فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / مظاهرات في رام الله وغزة – رسالةٌ للقيادة الفلسطينية

مظاهرات في رام الله وغزة – رسالةٌ للقيادة الفلسطينية

Palestine- Ramallah demos
امرأة فلسطينية تردد شعاراتٍ وتحمل لافتة كتب عليها “غزة توحدنا، ارفعوا العقوبات،” أثناء مشاركتها في احتجاجٍ يدعو إلى رفع العقوبات عن قطاع غزة في مدينة رام الله بالضفة الغربية في 23 يونيو 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ABBAS MOMANI

المظاهرات التي بدأت في رام الله بحوالي 1500 متظاهر بتاريخ 10 يونيو 2018 واستمرت عدة أيام، تقلصت فيما بعد الى بضع مئاتٍ فقط، بعد اصدار مستشار الرئيس لشؤون المحافظات، قراراً يقضي بمنع تنظيم فعاليات أو مسيراتٍ شعبية خلال فترة الأعياد، مما أعطى ذريعة للشرطة الفلسطينية بقمع المظاهرة بالقوة بتاريخ 13 يونيو.

فقد تم التخطيط والإعداد للمظاهرات عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، حيت تكونت حملة تسمى “حراك ارفعوا العقوبات،” المكونة من بعض شخصيات وقوى اليسار، ومؤسسات المجتمع المدني، وأكاديميين وصحفيين.

هذه المعارضة التي تحاول ان تستعيد دورها لتصبح “بيضة القبان” بين قطبي السياسية الفلسطينية، حركة فتح وحركة حماس، لا زالت تحشد قواها ومستمرة في الحراك السلمي للضغط على الحكومة. وعلى الرغم من أن عدد المشاركين في المظاهرة كان متواضعاً، حيث تم تقديرهم ببضع مئاتٍ من المحتجين فحسب، الا انهم استطاعوا إيجاد حراكٍ قوي داخل المجتمع الفلسطيني ككل، حيث رددوا شعاراتٍ ورفعوا لافتاتٍ تطالب الرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس برفع العقوبات المفروضة على قطاع غزة منذ مارس لعام 2017 ولغاية يومنا هذا.

وبالفعل، بدأت هذه العقوبات بتخفيض رواتب موظفي الحكومة التابعين للسلطة الفلسطينية الى 30%، فيما ارتفعت نسبة الخصومات من الراتب الأساسي لتصل إلى 50%، ناهيك عن خصم جميع العلاوات الوظيفية. وبالإضافة الى التخفيض الكبير في الإنفاق الحكومي على المصاريف الجارية للوزرات المختلفة، تم أيضاً اجبار الالاف من الموظفين العسكريين والمدنيين على التقاعد المبكر. وعلاوة على ذلك، قررت إسرائيل خفض متوسط إستهلاك الكهرباء في غزة إلى أقل من أربع ساعاتٍ يومياً، وذلك لعدة أشهر.

أدى كل ذلك إلى تفاقم الأزمة الإنسانية في قطاع غزة، وارتفعت نسبة الفقر لدرجة لم يعهدها القطاع من قبل. فقد تم قمع المظاهرات بالقوة من قبل الشرطة الفلسطينية، حيث استخدمت الشرطة الهراوات والغاز المسيل للدموع ضد المتظاهرين، وتم تسجيل عدد كبير من الإصابات، بينهم صحفيين ونشطاء من المجتمع المدني، وتم اعتقال ما يقارب من 60 متظاهراً، منهم عددٌ كبيرٌ من الصحفيين، وبعض الأجانب، بسبب توثيقهم للاحتجاجات، حيث تم مصادرة أجهزة التصوير، وتم الإفراج ليلاً عن الصحفيين الأجانب. وعليه، نددت نقابة الصحفيين الفلسطينيين بالأسلوب الهمجي في التعامل مع المتظاهرين، وطالبت جميع الصحفيين بعدم تغطية الاخبار الحكومية لمدة ثلاثة أيام.

الأهداف السياسية الكامنة وراء العقوبات الجماعية على قطاع غزة

منذ سيطرة حماس على السلطة في قطاع غزة عام 2007، نشأ انقسامٌ سياسي ومجتمعي متزايد بين الضفة الغربية التي تسيطر عليها حركة فتح، وبين قطاع غزة الذي تحكمه حماس. فقد تم التوصل إلى العديد من اتفاقات المصالحة بين الجانبين، لكنها لم تدم طويلاً.

كان آخرها الاتفاق الموقع في القاهرة في شهر أكتوبر لعام 2017 بعد ان حلت حركة حماس اللجنة الإدارية (الحكومة في غزة)، الذي تم الإتفاق بموجبه على أن تكون حكومة الوحدة الوطنية برئاسة الحمد الله مسؤولةً عن الشؤون الحكومية وجميع الموظفين في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة. إلا أن الانقسام السياسي لم يتم حله بعد وربما تعمق أكثر.

فمن ناحيتها واصلت السلطة الفلسطينية تشديد وفرض عقوباتٍ جديدة على قطاع غزة على الرغم من الاتفاق الاخير، بهدف خلق ازمة إنسانية في قطاع غزة، مما يجبر الشعب على التظاهر ضد حركة حماس واسقاطها.

ومن ناحيةٍ أخرى أدركت حماس بان مصطلح “التمكين” الذي تنادي به حكومة الحمد لله، يهدف الى تركيع حركة حماس. فقد رفضت قيادة حماس التخلي عن سلاح المقاومة ذلك أن لديها تجارب سابقة سيئة مع السلطة الفلسطينية بهذا الصدد. فمنذ عام 1996 وحتى عام 2005، زُج بالكثير من قيادات حماس ومؤيديها في سجون السلطة الفلسطينية لعدة أشهر، وأحياناً لسنوات.

وبالتالي، لتجنب خوض تجربةٍ مماثلة، أبقت حماس على المفاصل الحيوية في قطاع غزة بين يديها، بما في ذلك قطاع الأمن والجباية المالية. استثنى هذا القرار معابر رام الله الرئيسية، أي معبر إيرز- بيت حانون مع الجانب الإسرائيلي، ومعبر رفح مع الجانب المصري، اللذان تم تسليمهما الى السلطة الفلسطينية تحت قيادة وزارة الداخلية في رام الله. بيد أن حماس أقامت نقاط تفتيشٍ خارج معبري إيرز ورفح، وبالتالي تتحكم حماس ظاهرياً بالمعابر عن بعد، وعليه تستطيع التحكم بحركة المسافرين الذي يدخلون ويغادرون القطاع.

فالحصار الإسرائيلي على القطاع منذ أكثر من 11 عاماً، بالإضافة الى الحروب الإسرائيلية الثلاثة المدمرة في السنوات الأخيرة، وإغلاق معبر رفح لسنواتٍ عديدة، وأخيراً جملة العقوبات التي فرضها الرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس على القطاع، أدى كل ذلك الى انهيارٍ تام في الاقتصاد الفلسطيني بقطاع غزة. فقد أصبح ما يقارب من 70% من سكان قطاع غزة يعتاشون على المساعدات المقدمة من قبل وكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين (الأونروا)، التي أصبحت تعاني عجزاً مالياً كبيراً بعد ان جمدت الولايات المتحدة الكثير من ميزانيتها في يناير 2018.

ووفقاً لمكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية (أوتشا)، ارتفعت معدلات الفقر في قطاع غزة من 28,8% في عام 2011 إلى 53% بحلول نهاية عام 2017. وعليه فأن أكثر من نصف الفلسطينيين في قطاع غزة يعيشون بدون اكتفاءٍ غذائي ومائي. بل إن إنعدام اﻷﻣﻦ الغذائي واﻧﻌﺪام اﻟﺮﻋﺎﻳﺔ اﻟﺼﺤﻴﺔ، والنقص الحاد في الكهرباء، جعل الحياة لا تطاق في قطاع غزة.

فقد عبّر المحتجون في رام الله، على الرغم من عددهم المحدود، عن تضامنهم مع قطاع غزة المحاصر وعن استيائهم حيال السياسة المتبعة من قبل القيادة الفلسطينية تجاه شعبهم الفلسطيني. ففي حين التزمت السلطة الفلسطينية الصمت تجاه احداث المظاهرات في رام الله، سارعت كل من حركتي فتح وحماس الى تحميل الطرف الاخر المسؤولية عن حالة الغليان التي أصبحت تسود الشارع الفلسطيني.

فقد عبرت حركة فتح في بيانٍ رسمي من جانبها بأن المظاهرات في رام الله هدفها اشعال الفتنة، وبأنها ستضرب بيدٍ من حديد حال المساس بالقيادة الشرعية. وأضاف البيان أنه كان من الأولى بهؤلاء المتظاهرين، الذين وصفتهم “بالمرتزقة،” أن يرفعوا شعاراتٍ لإجبار حماس على التخلي عن الحكم وتمكين حكومة الحمد لله في قطاع غزة، من اجل انهاء الانقسام.

حركة حماس وعلى لسان الناطق باسمها حازم قاسم ادانت بشدة الهجوم على المتظاهرين، واعتبرت ان السلطة تمارس سياسية القمع، وكبت الحريات وأن السلطة تعمل على اسكات الأصوات الرافضة للعقوبات الإجرامية، على حد قوله.

كما أدانت العديد من الفصائل السياسية اليسارية والمستقلة بشده قمع المظاهرة بالقوة. فقد نددت الجبهة الديمقراطية لتحرير فلسطين بالقمع الوحشي الذي مارسته الأجهزة الأمنية الفلسطينية ضد المتظاهرين المطالبين برفع الإجراءات العقابية عن قطاع غزة، ودعت الجبهة إلى تشكيل لجنة تحقيق وطنية في أسرع وقتٍ ممكن.

كما أدانت الهيئة الفلسطينية المستقلة لحقوق الانسان القمع الوحشي للمظاهرات وطالبت بمحاسبة المسؤولين، وحماية حق الناس في التظاهر والتعبير عن الرأي. أما عضو اللجنة التنفيذية لمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، السيدة حنان عشراوي، فقد استهجنت قرار مستشار الرئيس غير الدستوري بمنع الفعاليات خلال فترة الأعياد، وادانت بشدة استخدام القوة من قبل الشرطة ضد المتظاهرين.

الحراك الذي بدأ في رام الله، انتقل سريعاً الى الخارج، حيث جرت العديد من المظاهرات في الأردن ولبنان وبعض الدول الأوروبية بتاريخ 23 يونيو، تطالب الرئيس عباس برفع العقوبات الجماعية المفروضة على قطاع غزة. وبالإضافة الى رام الله، جرت عدة مظاهراتٍ في عواصم عربية وغربية. فقد تم تنظيم مظاهراتٍ أمام السفارات الفلسطينية في كلٍ من العاصمة اللبنانية بيروت، وعمّان في الأردن، ونيويورك في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. وفي أوروبا في يونيو 2018، أقيمت احتجاجاتٌ أمام مبنى البرلمان الأوروبي في بروكسل- بلجيكا، وفي مونبلييه- فرنسا، وفي ميلان- إيطاليا، وفي أثينا- اليونان وأمستردام في هولندا.

ومن الجدير بالذكر، بأن قمع المظاهرات في رام الله يعتبر سياسيةً ممنهجة، فقد صدر تقريرٌ لجمعية هنري جاكسون لعام 2016 عن الديمقراطية والحرية وحقوق الإنسان، يفيد بأن رد الفعل العنيف للسلطة الفلسطينية ليس الأول من نوعه، ولكنه جزء من سلسلة من الإجراءات القمعية ضد المعارضة ومنتقدي حركة فتح والسلطة الفلسطينية في الضفة الغربية.

وبتاريخ 18 يونيو حاولت حركة فتح تنظيم مظاهرةٍ في مدينة غزة، التي كانت تهدف ظاهرياً إلى المطالبة برفع العقوبات عن غزة، ولكن فعلياً بدأت المظاهرة بتأييد الرئيس عباس في خطواته العقابية. وعليه تدخلت مجموعة من الشباب بزي مدني وفرقوا المظاهرة عنوة ولكن دون استخدام العنف، ومع ذلك، تم مسح محتوى التوثيق الإعلامي للحادثة. فقد اتهم العديد من المتظاهرين بأن القوة الشرطية التابعة لحكومة غزة (التابعة لحماس) هي من فضت المظاهرة.

طالما أن نظام الحزب الواحد هو الحاكم الوحيد، سواء حركة فتح في الضفة الغربية، او حركة حماس في قطاع غزة، فان حالة الحريات العامة والحق بالتظاهر لن تكون مكفولة في شطري الوطن. فحركة فتح والسلطة الفلسطينية تمارسان شتى أنواع الاضطهاد ضد المعارضة الحمساوية وقوى اليسار، ومن جهتها، تمارس حكومة حماس أيضاً الاضطهاد ضد المعارضة الفتحاوية في قطاع غزة، مع أن الفارق بسيط: تمتلك قوى اليسار في قطاع غزة هامشاً أكبر من الحرية مقارنةً بما عليه الحال في الضفة الغربية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ABBAS MOMANI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Past to Present / Demonstrations in Ramallah and Gaza – Message to Palestinian Leadership

Demonstrations in Ramallah and Gaza – Message to Palestinian Leadership

Palestine- Ramallah demos
A Palestinian woman shouts slogans in the street and holds a banner reading “Gaza uniting us, lift the sanctions” as she takes part in a protest calling for a lift of the sanctions on Gaza Strip, in the West Bank city of Ramallah, on June 23, 2018. Photo AFP

The demonstrations that began in Ramallah on 10 June 2018 with approximately 1,500 demonstrators continued for several days. However, the demonstrators were later reduced to only a few hundreds, after an adviser to the Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas issued a decision banning the organization of popular events or marches during holidays. This gave an excuse for the Palestinian Police to quell the protests by force on 13 June.

The demonstrations were planned and prepared via social media. A campaign called “Mobilization Against Sanctions” was launched and led by a group of personalities including leftists, civil society organizations, activists, academics and journalists.

The opposition, which is trying to restore its role to tip the balance between the Palestinian political poles Fatah and Hamas, continues to mobilize powers and stage peaceful protests to apply pressure on the government. Although the number of participants in the demonstration was not high, amounting to a few hundred protesters only, they were able to rally a strong movement within the Palestinian community as a whole. They shouted slogans and raised banners demanding that Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas lift the sanctions imposed on the Gaza Strip since March 2017.

Indeed, these sanctions have started to decrease the salaries of government employees of the Palestinian Authority by 30%, while deductions to basic salaries amounted to 50%. Because of the sanctions, and in addition to a substantial reduction in the government’s current spending on various ministries, thousands of military and civilian personnel were forced to retire early. Moreover, for several months Israel made the decision to reduce the average electricity consumption in the Gaza Strip to less than four hours a day.

All this has exacerbated the humanitarian crisis in the Gaza Strip and made poverty rates rise to unprecedented levels.

The demonstrations were quelled by the Palestinian police by force, using batons and tear gas. A large number of demonstrators were reported beaten, including journalists and activists from the civil society. Approximately 60 demonstrators were also beaten, including a large number of journalists, some foreign. They were arrested and their cameras confiscated because they were documenting the protests. The foreign journalists who had been arrested were released overnight. The Palestinian press association condemned the barbaric treatment the demonstrators received and demanded that all journalists do not cover government news for three days.

Political Objectives behind Collective Punishment against Gaza Strip

Since Hamas took power in the Gaza Strip in June 2007, a growing political and societal divide has developed between the West Bank, which is controlled by Fatah, and the Hamas-ruled Gaza Strip. Many reconciliation agreements have been reached reached between the two sides, but they never last long.

The latest was signed in Cairo in October 2017 after Hamas dissolved its administrative committee, the Gaza-based government, . The deal established that the government of national unity, headed by the Palestinian politician Rami Hamdallah, should run the government affairs and all employees in the West Bank and the Gaza Strip. However, the political divide between Hamas and Fatah has not yet been resolved, and it may have deepened too.

For its part, the Palestinian Authority continued to tighten sanctions and to impose new ones on the Gaza Strip, despite the recent agreement to recognise the situation in Gaza as a humanitarian crisis. By doing so, it hopes to force the people to demonstrate against Hamas and overthrow it.

On the other hand, Hamas realized that the term “empowerment” advocated by the Hamdallah government was a way to humiliate Hamas. The leadership of Hamas has refused to give up the weapons because they had bad experience with the Palestinian Authorities (PA). From 1996 until 2005, a lot of Hamas’ leadership and supporters were in PA Jail for months, sometimes for years.

Therefore, in order to avoid another bad experience, Hamas kept vital sectors in the Gaza Strip under its control. That includes the sectors of security and tax collection, but excludes Ramallah’s main crossings. The crossings are the Erez-Beit Hanun crossing with the Israeli side, and the Rafah crossing with the Egyptian border, both of which have been handed over to the Palestinian Authority under the leadership of the Ramallah-based Ministry of Interior. However, Hamas has set up check points outside Erez and Rafah border and quasi controls the crossings from abroad. Therefore, it can control the movement of passengers who get out or come in the Gaza Strip.

The complete collapse of the Palestinian economy in the Gaza Strip has had many factors: the siege imposed by Israel and Egypt on the Gaza Strip for more than 11 years, the three destructive Israeli wars in the recent years, the closure of the Rafah crossing for many years, and the sanctions imposed by the Palestinian President on the Gaza Strip.. Nearly 70% of the population of the Gaza Strip have become dependent on the aid provided by the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA). And things are getting worse: the UNRWA recently suffered a major financial deficit after the United States froze half of its budget allocated for funding the UNRWA, in January 2018.

According to the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (UNOCHA), poverty rates in the Gaza Strip rose from 38.8% in 2011 to 53% by the end of 2017. Over half of the Palestinians in the Gaza Strip live without sufficient food and water. Food insecurity, lack of healthcare, and the severe shortage of electricity have made life unbearable in the Gaza Strip.

Protesters in Ramallah, despite their limited number, expressed solidarity with the besieged Gaza Strip and dissatisfaction with the policy adopted by the Palestinian leadership toward their own people. While the Palestinian Authority remained silent about the demonstrations in Ramallah, both Fatah and Hamas rushed to blame one another for the tension that has become prevalent in the Palestinian street.

In an official statement, Fatah said that the demonstrations in Ramallah aimed to incite sedition. They added that Fatah will strike with an iron fist if the protests harm the legitimate leadership. The statement also said that the demonstrators, described as “mercenaries,” should have raised slogans to force Hamas to abandon power and empower Hamdallah’s government in the Gaza Strip to end the Palestinian divide.

Hamas spokesman Hazem Qasim strongly condemned the attack against the demonstrators. He said that the Palestinian Authority is implementing a policy of repression and restriction of freedom, and that it is muting voices rejecting criminal punishment.

Many leftist and independent political factions strongly condemned the dealing of the demonstrators by force. The Democratic Front for the Liberation of Palestine (DFLP) condemned the brutal repression by the Palestinian security services against the protesters who were demanding the lifting of punitive measures on the Gaza Strip. It called for the formation of a national investigation committee as soon as possible.

The Palestinian Independent Commission for Human Rights also condemned the brutal repression of the demonstrations and called for holding officials accountable and protecting the people’s right to demonstrate and express their opinion. Hanan Ashrawi, a member of the Executive Committee of the Palestine Liberation Organization, denounced the Presidential adviser’s unconstitutional decision to ban demonstrations during the holidays. She strongly condemned the use of force by the police against the demonstrators.

The protest movement began in Ramallah, but it quickly moved abroad. On 23 June, demonstrations took place in Jordan, Lebanon and some European countries. The demonstrations demanded that Palestinian President Mahmud Abbas lift the collective punishment imposed on the Gaza Strip. In addition to Ramallah, several demonstrations were staged in Arab and Western capitals, in front of the Palestinian embassies in Beirut, Lebanon; Amman, Jordan; and New York, USA. In June 2018 in Europe, protests were held in front of the building of the European Parliament in Brussels, Belgium, as well as in Montpellier, France; Milan, Italy; Athens, Greece; Amsterdam, the Netherlands.

The repression of demonstrations in Ramallah has been systematic. A 2016 report by the Henry Jackson Society on democracy, freedom, and human rights stated that the violent reaction of the Palestinian Authority was not the first of its kind. On the contrary, it found that it was part of a series of repressive measures against the opposition and critics of Fatah and the Palestinian Authority in the West Bank.

On 18 June, Fatah tried to organize a demonstration in the city of Gaza to demand the lifting of sanctions, but the demonstration actually aimed to support President Abbas’s punitive steps. A group of young men in civilian clothes intervened and dispersed the demonstration by force but without using violence. Yet the content of media documentation of the incident was erased. Several demonstrators accused the police force affiliated with the Hamas government of breaking up the demonstration.

As long as the one-party system is predominant, whether Fatah’s in the West Bank or Hamas’s in the Gaza Strip, public freedoms and the people’s right to demonstrate will not be guaranteed in both parts of the homeland. The Fatah movement and the Palestinian Authority carry out various forms of persecution against the Hamas and leftist opposition groups. On the other hand, the Hamas-run government oppresses the Fatah opposition in the Gaza Strip too. With one little difference: the leftist forces in the Gaza Strip have larger margins of freedom than the West Bank.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.