فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / كابوس فيروس كورونا يحط رحاله في فلسطين

كابوس فيروس كورونا يحط رحاله في فلسطين

Gaza corona
أفراد من الشرطة عند نقطة تفتيش أقيمت عند أحد الطرقات خلال إغلاق عطلة نهاية الأسبوع بسبب جائحة كورونا في مدينة غزة، 18 ديسمبر 2020. Photo: MAHMUD HAMS / AFP

نور عودة

لأول مرةٍ منذ قرابة مائة عام، نظام الرعاية الصحية الفلسطيني قاب قوسين أو أدنى من الانهيار في ظل الأزمة الصحية العامة. عادةً ما يتعرض النظام الصحي الفلسطيني لضغوطاتٍ تتجاوز قدراته على الصمود بسبب هجمات الإحتلال الإسرائيلي، كما كان جلياً خلال الحرب الإسرائيلية على غزة عام 2014، بيد أنه في غضون الأشهر التسع الماضية، اختبرت جائحة كورونا قدرة الفلسطينيين وتحملهم، كما عُرف عنهم، في التأقلم مع الظروف القاهرة.

أكِدت أولى حالات الإصابة بفيروس كورونا في مدينة بيت لحم في 5 مارس 2020، وعليه، اتخذت وزارة الصحة إجراءاتٍ فورية، بما في ذلك إغلاق المدينة لاحتواء انتشار الوباء. شكلّت التجربة صدمةً للفلسطينيين، الذين اعتادوا الإغلاقات بسبب الإحتلال الإسرائيلي، مما ولدّ لديهم ميلاً غريزياً لاحترامها. وللتغلب على هذا العائق النفسي، بذلت الحكومة الفلسطينية جهوداً كبيرة لإضفاء الطابع الإنساني على الإغلاق وتطبيعه. نجحت هذه الإستراتيجية، ولشهور سيطرت فلسطين على الوباء ونالت ثناء منظمة الصحة العالمية في عدة مناسبات.

كانت الإستجابة الفلسطينية لجائحة كورونا متوقعةً في بعض جوانبها، فمع بداية انتشار الوباء، لم يكن هناك سوى 82 مستشفى في الضفة الغربية المحتلة وقطاع غزة. وبحسب الجهاز المركزي للإحصاء الفلسطيني، يوجد حوالي طبيبان لكل 1000 فلسطيني و1,3 سرير مستشفى لكل 1000 مواطن. أما في غزة، فقد كان الوضع مقلقاً على نحوٍ خاص، حيث لا يوجد سوى 78 سريراً في وحدة العناية المركزة. وعليه، عملت الحكومة الفلسطينية على تحسين قدراتها المتواضعة، وإنشاء مرافق صحية متخصصة للتعامل حصرياً مع حالات فيروس كورونا، وزيادة عدد وحدات العناية المركزة، والحصول على معدات الوقاية الشخصية ومسحات الفحص، وزيادة قدرات إجراء الفحوصات والتعقب. وفي حين تم على وجه السرعة تطوير خطة استجابة وطنية وتحديثها بانتظام، إلا أن الاستجابة الفعالة كانت معركة شاقة من الناحيتين اللوجستية والمالية.

ولكن في حين واجهت البلدان الأخرى تحدياتٍ متوقعة بحلول متوقعةً أيضاً للتغلب عليها، كان على الحكومة الفلسطينية وحماس التصدي لمجموعةٍ إضافية من التحديات الفريدة من نوعها، بدءاً من واقع وديناميات الاحتلال الإسرائيلي والالتزام تجاه اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في جميع أنحاء المنطقة.

فعلى أرض الواقع، تُسيطر الحكومة الفلسطينية فعلياً على 18% فقط من أراضي الضفة الغربية المحتلة، والتي تُعرف بالمناطق (أ)، وتضم المدن والتجمعات السكنية الكبيرة، في حين أن ما يقارب الـ60% من الأراضي خارج نطاق سيطرة سلطات إنفاذ القانون أو سيطرة الحكومة. شكّل هذا كابوساً لوجيستياً وعمليّاتياً لاستجابة الصحة الفلسطينية للجائحة، لا سيما في فرض إغلاقاتٍ فضلاً عن مراقبة وتتبع الحالات الجديدة. وعلاوةً على ذلك، اتخذت إسرائيل تدابير لمنع فرض إستجابةٍ صحية فلسطينية في القدس وما حولها من قرى، بما في ذلك اعتقال ومضايقة المتطوعين.

وبالرغم من الحماس الدولي الأولي بشأن التعاون الفلسطيني الإسرائيلي في الاستجابة للوباء، سرعان ما كشفت ممارسات الاحتلال الإسرائيلي على أرض الواقع أن هذا التهليل بعيدٌ كل البعد عن الواقع. فعلى الرغم من انتشار الوباء، واصلت إسرائيل اعتقال عشرات الفلسطينيين واستمر عدد الإصابات بين المعتقلين الفلسطينيين في الارتفاع. كما حطم التهجير الإسرائيلي للفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية المحتلة، بما في ذلك القدس الشرقية، أرقاماً قياسية جديدة في عام 2020. وسواء كان ذلك عن طريق عمليات الهدم أو الإخلاء القسري، تسببت إسرائيل في تشريد ما يقرب من 1000 فلسطيني وأثرت على أكثر من 5000 فلسطيني في 2020. وفي الوقت نفسه، تقدر الأمم المتحدة أن ما يصل إلى 800 فلسطيني أو أكثر، في القدس وحدها، معرضون لخطر الطرد القسري.

وفي غضون ذلك، ومنذ بداية تفشي الوباء، كان واضحاً أن النظام الصحي في غزة المحاصرة، العامل منذ فترةٍ طويلة بخطة طوارىء، لم يكن بأي حالٍ من الأحوال في وضعٍ يسمح له بالتعامل مع تدفق مرضى فيروس كورونا. فقد شكّل احتمال انتشار الوباء في القطاع كابوساً طبياً وإنسانياً للمنظمات الفلسطينية والدولية على حد سواء، ومن المفارقات أن الحصار الإسرائيلي الوحشي لقطاع غزة وسكانه الفلسطينيين البالغ عددهم 2,5 مليون نسمة جنّب غزة بدايةً أزمة صحية لم يكن بمقدورها مواجهتها.

bethlehem corona
مصلّون فلسطينيون يغادرون كنيسة المهد في بيت لحم بعد قداس الأحد، وذلك بعد أن أعيد فتحها في أعقاب فرض قيود صارمة بسبب جائحة كورونا. Photo: HAZEM BADER / AFP

فقد أقامت سلطات حماس، التي تسيطر على قطاع غزة منذ عام 2007، منشآتٍ للحجر الصحي بالقرب من حدود رفح مع مصر، حيث تم احتجاز السكان العائدين إلى غزة في تلك المرافق لمدة 14 يوماً، وبقي أولئك الذين ثبتت إصابتهم في المرافق المُعدّة على وجه السرعة حتى تعافوا. ومع ذلك، عاد الوباء منتقماً في الخريف الماضي، وانتشر كالنار في الهشيم في واحدة من أكثر المناطق كثافة سكانية في العالم. وبحلول 16 ديسمبر2020، ارتفع معدل الفحوصات الإيجابية في غزة إلى أكثر من 40%، وهو رقمٌ صادم يحمل في طياته تداعياتٍ كارثية. وعلى الرغم من مد يد العون من المجتمع الدولي والحكومة الفلسطينية التي تتقاسم مواردها المحدودة مع غزة، إلا أن الوضع الآن على شفير الانهيار.

أما في مخيمات اللجوء المنتشرة في المنطقة، يُنذر الوضع أيضاً بكارثةٍ وشيكة. وبالتعاون مع الأونروا، التي جفّ تمويلها مؤخراً، تم وضع خطة إستجابةٍ طارئة لتلبية احتياجات اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الأردن وسوريا ولبنان، بيد أنه في ظل ارتفاع معدلات العدوى والفقر في أرجاء المنطقة، يبدو الحد من انتشار الوباء في مخيمات اللاجئين متعذراً على نحوٍ متزايد.

واليوم، تعمل المستشفيات الفلسطينية في الضفة الغربية وغزة، أو تقترب من العمل، بكامل طاقتها الاستيعابية. وبالتالي، لجأ الخبراء إلى وسائل الإعلام للتوعية ومناشدة الجمهور اتباع النصائح الطبية، وارتداء الأقنعة والإلتزام بالتباعد الاجتماعي، إلى جانب حث المرضى الذين يعانون من أمراض مزمنة مثل ارتفاع ضغط الدم والسكري عدم التردد بطلب المساعدة الطبية عند الحاجة، بينما تم إلغاء جميع العمليات الجراحية البسيطة والاختيارية منذ مارس 2020.

وعلى عكس الدول ذات السيادة، ببساطة، لا تتوفر العديد من الخيارات أمام الحكومة الفلسطينية للتخفيف من فرض حالات الطوارىء على مستوى وطني في حالات انتشار الأوبئة كحالنا اليوم. فبالإضافة إلى افتقارها السيطرة على جميع أراضيها ومعاناتها من صدعٍ سياسي وجغرافي يفصل فعلياً قطاع غزة عن الضفة الغربية، تواجه الحكومة الفلسطينية أزمةً مالية مدمرة تحدّ من خياراتها للتعبئة، بما في ذلك توظيف الموارد البشرية اللازمة في القطاع الصحي. فقد كانت تكلفة الوباء هائلة، حيث تراوحت، بحسب التقديرات، بين 7% و35% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، بينما يقدر البنك الدولي أن الناتج المحلي الإجمالي الفلسطيني سينكمش بنسبة 8% على الأقل. وعلى الرغم من تخفيف العبء الاقتصادي الناتج عن قرار الحكومة بقبول عائدات الضرائب التي تجمعها إسرائيل، لا يعتقد الخبراء أن هذه الخطوة ستكون كافية لانتشال الفلسطينيين من الركود الحالي.

لا تتمثل مشكلة استجابة الفلسطينيين للوباء بنقص الموارد البشرية أو الخبرة، بل بتراكمات عمليةٍ سياسية فشلت في تحقيق السيادة من ناحية، وسلسلةٍ من النواقص المحلية التي فشلت في منح الأولوية لإنشاء نظام تأمينٍ صحي وطني يمكنه تلبية معظم، إن لم يكن جميع احتياجات الجمهور الفلسطيني دون مساعدٍة خارجية، من ناحيةٍ أخرى.

واليوم، توصي لجنة طوارىء وباء كورونا بفرض قيودٍ وإغلاقاتٍ جديدة في الضفة الغربية، ولكن مع عدم قدرة الحكومة على تقديم المساعدة المالية لقطاع الخدمات والسياحة وغيرها من القطاعات الأكثر تضرراً من الوباء، سيواجه قرار فرض إغلاقٍ شامل معارضةً شديدة.

ومن الجدير بالذكر إن معدل الوفيات التراكمي في فلسطين لا يزال منخفض نسبياً بنسبة 0,9%، مقارنةً بالدول النامية الأخرى، ويرجع الفضل في ذلك جزئياً لكون المجتمع الفلسطيني مجتمعاً فتياً في الغالب. ومع ذلك، فإن التصاعد الحالي الحاد للحالات الجديدة والحالات الخطيرة، ما هو إلا تذكيرٌ مشؤوم بأن الوباء بات يقترب بسرعة من نقطة اللاعودة. وفي الأيام المقبلة، ربما لن يكون أمام الحكومة الفلسطينية خيارٌ آخر سوى إنقاذ قطاعها الصحي من الانهيار الكامل، حتى وإن كان لهذا القرار الحاسم تداعيات مالية مدمرة.

إقرأ المزيد

بيانات فيروس كورونا المستجد (كوفيد-19) التاريخية والجداول والرسوم ...
إن الأزمة التي تصيب الأونروا ليست مجرد أزمة تمويل أو سوء سلوك، إلا...
في يوليو 2017، أقال عباس أكثر من 6 آلاف موظف يعملون في قطاعات الصحة و...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: MAHMUD HAMS ©AFP | MAHMUD HAMS ©AFP | HAZEM BADER ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Palestine / Past to Present / Palestine’s COVID Nightmare Scenario Has Arrived

Palestine’s COVID Nightmare Scenario Has Arrived

Gaza corona
Members of police at a checkpoint along a road during a weekend lockdown due to the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic in Gaza City on December 18, 2020. Photo: MAHMUD HAMS / AFP

By: Nour Odeh

The Palestinian healthcare system is on the brink of collapse due to a public health crisis. Usually, the health sector is stressed beyond its coping capacity due to Israeli occupation attacks, as was evident during the Israeli war on Gaza in 2014. However, for the past nine months, the COVID19 pandemic has tested Palestinian capacity, endurance, and renowned ability to cope with extreme circumstances.

The first cases of COVID19 were confirmed in Bethlehem on 5 March 2020. The Ministry of health took immediate steps, including locking down Bethlehem to contain the spread of the pandemic. It was a traumatic experience for the Palestinian collective, which is only familiar with lockdowns vis-à-vis the Israeli occupation and is thus instinctively inclined to respect it. To work around this real psychological impediment, the Palestinian government went to great lengths to humanize and normalize the lockdown. The strategy worked and for months, Palestine had supreme command over the pandemic, earning praise from the World Health Organization on several occasions.

The Palestinian response to COVID19 was predictable in some aspects. At the onset of the pandemic, there were only 82 hospitals in the occupied West Bank and Gaza Strip. According to the Palestinian Central Bureau of Statistics, there are approximately 2 doctors per 1000 Palestinians and 1.3 hospital beds per 1000 citizens. In Gaza, the situation was especially alarming, with only 78 functioning Intensive Care Unit (ICU) beds. Hence, the Palestinian government worked on improving its modest capacities, setting up specialized health facilities to deal exclusively with COVID19 cases, increasing the number of ICU units, getting PPE and testing swabs, and increasing testing and tracing capacity. While a national response plan was quickly developed and regularly updated, effective response was an uphill battle, logistically and financially.

But while countries had predictable challenges with expected solutions to overcome them, the Palestinian government and Hamas had to contend with an additional host of unique challenges, starting with the reality and dynamics of Israeli occupation and the obligation towards Palestinian refugees across the region.

On the ground, the Palestinian government has effective control over only 18% of the occupied West Bank, in so-called areas A, which comprises cities and large communities. Approximately 60% of the territory is beyond the reach of Palestinian law enforcement or government control. This presented a logistical and operational nightmare for the Palestinian health response, particularly in enforcing lockdowns as well as monitoring and tracing new cases. Israel also took measures to prevent a Palestinian health response in Jerusalem and its surrounding villages, including detaining and harassing volunteers.

Despite initial international enthusiasm about Palestinian-Israeli cooperation in responding to the pandemic, Israeli occupation practices on the ground soon exposed such praise as disconnected from reality. Despite the pandemic, Israel continued to detain scores of Palestinians and the number of infections among Palestinian detainees continues to rise. Israeli displacement of Palestinians in the occupied West Bank, including East Jerusalem, also broke new records in the year 2020. Whether by demolitions or forced evictions, Israel made nearly 1000 Palestinians homeless and affected more than 5,000 Palestinians in 2020. Meanwhile the United Nations estimates that up to 800 or more are at risk of being forcibly expelled in Jerusalem alone.

Meanwhile, from the onset of pandemic, it was clear that the health system in the besieged Gaza Strip, which has long been operating in crisis mode, was in no position to cope with an influx of COVID patients. The prospect of COVID19 spreading in the territory was nothing short of a medical and humanitarian nightmare for Palestinian and international agencies. Ironically, Israel’s draconian siege of the Gaza Strip and its 2.5 million Palestinian residents initially spared Gaza a health crisis it could not confront.

bethlehem corona
Palestinian worshippers leave after Sunday mass at the Church of the Nativity in the biblical city of Bethlehem after it was re-opened for prayers following strict COVID-19 restrictions on December 20, 2020. Photo: HAZEM BADER / AFP

Hamas authorities, that have controlled the Gaza Strip since 2007, set up quarantine facilities near the Rafah border with Egypt. Residents returning to Gaza were held in those facilities for 14 days and those testing positive remained in the hastily prepared facilities until they recovered. However, the pandemic came back with a vengeance in the fall, spreading like wildfire in one of the most densely populated areas of the world. By 16 December 2020, the positivity rate in Gaza had risen to over 40%; a shocking number with catastrophic implications. Despite assistance from the international community and the Palestinian government sharing its limited resources with Gaza, the situation is now at a breaking point.

In refugee camps across the region, the situation is equally dire. In cooperation with UNRWA, which recently ran out of funds, an emergency response was put in place to meet the needs of Palestinian refugees in Jordan, Syria, and Lebanon. But with infection and poverty rates rising across the region, mitigating the spread of the pandemic in refugee camps is looking increasingly untenable.

Hospitals in Palestinian cities in the West Bank and Gaza are now at or near full capacity. Experts have resorted to the media to raise awareness and plead with the public to heed medical advice, wear masks, and socially distance. They are also urging patients suffering chronic diseases like hypertension and diabetes not to shy away from seeking medical help when needed while all minor and elective surgeries have been cancelled since March 2020.

Unlike sovereign states, many options are simply not available to the Palestinian government to mitigate national emergencies like this pandemic. In addition to lacking control over all its territory and suffering a political and geographic rift that effectively separate Gaza from the West Bank, the Palestinian government is facing a crushing financial crisis that limits its mobilization options, including hiring the necessary human resources in the health sector. The cost of the pandemic has been tremendous, ranging from 7 to 35% of GDP, depending on estimates while the World Bank estimates that the Palestinian GDP to contract by at least 8%. And despite the economic relief produced by the government’s decision to accept receiving tax revenues collected by Israel, experts do not believe this step will be enough to lift the Palestinians from the current slump.

The problem in the Palestinian response to the pandemic is not due to lack of human resources or expertise. It is the cumulative result of a political process that failed to deliver sovereignty on the one hand and a series of domestic shortfalls that failed to prioritize establishing a national health insurance system that can answer most, if not all, the needs of the Palestinian public without external assistance.

The COVID Emergency task force is recommending new restrictions and lockdowns in the West Banks. But with the government unable to provide financial assistance to the service, tourism, and other sectors hardest hit by the pandemic, a decision to implement a full lockdown will face fervent opposition.

The cumulative fatality rate of COVID in Palestine remains relatively low at 0.9%, compared to other developing nations, thanks in part to Palestine’s predominantly young population. However, the sharp upward trend of new cases and serious cases is an ominous reminder that the pandemic is fast approaching the point of no return. In the coming days, the Palestinian government may not have a choice but to save the health sector from complete meltdown, even if such a critical decision has devastating financial implications.

Further reading

COVID-19 historical data, charts & graphs of the virus in the Middle East and North Africa. Includes updates on new case...
The crisis hitting UNRWA is therefore not just a crisis of funding or misconduct, but is connected to attitudes towards ...
In July 2017, Abbas dismissed more than 6,000 employees working in health, education and other public sectors in Gaza, b...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: MAHMUD HAMS ©AFP | MAHMUD HAMS ©AFP | HAZEM BADER ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!