فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الانتداب البريطاني / التصعيد والثورة

التصعيد والثورة

جنود الهاغاناه في العفولة 1939

تصعّد الوضع في المنطقة خلال العشرينات والثلاثينيات نتيجة عدد من التطورات. وكان أحد العوامل الهامة هو التدفق المستمر للمستوطنين اليهود الذين كانوا يشترون الأراضي بانتظام، بدعم من الانتداب البريطاني. عام 1919، بلغ عدد المستوطنين اليهود 66,000، وبهذا شكلوا نحو 10% من السكان. وبحلول عام 1929، زاد عددهم إلى أكثر من الضعف ليصل إلى 156,000 (16%). وبعد سبع سنوات، ارتفع عددهم إلى 370,000، أكثر من الضعف مرة أخرى (27%). ولم يواكب شراء الأراضي هذا النمو الهائل.

إجمالاً، في هذه الفترة تم وضع الأساس لمجتمع يهودي متماثل وانعزالي على أساس الفصل العنصري. ولفترة طويلة، اعتقد الزعماء الفلسطينيون، الذين جاؤوا من النخبة الحضرية وكانوا مدركين تماماً لخطورة الوضع، أنهم من الممكن أن يقنعوا البريطانيين بتغيير موقفهم فيما يتعلق بأنشطة اليهود الصهاينة عن طريق الحث مع الضغط على شكل عدم تعاون إداري. وكان يقودهم زعيم ديني مسلم، الحاج أمين الحسيني، مفتي القدس، الذي كان رئيس المجلس الإسلامي الأعلى – وهي مؤسسة هامة كانت ترأس الإدارة والإشراف على المدارس والأوقاف الدينية والمحاكم وغيرها. وقد شنّ وآخرون معركة من وجهة نظر قومية فلسطينية وعربية.

كما اتضح لاحقاً، قيّم الزعماء الفلسطينيون، والذين كانوا أنفسهم منقسمين إلى حد كبير نتيجة الخصومات الشخصية، الموقف البريطاني بشكل خاطئ. وظلت السياسة البريطانية بدون تغيير، حتى بعد المواجهات الدامية بين اليهود الصهاينة والفلسطينيين، كما حدث في آب/أغسطس عام 1929 في الخليل في أعقاب سلسلة من الحوادث عند حائط البراق/المبكى.

عز الدين القسام

خرجت الأحداث عن نطاق السيطرة، حيث فقد الزعماء الفلسطينيون بشكل متزايد السيطرة أمام أولئك الذين اعتقدوا بأن البريطانيين يشكلون عقبة أكبر أمام تحقيق التطلعات العربية/الفلسطينية حتى من اليهود الصهاينة. وقد استلزم مقاومة كليهما – عن طريق السلاح. فتشكلت الميليشيات في الأرياف والأحياء الفقيرة، والتي تتألف غالباً من المزارعين الذين لا يملكون الأرض. وكان قائد واحدة من أوائل المجموعات زعيم ديني مسلم، عز الدين القسّام – رمز حركات المقاومة الفلسطينية، والمشهور ببسالته – وسرعان ما قُتل على يد القوات البريطانية بعد حمل السلاح.

أدى موته العنيف إلى المزيد من التصعيد، وازداد الضغط على الزعماء الفلسطينيين إلى حد كبير. وفي 20 نيسان/أبريل عام 1936، دعوا إلى إضراب عام إلى أجل غير مسمى، وقد لاقى ذلك استجابة واسعة. وفي نهاية المطاف، استغرق الإضراب 176 يوماً. وازدادت المقاومة المسلحة في السنوات التالية، والتي أصبحت تستهدف كل من المستوطنين اليهود والبريطانيين.

الرد البريطاني

قام البريطانيون بأقصى ما بوسعهم لسحق التمرد: اعتقالات وطرد وإعدامات وتدابير عقاب جماعي، مثل تدمير المنازل. كما تم تشكيل فرق إعدام – ما يسمى بفرق الليل الخاصة – لتصفية القوميين الفلسطينيين البارزين. وحارب المقاتلون اليهود الصهاينة إلى جانب البريطانيين.

في سياق الثورة التي استمرت حتى عام 1939، اضطرت لندن إلى إرسال قوات إضافية إلى فلسطين لتعويض التوازن: حوالي 5000 قتيل فلسطيني (108 تم إعدامهم) و 262 بريطاني و 300 مستوطن يهودي. كان ذلك محرجاً للغاية، لأن خطر الحرب مع ألمانيا النازية كان يلوح في الأفق. وفي محاولة لتهدئة الجبهة الفلسطينية، أعلنت بريطانيا عام 1939 أنها ستقوم بالحد من هجرة اليهود بشكل كبير وتحقيق إقامة دولة فلسطينية في غضون عشر سنوات. وسيتم تقسيم السلطة بين الفلسطينيين واليهود الصهاينة وفقاً لحصتهم من السكان.

أدى ذلك إلى الغضب والعداء بين اليهود الصهاينة. وكردة فعل، هاجم المقاتلون اليهود الصهاينة أهدافاً بريطانية. وهكذا وقعت بريطانيا بين نارين. وبعد عامين من نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية، اعترفت بريطانيا بالهزيمة.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن فلسطين يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وث...
يخوض الفلسطينيون كفاحاً مريراً لإقامة دولتهم المستقلة وتطبيق قرا...
وبعد قرنٍ من الزمان، لا يمكن المبالغة في أهمية وعد بلفور والسياسا...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Palestine / Past to Present of Palestine / British Mandate / Escalation and Revolt

Escalation and Revolt

The situation in the region escalated in the course of the 1920s and 1930s as a result of a number of developments. An important factor was the on-going influx of Jewish settlers who were systematically buying up plots of land, with the support of the British mandatory. In 1919, Jewish settlers numbered 66,000, thus making up about 10 percent of the population; by 1929, their numbers had more than doubled to 156,000 (16 percent). Seven years later, they had risen to 370,000, again more than doubling (27 percent). The purchase of land did not keep step with this spectacular growth.

All in all, in this period the foundation was laid for a parallel, exclusive Jewish society based upon segregation. For a long while, Palestinian leaders, mainly originating from the urban elite and acutely aware of the seriousness of the situation, believed that they could convince the British to alter their position with regard to the activities of the Zionist Jews through persuasion in combination with pressure in the form of administrative non-cooperation. They were led by a Muslim religious leader, Hajj Amin al-Husayni, the mufti (Islamic scholar) of Jerusalem, who was President of the Supreme Muslim Council – an important institution that presided over the administration and supervision of schools, religious foundations (waqfs or awqaf), law courts and such. He and others waged their battle from both Palestinian nationalistic as well as pan-Arab viewpoints.

As became evident, the Palestinian leaders, who were themselves strongly divided as a result of personal rivalries, had wrongly assessed the position of the British. The British policy remained unaltered, even after bloody confrontations between Zionist Jews and Palestinians, for example in August 1929 in Hebron following a series of incidents at the Wailing Wall/Al Buraq Wall.

Izz al-Din al-Qassam

Izz al-Din al-Qassam
Izz al-Din al-Qassam

As events spun out of control, the Palestinian leaders lost more and more ground to those who believed that the British were an even greater obstacle to the realization of Arab/Palestine aspirations than the Zionist Jews. Both needed to be combatted by force of arms. In the countryside and in the city slums, guerrilla groups were formed, made up predominantly of landless farmers. One of the earliest groups was led by a Muslim religious leader, Izz al-Din al-Qassam – an icon of Palestinian resistance movements known for his valour – who was soon killed by British troops after taking up arms.

His violent death led to further escalation, and the pressure on Palestinian leaders increased. On 20 April 1936, they called a general strike for an indefinite period, which found a wide response. Eventually, the strike lasted for 176 days. The armed resistance, now aimed at both the Jewish settlers and the British, also grew in the following years.

The British reaction

The British went to extreme lengths to quash the revolt: arrests, expulsion, executions, and collective punitive measures, such as destroying homes. Death squads were also employed – the so-called Special Night Squads – who liquidated prominent Palestinian nationalists. Zionist Jewish combatants fought on the side of the British.

The death toll in the revolt, which would last until 1939, was: about 5,000 Palestinian deaths (of whom 108 were executed), 262 British and 300 Jewish settlers. In the course of the revolt, London was forced to send extra troops to Palestine. This was highly inconvenient as the threat of war with Nazi Germany was looming. In an attempt to somewhat placate the Palestinian front, in 1939 the British announced that they would drastically curtail the immigration of Jews and realize the establishment of a Palestinian state within ten years. Power would be divided between Palestinians and Zionist Jews, in accordance with their share of the population.

This resulted in anger and hostility amongst Zionist Jews. In reaction, Jewish combatants attacked British targets. The British thus found themselves attacked from two sides. Two years after the end of World War II, London threw in the towel.

The Arab Revolt: Palestinian soldiers
The Arab Revolt: Palestinian soldiers
Haganah soldiers
Haganah soldiers

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.