gaza Strip in the councils of Nuseirat, Beit Hanoun, Umm al-Nasr and al-Zahra. In the West Bank, the commission rejected the candidature of one list in Yatta and revoked an earlier decision to reject the candidature of two lists in the towns of Qiffin and Bani Zayd.

Hamas was not pleased with the commission’s decision and appealed to the Court of First Instance regarding other councils that are affiliated with Fatah. As a result, the court in Khan Younis accepted the submitted appeals, rejecting on 8 September 2016  the candidature of five electoral lists belonging to the Fatah bloc, which includes Khan Younis, Abasan al-Kabirah, al-Qararah, al-Fukhari and Rafah al-Shawkah.

In light of the ruling, the Supreme Court of Justice nullified the government’s decision to postpone the elections, pending the outcome of the filed lawsuit. The lawsuit was adjourned until 3 October 2016. On the same day, the Supreme Court of Justice issued a decision to hold elections in the West Bank only, justifying its decision by saying that the courts of appeal in Gaza are illegal. The CEC declared that it would abide by the decision.

The decision caused widespread controversy and many local intellectuals and politicians predicted serious repercussions that would only serve to deepen the divide between the two territories. Opinion polls also showed that two thirds of Palestinians reject both the postponement of the elections and the decision to hold them only in the West Bank.

The reaction of the Palestinian parties and movements was mixed. Hamas, along with several other factions, condemned the decision, saying that it was politically motivated and would deepen the divide between the two parts of the homeland.

Leftist factions echoed a similar sentiment, and called for the elections to be postponed until a democratic atmosphere could be created. They also warned against politicizing the situation.
Fatah expressed satisfaction with the decision to suspend the elections in the Gaza Strip. Amin Maqbul, secretary of the Fatah Revolutionary Council, said that Hamas had established an illegal judicial apparatus in the Gaza Strip, and so the Supreme Court’s decision should be binding. Mohammad Shtayyeh, a member of the Fatah Central Committee, accused Hamas of obstructing the democratic process by interfering in the elections through illegal appeals and referring to illegal courts.

Many analysts, civil society representatives and human rights activists condemned the decision and considered involving the judiciary in the political conflict to be a serious matter, because under the law one cannot hold elections in certain territories and exclude others. Besides, holding elections in all territories would also fulfill some of the requirements of the Palestinian national cause, as they put it.

The elections were supposed to be the first time Palestinians in Gaza and the West Bank participated in joint elections since the division between Hamas and Fatah took root in 2007. Many hoped that this year’s elections would facilitate reconciliation between the two and pave the way for legislative and presidential elections, the latter having last been held in 2005. Instead, the postponement suggests that the divisions between Fatah and Hamas, and within the parties themselves, are deeper than originally thought.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Issam Rimawi ©Hollandse Hoogte | Issam Rimawi ©Hollandse Hoogte

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!