فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / من الماضي الى الحاضر

من الماضي الى الحاضر

امرأة فسلطينية تنتظر في إحدى الحواجز العسكرية الإسرائيلية في الخليل /Photo New York Times
امرأة فسلطينية تنتظر في إحدى الحواجز العسكرية الإسرائيلية في الخليل /Photo New York Times

تعود أقدم الاكتشافات الأثرية المسجلة فيما يعرف بفلسطين التاريخية بين عامي 7500 و3100 ق.م في جبل القفرة جنوبي الناصرة وسفح الرمل قرب طبريا. وتؤكد الاكتشافات أن المنطقة شهدت نوعاً من الحياة البسيطة، ويكمن أهم ما شهدته تلك الحقبة في تأسيس أريحا التي تعتبر أقدم بلدة في التاريخ.

العصور القديمة

وكانت هجرة الكنعانيين أولى الهجرات البشرية الهامة إلى فلسطين التاريخية في بداية الألف الثالثة قبل الميلاد. وحملت المنطقة اسم أرض كنعان حتى وصول القبائل الكريتية إليها عام 1200 ق.م.

في الألف الثالثة قبل الميلاد، وصل النبي إبراهيم من بلدة أور في العراق وأنجب إسحق والد يعقوب الذي يسمى كذلك إسرائيل وإليه ينتسب الإسرائيليون.

وشهدت هذه الأرض سلسلة غزواتٍ قامت بها القبائل الكريتية التي استقرت في شواطئ يافا وغزة، فسميت تلك المنطقة بفلسطين نسبة إلى اسم القبيلة الكريتية الغازية التي اندمجت مع الكنعانيين. وأطلق اسم فلسطين على جميع الأراضي الساحلية والداخلية التي كان يسكنها الكنعانيون، ومع الزمن غلب العنصر الكنعاني وأصبح سكان البلاد كلّهم من الكنعانيين العرب.

أقام داود مملكة لبني إسرائيل في القدس. وبسبب غزوات الآشوريين والكلدانيين، اختفت دولة اليهود في فلسطين بعد استمرارها لأربعة قرونٍ كانت حافلة بالخلافات والحروب والاضطرابات (1000-586 ق.م).

غزا الفرس فلسطين التي بقيت تابعة للدولة الفارسية لقرنين من الزمن. وفي عام 332 ق.م، أخضع الإسكندر الأكبر فلسطين لحكم الإمبراطورية اليونانية، لتبقى فلسطين تحت حكم الإمبراطورية اليونانية المنقسمة بعد وفاة الإسكندر حتى عام 198 ق.م.

منذ تلك الفترة، عاشت فلسطين حالةً من الحروب القلاقل مع تواجد العديد من الدول على الأرض كدولة المكابيين ودولة العرب الأنباط عام 90 ق.م. وظلت فلسطين تابعة لعاصمة الأنباط “البتراء” حتى سيطرة الرومان عليها.

جعل الرومان فلسطين ولاية تابعة لروما أولاً ثم بيزنطة إلى منتصف القرن السابع الميلادي حينما دخلها المسلمون العرب. وشهدت فلسطين إبان فترة الحكم الروماني ميلاد المسيح.

العرب والعصور الوسطى

في عام 634، دخل يزيد بن أبي سفيان ورفاقه غزة، وهو نفس العام ذاته الذي انتصر فيه عمرو بن العاص على الروم في معركة أجنادين ودخل فيه بيسان واللد ويافا. وبأمرٍ من الخليفة عمر بن الخطاب، وحّد خالد بن الوليد الجيوش الإسلامية في جيشٍ واحد، لتكون معركة اليرموك لحظةً حاسمةً في تاريخ فلسطين. وفي تلك المرحلة، تدفقت القبائل العربية من سوريا والحجاز ونجد واليمن وسكنت الأراضي الفلسطينية التي أصبح معظم أهلها مسلمين، وأصبحت العربية اللغة السائدة في البلاد.

وكانت فلسطين في العهد الأموي (661–750) تابعة لدمشق ويحكمها سليمان بن عبد الملك. ومن أهم آثار تلك الفترة قبّة الصخرة التي بناها عبد الملك بن مروان. وبين عامي 750 و1258، تبعت فلسطين الدولة العباسية، علماً بأن العهد العباسي شهد تنامي عملية التعريب ونشوء أجيالٍ جديدة نتجت عن التزاوج بين “الفاتحين” العرب وأهل البلاد.

بين عامي 816 و913، استطاع الطولونيون السيطرة على لبنان وسوريا ومصر وفلسطين. ومن الآثار الشهيرة خلال فترة حكمهم تحصين ميناء عكا. ويعتبر القرن الرابع الهجري (913-1010م) قرناً للاضطرابات السياسية، فقد أغار القرامطة المتدفقون من منطقة الخليج على بلاد الشام واحتلوا فلسطين بعد أن أحدثوا فيها الكثير من الدمار والخراب. وبعد ذلك، توالى على فلسطين أنظمة حكمٍ متعددة من الإخشيديين والسلاجقة والفاطميين.

ومع نهايات القرن الحادي عشر الميلادي، بدأ الصليبيون بشنّ حملاتهم العسكرية على فلسطين. واستمرت هذه الحملات لقرنين من الزمن، تمكن خلالها الصليبيون من مدّ نفوذهم إلى معظم المدن الفلسطينية، ناهيك عن دخولهم القدس عام 1099. وتمكّن نور الدين زنكي من استعادة بعض المدن، ليستكمل صلاح الدين الأيوبي تلك الانتصارات في معركة حطين ويسترد بيت المقدس عام 1187.

في عهد الدولة المملوكية، وقعت معركة عين جالوت قرب الناصرة في عام 1259 وهي واحدة من أهم وأشهر المعارك الإسلامية. وانتصر العثمانيون على المماليك في معركة مرج دابق بالقرب من حلب عام 1516، ليدخلوا فلسطين التي أصبحت منذ ذلك الحين تابعة للحكم العثماني ولمدة أربعة قرون.

وحاولت فرنسا بقيادة نابليون غزو فلسطين بعد احتلال مصر، إلا أن الحملة ارتدت على أعقابها بعد وصولها إلى عكا.

في عام 1838، قرر محمد علي والي مصر توسيع ملكه بضم بلاد الشام، فنجح ابنه إبراهيم باشا في فتح العريش وغزة ويافا ثم نابلس والقدس. ولم يدم حكم محمد علي للشام أكثر من عشر سنوات لتعود فلسطين مرة أخرى إلى الحكم العثماني.

من الانتداب البريطاني إلى الصراع مع إسرائيل

دخلت فلسطين مرحلة الانتداب البريطاني عام 1917 بعد انتصار القوات البريطانية على تركيا في الحرب العالمية الأولى. واستمر الانتداب حتى مايو/أيار 1948، تاريخ إعلان قيام دولة إسرائيل تطبيقاً لقرار التقسيم 181 الصادر عن الأمم المتحدة في نوفمبر/ تشرين الثاني 1947، ما أدى إلى تهجير مئات الآلاف من الفلسطينيين عن أرضهم فيما عرف اصلاحاً بـ “نكبة فلسطين”.

ومنذ ذلك الحين، يخوض الفلسطينيون كفاحاً مريراً لإقامة دولتهم المستقلة وتطبيق قرارات الشرعية الدولية، في مسيرةٍ كفاحية شهدت معارك وحروباً وانتفاضات شعبية وجولات من أجل السلام، أبرزها حرب عام 1948 التي أدت إلى تهجير واسع للفلسطينيين، وحرب الأيام الستة 1967 التي ضمّت فيها إسرائيل الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة، بالإضافة إلى شبه جزيرة سيناء المصرية وهضبة الجولان السورية، وومعركة الكرامة 1968 1968، والاجتياح الإسرائيلي للبنان 1982، والانتفاضة الأولى، وواتفاق أوسلو للسلام 1993.

وما يزال تشكيل الدولة الفلسطينية يواجه تحدياتٍ كبرى ممثلةً في المستوطنات الإسرائيلية، واعتراف الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بالقدس عاصمةً لإسرائيل، ناهيك عن حالة الجمود السياسي القائمة على المستوى الداخلي بين حركتي فتح وحماس.


إقرأ المزيد

تم احتلال المنطقة لأول مرة من قبل العرب في بداية القرن السابع. وبعد أن هزم الخليفة الثاني (للنبي محمد) عمر بن الخطاب البيزنطيين ...
في القرن التالي، كانت فلسطين في قبضة الصليبيين من أوروبا الغربية. وكانوا بقيادة نبلاء مدفوعين بدوافع دينية ومصالح تجارية. عام ...
انتهى حكم المماليك عام 1516 من قبل مجموعة أخرى من الغزاة من الشرق، الأتراك العثمانيين، الذين كانوا قد تحولوا إلى الإسلام. في الق...
عام 1920، ظهر الانتداب البريطاني لفلسطين إلى حيز الوجود، شاملاً أراضي فلسطين ودولة إسرائيل المستقبلية. وتم تقسيم ما تبقى من بلا...
وبعد قرنٍ من الزمان، لا يمكن المبالغة في أهمية وعد بلفور والسياسات التي رافقته. فقد مكّن الحكم البريطاني على فلسطين الهجرة الص...
كان إعلان دولة إسرائيل في مايو/أيار عام 1948 بمثابة كارثة بالنسبة للفلسطينيين. في الأشهر السابقة، وضعت حملة التطهير العرقي حيز ا...
قام الحكام الأردنيون بضم الضفة الغربية لمدة سنتين. ولأن إمارة شرق الأردن أصبحت تضم كلاً من الضفة الغربية والشرقية، تم تغيير اس...
تم اقتطاع قطاع غزة فجأة عن الأجزاء التاريخية الأخرى عام 1948. ووقعت المنطقة تحت الإدارة العسكرية المصرية حتى عام 1967. ومرة أخرى، ر...
في نهاية الخمسينات، أعلنت قيادة جديدة عن نفسها باسم منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية (فتح). كان زعيم الحركة مهندساً شاباً، ياسر عرفات. ...
حرب حزيران/يونيو عام 1967، والتي استمرت ستة أيام، هي مثال عن تصعيد الوضع – والتي كان المسؤول عنها ليس فقط الفلسطينيون، وإنما أيض...

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Past to Present

Past to Present

palestine history2
A Palestinian woman waits at a checkpoint in Hebron that leads to the Israeli controlled area of the street /Photo New York Times

The earliest archaeological discoveries recorded in what is known as the historic Palestine date back between 7500 and 3100 BC in Jabal Al-Qafra at the south of Nazareth and Safh Al-raml near Tiberias. The discoveries confirmed that the region witnessed a kind of simple life. The most important thing in that era was the establishment of Jericho, which is considered the oldest town in history.

Old times

The migration of the Canaanites was the first important human migration to historical Palestine at the beginning of the third millennium BC. The region was called the land of Canaan until the arrival of the Cretan tribes in 1200 BC.

In the third millennium BC, Abraham arrived from Ur in Iraq and gave birth to Isaac, the father of Jacob who is also called Israel and to whom the Israelites belong.

This land witnessed a series of invasions carried out by the Cretan tribes that settled in the coasts of Jaffa and Gaza. The land was named Palestine after the name of the invading Cretan tribe that merged with the Canaanites. Over time, the Canaanite component overcame the entire population who became Arab Canaanites.

David was able to establish a kingdom for the Israelites in Jerusalem. Due to the invasions of Assyrians and Chaldeans, the Jews’ state disappeared in Palestine after its continuation of four centuries (1000 – 586 BC). This era was riddled with disputes, wars, and turmoil.

Persians invaded Palestine in 539 BC and their dominance continued for two centuries. In 332 BC, Alexander the Great subdued Palestine to the Greek Empire. Palestine remained under the rule of the divided Greek empire after the death of Alexander until 198 BC.

Since then, Palestine witnessed a state of unrest, with many countries on the ground, such as the Maccabees and the Arab Nabateans in 90 BC. Palestine remained subordinate to the Nabatean capital Petra until the Romans took control of it.

The Romans made Palestine first a vassal of Rome, and then of Byzantium until the mid-seventh century AD, when Arab Muslims conquered it. During the Roman period, Palestine witnessed the birth of Jesus Christ.

Arabs and Middle Ages

In 634, Yazid bin Abi Sufyan and his companions entered Gaza. That same year, Amr bin Al-Aas defeated the Romans at the Battle of Ajnadayn and took control of Beisan “Beit She’an”, Lod and Jaffa. Under the instructions of Caliph Umar ibn Al-Khattab, Khalid bin Al-Walid united the Muslim armies into one army to fight the Yarmouk battle which is a defining moment in the history of Palestine. At that point, Arab tribes flowed from Syria, Hijaz, Najd, and Yemen to Palestine. Most of Palestine’s inhabitants converted to Islam. Consequently, Arabic became the dominant language there.

During the Umayyad era (661-750), Palestine was a subordinate of Damascus and was ruled by Sulayman ibn Abd al-Malik. One of the most important monuments of that period is the Dome of the Rock, which was built by Abdul Malik bin Marwan. Between 750 and 1258, Palestine became a part of the Abbasid state. During that era, Arabization increased. New generations arose as a result of intermarriage between Arab “conquerors” and the people of the country.

Between 816 and 913, the Tulunids managed to control Lebanon, Syria, Egypt, and Palestine. One of the famous monuments of that period is the fortification of Acre’s port. The fourth century AH (913-1010 AD) is considered a century of political turmoil. Carmatians from the Gulf region raided the Levant and conquered Palestine; inflicting so much destruction. After that, Palestine was ruled by the Ikhshidis, the Seljuks, and the Fatimids.

At the end of the 11th century AD, the crusaders began their military campaigns against Palestine. These campaigns continued for two centuries during which the crusaders managed to extend their influence to most Palestinian cities, not to mention entering Jerusalem in 1099. Nur al-Din Zangi recaptured some cities. Salah al-Din al-Ayyubi continued obtaining victories in the Battle of Hattin. Salah al-Din restored Jerusalem in 1187.

During the Mamluk rule, the battle of Ain Jalut took place near Nazareth in 1259. This battle is one of the most important and well-known Islamic battles. In 1516, the Ottomans triumphed over the Mamluks in the battle of Marj Dabiq near Aleppo and entered Palestine. Since then, Palestine came under the Ottoman rule for four centuries.

France, led by Napoleon, tried to invade Palestine after the occupation of Egypt. However, the campaign was defeated after the siege of Acre.

From the British Mandate to the conflict with Israel

In 1838, Muhammad Ali, the Wali of Egypt, decided to expand his areas of influence by annexing the Levant. His son Ibrahim Pasha succeeded in conquering Al-Arish, Gaza, Jaffa, then Nablus and Jerusalem. However, the rule of Muhammad Ali did not last for more than ten years. Palestine was regained by the Ottomans.

After the British forces’ victory over Turkey in the First World War, Palestine entered the British Mandate period in 1917. This mandate lasted until May 1948 – the date of establishing the State of Israel in accordance with the U.N partition resolution No. 181 issued in November 1947. This led to the displacement of hundreds of thousands of Palestinians from their lands in what was known as the “Nakba of Palestine”.

Since then, Palestinians have been waging a bitter struggle to establish their independent state and implement international legitimacy decisions. This struggle included battles, wars, popular uprisings and peace negotiations. This included the 1948 war that led to the massive displacement of Palestinians; the Six Day War of 1967 that resulted in the annexation of the West Bank, Gaza Strip, Sinai Peninsula and the Golan Heights; the Battle of Karama in 1968; the Israeli invasion of Lebanon in 1982; the first intifada and the Oslo Peace Accord in 1993.

The formation of the Palestinian state still faces major challenges represented in the Israeli settlements, the American recognition of Jerusalem as the capital of Israel and the existing political stalemate between the Fatah and Hamas.

Further Reading

The region was first conquered by Arabs at the beginning of the 7th century. After the second caliph (successor of the Prophet Muhammad), Umar ibn al-Khattab, had defeated the Byzantines in 636 in the Battle of Yarmouk, his armies...
From the end of the 11th century, Palestine was in the clutches of crusaders from Western Europe. These were commanded by noblemen, who were driven both by religious motives as well as a drive for territorial expansion and commerc...
Mamluk rule was brought to an end in 1516 by yet another group of conquerors from the east, the Ottoman Turks, who had converted to Islam. For the following four centuries (with a brief interlude in the first half of the 19th cent...
In 1920, the British Mandate of Palestine thus came into existence, encompassing the territory of the future State of Israel and Palestine. The remainder of Bilad al-Sham was broken up into the mandate territories of Lebanon (Fran...
A century on, the importance of the Balfour Declaration and the policies that accompanied it cannot be overstated. British rule of Palestine enabled massive Zionist immigration until the late 1930s. This laid the foundations for t...
The declaration of the State of Israel on 15 May 1948 meant disaster for the Palestinians. In the previous months, a detailed campaign of ethnic cleansing had already been set into motion – Plan Dalet – which was meant to dras...
The Jordanian rulers annexed the West Bank for a period of two years. As Transjordan now encompassed both the East and the West Bank, together with the annexation the name Transjordan was transformed into the (Hashemite Arab) King...
The Gaza Strip was also abruptly cut off from its historic hinterland in 1948. The region fell under Egyptian military administration until 1967. Again, this was a development with dramatic social and economic implications.
At the end of the 1950s, a new leadership announced itself in the organization of the Palestinian Liberation Organization (Fatah). The leader of the movement was a young engineer, Yasir (Yasser) Arafat. Other Palestinian resistanc...
The June War of 1967, which lasted for six days, is an example of an escalation of the situation; an escalation which various Arab rulers, not the Palestinians, were held responsible. Israel seized the opportunity to start a war w...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Rina Castelnuovo/The New York Times ©Hollandse Hoogte | MENAHEM KAHANA / AFP ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update