فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / الحكم والسياسة في فلسطين / الواقع الصحي في فلسطين

الواقع الصحي في فلسطين

الواقع الصحي في فلسطين مستشفى الرنتيسي
أطباء مهرجون يرفهون عن الأطفال في قسم أمراض الكلى في مستشفى الرنتيسي للأطفال في قطاع غزة، فلسطين، 17 مارس 2016. Photo Adel Hana

تقوم جهاتٌ عدة على تقديم الخدمات الصحية في الأراضي الفلسطينية وهي وزارة الصحة، والخدمات الطبية العسكرية، والجمعيات الاهلية من مؤسسات المجتمع المدني، وكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين (الأونروا)، بالإضافة إلى القطاع الخاص. وعلى الرغم من ان السلطة الفلسطينية تخصص جزءً كبيراً من مواردها لقطاع الصحة من الناتج المحلي الاجمالي، إلا أن قطاع الصحة لم يتحسن بالشكل المطلوب كما كان متوقعاً له بعد إنشاء السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية عام 1994. وتحتل فلسطين المرتبة رقم 113 حسب التصنيف الدولي لتقرير التنمية البشرية الصادر من قبل الامم المتحدة، وتعتبر من ضمن الدول ذات التنمية المتوسطة.

أرقام وإحصائيات


بنظرة سريعة على معطيات الرعاية الصحية الأساسية كما اورده تقرير صادر عن مركز الاحصاء الفلسطيني نشر في شهر سبتمبر لعام 2013، نجد أن عدد المستشفيات في فلسطين قد بلغت 79 مشفى بسعة 5,487 سريراً. وبلغت المستشفيات الحكومية 25 مشفى بسعة 2,979 سريراً، أي 54.3% من مجموع الأسرة. وبلغ عدد المستشفيات غير الحكومية 54 مشفى بسعة سريرية 2,508 سريراً، أي بنسبة 45.7% من أسرّة المستشفيات. أما بالنسبة للرعاية الصحية الأولية، فقد بلغ عدد مراكز الرعاية الأولية في فلسطين 750 مركزاً صحياً، من بينها 603 عيادة ومركز صحي في الضفة الغربية، و147 مركزاً في قطاع غزة. وبلغت نسبة المراكز الحكومية منها ما يقارب 61.3% من مجموع المركز الصحية في فلسطين.

أما بالنسبة للعاملين في القطاع الصحي، فقد بلغ عدد الأطباء البشريين المسجلين في النقابة للعام 2012 في فلسطين 8,810 طبيب/ طبيبة، حيث بلغ المعدل 2,2 لكل 1000 من السكان (بواقع 2,3 طبيب لكل 1000 من سكان الضفة الغربية مقابل 2,3 طبيب لكل 1000 من سكان قطاع غزة). في حين بلغ عدد الممرضين المسجلين في النقابة للعام 2012 في فلسطين، 11,633 ممرض/ممرضة، حيث بلغ المعدل 2,7 ممرض/ ممرضة لكل 1000 من السكان (بواقع 2,2 ممرض/ممرضة لكل 1000 من السكان في الضفة الغربية، 3,4 ممرض/ممرضة لكل 1000 من السكان في قطاع غزة).

وتشير الاحصائيات الأخيرة لعام 2015 بارتفاعٍ ملحوظ في نسبة العاملين في القطاع الصحي، حيث بلغ عدد الأطباء العاملين والمتخصصين 10,562. ومع ذلك، لم تتغير كثيراً نسبة المستشفيات والاسرة لعدد السكان.

نظرة على بعض المؤشرات السلبية في القطاع الصحي

لعل النسب المذكورة اعلاه تعتبر جيدة مقارنة مع دول العالم الثالث، ولكن لو تمت المقارنة مثلاً بين نسبة العاملين في القطاع الصحي في فلسطين مع دولة أوروبية أخرى مثل ألمانيا مثلاً، سنجد في المانيا أن هناك طبيب واحد لكل 210 افراد، وعليه فإن النسبة الفلسطينية تعتبر متواضعة مقارنة مع الدول المتقدمة. أما بالنسبة لعدد الأسرة في المستشفيات للسكان فنجد أن هناك 1,2 سرير لكل 1000 مواطن، اما في دولة مثل المانيا فنجد هناك ما نسبته 8,3 سرير لكل 1000 مواطن.

من المؤشرات السلبية في القطاع الصحي الفلسطيني ايضاً هي النسبة العالية للأمراض المزمنة، حيث بلغت نسبة الأفراد الذين يعانون من مرض مزمن واحد على الأقل في فلسطين مثل السرطانات بأنواعها، والقلب، والسكري، والضغط، ما يقارب 18,1%. ويعود السبب المباشر في ذلك أن مفهوم الصحة العامة مفهوم شامل يقوم بالأساس على مبدأ الوقاية من الأمراض وليس علاجها، ويشمل ذلك التغذية الصحية، وصحة المرأة والطفل، والسياسات الصحية، والصحة البيئة، وذلك من اجل تجنب انتشار أمراض معدية او أمراض مزمنة لها علاقة بالغذاء والحركة والتلوث البيئي.

ومن المؤشرات السلبية الجديرة بالذكر في الواقع الصحي الفلسطيني هو معدل الوفيات للأطفال دون سن الخامسة، حيث بلغ المعدل في الضفة الغربية 21,0 لكل 1000 ولادة حية، بينما كان أعلى في قطاع غزة حيث بلغ 26,8 لكل 1000 ولادة حية. وقد بلغ معدل وفيات الأطفال الرضع في فلسطين 18,9لكل 1000 ولادة حية. لعل اهم الاسباب لارتفاع معدل الوفيات الرضع ودون سن الخامسة هو سوء التغذية لدى الأطفال دون سن الخامسة، حيث بلغت نسبة الأطفال دون سن الخامسة الذين يعانون من قصر قامة بصورة متوسطة أو حادة في الضفة الغربية 11,5% وفي قطاع غزة 10,4%.

أسباب وعوامل الضعف في القطاع الصحي الفلسطيني

هنالك الكثير من مؤشرات ضعف القطاع الصحي الفلسطيني ومنها:

العوائق الإسرائيلية

لعل ممارسات الاحتلال الاسرائيلي وانتهاكات الحقوق الصحية الفلسطينية بشكلٍ دائم، تعتبر أهم سببٍ وراء الضعف وعدم القدرة على الاستنهاض الحقيقي للقطاع الصحي الفلسطيني. فمنذ الانتفاضة الفلسطينية الأولى كان هناك استهداف للمنشآت الصحية وسيارات الاسعاف الفلسطينية من قبل القوات الاسرائيلية، ووضع معيقات على دخول الادوية والوفود الطبية الاجنبية الى مدن وقرى الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة.

فقد شكلت الحواجز الاسرائيلية المنتشرة في الضفة الغربية، والتي تقارب 500 حاجزاً، بالإضافة الى الجدار العازل الذي تم بناءه حول مدن وقرى الضفة الغربية، عائقاً كبيراً للسكان للوصول للخدمات الطبية بأسرع وقتٍ وخاصة في الحالات الطارئة. بل إن عدداً كبيراً من الحالات التي كانت بأمس الحاجة للعلاج الطارىء فقدت حياتها في انتظار فتح الحاجز الاسرائيلي.

كما شكلت الحروب الثلاث على قطاع غزة ما بين عام 2008 ولغاية 2014، تحدٍ وارباك كبير للقطاع الصحي، حيث لم تستطع الطواقم الطبية العاملة في قطاع غزة استيعاب الكم الكبير من الضحايا والجرحى في آن واحد.

Sources: Ministry of Health (MOH), Health Annual Report Palestine 2013, June 2014; PCBS, West Bank Central Governorates Statistical Yearbook 2013, April 2014; PASSIA Desk diary 2015, Jerusalem: PASSIA, December 2014
WBGS WB GS
Hospitalsof which: 80 50 30
Government 25 12 13
NGO 34 20 14
UNRWA 1 1 0
Military Medical Services 3 0 3
Private of which: 17 17 0
General 46 27 19
Specilised 16 7 7
Rehabilitation 4 3 1
Maternity 16 13 3
Hospital Beds 5,619 3,263 2,356
Hospital beds per 1,000 pop. (2013) 1.25 1.2 1.4
Bed Occupancy Rate (%) (2013) 85.3 85.0 85.6
Average Duration (days) 2.4 2.2
Number of Primary Health Centers (2013)of which: 759 622 147
Government (Min. of Health) 479 425 54
NGO 197 140 57
UNRWA 62 41 21
Military Medical Services 21 16 5
Population per Primary Health Centers 3,294 4,019
Number of Physicians (general and specialist) 10,562 7,012 3,550
Physicians per 10,000 pop. (2013) 23.5
Number of Dentists 2,839 2,401 438
Dentists per 10,000 pop. (2013) 6.3
Number of Pharmacists 5,806 3,485 2,321
Pharmacists per 10,000 pop. (2013) 12.9
Number of Nurses / Midwifes 10,315/898 5,792/661 4,523/237
Nursing/Midwifery per 10,000 pop. (2013) 23.0/2.0
Crude Birth Rate per 1,000 pop. (2013) 25.9 22.3 31.7
Crude Death Rate per 1,000 pop. (2013) 2.5 2.5 2.1
Total Fertility Rate (2013) 4.4 4 5.2
Infant Mortality Rate (2013) 12.9
Child Mortality Rate (2013) 15.5
Life Expectancy at Birth male-female (2013) 71.5-74.4
Maternal Mortality Rate per 10,000 live briths (2013) 24.1 26.1 21.9
Cancer Incidence Rate per 100,000 pop. (2013) 79.5
No. of referrals outside MOH facilities (2013) of which: 61,635 44,244 17,635
for treatment abroad 11,233 4,512 6,721
(of which Israel / Jordan / Egypt) (8,118/256/2,859)
for treatment in East Jerusalem 26,850 20,904 5,946


ضعف الإمكانيات المتاحة

من ناحية أخرى، هناك ضعفٌ واضح بأداء الكادر الطبي، وضعفٌ في الامكانيات المتاحة، وضعفٌ في صيانة واستمرارية عمل المعدات الطبية، مما أدى الى عدم القدرة على تقديم الخدمات الصحية للمواطنين بشكلٍ كامل. هذا الضعف فاقمه حالة من عدم الثقة من قبل المواطن الفلسطيني بالأطباء الفلسطينيين، وعليه يتم الاعتماد على التحويلات الخارجية للعلاج سواء في اسرائيل أو الأردن أو مصر، وخاصة في حالات الإصابة بأمراض السرطان والقلب والاعصاب.

فضلاً عن ذلك، فإن ضعف الموارد المالية المخصصة لقطاع الصحة بشكلٍ عام، يقف عائقاً امام إمكانية تطوير القطاع الصحي. فعلى الرغم من تزايد الصرف الحكومي والأهلي والخاص على القطاع الصحي، حيث ارتفع من 397,2 مليون دولار سنوياً عام 2000 إلى حوالي 1,347,4 مليون دولار عام 2013، إلا أن هذه الأموال غير كافية لتقديم تطوير واستنهاض حقيقي. فمقارنة مع جيرانها، تنفق إسرائيل ما معدله حوالي 2046 دولار للفرد مقارنةً بفلسطين التي تنفق 248 دولار للفرد الواحد فقط.

التحويلات الخارجية للعلاج

كما تمت الإشارة سابقاً، وبسبب ضعف الإمكانيات والمعدات الطبية، بالإضافة الى ضعف الكادر الطبي في معالجة الحالات الصعبة، تم إنشاء قسم “دائرة العلاج بالخارج،” في وزارة الصحة. وبالتالي، يتم تحويل الحالات المرضية الصعبة مثل الأورام الخبيثة وأمراض الدم، وبعض جراحات الأعصاب الدقيقة، وجراحات القلب والأوعية الدموية وأمراض الأطفال وجراحة العظام، وأمراض العيون، إلى الخارج. وفي هذا الموضوع، كشفت مدير دائرة العلاج في الخارج في وزارة الصحة الفلسطينية، الدكتورة أميرة الهندي، بأن حجم العمل في هذه الدائرة في تنامٍ وازدياد، حيث بلغ عدد التحويلات 8123 تحويلة عام 2000، ليصل إلى 64219 تحويلة في عام 2014. كما بلغت نسبة التحويلات لمرضى غزة حوالي 27% من مجمل التحويلات السنوية. بينما أصبحت فاتورة العلاج تتراوح شهرياً ما بين 50-55 مليون شيكل (حوالي 14-15 مليون دولار)، وقد اعتبرت السيدة الهندي ذلك دليلاً على تنامي الوعي الصحي لدى المواطن الفلسطيني.

المراقب للوضع يلاحظ بأن هناك مأساة حقيقية يعاني منها مرضى العلاج في الخارج من اهل قطاع غزة، حيث القلة هم المحظوظون الذين يستطيعون السفر الى إسرائيل او الى مصر للعلاج، فهناك حالة من البيروقراطية الصعبة التي تمارس من قبل وزارة الصحة الفلسطينية في رام الله، مما يؤخر الحالات الى أشهر عديدة لكي يتم الانتهاء من المعاملات الورقية.

بعض الشخصيات الفلسطينية انتقدت سياسة التعامل في ملف العلاج بالخارج من قبل الحكومة في رام الله واعتبرتها سياسة اذلال لمرضى القطاع، وان هناك فساداً كبيراً يتم الاستفادة منه.

اما القضية الأخرى في مأساة العلاج في الخارج لمرضى قطاع غزة تتمثل في إمكانية السفر من عدمه لمن يصارع الموت، فإمكانية الحصول على تصريح سفرٍ من قبل إسرائيل والسُلطات المصرية لهؤلاء المرضى ليست مضمونة. فقد أوضح تقريرٌ صادرٌ عن منظمة الصحة العالمية عن شهر يوليو لعام 2016، بأن السلطات الإسرائيلية ترفض حوالي 3 من كل 10 حالات مرضية للعلاج داخل إسرائيل شهرياً، إذ تم تقديم 2040 طلب تصريح للسفر للمرضى من قطاع غزة، وتمت الموافقة على 67% من مجمل الطلبات، وتم رفض 190 مريضاً منهم أطفال. وعلاوة على ذلك، لم يتلقى 473 مريض أي إجابةً على طلبه. أما بالنسبة لمعبر رفح، فقد تم السماح فقط لـ79 مريض للسفر للعلاج في الدولة المصرية خلال الأيام الثلاثة التي تم فُتح فيها معبر رفح يوليو 2016. ومقارنةً بالسنوات الماضية، لم تتغير السياسة الإسرائيلية في رفض حالاتٍ كثيرة من مرضى الحالات الخطرة، ومنهم من فقد حياته بسبب عدم القدرة على العلاج لمرضٍ ممكن أن يشفى منه لو كان في دولة اخرى.

بعض المؤشرات الايجابية في بحر السلبيات في القطاع الصحي الفلسطيني

بالنظر الى حجم التحديات التي تواجه الحكومة الفلسطينية، و على الرغم من حداثة البنية التحتية الصحية الفلسطينية، الا ان هناك بعض الإنجازات والنجاحات التي تم تحقيقها على الأرض في القطاع الصحي في فلسطين، وخاصة عند الاخذ بعين الاعتبار أن وزارة الصحة استطاعت السيطرة على العديد من الأمراض المعدية، حيث أكد التقرير الصادر عن الطب الوقائي في وزارة الصحة لعام 2014، عدم تسجيل أي حالة مرضية من أمراض شلل الأطفال والكوليرا والكزاز والكلب والدفتيريا والسعال الديكي والحصبة الألمانية والجذام، بالرغم من وجود هذه الانواع من الأمراض في الدول المجاورة لفلسطين.

هناك ايضاً مؤشرات عديدة لارتفاع واضح في الوعي والثقافة الصحية لدى المجتمع الفلسطيني، فالرعاية الصحية أثناء الحمل والزيارة الدورية للكادر الطبي المؤهل، بالإضافة الى الولادة في مرافق صحية باتت من البديهيات لدى المجتمع الفلسطيني. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن الاهتمام بالنظافة والحركة والرياضة والابتعاد عن السمنة وممارسة الرياضة اصبحت ثقافة عامة تمارس من قبل الجنسين في المجتمع الفلسطيني.

ومن المؤشرات الإيجابية التي لها تأثير إيجابي في المستقبل هو التوجه العام لدى العديد من الكادر الطبي الفلسطيني نحو التخصص في المجالات الطبية المختلفة، وعدم الاكتفاء بالطب العام، ومنها التخصصات في جراحة القلب والاعصاب، وجراحة العظام، بالإضافة الى التخصص في امراض الأورام المختلفة والجلطات الدماغية. فقد كُتب النجاح للعديد من العمليات النادرة سواء في رام الله أو نابلس أو المستشفى الأوروبي في غزة.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Adel Hana ©Hollandse Hoogte | Adel Hana ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Palestine / Governance & Politics of Palestine / The Health Sector in Palestine

The Health Sector in Palestine

health sector in palestine Al-Rantisi hospital
Clown doctors entertain children in the department of kidney diseases in Al-Rantisi hospital for children in Gaza City, Palestine, 17 March 2016. Photo Adel Hana

There are several relevant bodies that are tasked with the provision of health services in the Palestinian territories, including the Ministry of Health, medical and military services, NGOs, civil society organizations, the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees (UNRWA) and the private sector. In addition, the Palestinian Authority (PA) allocates a large portion of its gross domestic product to the health sector. Yet the sector has not improved as expected since the establishment of the PA in 1994. Palestine ranks 113th in the Human Development Report 2015 published by the United Nations, which puts the country in the medium development category.

Facts and Figures

According to a report issued by the Palestinian Central Bureau of Statistics in September 2013, Palestine has 79 hospitals, with a total of 5,487 beds. Twenty five of these are government hospitals, offering 2,979 beds or 54.3 per cent of the total number of beds. Fifty four hospitals are private, with 2,508 beds or 45.7 per cent of the total number of beds. In addition, there are 750 primary healthcare centres, including 603 clinics and health centres in the West Bank and 147 centres in the Gaza Strip. Government healthcare centres account for approximately 61.3 per cent of the total number of healthcare centres.

In 2012, the number of physicians registered with the Palestinian Doctors Association was 8,810. The average number of physicians per 1,000 people was 2.2 (2.3 in the West Bank and 2.2 in the Gaza Strip). In the same year, Palestine had 11,633 registered nurses. The average number of nurses per 1,000 people was 2.7 (2.2 in the West Bank and 3.4 in the Gaza Strip).

The latest statistics for 2015 show that the average number of health sector workers rose significantly, with the number of general practitioners and specialists reaching 10,562. However, the ratio of hospitals and hospital beds to the population has largely stayed the same.

Negative Indicators in the Health Sector

he percentages mentioned above are considered to be positive compared with other developing countries in the region. Compared to developed countries like Germany, however, which has one doctor for every 210 people, this ratio is low. As for the number of beds in hospitals compared with the total population, there are 1.2 beds per 1,000 people, whereas Germany has 8.3 beds per 1,000 people.

Palestine also has a high incidence of chronic diseases, with approximately 18.1 per cent of Palestinians suffering from at least one chronic disease such as cancers, heart disease, diabetes and high blood pressure. The main reason for this figure is the failure to promote public health as being based primarily on disease prevention, not treatment. This also covers the promotion of good nutrition, the health of women and children, and environmental factors, all of which contribute to the spread of infectious or chronic diseases.

Another negative indicator is the mortality rate among children under the age of five, which stands at 21 per 1,000 live births in the West Bank and 26.8 per 1,000 live births in the Gaza Strip. The infant mortality rate is 18.9 per 1,000 live births. Perhaps the most important cause of these high numbers is malnutrition. As a result, the percentage of children under the age of five who suffer from moderate to severe stunting is 11.5 per cent in the West Bank and 10.4 per cent in the Gaza Strip.

Weaknesses in the Palestinian Health Sector

There are many indicators of weakness in the Palestinian health sector. Some of these are as follows:

Israeli Obstacles

The ongoing Israeli occupation and violations of Palestinian health rights are likely the most important reasons behind the weaknesses in the Palestinian health sector and its inability to improve. Since the first Palestinian uprising, Palestinian health facilities and ambulances have been targeted by Israeli forces. In addition, the more than decade-long blockade of the Gaza Strip severely inhibits the entry of medical supplies and foreign medical delegations to the cities and villages of the West Bank and the Gaza Strip.

Israeli checkpoints in the West Bank, which number nearly 500, and the separation wall built around the cities and villages of the West Bank, are also major obstacles to accessing emergency medical services. A large number of people in need of urgent medical treatment have lost their lives while waiting to pass Israeli checkpoints.

The three Israeli wars with Gaza between 2008 and 2014 created significant challenges for the health sector, especially because medical teams working in the Strip were unable to cope with the large numbers of deaths and injuries.


Sources: Ministry of Health (MOH), Health Annual Report Palestine 2013, June 2014; PCBS, West Bank Central Governorates Statistical Yearbook 2013, April 2014; PASSIA Desk diary 2015, Jerusalem: PASSIA, December 2014
WBGS WB GS
Hospitalsof which: 80 50 30
Government 25 12 13
NGO 34 20 14
UNRWA 1 1 0
Military Medical Services 3 0 3
Private of which: 17 17 0
General 46 27 19
Specilised 16 7 7
Rehabilitation 4 3 1
Maternity 16 13 3
Hospital Beds 5,619 3,263 2,356
Hospital beds per 1,000 pop. (2013) 1.25 1.2 1.4
Bed Occupancy Rate (%) (2013) 85.3 85.0 85.6
Average Duration (days) 2.4 2.2
Number of Primary Health Centers (2013)of which: 759 622 147
Government (Min. of Health) 479 425 54
NGO 197 140 57
UNRWA 62 41 21
Military Medical Services 21 16 5
Population per Primary Health Centers 3,294 4,019
Number of Physicians (general and specialist) 10,562 7,012 3,550
Physicians per 10,000 pop. (2013) 23.5
Number of Dentists 2,839 2,401 438
Dentists per 10,000 pop. (2013) 6.3
Number of Pharmacists 5,806 3,485 2,321
Pharmacists per 10,000 pop. (2013) 12.9
Number of Nurses / Midwifes 10,315/898 5,792/661 4,523/237
Nursing/Midwifery per 10,000 pop. (2013) 23.0/2.0
Crude Birth Rate per 1,000 pop. (2013) 25.9 22.3 31.7
Crude Death Rate per 1,000 pop. (2013) 2.5 2.5 2.1
Total Fertility Rate (2013) 4.4 4 5.2
Infant Mortality Rate (2013) 12.9
Child Mortality Rate (2013) 15.5
Life Expectancy at Birth male-female (2013) 71.5-74.4
Maternal Mortality Rate per 10,000 live briths (2013) 24.1 26.1 21.9
Cancer Incidence Rate per 100,000 pop. (2013) 79.5
No. of referrals outside MOH facilities (2013) of which: 61,635 44,244 17,635
for treatment abroad 11,233 4,512 6,721
(of which Israel / Jordan / Egypt) (8,118/256/2,859)
for treatment in East Jerusalem 26,850 20,904 5,946

Poor Capabilities

1. At the same time, there are obvious weaknesses in the performance of medical teams, available capabilities and the maintenance and continuity of medical equipment, resulting in the inability to provide sufficient health services. These failings have aggravated Palestinians’ lack of confidence in their physicians. As a result, many Palestinians rely for treatment on referrals to Israeli, Jordanian or Egyptian hospitals, particularly in the case of cancer, heart and neurological disorders.

2. The shortage of financial resources is an obvious obstacle to the possible development of the health sector. Spending by government, NGOs, UNRWA clinics and the private sector has increased from $397.2 million in 2000 to about $1,347.4 million in 2013. However, this amount remains insufficient to achieve true development. Palestine spends only $248 per capita, compared with neighbouring Israel, which spends an average of around $2,046 per capita.

Medical Referrals

In view of the poor capabilities and medical equipment, as well as the inability of the medical staff to treat difficult cases, the Foreign Referral Department was established within the Ministry of Health. This gives referrals abroad for difficult medical cases such as malignant tumors, blood diseases and some complicated neural surgeries, surgeries related to cardiovascular diseases, child diseases, orthopedics and ophthalmology. Dr Amirah al-Hindi, head of the department, said that the volume of work at the department is growing, with the number of referrals rising from 8,123 in 2000 to 64,219 in 2014. Referrals for patients from the Gaza Strip make up 27 per cent of the total number of annual referrals, and the monthly treatment bill ranges between 50 and 55 million shekels (around $14-15 million). Al-Hindi considers this increase to be a positive sign that health awareness among Palestinians is growing.

Observers note that patients from the Gaza Strip who seek treatment abroad face particular obstacles. Only a few of them are lucky enough to travel to Israel or Egypt, mainly because of the bureaucracy imposed by the Ministry of Health in Ramallah, which delays the referral of medical cases for several months until paperwork is completed.

A number of officials have criticized this delay, saying it humiliates patients from the Gaza Strip, and accused those who approve the referrals of financial corruption.

Another challenge facing Gazan patients seeking medical referrals abroad is the difficulty in obtaining travel permits from the Israeli and Egyptian authorities. According to a report issued by the World Health Organization in July 2016, Israeli authorities refuse to give travel permits to approximately three out of every ten patients requesting medical treatment in Israel every month. Some 2,040 requests for travel permits from patients in the Gaza Strip were made in July 2016, 67 per cent of which were approved, whereas 190 requests, including for children, were denied. Some 473 requests did not even receive a response. At the Rafah crossing, only 79 patients were allowed to enter Egypt for treatment during the three days the crossing was open in July 2016. Compared to previous years, the Israeli policy has not changed when it comes to turning down requests for medical referrals, including critical ones. Some of these patients have since died because they were unable to receive the treatment that could have saved them.

Some Positive Indicators Despite the Negatives

In light of the magnitude of the challenges facing the Palestinian government, and despite the fact that the health infrastructure is relatively new, some progress has been made, notably the Ministry of Health’s success in controlling many infectious diseases. The 2014 report issued by the Preventive Medicine Department at the Ministry of Health said that there had been no new reported cases of polio, cholera, tetanus, diphtheria, whooping cough, rubella or leprosy, although these diseases exist in neighbouring countries.

There are also several indicators of the high awareness of healthcare among Palestinians. Prenatal care, visiting qualified medical teams periodically and giving birth in health facilities have become widespread. In addition, hygiene and nutrition practices and awareness of the importance of physical exercise have improved among both men and women.

Another positive indicator is the tendency of Palestinian physicians to specialize in different medical majors, instead of being limited to general medicine. These specializations include heart surgery, neurosurgery, orthopedics and the treatment of different types of tumors and stroke-related diseases. Many complicated surgeries have been conducted in Ramallah, Nablus and the European Hospital in Gaza.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Adel Hana ©Hollandse Hoogte | Adel Hana ©Hollandse Hoogte

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update