فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الانتداب البريطاني

الانتداب البريطاني

القدس تحت الانتداب البريطاني ، 1945

خلال الحرب العالمية الأولى، وقفت الإمبراطورية التركية العثمانية إلى جانب ألمانيا والإمبراطورية النمساوية الهنغارية، وبالتالي تجرعت الهزيمة. وبالتالي، استغّل ألد خصومها – بريطانيا العظمى وفرنسا – الفرصة لاحتلال أجزاء كبيرة من الأراضي التابعة للإمبراطورية العثمانية التركية، بما في ذلك بلاد الشام.

مراسلات حسين مكماهون

سعت بريطانيا وفرنسا في صراعهما ضد الحكام العثمانيين الأتراك إلى الحصول على الدعم من العرب، في شخص شريف مكة، حسين بن علي. بسبب منصبه وباعتباره سليل النبي محمد (سيّد)، كان يتمتع بنفوذ كبير بين المسلمين. وقد أبدى حسين استعداده لتقديم الدعم المطلوب. كانت هذه خطوة كبيرة، باعتبار أنها كانت بالتالي تعني معارضة سلطة السلطان – والذي كان بعد كل شيء خليفة النبي محمد. مقابل الدعم، حصل العرب على وعد بالاستقلال من البريطانيين (وضعت فيما يسمى مراسلات حسين مكماهون عام 1915-1916).

اتفاقية سايكس بيكو

لكن بعد الحرب لم تفِ بريطانيا العظمى وفرنسا بالتزاماتهما تجاه العرب. وعوضاً عن ذلك، تقاسمت لندن وباريس الأراضي العثمانية التركية المحتلة بينهما على شكل انتداب بريطاني وفرنسي (مصطلح القرن العشرين للفظة مستعمرة)، وذلك وفق اتفاق سري (اتفاقية سايكس بيكو، 1916). وقد تم هذا بموافقة عصبة الأمم المنشأة حديثاً، الاسم السابق للأمم المتحدة.

عام 1920، ظهر الانتداب البريطاني لفلسطين إلى حيز الوجود، شاملاً أراضي فلسطين ودولة إسرائيل المستقبلية. وتم تقسيم ما تبقى  من بلاد الشام إلى أراضي انتداب: لبنان (فرنسا)، سوريا (فرنسا)، الأردن (بريطانيا).

Sykes-Picot map 1024px
خريطة اتفاقية سايكس بيكو

وعد بلفور

في الثاني من نوفمبر 1917، كتب وزير الخارجية البريطاني آرثر بالفور رسالةً إلى والتر روتشيلد، وهو شخصيةٌ بارزة في المجتمع اليهودي البريطاني، معرباً عن دعم الحكومة البريطانية إنشاء وطنٍ لليهود في فلسطين. ويتألف النص من فقرة واحدة يُعرف باسم وعد بلفور. كانت فلسطين، في ذلك الوقت، سنجقاً نائياً في الإمبراطورية العثمانية المفككة، التي كانت بريطانيا تخوض معها حرباً منذ عام 1914. وعلى الرغم من عدم تمتعهم بأي استحقاقٍ في المنطقة، نفذ البريطانيون الوعد دون استشارة سكانها البالغ عددهم 650 ألف نسمة، الذين يُشكل العرب ما نسبته حوالي الـ92% منهم (مسلمين ومسيحيين) و8% فقط من اليهود.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن فلسطين يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وث...
يخوض الفلسطينيون كفاحاً مريراً لإقامة دولتهم المستقلة وتطبيق قرا...
وبعد قرنٍ من الزمان، لا يمكن المبالغة في أهمية وعد بلفور والسياسا...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Matson Photo Service ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS | ©Fanack

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Palestine / Past to Present / British Mandate

British Mandate

Jerusalem under British mandate,1945

During World War I, the Ottoman Turkish Empire sided with Germany and the Austro-Hungarian Empire, thus suffering defeat. Its most important adversaries – Great Britain and France – hence seized the opportunity to occupy large parts of the territory belonging to the Ottoman Turkish Empire, including Bilad al-Sham.

Husayn-McMahon Correspondence

In their struggle against the Ottoman Turkish rulers, the British and the French sought support from the Arabs, in the person of the Sharif of Mecca (Protector of the holy cities of Mecca and Medina), Sayyid Husayn ibn Ali. On account of his position and as a descendant of the Prophet Muhammad, he enjoyed great authority among Muslims. Husayn was willing to offer the required support. This was a major step, as it meant he was opposing the authority of the sultan – who was, after all, the Prophet Muhammad’s successor (in the previous years he had already begun to distance himself from the sultan). In exchange for their support, the Arabs were promised independence by the British (set down in writing in the so-called Husayn-McMahon Correspondence, 1915-1916).

Sykes-Picot Agreement

After the war, however, Great Britain and France did not fulfil their obligations towards the Arabs. Instead, London and Paris divided the conquered Ottoman Turkish territory between them in a British and a French mandate territory (a 20th century word for a colony), on the basis of a secret agreement (the Sykes-Picot Agreement, 1916).

This happened with the consent of the recently established League of Nations, the predecessor of the United Nations. In 1920, the British Mandate of Palestine thus came into existence, encompassing the territory of the future State of Israel and Palestine.

Sykes-Picot map 1024px
Map of the Sykes-Picot Agreement. Click to enlarge. ©Fanack

Balfour Declaration

On 2 November 1917, British Foreign Secretary Arthur Balfour wrote a letter to Walter Rothschild, a leading figure in the British Jewish community, expressing the government’s support for a Jewish homeland in Palestine. Comprising a single paragraph, the text became known as the Balfour Declaration. Palestine was, at the time, a remote province in the disintegrating Ottoman Empire, with which Britain had been at war since 1914. Yet despite having no claim to the territory, the British made the declaration without consulting its 650,00 inhabitants, made up of about 92 per cent Arabs (Muslim and Christian) and 8 per cent Jews.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Palestine country file provides a comprehensive overview about Palestine, its history, politics, culture, eco...
Palestinians have been waging a bitter struggle to establish their independent state and implement international legitim...
A century on, the importance of the Balfour Declaration and the policies that accompanied it cannot be overstated. Briti...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Matson Photo Service ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS | ©Fanack

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!