الصفحة الرئيسية / فلسطين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / مسيرة العودة الكبرى في غزة: صرخة للعالم

مسيرة العودة الكبرى في غزة: صرخة للعالم

Palestine- March of Return
فلسطينيون في غزة يسيرون أمام الخيمة التى تم تشييدها على طول الحدود مع اسرائيل احياءً لذكرى يوم الأرض. Photo AFP

قبل حلول الذكرى السنوية لنكبة الشعب الفلسطيني في 15 مايو، الذي يُصادف مرور سبعين عاماً على احتلال اسرائيل للفلسطينيين، شرع الغزييون بموجةٍ جديدة من المقاومة.

فقد أقيمت “مسيرة العودة الكبرى” في 30 مارس 2018 إحياءً لذكرى يوم الأرض الذي تعود أحداثه لعام 1976، احتجاجاً على مصادرة إسرائيل للأراضي الفلسطينية لإقامة المستوطنات، والتي قُتل فيها 6 متظاهرين فلسطينيين على يد الجيش الإسرائيلي.

وتم تصوير المظاهرة الأخيرة، التي شهدت زحف عشرات الآلاف من الغزيين إلى الحدود مع اسرائيل، باعتبارها مظهراً من مظاهر المقاومة السلمية التي من شأنها توحيد مختلف الفصائل والجماعات الإجتماعية في القطاع المحاصر الذي يأوي مليوني نسمة. بيد أنه سرعان ما تحولت المظاهرة من السلمية إلى العنف، حيث فتح القناصة الإسرائيليون نيرانهم باتجاه المتظاهرين العزل مع اقتراب مجموعة من الشباب من السياج الحدودي، بعد أن ألقوا الحجارة وحاولوا رفع العلم الفلسطيني هناك. وعليه، قُتل 18 فلسطيني وجرح أكثر من ألف، في واحدٍ من أسوأ الأيام عنفاً في غزة منذ الهجوم الاسرائيلي على القطاع في عام 2014.

وأصر المحتجون ومسؤولون من حماس أن الضحايا كانوا عزلاً دون أي سلاحٍ وأنهم قتلوا بدمٍ بارد. في حين وصف الجيش الاسرائيلي الاحتجاجات بـ”أعمال الشغب العنيفة،” حيث زعم أيضاً أن “عشرة إرهابيين معروفين، لديهم سجلات في النشاط الإرهابي قتلوا اليوم أثناء تنفيذهم أعمالاً إرهابية.”

كما دعا مسؤولون في الأمم المتحدة والإتحاد الأوروبي إلى إجراء تحقيقٍ بالوفيات، إلا أن المسؤولين الإسرائيليين تجاهلوا الأمر. وقال أفيغدور ليبرمان، وزير الدفاع الإسرائيلي، عبر الإذاعة العامة الاسرائيلية، “من وجهة نظرنا [ الجيش الاسرائيلي]، فإن الجنود فعلوا ما كان يجب عليهم فعله.”

وقال المنظمون أن الاحتجاجات على السياج الحدودي مستمرة حتى 15 مايو، عندما سيحاول المحتجون عبور الحدود، وهو عملٌ سيؤدي بالتأكيد أيضاً إلى رد فعلٍ عنيف من قبل الجيش الاسرائيلي.

ولم تكن هذه المرة الأولى، فقد حصلت في السابق احتجاجاتٌ حدودية، ففي مايو 2011، خرجت حشودٌ من الفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية وغزة ولبنان وسوريا إلى السياح الحدودي، كما قامت مجموعة صغيرة منهم باختراق الحدود في مرتفعات الجولان المتنازع عليها، وأسفرت هذه الاحتجاجات أيضاً عن مقتل أكثر من عشرة أشخاص.

Palestine- Gaza Strip
أقارب الشهيد حمدان أبو عمشة، الذي قتله الجنود الاسرائيليون أثناء مسيرةً أقامها الغزيون بالقرب من الحدود الإسرائيلية في ذكرى يوم الأرض، يبكون أثناء تشييع جثمانه في بيت حانون، شمال قطاع غزة، في 31 مارس 2018. Photo AFP

فقد تصاعدت حدة التوتر في الصراع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني منذ ديسمبر 2017، عندما أعلن الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب اعتراف بلاده بالقدس عاصمةً لإسرائيل ونقل سفارتها إلى هناك. وفي غزة، التي ترزح تحت حصارٍ إسرائيلي ومصري لأكثر من عقد من الزمان، فإن الوضع خطيرٌ للغاية، كما تفاقم في ظل الخلاف بين فتح – التي تسيطر على السلطة الفلسطينية– وحماس، مما أسفر عن اتخاذ تدابير عقابية من قبل السلطة ضد حماس.

وعلى الرغم من اتفاق المصالحة الذي تم التوصل إليه بين فتح وحماس في أكتوبر 2017، ذكرت تقارير الأمم المتحدة عن “تحسن هامشي فقط في الوضع الإنساني،” مع استمرار النقص في الكهرباء ومياه الشرب والرعاية الطبية.

فقد بدأت المناقشات حول تنظيم احتجاجٍ جماهيري على الحدود منذ بضعة أشهر، الأمر الذي جمع جيلاً جديداً من النشطاء الشباب مع ممثلي الفصائل السياسية والمجتمع المدني والمنظمات غير الحكومية. انضمت هذه المجموعات معاً لإنشاء لجنةٍ تنظيمية، تتألف من “مجموعة من الفصائل والمؤسسات الوطنية والإسلامية من الأراضي المحتلة والشتات،” وفقاً لتقرير مجموعة الأزمات الدولية.

وبحسب التقرير، فقد قال المنظمون، إنه “أصبح من غير الممكن اليوم [بالنسبة للفلسطينيين] وبما لا يقبل الجدل، أن يحققوا أهدافهم الوطنية من خلال وساطة الولايات المتحدة أو المجتمع الدولي.” وأضاف التقرير أيضاً “المسيرة محاولةً من الفلسطينيين لتولي زمام الأمور بأنفسهم وتشكيل مصريهم، وينعكس ذلك في محاولاتهم القيام بذلك في الإنتفاضتين الأولى والثانية.”

وقال باسم نعيم، وزير الصحة السابق في حكومة حماس ومستشار العلاقات الدولية السابق لرئيس الوزراء في غزة، إن الاحتجاجات السلمية ليست “بديلاً عن جميع المسارات الأخرى،” إلا أنها إحدى الوسائل لجذب الانتباه إلى المحنة التي يعانيها الشعب في غزة على أمل تحفيز العمل الدولي.

وقال لنا في فَنَك: “هذه واحدة من الأدوات التي يمكن أن تضغط على اسرائيل، والتي يمكنهم من خلالها، وبشكلٍ سلمي، أن يظهروا للمنطقة أو المجتمع الدولي الظلم الذي يعيشونه في غزة وفي فلسطين بشكل عام.”

Palestine- Land Day Palestine
غزيون يؤدون صلاة الجمعة في الخيمة االتى تم إنشاؤها ضمن مظاهرات احياء ذكرى يوم الأرض بالقرب من الحدود مع اسرائيل، شرق جباليا. Photo AFP

وقال نعيم إن احتجاج يوم الجمعة كان مظاهرةً سلمية جمعت “الرجال والنساء وكبار السن والأطفال وممثلي جميع الفصائل، وجميع الفئات الاجتماعية.” وعلى الرغم من نهج المواجهة الذي اتبعه بعض المتظاهرين، بما في ذلك حرق الإطارات وإلقاء الحجارة، إلا أنه يشدد أن أياً منهم لم شكل تهديداً للقوات الإسرائيلية.

ومع ذلك، قال إن استعراض الجنود الاسرائيلين للقوة كان أمراً متوقعاً “إذ أنهم يفعلون ذلك منذ عقود.” وعلى الرغم من سقوط قتلى، إلا أن نعيم أضاف أن الغزيين سيواصلون التظاهر لأن “ليس لدينا ما نخسره. إما أن نغيّر وضعنا ولكننا لن نموت بصمت.”

إلا أن أسامة عنتر، المحاضر في جامعة غزة والذي شارك أيضاً في الجدل حول تنظيم مثل هذه المظاهرات، لام المنظمين- وبخاصة حماس وغيرها من الفصائل السياسية- لفشلها في السيطرة على الحشود وضمان عدم سقوط أي ضحايا، إذ قال “كان من المفترض أن تكون حصيلة هذه المظاهرة صفر- دون أي قتلى أو جرحى.”

وأضاف أنه لضمان سلمية الحدث، كان من المفترض أن يبقى جميع المتظاهرين على بعد 700 متر من السياج الحدودي، مع تقليص المسافة تدريجياً في المظاهرات التالية إلى أن يتم أخيراً اتخاذ القرار بشأن محاولة العبور. إلا أن المنظمين أساءوا تقدير درجة الإحباط التي يعاني منها الشباب ضمن الحشد، على حد قوله.

وتابع قوله “كانوا يظنون أن بإمكانهم السيطرة على الشباب. إلا أن هذا لم يحصل. كانوا يظنون أن بإمكانهم إيصال رسالة سلمية، إلا أن هذا لم يحصل أيضاً… هؤلاء الشباب متعطشون للحرية. هؤلاء الشباب متعطشون جداً للخروج. يتملكهم شعورٌ أنهم يقبعون في سجنٍ كبير مفتوح وسيحاولون الخروج من هذا السجن. لهذا السبب، ليس من السهل السيطرة على هؤلاء الشباب.”

يبدو من الواضح أن من الصعب اليوم إيقاف الزخم الذي بات يتراكم، ومع ذلك، يبقى أن نرى الأثر النهائي لمثل هذه المظاهرات، وإذا ما كان المنظمون سينجحون في تسخير الغضب على شكل مقاومةٍ سلمية أم أن التصعيد سيكون سيد الموقف مجدداً ويتحول إلى مواجهةٍ مسلحة.

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Palestine / Past to Present / Gaza’s Great March of Return: A Strong Call to the World

Gaza’s Great March of Return: A Strong Call to the World

Palestine- March of Return
Palestinians in Gaza marching past a tent erected along the border with Israel to commemorate Land Day. Photo AFP

Ahead of the 15 May anniversary of the Nakba – which marks 70 years of occupation for Palestinians – a new wave of resistance has begun in Gaza.

The ‘Great March of Return’ was held on 30 March 2018 to commemorate the 1976 Land Day protests over Israeli expropriation of land for settlements, in which six Palestinian protesters were killed by Israeli Army.

The recent demonstration, which brought tens of thousands of Gazans to the border with Israel, was envisioned as a massive display of non-violent resistance that would unite different factions and social groups in the besieged enclave of 2 million people. But it quickly turned violent. Israeli snipers opened fire on unarmed protesters when a group of young men approached the border fence, throwing stones and attempting to plant the Palestinian flag. Eighteen Palestinians were killed and more than 1,000 injured, in the worst day of violence in Gaza since the 2014 Israeli offensive.

Protesters and Hamas officials insisted that the victims were unarmed and were killed in cold blood. The Israeli Army characterized the protests as ‘violent riots’, claiming that ‘ten known terrorists with track records of terrorist activity were killed whilst carrying out acts of terror’.

United Nations (UN) and European Union officials called for an investigation into the deaths, but Israeli officials have rejected the call. Avigdor Lieberman, Israel’s defence minister, said on public radio, “From the standpoint of the [Israeli Army] soldiers, they did what had to be done.”

Organizers said the protests by the border fence will continue until 15 May 2018, when protesters may attempt to cross the border – an act that will certainly also result in a violent response by security forces.

There is a precedent for the border protests. In May 2011, Palestinians in the West Bank, Gaza, Lebanon and Syria marched on the fence, and a small number breached it in the disputed Golan Heights. In those protests, too, more than a dozen people were killed.

Palestine- Gaza Strip
Palestinian relatives of Hamdan Abu Amsha, who was killed by Israeli forces as Gazans marched near the Israeli border to mark Land Day, cry during his funeral in Beit Hanun in the northern of Gaza Strip on March 31, 2018. Photo AFP

Tensions have grown in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict since December 2017, when American President Donald Trump announced that his country would recognize Jerusalem as the capital of Israel and move its embassy there. In Gaza, which has been under blockade by Israel and Egypt for more than a decade, the situation is particularly dire, exacerbated by feuding between Fatah – which controls the Palestinian Authority (PA) – and Hamas, which has resulted in punitive measures taken by the PA against Hamas.

In spite of a reconciliation deal reached between Fatah and Hamas in October 2017, the UN reported ‘only marginal improvement in the humanitarian situation’, with ongoing shortages of electricity, drinking water and medical care.

Discussions about organizing a mass protest at the border began a few months ago, bringing together a new generation of young activists with representatives of the political factions, civil society and non-governmental organizations. These groups joined together to create an organizing committee, which was composed of an ‘array of national and Islamist factions and organizations from the occupied territories and the diaspora’, according to an International Crisis Group report.

Organizers say that, to Palestinians, ‘it is now indisputable that they cannot achieve their national aims through mediation by the US or the international community’, the report added. ‘The march is an attempt by Palestinians to take matters into their own hands and shape their fate, as they attempted to do during the first and second intifadas.’

Basem Naim, a former health minister with the Hamas government and former adviser to the prime minister in Gaza on international relations, said that non-violent protests are not “an alternative to all other tracks” but are one tactic to bring attention to the plight of the people in Gaza in hopes of spurring international action.

“This is one of the tools that can put Israel under pressure, that they can show peacefully the region or the international community the injustice that they are living in Gaza and in Palestine in general,” he told Fanack Chronicle.

Palestine- Land Day Palestine
Muslim worshippers perform Friday noon prayers during a protest near the border with Israel east of Jabalia to commemorate Land Day. Photo AFP

Naim said that Friday’s protest was a peaceful gathering that included “men, women, elderly, children, reps of all factions, of all social groups”. In spite of the confrontational tactics of some of the protesters, including burning tyres and throwing rocks, he insisted that they never posed a threat to the Israeli troops.

Still, he said, the show of force by Israeli soldiers was expected “because this is what they have done for decades”. In spite of the deaths, Naim said the Gazans will continue to protest because “we have nothing to lose. Either we get our situation changed or we are not dying in silence.”

But Usama Antar, a politics lecturer at the University of Gaza who also took part in discussions around organizing the protest, faulted the organizers – and particularly Hamas and the other political factions – for failing to control the crowd and ensure that the event did not result in any fatalities. “It was planned that the cost of this demonstration should be zero – no killed people, no injuries,” he said.

To ensure that the event remained peaceful, Antar said, all protesters were meant to remain 700 metres from the fence, with the distance gradually decreasing at subsequent demonstrations until finally a decision would be made regarding an attempted crossing. But the organizers underestimated the degree of frustration of the young people in the crowd, he said.

“They thought they can control the young people,” he said. “It was not the case. They thought they can deliver a peaceful message. It was not the case … These young people are very, very hungry for freedom. These young people are very, very hungry to go out. They have the feeling that they are in a big open prison and they would try to break out of this prison. For this reason, it’s not very easy to control these young people.”

It seems clear that the momentum that has been building will be difficult to stop. However, it remains to be seen what the final impact of the protests will be, and whether organizers will succeed in harnessing the anger into non-violent resistance or whether it will escalate once again into armed conflict.

image_pdfimage_print