فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الحصار / مصر وغزة والأنفاق

مصر وغزة والأنفاق

بعد الحرب العربية الإسرائيلية في 1948-1949، بقي قطاع غزة تحت إدارة مصر العسكرية إلى أن قامت إسرائيل باحتلاله في حرب حزيران/يونيو عام 1967. في تلك الفترة، كان بدو سيناء والفلسطينيون يختلطون من خلال التزاوج والعلاقات الاجتماعية. وانتهى كل هذا بعد تقسيم مدينة رفح الجنوبية الحدودية في أعقاب معاهدة السلام بين مصر وإسرائيل عام 1979، والتي تركت جزء منها في غزة والآخر في مصر. بعد تنفيذ المعاهدة، تم حفر أنفاق في أقبية المنازل عبر الحدود بين غزة ومصر البالغة 14 كم. عام 1983، اكتشفت إسرائيل النفق الأول.

بعد توقيع اتفاقات أوسلو، بنت إسرائيل حاجزاً مرتفعاً حول قطاع غزة. وأصبح دخول قطاع غزة مراقباً من خلال معابر. لكن عندما اندلعت الانتفاضة الثانية عام 2000، قامت إسرائيل بإغلاق المعابر وتدمير ميناء ومطار غزة، مما دفع الفلسطينيين إلى البحث عن بدائل. تم تحديث الأنفاق القائمة لتعويض النواقص التي جاءت كنتيجة مباشرة لفرض إسرائيل رقابة صارمة على حركة السلع والمواد. بعد أن عرف الجيش الإسرائيلي أن الأنفاق كانت تستخدم أيضاً لتهريب الأسلحة، بدأ بهدم المنازل التي فيها الأنفاق. ولاحقاً توسعت عمليات الهدم، مما شكّل منطقة عازلة بين الحدود ومدينة رفح. وفق هيومن رايتس ووتش، بين عامي 2000 و 2004 تم تدمير حوالي 1700 منزل لإقامة منطقة عازلة عرضها 100 م على طول الحدود بين غزة ومصر (ما يسمى بممر فيلادلفيا). بالإضافة إلى ذلك، عند تنفيذ خطة الانسحاب أحادية الجانب من قطاع غزة عام 2005، قامت إسرائيل ببناء جدار ارتفاعه 8 م. دعم نظام مبارك في مصر بناء الجدار وهدم الأنفاق، كما الحماية من أي نوع من النشاط الذي قد يهدد القطاع السياحي المربح على طول البحر الأحمر. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، خشيت مصر أن تكون نية إسرائيل الحقيقية من وراء انسحابها هو تحميل مصر مسؤولية 1,7 مليون نسمة في قطاع غزة وفصله عن الضفة الغربية، مما يعيق إقامة دولة فلسطينية متكاملة.

في كانون الثاني/يناير عام 2006، وبعد فوز حماس في الانتخابات الفلسطينية العامة، ردّت اسرائيل بتشديد مراقبة حدودها منهجياً وفرض حصار شامل على قطاع غزة. أغلقت إسرائيل معبر إيريز أمام عمال غزة الذين يعملون في إسرائيل (70% من القوى العاملة في غزة). كما عمدت إلى إغلاق معبر المنطار، المعبر الرئيسي للسلع في غزة، ومنعت استخدام معبر رفح لحركة المسافرين. دفعت القيود الإسرائيلية المفروضة على التجارة وحركة الأفراد داخل وخارج قطاع غزة، إلى جانب الهجمات الإسرائيلية المنتظمة، بالفلسطينيين إلى حفر أنفاق أعمق وأطول وتحسين بنيتها التحتية. كان يتم نقل تشكيلة واسعة من البضائع عبر الأنفاق – من مواد البناء والمواد الغذائية إلى الأدوية والملابس، ومن الوقود وأجهزة الكمبيوتر إلى الماشية والسيارات. وعلى أساس سنوي، أصبح يتم نقل سلع يتراوح ثمنها بين 500-700 مليون دولار عبر الأنفاق (تقرير مجموعة الأزمات الدولية).

بالنسبة للمهربين، تجلب أعمال حفر الأنفاق معها مخاطر كبيرة. كان الكثيرون يعملون 12 ساعة لستة أو سبعة أيام في الأسبوع، وفي مساحات ضيقة. منذ عام 2006، تسببت  انفجارات الغاز والصدمات الكهربائية وانهيار الأنفاق والغارات الجوية الإسرائيلية بمقتل 232 فلسطينياً وإصابة 597 آخرين بجروح، وفق مركز الميزان لحقوق الإنسان.

بعد سقوط نظام مبارك واستبداله بحكومة الإخوان المسلمين برئاسة محمد مرسي، توقعت حماس حدوث تغيير جذري في السياسة تجاه قطاع غزة. وبالفعل، قام العديد من الوفود المصرية رفيعة المستوى بزيارة غزة، بما في ذلك الزيارة التي قام بها الإخوان المسلمون، تلتها زيارة أعضاء في البرلمان وحزب النور السلفي. في أواخر عام 2011، سُمح لرئيس وزراء غزة، اسماعيل هنية، بمغادرة غزة للمرة الأولى منذ عام 2007، وقام بجولات إقليمية. وسُمح لحماس بفتح مكتب لها في القاهرة ولقاء مسؤولين في وزارة الخارجية والرئيس مرسي نفسه، وليس فقط ضباط المخابرات. وفي شباط/فبراير عام 2012، ألقى هنية خطبة الجمعة في مسجد الأزهر، وكانت خطوة قوية ورمزية لآلاف المصلين في القاهرة.

بعد هجوم على مدنيين إسرائيليين في آب/أغسطس عام 2011 من قبل مسلحين مصريين، وفي وقت لاحق من ذلك اليوم مقتل ستة جنود مصريين على أيدي القوات الإسرائيلية، تظاهر الآلاف في القاهرة أمام السفارة الإسرائيلية واقتحموها، مطالبين مصر بقطع كافة العلاقات مع إسرائيل. في آذار/مارس عام 2012، وبعد التصعيد الإسرائيلي ضد غزة، أقر البرلمان المصري اقتراحاً بوقف بيع الغاز لإسرائيل وطرد السفير الإسرائيلي والمصادقة على تقرير اللجنة البرلمانية الذي يقترح تغيير مسار عمل مصر مع إسرائيل. بقيت العلاقات متوترة بين مصر وغزة حول حصار غزة – مما خيّب آمال حماس والفلسطينيين.

منذ سقوط نظام مبارك، استغل السلفيون في شبه جزيرة سيناء الفراغ الأمني وصعّدوا المقاومة المسلحة ضد الحكومة المركزية. فقتلوا بعض زعماء القبائل الذين كانوا ينادون بالتعامل مع الحكومة. أهمل لنظام السابق سيناء إلى حد كبير على مدى عقود، فبالكاد شهدت المنطقة أية استثمارات حكومية. وتعاني سيناء من الفقر وقلة الموارد والبطالة.

بدأ السلفيون بمهاجمة المواقع العسكرية في شمال سيناء بشكل منتظم. في 5 آب/أغسطس عام 2012، قتل 16 جندياً مصرياً على الحدود مع غزة. وردّت الحكومة بهجمات قاسية. وفي 24 أيلول/سبتمبر عام 2012، حُكم على 14 سلفي بالموت بتهمة قتل رجال الشرطة المصرية. وفي أيار/مايو عام 2013، تم اختطاف سبعة من رجال الأمن المصري من قبل سلفيين طالبوا بالإفراج عن الذين حُكم عليهم بالإعدام. تم الافراج عن رجال الشرطة بعد جهود وساطة من زعماء القبائل والجيش. وفي محاولة لاستعادة النظام، طلبت السلطات المصرية من إسرائيل السماح للجيش المصري بنشر المزيد من القوات في سيناء.

بالتالي، بدأت وسائل الإعلام المصرية حملة تشويه ضد الفلسطينيين، محملة حركة حماس مسؤولية عدم السيطرة على جانبها من الحدود، مما أثار قلق الفلسطينيين في غزة. ومنذ أن قام الجيش المصري بخلع حكومة مرسي في 3 تموز/يوليو عام 2013، وصلت هذه الحملة الإعلامية ضد الفلسطينيين مستويات غير مسبوقة، إذ روّج مسؤولون على فضائيات مصرية إشاعات، مثل: الفلسطينيون يريدون احتلال سيناء؛ ويتدخلون في شؤون مصر الداخلية؛ ويثيرون الفوضى؛ وحتى أنهم كان وراء الهجمات على قوات الأمن المصرية من قبل مجموعات مسلحة في سيناء. وطالت هذه الادعاءات الفلسطينيين بشكل عام وحماس بشكل خاص.

مما لا شك فيه، تم تغذية الشائعات بتقارير صحفية في 17 حزيران/يونيو عام 2013 – أي قبل أسابيع من الإطاحة بالرئيس مرسي – أفادت أن حماس أرسلت 3000 مسلح إلى مصر لدعم مرسي.

استخدمت مثل هذه الادّعاءات الشعواء لتبرير الجهود المصرية في تدمير الأنفاق بين غزة ومصر، شريان الحياة بالنسبة للفلسطينيين في قطاع غزة في ظل الحصار الإسرائيلي المكثف. قال روبرت سيري، منسق الأمم المتحدة الخاص لعملية السلام في الشرق الأوسط، في مجلس الأمن الدولي في 24 تموز/يوليو عام 2013 إن 80% من الأنفاق من مصر إلى قطاع غزة “لم تعد صالحة للاستخدام” بسبب الاجراءات الصارمة من قبل الجيش المصري. وأضاف أن قطاع غزة كان يعاني من “نقص كبير في الوقود ومواد البناء الأساسية التي كانت الأنفاق النقطة الرئيسية لدخولها بسبب القيود المشددة على الواردات عبر المعابر الرسمية وارتفاع تكلفة الوقود المتوفر من الضفة الغربية وإسرائيل”. ارتفعت أسعار المواد الغذائية وخلق نقص الوقود طوابير لساعات طويلة.

هناك إجراء آخر اتخذه الجيش فور الإطاحة بحكومة مرسي: حظر الفلسطينيين من دخول مصر عبر مطار القاهرة، فتقطعت السبل بالآلاف منهم في جميع أنحاء العالم، مما منعهم من العودة إلى غزة عبر معبر رفح – نقطة الدخول والخروج الوحيدة بالنسبة للغالبية العظمى من سكان غزة.

أنفاق مصر-غزة
Egypt-Gaza border
أنفاق مصر-غزة
نقل المواد الغذائية غبر أنفاق مصر-غزة Photo HH / اضغط للتكبير

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Past to Present of Palestine / Blockade / Egypt, Gaza and the tunnels

Egypt, Gaza and the tunnels

After the Arab-Israeli War of 1948-1949, the Gaza Strip remained under Egypt’s military administration until its occupation by Israel in the 1967 June War. In this period the Sinai Bedouins and the Palestinians in Gaza continued to mingle through intermarriage and social contacts. This ended when the southern border city of Rafah was split following the 1979 Egypt-Israel Peace Treaty, leaving it divided between Gaza and Egypt. As soon as the agreement was implemented, underground tunnels were dug in home basements across the 14-kilometre long Gaza-Egypt border. Israel’s first recorded discovery of a tunnel was in 1983.

After signing the Oslo Accords, Israel built a high barrier around Gaza. Access to the Gaza Strip was monitored through Israel’s terminals, but when the Second Intifada broke out in 2000, Israel often closed down the terminals and destroyed Gaza’s sea- and airports. Existing tunnels were subsequently upgraded and new ones dug to supplement the shortages which were a direct result of Israel’s strict control on all traffic of goods and materials. The Israeli military, in the knowledge that the tunnels were also used for arms trafficking, began to demolish homes that harboured tunnels and later expanded the demolitions, creating a buffer zone between the border and Rafah City. According to Human Rights Watch, some 1,700 homes were destroyed between 2000 and 2004 in order to create a 100-metre wide buffer zone along the Gaza-Egypt border (the so-called Philadelphia Corridor, known in Israel as the Philadelphi Road). In addition, while implementing its unilateral withdrawal plan from the Gaza Strip in 2005, Israel built an 8-metre high wall. The Mubarak regime in Egypt supported the construction of the wall and the demolition of the tunnels as it would safeguard against any kind of activity that might threaten Egypt’s lucrative tourist industry along the Red Sea. In addition, Egypt feared that Israel’s withdrawal would saddle Egypt with the responsibility for Gaza’s 1.7 million inhabitants, disconnecting it from the West Bank, and thereby obstructing the foundation of an integral Palestinian state.

In January 2006, after Hamas won the Palestinian general elections, Israel responded by systematically tightening its borders and imposing a full-scale blockade of the Strip. Israel closed the Erez terminal to Gazan labourers working in Israel (who at that time constituted 70 percent of Gaza’s workforce). It also shut down the Karni terminal, Gaza’s primary crossing for goods, and it prevented the use of the Rafah terminal for passenger traffic. The array of restrictions on trade and human traffic in and out of the Gaza Strip, coupled with regular Israeli attacks, prompted Palestinians to dig deeper and longer tunnels. A wide variety of goods was transported through the tunnels – from building materials and food to medicine and clothing, from fuel and computers to livestock and cars. Soon on a yearly basis goods valuing between USD 500-700 million were transported through the tunnels (Crisisgroup report).

For those involved, the tunnel business brings great risks. Many work 12-hour shifts, six or seven days a week, in cramped spaces. Since 2006 gas explosions, electrocutions, caving tunnels and Israeli air strikes caused the deaths of 232 Palestinians, leaving another 597 injured according to the al-Mezan Centre for Human Rights.

After the downfall of the Mubarak regime and its replacement by a Muslim Brotherhood government, led by Mohammed Morsi, Hamas expected a fundamental change of policy towards the Gaza Strip. Indeed, many high-level Egyptian delegations visited Gaza, including an official visit by the Muslim Brotherhood, followed by Members of Parliament and of the Salafist al-Nour party. In late 2011 Gaza Prime Minister Ismail Haniyeh was allowed to leave Gaza for the first time since 2007, embarking on regional tours. Hamas was permitted to open an office in Cairo and to deal and meet with officials of the Foreign Ministry and President Morsi himself. In February 2012, Haniyeh held the Friday sermon at the al-Azhar Mosque.

After an attack on Israeli civilians in August 2011 by Egyptian militants and the killing later that day of six Egyptian soldiers by Israeli forces, thousands in Cairo demonstrated in front of and then stormed the Israeli embassy, demanding that Egypt break all ties with Israel. In March 2012, after Israeli violence against Gaza escalated, the Egyptian Parliament passed a motion to halt gas sales to Israel, expel the Israeli ambassador and endorse a parliamentary committee report proposing to reverse Egypt’s course of action toward Israel.

However, relations between Egypt and Gaza remained strained over the Gaza blockade – much to the disappointment of Hamas and the Gazan Palestinians. After the downfall of the Mubarak regime, Salafists in the Sinai Peninsula took advantage of the security vacuum and stepped up their armed resistance to the central government. They killed some tribal leaders who were advocating a deal with the government. The former regime had largely neglected the Sinai for decades. It is a region suffering from poverty, a lack of resources and unemployment.

Salafists started to attack garrisons in the Northern Sinai on a regular basis. On 5 August 2012, sixteen Egyptian soldiers were killed on the border with Gaza. The government responded with heavy attacks and on 24 September 2012, fourteen Salafists were sentenced to death for the murder of Egyptian policemen. In May 2013, seven Egyptian security men were abducted by Salafists demanding the release of those sentenced to death. The policemen were freed after mediation by tribal leaders and the army. In an effort to restore order, the Egyptian authorities asked Israel to allow the Egyptian army to deploy more forces in the Sinai.

The Egyptian media subsequently started a campaign blaming Hamas for not controlling its side of the border. Since the Egyptian military ousted the Morsi government on 3 July 2013, this media campaign has reached unprecedented levels, with Egyptian satellite TV channels and social media rumouring that the Palestinians, for example, want to occupy the Sinai and are interfering in Egypt’s internal affairs, causing turmoil, and are even responsible for attacks on Egyptian security forces by militant groups in the Sinai. The allegations have been leveled at Palestinians in general, and Hamas in particular. The rumours were undoubtedly fed by press reports on 17 June 2013 – weeks before the ouster of President Morsi – stating that Hamas had sent 3,000 troops into Egypt to support Morsi.

Such claims have been used to justify Egypt’s efforts to destroy the tunnels between Gaza and Egypt, a lifeline for Palestinians in Gaza under Israeli blockade. The UN Special Coordinator for the Middle East Peace Process, Robert Serry, told the UN Security Council on 24 July 2013 that 80 percent of tunnels into the Gaza Strip from Egypt are ‘no longer functioning’ due to a crackdown by the Egyptian military. He added that the Gaza Strip was experiencing ‘some serious shortages of fuel and basic building materials for which the tunnels had become the primary entry point due to severe restrictions on imports via the official crossings and the higher cost of fuel available from the West Bank and Israel’. Food prices have shot up and the lack of petrol created long queues.

Another measure taken by the military immediately after the overthrow of the Morsi government was to ban Palestinians from entering Egypt through Cairo Airport, preventing thousands of Palestinians from returning home to Gaza through the Rafah crossing – the sole point of entry and exit for the vast majority of Gaza’s residents.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.