تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

آثار حصار غزة على الرعاية الصحية

 الضفة الغربية تأثير الحصارعلى قطاع الصحة
مرضى فلسطينيون ينتظرون في القسم الصحي في مدينة غزة لكي يحصلون على وثائق للعلاج في إسرائيل أو الضفة الغربية / Photo HH

تأثر نظام الرعاية الصحية في قطاع غزة تأثراً شديداً بالحصار الإسرائيلي وبالانقسام السياسي بين الضفة الغربية وغزة. وأدى النقص الحاد في الأدوية والمواد الطبية الأساسية وسوء التغذية الكهربائية ونقص الوقود للمولدات وضعف القدرة على الصيانة ونقص قطع غيار التجهيزات الطبية، إلى تراجع نوعية خدمات الرعاية الصحية. ويتسبب الحصار بمشاكل جمة أخرى في مجال الرعاية الصحية منها النقص الدائم في الطاقم الطبي المتخصص وفي التدريب. ويتم تحويل ما يزيد عن 1000 مريض شهرياً للحصول على الرعاية الصحية المتخصصة في منشآت صحية خارج قطاع غزة غير أن دخول هؤلاء إلى مستشفيات القدس الشرقية والأردن، وإلى إسرائيل والأردن، رهن بنظام تصريح الدخول الإسرائيلي.

بحسب تقرير صادر عن منظمة الصحة العالمية، تمثل التحدي الأساسي للقطاع الصحي في غزة قبل واثناء الهجوم الإسرائيلي في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر من العام 2012 ، في توفير الأودية والإمدادات الطبية؛ فقد كان ما يزيد عن 40% من مخزون الأدوية الأساسية وعن 50% من مخزون المستلزمات الطبية قد نفذ قبل الاعتداء.

ومن الأدوية الأساسية المنقذة للحياة التي نفدت، نذكر تلك الخاصة بعلاج السرطان وأمراض القلب والشرايين بالإضافة إلى المواد المستعملة في غسيل الكلى. ويشار إلى أن نقص مضادات العدوى ومن بينها المضادات الحيوية المنقذة للحياة يعرّض الفئات الضعيفة كالأطفال والعجزة ومرضى السكر لخطر محتم. كذلك، يعتمد العديدون من المرضى على علاجات دائمة لأمراض القلب والشرايين المزمنة و يعرضهم انقطاعها لمضاعفات صحية كالجلطات والنوبات القلبية. كذلك، فنقص علاجات السرطان والمواد المستعملة في غسيل الكلى أثر على ارتفاع معدلات الوفيات في المدى القصير والطويل.

القيود التي فرضتها مصر والتي أثرت على نظام الرعاية الصحية

بحسب منظمة الصحة العالمية، اختار المرضى، أو اضطروا إلى تأجيل علاجهم في القاهرة بسبب اضطراب الوضع والقيود المفروضة على الدخول إلى مصر. وتم تحويل أقل من نصف العدد المعتاد من المرضى إلى مصر في تموز/يوليو من العام 2013. كذلك، وفي الشهر نفسه، تم إغلاق معبر رفح تماماً لأربعة أيام لأسباب أمنية ولخمسة أيام لعطل الأعياد وعطل نهاية الأسبوع. وأفادت السلطات في رفح بأنه، واعتباراً من 10 تموز/يوليو، سيعمل معبر رفح لأربع ساعات فقط؛ من الساعة 10 صباحاً وحتى الساعة 2 من بعد الظهر، ولن يُسمح بالعبور إلا للمرضى الحائزين على تحويلات من وزارة الصحة في رام الله. وبالإضافة إلى المرضى الحائزين على تحويلات من وزارة الصحة لتلقي العلاج في مصر والذين يبلغ عددهم كمعدل 300 مريض، يقدر عدد المرضى من سكان عزة الذين يسعون إلى تلقي العلاج في مصر على حسابهم شهرياً بـ1000 مريض (تقديرات وزارة الصحة-غزة) وبـ4100 مريض (بيانات رفح). وبحسب وزارة الصحة في غزة، عبر المعبر 549 مريضاً ومرافقوهم في شهر تموز/يوليو.

ونظراً إلى نقص الإمدادات وعدم إمكانية دخولها من معبر رفح منذ تموز/يوليو من العام 2013، بدأت وزارة الصحة في غزة بحصر إجراء الصور الإشعاعية وتوفير بعض الأدوية للحالات الطارئة فقط؛ فربع إمدادات الوزارة من الأدوية مصدرها مصر وهي تدخل إلى القطاع عبر هذا المعبر. ومن المتوقع أن توقف الهيئتان الواهبتان الأساسيتان في مصر، ألا وهما اتحاد الأطباء العرب ونقابة الأطباء، مساعداتهما إلى غزة بسبب الاحتياجات الطارئة في مصر في الوقت الراهن. وكان لهاتين الجهتين دور بارز وأساسي في توفير المواد الطارئة سريعاً مثل محاليل غسيل الكلى والأدوية الأكثر استعمالاً المخصصة للعلاج الكيميائي بالإضافة إلى العامل الثامن لعلاج الهيموفيليا ومثبطات المناعة للخاضعين لعمليات زرع الكلى، ناهيك عن علاجات أمراض الدم المزمنة. وبحسب مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية، شهدت نهاية شهر تموز/يوليو، نفاذ “128 صنفاً (أي ما نسبته 27%) من الأدوية الأساسية من المستودع المركزي للأدوية بينما انخفض مخزون 78 صنفاً آخر (16%) (وهي نسبة كافية لمدة تتراوح بين شهر واحد وثلاثة أشهر).

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

The Effects of Gaza Blockade on Health Care

health care Palestine
Patients at a healthcare department in Gaza City wait for official documents to receive medical treatment in Israel or the West Bank / Photo HH.

The public health system in Gaza has been severely affected by the Israeli blockade and by the political divide between the West Bank and Gaza. Severe shortages of essential medicines and medical supplies, an unstable power supply and a lack of fuel for generators, and inadequate maintenance capacity and spare parts for medical equipment have contributed to a deterioration in the quality of care. The blockade creates other enormous problems for the health system, including a chronic shortage of specialized medical personnel and access to training. More than 1,000 patients are referred monthly for specialized care to health facilities outside the Gaza Strip. Still, the Israeli permit system restricts their access to East Jerusalem and West Bank hospitals and Israel and Jordan.

According to a report by the World Health Organization (WHO), the main challenge to the healthcare sector in Gaza before and during the Israeli attack in November 2012 was the availability of medicines and medical supplies; more than 40 percent of the medicines on the essential drug list and more than 50 percent of medical consumables were out of stock before the attack.

The shortages include lifesaving drugs, such as treating cancer and cardiovascular disease, psychotherapeutics, and kidney-dialysis products. Lack of anti-infective agents, including life-saving antibiotics, places vulnerable groups, such as young children, the elderly, and diabetics, at particular risk. Many people rely on a consistent supply of medication to manage chronic cardiovascular disease. Interruption of treatment places these patients at risk of complications such as stroke and myocardial infarction. Lack of cancer and dialysis treatments has severe short- and long-term implications for mortality.

Egypt’s restrictions affecting health care

According to the WHO, patients chose or were forced to delay their medical treatment in Cairo by the unstable situation and restrictions on Egypt’s access. Fewer than half the usual number of patients were referred to Egypt in July 2013. The Rafah crossing was closed completely for four days for security reasons and five days for holidays and weekends in July 2013. Rafah authorities reported that, after 10 July, hours were restricted to 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., and only patients with official referral documents from the Ministry of Health (MoH) in Ramallah were permitted to exit. In addition to the usual monthly average of 300 patients referred to Egypt by the MoH, it is estimated that between 1,000 (MoH-Gaza estimates) and 4,100 (Rafah data) private patients from Gaza seek medical treatment every month in Egypt. A total of 549 patients and companions transited through Rafah in July, according to MoH-Gaza.

In Gaza, the Ministry of Health began restricting X-rays and limiting certain drugs to emergency use only because of low supplies and the unreliability of those supplies via the Rafah Crossing since July 2013. One-quarter of its drug supplies are normally received from, or through, Egypt via this crossing. Two principal Egyptian donors, the Arab Physicians Union and the Physicians Syndicate are expected to halt donations to Gaza because of the current urgent needs in Egypt. These groups have played a crucial role in rapidly supplying critical items, such as dialysis solutions, common chemotherapy drugs, Factor VIII for hemophilia, immune suppressants for kidney-transplant patients, and treatments for other chronic blood disease conditions. According to the UN’s OCHA, at the end of July, ‘27 percent (128 items) of essential medicines were at zero stock in the Central Drug Store in Gaza, and 16 percent (78 items) were at low stock (between 1-3 months’ supply)’.