فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / انهيار محادثات السلام و التسوية

انهيار محادثات السلام و التسوية

الجدار في القدس / Photo Fanack
الجدار في القدس / Photo Fanack

أُلقي اللوم في انقطاع مفاوضات السلام الأخيرة بين إسرائيل وفلسطين، وبالإجماع، على الإسرائليين، وذلك حتى من قبل الولايات المتحدة الأميركية التي تعتبر الحليف الأقوى لإسرائيل. وعلى خلاف المرات السابقة، أتقن الفلسطينيون اللعبة هذه المرة على ما يبدو؛ فعدم التزام إسرائيل الإفراج عن الأسرى الستة والعشرين من أصل الأسرى الفلسطينيين من قدامى الأسرى والبالغ عددهم 104 أسير,–على الرغم من الضمانة التي قدمتها الولايات المتحدة,- أتاح لمحمود عباس التخلّص من القيود التي كان قد فرضها على نفسه. وبعد مرور أيام قليلة على إخلال إسرائيل بالموعد النهائي للإفراج عن الأسرى الذين اعتُقلوا قبل انطلاق عملية السلام في العام 1993، وقّع الفلسطينيون خمس عشرة معاهدة دولية. وكان الوعد بإطلاق سراح هؤلاء قد قُطع في مبادرة لبناء الثقة، في العام 1999 كجزء من اتفاقية شرم الشيخ، ولكن انطلاق الانتفاضة الفلسطينية الثانية شكل عذراً لإسرائيل للامتناع عن الإفراج عنهم في ذلك الحين.

وفي حين كان الإفراج عن الأسرى جزءاً من الاتفاق مع الفلسطينيين (بما في ذلك منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية) ليمتنعوا عن الانضمام إلى أي من وكالات الأمم المتحدة، إلا أن الرئيس الفلسطيني لم يستغل جميع الإمكانيات المتاحة له. وتتمتع فلسطين، وهي دولة غير عضو في الأمم المتحدة، منذ تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر من العام 2012، بحق الانضمام إلى أكثر من 60 وكالة دولية ومن بينها المحكمة الجنائية الدولية التي عارضت إسرائيل بشدة عضويتها فيها نظراً إلى احتمال مطالبتها بمحاكمة القادة الإسرائليين باعتبارهم مجرمي حرب.

التسوية

فلسطينيون يجتمعون في تأييد المحادثات بين حركتي فتح وحماس, غزة, 22 ابريل/نيسان 2014 / Photo HH
فلسطينيون يجتمعون في تأييد المحادثات بين حركتي فتح وحماس, غزة, 22 ابريل/نيسان 2014 / Photo HH

في تلك الفترة، لم تنضم قيادة منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية في رام الله إلى المحكمة الجنائية الدولية، بل توصلت إلى اتفاقية تسوية مع حركة المقاومة الإسلامية “حماس” التي كانت خصماً سابقاً لها. فالاتفاقية التي بدت استسلاماً تاماً من حركة حماس لمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية ولإصرارها على التفاوض لإيجاد حلَ للقضية الفلسطينية، أعطت إسرائيل عذراً للخروج من محادثات السلام التي لا تصب في مصلحتها. فالرد الإسرائيلي الرسمي، كما عبّر عنه رئيس الحكومة نتنياهو، تمثل في تخيير الرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس بين الحلف مع حماس أو السلام مع إسرائيل.

وفي جلسة للمجلس المركزي الفلسطيني، ردّ عباس مرحّباً باتفاقية التسوية، ومكرّراً التزامه بمحادثات السلام ومشدداً على أن حكومة الوحدة المنصوص على إنشائها في “خارطة طريق” ستظل تعترف بإسرائيل، وتحترم الاتفاقيات الموقعة وتنبذ الإرهاب. كانت تلك الشروط الثلاثة التي فرضتها الرباعية الدولية التي باتت ميته تقريباً (وهي مؤلفة من الأمم المتحدة، والولايات المتحدة، والاتحاد الأوروبي وروسيا) على الحكومة الجديدة المؤيدة لحركة حماس في العام 2007. وشكلت الموافقة على هذه الشروط إشارة من عباس إلى إسرائيل، والولايات المتحدة، والعالم بأسره إلى وجوب عدم خشية التسوية مع حماس أو معارضتها.

فلسطين
شاب فلسطيني يتسلق سارية علم فلسطين

وفي حين شعرت الولايات المتحدة بأن التسوية هي “غير ذي فائدة”، بحسب الرئيس أوباما، رحّب كل من الاتحاد الأوروبي، والأمم المتحدة وروسيا بهذه التسوية، وبإصرار عباس، الذي خرج فائزاً، على استمرارية المحادثات وعلى عدم إلغاء اعتراف فلسطين بإسرائيل.

وقد رحّب الفلسطينيون المتواجدون داخل الأراضي المحتلّة وخارجها بعضوية فلسطين في المنظمات الدولية وبالمصالحة بين حركة حماس ومنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية. وفي 15 أيار/مايو من العام 2014، تم إحياء الذكرى السنوية للنكبة الفلسطينية لعام 1948 بطريقة أكثر اتحاداً وصخباً من السنوات الماضية.

في المقابل، وعلى الرغم من النجاح البارز الذي حققه محمود عبّاس في التصدي لأي صعوبات كبرى اعترضت مسار المفاوضات وجهود المصالحة، ما زالت فلسطين تحت الاحتلال كما أنه لم يتم وضع حد للاستيطان الإسرائيلي. وقد بيّن وزير الإسكان الإسرائيلي اليميني هذه المسألة بشكل واضح عندما أعلن عن تسريع عملية الاستيطان اليهودي مضيفاً بأنه يتوقع زيادة عدد المستوطنات بنسبة 50% في الأراضي المحتلّة في خلال السنوات الخمس القادمة.

هذا ولا يبدو الاتجاه الذي ستتخذه الجهود الفلسطينية بعد توقف المحادثات واضحاً. ففي حين أنه ما من شك في أن الفلسطينيين لن يقبلوا بموقف إسرائيل من دون الرد، وأن الوحدة الفلسطينية تأتي على رأس الأولويات، إلا أنه ما من استراتيجية واضحة للأيام المقبلة. كيف سيتمكّن الزعماء الفلسطينيون من تحقيق رغبة شعبهم في الحصول على الحرية والاستقلال؟ وعلى الرغم من العوائق الكثيرة، تلتزم واشنطن بشكل واضح بتحقيق السلام في الشرق الأوسط على الرغم من أنها لا ترغب في مواجهة إسرائيل. هل بإمكان الزعماء الفلسطينيين وضع استراتيجية تسفر عن نتائج حقيقية في المستقبل؟ هل ستكون الاتصالات الأوروبية ضرورية أكثر في المرحلة المقبلة؟ هل سيسرّع الفلسطينيون عملية المقاومة السلمية وغير العنيفة داخل الأراضي المحتلة؟ هل سيتبع عباس أسلوب المقاطعة وسحب الاستثمارات وفرض العقوبات أم أنه سيحاول البقاء محايداً على أمل توصل الولايات المتحدة الأميركية مجدداً إلى عملية سلام مع الحكومة الإسرائيلية الراهنة المشجعة على الاستيطان؟

في حال تمت عملية المصالحة بالطريقة المخطط لها –, وهو أمر غير مؤكد على الإطلاق-, من المقرر إجراء انتخابات الرئاسة الفلسطينية في نهاية العام 2014. وفي هذا السياق، صرّح محمود عباس مراراً بأنه لن يترشح مجدّداً إلى الانتخابات الرئاسية. ونظراً إلى أن المفاوضات تجري بصفته رئيس منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، لا شكّ في أن الانتخابات ستأتي بأشخاص جدد وأفكار حديثة. وقد تكون الأشهر المتبقية من العام 2014  فرصةً أخيرةً لعبّاس حتى يتمكن من إحداث تأثير إيجابي من أجل السلام في المنطقة؛ إشارةً إلى أنه لم يتبق لأوباما سوى سنة ونصف من ولايته كرئيس للولايات المتحدّة. لذا من غير الواضح ما إذا كان علينا توقع أي أفكار جديدة من قبل عباس أو انتظار قادةٍ جدد أصغر سناً لحمل الشعلة.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Home / Palestine / Past to Present / Breakdown of Peace Talks & Reconciliation

Breakdown of Peace Talks & Reconciliation

The separation wall running through Jerusalem / Photo Fanack
The separation wall running through Jerusalem / Photo Fanack

The latest breakdown in the peace talks between Israel and Palestine has been blamed almost unanimously on the Israelis, even by Israel’s strongest ally, the United States. Unlike on previous occasions, the Palestinians appear to have played their cards well. The failure of Israel to deliver on its agreement to release the final twenty-six of 104 long-term Palestinian prisoners—despite the American guarantee that they would be released—helped Mahmoud Abbas get rid of the straitjacket that he had placed himself in. A few days after Israel failed to honor the deadline for the release of the prisoners who had been jailed since before the start of the peace process in 1993, the Palestinians signed fifteen international treaties. Release of these prisoners had been promised in 1999 as a confidence-building gesture, as part of the Sharm El Sheikh agreement, but the start of the second Palestinian intifada gave the Israelis the excuse not to release them at that time.

While the release of the prisoners was part of a deal with Palestinians (including the PLO) to refrain from joining any UN agency, the Palestinian president didn’t go as far as he could have. Palestine, since November 2012 a non-member state of the UN, can join more than sixty international agencies, including the International Criminal Court (ICC). Israel has vehemently opposed Palestine’s membership in the ICC because of the possibility that Palestine might demand that Israel’s leaders be tried as war criminals.

Palestinians gather to support talks between Fatah and Hamas, Gaza, 22 April 2014 / Photo HH
Palestinians gather to support talks between Fatah and Hamas, Gaza, 22 April 2014 / Photo HH

Reconciliation

The Ramallah-based PLO leadership did not join the ICC at this time, but they did reach a reconciliation agreement with their former archrivals, the Islamist Hamas movement. The agreement, which appears to be a total capitulation by Hamas to the PLO and its insistence on a negotiated track to solve the Palestinian problem, gave the Israelis the excuse to get out of the peace talks, in which they really had no interest. The official Israeli response, as articulated by Prime Minister Netanyahu, was that Palestinian president Mahmoud Abbas had to choose between a pact with Hamas and peace with Israel.

Abbas responded, during a session of the Palestine Central Council, by welcoming the reconciliation agreement, reiterating his commitment to the peace talks, and insisting that the unity government that is stipulated in the reconciliation “road map” will continue to recognize Israel, respect signed agreements, and renounce terror. These were the three conditions laid out by the now nearly defunct quartet (UN, US, EU, and Russia) to the newly elected pro-Hamas government in 2007. By accepting these conditions, Abbas signaled to Israel, the United States, and the rest of the world that they should neither fear nor be opposed to reconciliation with Hamas.

While the United States felt that the reconciliation was “unhelpful”, in the words of President Obama, the European Union, the United Nations, and Russia welcomed it warmly, as well as the fact that Abbas, who emerged the winner, has insisted that talks continue and  that Palestine’s recognition of Israel not be rescinded.

Palestinians inside and outside the occupied territories welcomed Palestinian membership in the international organizations and the reconciliation between Hamas and the PLO. The 15 May anniversary of the dispersal of Palestinians in 1948 was remembered in 2014 in a much more unified and boisterous way than in years past.

But, despite the apparent success of Mahmoud Abbas in avoiding any major roadblocks in the negotiations and the reconciliation efforts, Palestine remains under occupation, and Israel’s settlement drive has not been halted. Israel’s right-wing housing minister made this clear when he announced the acceleration of Jewish settlement activities, adding that he expected 50% more settlers in the occupied territories within the next five years.

It is unclear what direction the Palestinian effort will take after the breakdown of the talks. While there is no doubt that Palestinians could not accept Israel’s position without response and that Palestinian unity is the top priority, there is a feeling that there is no clear strategy ahead. How will Palestinian leaders achieve the demands of their people for freedom and independence? Despite its many drawbacks, Washington is clearly committed to peace in the Middle East, although it is unwilling to confront the Israelis. Can Palestinian leaders forge a strategy that will produce real results in the future? Will the European connections be much more necessary in the coming stage? Will Palestinians accelerate peaceful, nonviolent resistance inside the occupied territories? Will Abbas adopt the Boycott, Divestment, and Sanctions (BDS) path, or will he try to stay neutral on  that subject, in the hope that an American-led process can be revived with the settler-influenced Israeli government now in power?

If the current reconciliation process goes as planned—which is not at all certain—Palestine is scheduled to hold elections by the end of 2014. Mahmoud Abbas has repeatedly stated that he will not run for president again. While the negotiations are held in his position as chairman of the PLO, elections will no doubt bring new blood and fresh ideas. The remaining months of 2014 might be Abbas’s last chance to make a positive impact for peace in the region, and Obama’s term as US president is in its last year and a half. It is unclear whether we will see any new ideas from Abbas or will have to wait for new, younger leaders to carry the torch.

image_pdfimage_print