فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / مؤتمر مدريد

مؤتمر مدريد

مؤتمر مدريد
مؤتمر مدريد

من المؤكد أن موقف منظمة التحرير الدبلوماسي لم يتحسن منذ نهاية الثمانينات. كان ذلك نتيجة فقدان الدعم الدبلوماسي من كل من الاتحاد السوفييتي، والذي كان يتفكك، بالإضافة إلى الموقف المؤيد للعراق الذي اتخذته منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية خلال أزمة الكويت 1990-1991. ورداً على ذلك، أوقف كل من الكويت والمملكة العربية السعودية الدعم المالي، وطردوا الآلاف من العمال الفلسطينيين. ونتيجة لذلك، سرعان ما وقعت منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية في ضائقة مالية وخيمة.

بعد طرد العراق من الكويت في 30 أكتوبر/تشرين الأول عام 1991، دعت الولايات المتحدة إلى مؤتمر مدريد في إسبانيا بهدف الوصول إلى تسوية بين الدول العربية وإسرائيل. تلت المفاوضات الثنائية الجلسة العامة. لكن إسرائيل رفضت اعتماد مقاربة متعددة الأطراف تتم فيها معالجة المشكلة الفلسطينية. وعلى الرغم من عدم وجود تمثيل لمنظمة التحرير في مدريد، وافقت إسرائيل على حضور قادة من فلسطين (باستثناء القدس الشرقية) في الوفد الأردني. وقد كان هذا في حد ذاته إنجازاً استثنائياً، نظراً إلى أن الأردن كان قد تخلى عن مطالبه في الضفة الغربية قبل ثلاث سنوات. بالإضافة إلى أن حجم الوفد الأردني كان ضعف حجم الوفود العربية الأخرى.

نسق قادة فلسطين مواقفهم مع منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، من أجل عدم التعارض فيما بينهم. واستمرت المفاوضات حتى أغسطس/آب عام 1993، دون أية نتائج ملموسة.

كما اتضح لاحقاً، ففي الوقت نفسه، وبسرية تامة، دخلت إسرائيل ومنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية بمفاوضات مباشرة – خارج “مدريد”. دارت هذه المفاوضات في أوسلو بوساطة نرويجية. حتى أن الوفد الفلسطيني في مفاوضات مدريد لم يتم إبلاغه عن هذه المحادثات (سمع رئيس الوفد حيدر عبد الشافعي بالخبر عبر الإذاعة والانترنت، ومن ثم استقال احتجاجاً). عام 1993، أدت المفاوضات إلى ما يعرف باسم اتفاقات أوسلو.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Past to Present of Palestine / Madrid Conference

Madrid Conference

The Madrid Conference
The Madrid Conference

The PLO’s position certainly did not improve from the end of the 1980s. This was the result of both the loss of diplomatic support from the Soviet Union, which was breaking up, as well as the pro-Iraq position adopted by the PLO leadership during the Kuwait crisis of 1990-1991. In response, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia and other Gulf States discontinued all financial support and expelled thousands of Palestinian labourers. As a result, the PLO was soon in dire financial straits.

After the expulsion of Iraq from Kuwait on 30 October 1991, the United States convened the Conference of Madrid in Spain with the object of effecting a settlement between the Arab states and Israel. Bilateral negotiations followed the plenary session. However, Israel refused to adopt a multilateral approach in which the Palestinian problem would be addressed. Although the PLO was not represented in Madrid, Israel did consent to the presence of leaders from Palestine (except for East Jerusalem) in the Jordanian delegation. This was, in itself, a remarkable construction, given that Jordan had renounced its claims to the West Bank three years earlier. Moreover, as a result, the Jordanian delegation was twice the size of the other Arab delegations.

In order not to be played off against one another, the leaders from Palestine coordinated their positions with that of the PLO. The negotiations dragged on until August 1993, without any concrete results.

As it turned out, at the same time, in the utmost secrecy, Israel and the PLO had entered into direct negotiations – outside ‘Madrid’. These negotiations took place in Oslo, with Norwegian mediation. Even the Palestinian delegation at the Madrid negotiations had not been informed about the talks (delegation leader Haidar Abdel Shafi (Haydar Abd al-Shafi) found out about the talks from a radio announcement and he subsequently resigned in protest). In 1993, the negotiations led to what is known as the Oslo Accords.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.