فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / السلطة الفلسطينية تواجه أزمةً مالية

السلطة الفلسطينية تواجه أزمةً مالية

Palestine- PA crisis
نساء فلسطينيات يحرقن صورة الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب ورئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو خلال مظاهرة للاحتجاج على سياسة ترامب ، خارج مكتب تابع للقنصلية الأمريكية في مدينة رام الله بالضفة الغربية المحتلة ، في سبتمبر / أيلول 4 ، 2018.
Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ABBAS MOMANI

بموجب بروتوكول باريس الاقتصادي لعام 1994 -التابع لاتفاقية أوسلو بين إسرائيل ومنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، وهو الاتفاق التعاقدي الذي يحكم العلاقة الاقتصادية بين إسرائيل والفلسطينيين- تجمع إسرائيل الجمارك والضرائب بالإنابة عن الفلسطينيين، والتي تقدر شهرياً بحوالي 220 مليون دولار، وتحصل إسرائيل على عمولة اثنين في المئة من قيمة المبلغ.

على الرغم من انتهاء صلاحية البروتوكول بشكل رسمي منذ ما يقرب من عقدين، أصرت إسرائيل ان تبقى الصادرات والواردات الفلسطينية عبر البوابة الإسرائيلية لعدم إضفاء صفة السيادة على الحدود للسلطة الفلسطينية من ناحية، ومن ناحية أخرى من اجل التحكم في الجزء الأكبر من الموارد المالية الفلسطينية.

وعليه، صادق الكنيست الإسرائيلي بتاريخ 3 يوليو 2018 على قانونٍ لمعاقبة السلطة الفلسطينية مالياً على خلفية دفعها رواتب لعائلات المعتقلين في السجون الإسرائيلية وعائلات الشهداء الفلسطينيين الذين قتلوا على أيدي القوات الإسرائيلية. وبموجب القانون، اتخذت الحكومة الإسرائيلية قراراً بحجب مبلغ 138 مليون دولار على شكل تحويلات ضريبية للسلطة الفلسطينية بتاريخ 17 فبراير 2019. هذا المبلغ هو ما قدرته الحكومة الإسرائيلية قيمة الرواتب المدفوعة سنوياً لعائلات الاسرى والشهداء الفلسطينيين، حيث يقبع في سجون الاحتلال هذه الأيام ما يقارب من 5700 فلسطيني وفلسطينية.

يأتي هذا التجميد في الوقت الذي واجه فيه الفلسطينيون تخفيضات كبيرة في الميزانية العام الماضي بعد أن جمدت الولايات المتحدة المخصصات المالية السنوية للسلطة الفلسطينية وكذلك تمويل برنامج وكالة غوث وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين التابعة للأمم المتحدة (أونروا). في عام 2018 وقع الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب قانون تايلور فورس، الذي يطالب الحكومة الامريكية بقطع مساعداتها الاقتصادية للسلطة الفلسطينية طالما استمرت في دفع مبالغ للأسرى الفلسطينيين الحاليين او السابقين، وكذلك لعائلات الشهداء الفلسطينيين.

على مر الاعوام، استخدمت الحكومة الإسرائيلية اتفاق أوسلو كقوةٍ سياسية على السلطة الفلسطينية، حيث تم تجميد عائدات الجمارك والضرائب الشهرية كوسيلة للضغط أو العقاب للتأثير على السياسة الفلسطينية. فعلى سبيل المثال، أثناء الانتفاضة الثانية (2000-2005)، وبعد فوز حركة حماس في الانتخابات التشريعية الفلسطينية في عام 2006، وكردة فعلٍ من قبل إسرائيل بعد تصويت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة لرفع السلطة الفلسطينية لتصبح دولة مراقبة دائمة في الأمم المتحدة في عام 2012.

لهذا السبب تعالت الأصوات الفلسطينية بأن هذه الممارسات وصفت بالسرقة والقرصنة من قبل الدولة الإسرائيلية على حساب التنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الفلسطينية.

Palestinian authority
Source: Palestine Monetary Authority Depending on PCBS and MOF Data. Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com

تدابير التقشف

تعتمد السلطة الفلسطينية على مجموعة من القنوات للإيرادات السنوية، حيث بلغت في العام 2018 ما يقارب 3.8 مليار دولار، أهمها مقاصة الجمارك والضرائب على الواردات الخارجية والتي تبلغ حوالي 60-65% من اجمالي الإيرادات السنوية، بالإضافة الى إيرادات ضريبة القيمة المضافة للسلع والخدمات، وضريبة الدخل السنوية، وجباية الرسوم على الخدمات العامة للوزرات المختلفة والتي تبلغ حوالي 20-25% سنوياً، بالإضافة الى الدعم الخارجي للميزانية العامة وللمشاريع التنموية والتي تبلغ حوالي 15% سنوياً.

بعد صدور القرار الإسرائيلي باقتطاع أموال من المقاصة، قال الرئيس الفلسطيني محمود عباس بأنه سيعطي أوامره لوزارة المالية بأن الأولوية بدفع المخصصات الشهرية لذوي الاسرى والشهداء كاملة وبعد ذلك تدفع أجزاء من الرواتب الشهرية للموظفين الحكوميين.

وعليه، أعلن وزير المالية الفلسطيني شكري بشارة، عن آلية صرف رواتب موظفي السلطة الفلسطينية لشهر مارس، حيث أشار إنه سيتم صرف الرواتب كاملة، لكل من راتبه أقل من 2000 شيكل (550 دولار). وهذا يعني أن 40% من الموظفين ستصرف رواتبهم كاملة. وأضاف أن الحد الأعلى لصرف الرواتب سيكون 10 آلاف شيكل (2,755 دولار)، ومنهم الوزراء. أي انه تمت حماية الرواتب المتدنية والتوفير كان باتجاه ذوي الرواتب العالية.

وأثناء كلمته في القمة العربية في تونس في 31 مارس، نوه الرئيس عباس إلى الازمة المالية التي تمر بها السلطة الفلسطينية، ودعا الى تفعيل قرارات القمم السابقة بتوفير شبكة أمان مالية والوفاء بالالتزامات المالية بدعم موازنة دولة فلسطين. حيث سارعت السعودية بدفع مبلغ 40 مليون دولار لدعم الميزانية الفلسطينية، وهو ما يعتبر إشارة الى باقي الدول العربية بالتضامن مع السلطة الفلسطينية.

مستقبلٌ يشوبه الضباب

في الأعوام الماضية تقلصت أموال الدعم الدولي الخارجي للسلطة الفلسطينية، حيث بلغت ما يقارب حوالي 520 مليون دولار امريكي فقط، أي ما يقارب 15% من اجمالي الإيرادات السنوية. وفي ضوء العلاقة السياسية المتأزمة بين إسرائيل والسلطة الفلسطينية، وفي ضوء العجز الكبير في الميزانية، فإن المستقبل القريب يشير الى ان السلطة الفلسطينية بالكاد ستستطيع ان تغطي جزءاً من النفقات العامة، بما في ذلك دفع تكاليف النفقات الجارية للوزرات الخدماتية المختلفة، مثل الصحة والتعليم. الحلول التي لجأت اليها السلطة الفلسطينية باقتراض جزء من الأموال من البنوك الفلسطينية، وباقتطاع جزء من مرتبات الموظفين، تعتبر حلولاً قصيرة المدى، ويمكن ان تعتمد عليها لبضعة شهور فحسب.

ومما لا شك فيه، فإن العجز المالي الكبير سيحد من مساحة المناورة السياسية لدى السلطة الفلسطينية وسيضعها على حافة الانهيار المالي. هناك اجماعٌ فلسطيني بأنه لا يمكن التضحية بأولئك الذين ضحوا بأنفسهم وضحوا بحريتهم ويقبعون في السجون من اجل القضية الفلسطينية.

وهنا سوف يجد الرئيس الفلسطيني نفسه بين أمرين احلاهما مر. فقد لوح عباس عدة مرات بأنه سيوقف التنسيق الأمني مع إسرائيل، وعلى الرغم من أنه لم ينفذ تهديده هذا قط، إلا أن هناك مخاوف متزايدة من أن الأمن سيتعرض للخطر إذا ما تلاشى عدم الرضا عن السلطة الفلسطينية وتحوّل إلى غضب.

كما أن غياب التنسيق الأمني يعني أن ساحة الضفة الغربية ستصبح ساحة اقتتال بين النشطاء الفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية والمستوطنين الإسرائيليين.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ABBAS MOMANI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Past to Present of Palestine / Palestinian Authority Facing Financial Crisis

Palestinian Authority Facing Financial Crisis

Palestine- PA crisis
Palestinian women burn a picture of US president Donald Trump and Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu during a demonstration to protest against the US president’s cuts to aid for Palestinians, outside an office belonging to the American Consulate in the occupied West Bank city of Ramallah, on September 4, 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ABBAS MOMANI

Under the 1994 Paris Protocol on Economic Relations – incorporated into the Oslo Accord governing the economic relations between Israel and the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO) – Israel collects customs and tax revenues on behalf of the Palestinians that are worth about $220 million per month and receives a commission of 2 per cent of the total amount.

Although the protocol officially expired almost two decades ago, Israel insists that Palestinian exports and imports continue to go through Israel, effectively denying the ruling Palestinian Authority (PA) sovereignty over its borders and allowing Israel to control the majority of Palestinian financial resources.

On 3 July 2018, the Israeli Knesset (parliament) endorsed a law to punish the PA financially for the welfare payments it makes through the Palestinian Authority Martyr’s Fund to political prisoners and those who lost family members to Israel’s military operations. In accordance with the law, Israel made the decision on 17 February 2019 to withhold $138 million in tax transfers to the PA. The amount was estimated as the total money paid annually to the families of Palestinian prisoners and martyrs. Approximately 5,700 Palestinian men and women are currently held in Israeli prisons.

This financial loss comes on top of the United States’ (US) suspension of annual financial allocations and funding for UNWRA, the United Nations agency for Palestine refugees. In 2018, US President Donald Trump signed the Taylor Force Act, which stipulates that aid to the Palestinians will be cut as long as the PA continues to make its welfare payments.

Over the years, Israel has used the Oslo Accord as a political tool, freezing the monthly customs and tax revenues as a means to put pressure on or influence the Palestinian leadership. Examples include during the second intifada (2000-2005), after Hamas‘ victory in the Gaza Stirp in the 2006 legislative elections and in reaction to the United Nations General Assembly’s vote to make the PA a permanent observer in 2012.

Palestinians have denounced the withholding of these funds, describing it as an act of stealing and piracy by Israel at the expense of Palestinian social and economic development.

Palestinian authority
Source: Palestine Monetary Authority Depending on PCBS and MOF Data. Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com

Austerity measures

The PA relies on a range of annual revenues, amounting to approximately $3.8 billion in 2018. Most important of these are the customs and tax revenues from foreign imports, which amount to about 60-65 per cent of the total annual revenues, in addition to value-added tax on goods, income tax and fees imposed on the public services of various ministries, amounting to about 20-25 per cent annually. Foreign support for the PA’s general budget and developmental projects makes up approximately 15 per cent of annual revenues.

After the Israeli decision to withhold funds, Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas said he would instruct the Ministry of Finance to pay in full the monthly allowances provided by the Palestinian Authority Martyr’s Fund and then pay the salaries of government employees.

Palestinian Finance Minister Shukri Bishara announced that for March, government salaries would be paid in full if they amounted to 2,000 shekels ($550) or less. This means that only 40 per cent of employees received their full salary. He added that 10,000 shekels ($2,755) would be the upper limit for the disbursement of salaries, including for ministers. In other words, people with low salaries were protected while the austerity measures targeted high-paid employees.

During his speech at the Arab summit in Tunisia on 31 March, Abbas referred to his government’s financial crisis and called for the realization of promises made during previous summits to provide a financial safety net and meet financial obligations to support the state’s budget. Saudi Arabia rushed to transfer $40 million, sending a message to other Arab countries that they should show solidarity with the PA.

Uncertain future

In recent years, international financial aid for the PA has declined, amounting to about $520 million or around 15 percent of the total annual revenues. In light of the strained relationship with Israel and the large budget deficit, predictions indicate that the PA will only be able to cover part of its expenses, including the costs of various service ministries such as the ministries of health and education. The PA’s decision to borrow part of the funds from Palestinian banks and pay only a portion of employees’ salaries is a solution that can only be sustained for a few months.

Undoubtedly, the deficit will limit the PA’s negotiating position and will put it on the brink of financial collapse. There is a Palestinian consensus that abandoning those who have sacrificed their lives and freedom for the Palestinian cause is not an option.

This puts Abbas in a difficult position. He has repeatedly threatened to stop security coordination with Israel. Although he has never carried out the threat, there are growing concerns that security will be compromised if dissatisfaction with the PA boils over into anger.

A lack of security coordination may also set the stage for fighting between militant groups in the West Bank and with Israeli settlers.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ABBAS MOMANI | ©AFP ⁃ ABBAS MOMANI

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.