فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الدور القطري في قطاع غزة

الدور القطري في قطاع غزة

Palestine- khan Yunis
أطفال فلسطينيون يلعبون كرة القدم في فناء بين الوحدات السكنية القطرية الجديدة في خان يونس في جنوب قطاع غزة في 20 نوفمبر 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ SAID KHATIB

على الرغم من أن القضية الفلسطينية تحظى باهتمامٍ عربي كبير وتعتبر القضية المركزية للأمة العربية، الا أنه لم يخرج من هذه الأنظمة إلا شعاراتٍ جوفاء وخطاباتٍ في الهواء، وذلك باستثناء دولة قطر التي لعبت دوراً مهماً وبارزاً في السنوات الأخيرة على الصعيد السياسي والدعم المادي في المناطق الفلسطينية، ولا سيما قطاع غزة. هذا الدور القطري لا يخلو في أهدافه من الجدل بين المثقفين والسياسيين، فالبعض يعتبره دوراً عربياً قومياً يهدف الى مساندة الفلسطينيين وإعادة الاعمار في قطاع غزة، والبعض الآخر يعتبره دوراً مشبوهاً، يخدم السياسة الإسرائيلية في المقام الأول.

من بين الدول العربية، يُعد موقف قطر من القضية الفلسطينية الأكثر ثباتاً وانسجاماً مع الرؤية الوطنية الفلسطينية. تعتبر هذه الدولة الخليجية من الدول التي احتضنت العديد من قيادات حركة التحرير الوطني الفلسطيني (حركة فتح اليوم) في حقبة ستينيات القرن الماضي، وتعتبر من أولى الدول العربية التي تم فيها افتتاح مكتب لمنظمة التحرير، الذي تحول إلى سفارة بعد إعلان قيام دولة فلسطين في مؤتمر الجزائر عام 1988. كما يسجل التاريخ بأن الأمير حمد بن خليفة هو أول قائد عربي يزور فلسطين بعد قيام السلطة الفلسطينية، حيث كانت الزيارة الأولى له عام 1999، عندما التقى في غزة بالرئيس الراحل ياسر عرفات. كما كانت له زيارة ثانية لغزة في أكتوبر عام 2012، في إشارةٍ واضحة لمحاولته كسر الحصار السياسي المفروض على قطاع غزة، كما قدّم لقطاع غزة دعماً مالياً ومعنوياً لا يمكن اغفاله.

وفي المحافل الدولية يعتبر موقف قطر من اقوى المواقف دفاعاً عن القضية الفلسطينية، حيث وجه أمير قطر تميم بن حمد في اجتماع الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة في شهر سبتمبر 2014 انتقادات قوية لإسرائيل، متهماً الجيش الإسرائيلي بارتكاب جرائم حرب وجرائم ضد الإنسانية، وأيد المقاومة الفلسطينية، ودعا لإصدار قرار تحت الفصل السابع لإلزام إسرائيل بإنهاء الاحتلال.

الدعم المالي للفلسطينيين

قد يكون الشعب الفلسطيني من أكثر الجهات التي أمدتها دولة قطر بالمساعدات، حيث لم تنقطع الامارة القطرية عن تقديم ملايين الدولارات من خلال مشاريع إعادة الاعمار والتنمية في قطاع غزة. إن كثيراً من هذه الأموال، التي التزمت قطر بمنحها في مؤتمر شرم الشيخ في مارس عام 2009، ذهبت إلى غزة، حيث دمرت ثلاثة حروبٍ إسرائيلية البُنية التحتية والمنازل والمنشآت المدنية والأمنية الحكومية، والمساجد والمدارس والمستشفيات.

بلغ مجمل التبرعات المالية التي تعهدت بها الدول المشاركة في المؤتمر أكثر من أربعة مليارات دولار. ومع ذلك، قليلة هي الدول التي اوفت بالتزاماتها تجاه برامج اعمار غزة، ومنهم دولة قطر التي ضاعفت منحة الاعمار أثناء زيارة أمير قطر لغزة في 23 أكتوبر 2012، لتصل إلى 407 مليون دولار.

من بين المشاريع التي حصلت على التمويل القطري إعادة تأهيل شارع صلاح الدين الممتد من شمال إلى جنوب القطاع، وشارع الرشيد والبحر، وشارع الكرامة، ومدينة الشيخ حمد السكنية، ومستشفى الشيخ حمد بن خليفة للأطراف الصناعية.

لهذه المشاريع تم انشاء لجنة تحت مسمى لجنة إعادة اعمار غزة، وأرسلت دولة قطر سفيرها الخاص، السيد محمد العمادي، للإشراف على تنفيذ المشاريع. بعد ذلك توالت المنح القطرية السنوية الصغيرة مثل منحة دعم كهرباء غزة، ومنحة حرب عام 2014، ومنحة مكافأة موظفي غزة، ومنحة الإغاثة الإنسانية العاجلة.

وكشفت صحيفة هآرتس الإسرائيلية بتاريخ 10 فبراير 2019 أنّ قطر حوّلت إلى غزة أكثر من 1,1 مليار دولار بين عامي 2012 و2018، بمصادقة إسرائيل، حيث تم استثمار حوالي 44% منها في البنية التحتيّة، و40% في قطاعي التعليم والصحة، والبقيّة تعتبر رواتب للموظّفين، إضافة إلى جزء لوكالة الأمم المتّحدة الأونروا بحوالي 50 مليون دولار عام 2018.

مما لا شك فيه ان الدعم المالي القطري، اخذ منحنى سياسي، فالبعض يراه إيجابياً وبأنه تأكيدٌ على العمق العربي الداعم والمساند للشعب الفلسطيني، ومنهم من يراه بالشكل السلبي، وبأن الدعم المالي الكبير لقطاع غزة هو تشجيع لفكرة الفصل السياسي بين الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة ويخدم الاجندة الإسرائيلية. فقد ارتفعت حدة الانتقادات من قبل قيادة حركة فتح تجاه دولة قطر، حتى ان الرئيس الفلسطيني تدخل شخصياً لوقف تجاوزات فتح تجاه قطر.

Palestine- Gaza
منظر عام لمشروع قطر تجديد شارع هارون الرشيد الذي يمتد موازيا للشاطئ في مدينة غزة. Photo FP ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED ABED

الدور القطري في التهدئة بين إسرائيل وحماس

خلقت مسيرات العودة الكبرى، التي يجتمع فيها الغزيون على نحوٍ أسبوعي بالقرب من الشريط الحدودي للمطالبة بالسماح لهم بالعودة إلى ديارهم قبل عام 48، حالة أمنية متوترة جداً. فقد سقط أكثر من 300 ضحية فلسطيني وآلاف الإصابات في المظاهرات.

فقد قامت المقاومة الفلسطينية بضرب البلدات الإسرائيلية المجاورة بصواريخ محلية الصنع، مما رفع من وتيرة التصعيد بين الطرفين ودفع مصر إلى التدخل حيث قدمت صيغة تهدئة بين حركة حماس وإسرائيل بداية شهر نوفمبر 2018. من نقاط اتفاقية التهدئة بين الطرفين هو السماح لقطر بإدخال مبلغ 15 مليون دولار لمدة ستة أشهر لدعم الاسر الفقيرة بالإضافة الى الموظفين المدنيين الفلسطينيين، الذين يتقاضون اقل من نصف الراتب شهرياً منذ أكثر من ثلاث سنوات.

فقد سبق وأعلنت قطر في أكتوبر توفير منحة ماليّة لقطاع غزّة بقيمة 150 مليون دولار، حيث تم تخصيص مبلغ 90 مليون دولار لموظفي حماس، و60 مليون دولار لشراء الوقود الإسرائيلي لإعادة تشغيل محطة الكهرباء في غزة. اتفاق المنحة القطرية تم توقيعه بين حماس وقطر ومصر والأمم المتحدة وإسرائيل في نوفمبر 2018. إن موافقة إسرائيل للدعم القطري لقطاع غزة كان يهدف لعدم انفجار الأوضاع.

وبعد أن تم دفع المنحة لمدة شهرين فقط من أصل إتفاقية الـ6 أشهر، بدأت تتعالى أصوات اليمين في إسرائيل وخاصة وزير الدفاع السابق أفيغدور ليبرمان بتوجيه النقد الحاد للحكومة الإسرائيلية، بأن الأموال القطرية هي مكافأة لإسكات حماس. انتقادٌ آخر جاء من قيادة السلطة الفلسطينية وقيادة حركة فتح التي قالت أن الأموال القطرية تحقق اهداف إسرائيلية وسياسة الفصل بين قطاع غزة والضفة الغربية، والعمل على تنفيذ صفقة القرن التي ينادي بها ترمب.

الموقف السياسي لدولة قطر تجاه السلطة الفلسطينية وحركة حماس

بدأت العلاقة بين دولة قطر مع حركة حماس بعد فوز الحركة في الانتخابات التشريعية الفلسطينية عام 2006. تميز موقف دولة قطر منذ عهد الأمير حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني بدعم الشعب الفلسطيني خاصة إبان العدوان الإسرائيلي على قطاع غزة عام 2008-2009، حيث دعت قطر إلى عقد قمة عربية عاجلة، قاطعتها نصف الأنظمة العربية، وعليه لم يتكون نصاب قانوني لعقد القمة العربية، خاصة بعد مقاطعة السلطة الفلسطينية أيضاً بدعوى عدم التشاور معها. افشال عقد القمة العربية وخاصة من قبل السلطة الفلسطينية أثار حفيظة دولة قطر، التي احتضنت حركة حماس أكثر فأكثر. وقد ازدادت العلاقة القطرية مع الحركة بعد اندلاع الثورة السورية عام 2011، عندما قررت حركة حماس الخروج من سوريا ووافقت دولة قطر على استقبال قيادة حماس برئاسة خالد مشعل، رئيس المكتب السياسي لحركة حماس، وفتح مكتب حركة حماس الرئيسي في الدوحة.

وفي إطار سعي قطر للمصالحة الفلسطينية بين حركة فتح وحماس، استضافت الدوحة عدة جولاتٍ للمصالحة بين الحركتين، حيث تم التوقيع على إعلان الدوحة للمصالحة الفلسطينية في فبراير 2012.

يرجع السبب في رفض السلطة الفلسطينيّة لمساعدات قطر لغزّة كونها لا تمرّ عبر خزينة وزارة المالية في رام الله، كما أن دخول الأموال القطرية إلى غزة يُفشل مخطط السلطة الفلسطينية في ممارسة الضغوطات الاقتصادية والمالية المفروضة على قطاع غزة، من أجل أن تُسّلم حركة حماس جميع المؤسسات الرسمية للحكومة في رام الله وتنزع سلاحها.

فقد أعلن وزير الخارجية القطري محمد بن عبد الرحمن آل ثاني يوم 17 فبراير 2019، خلال مشاركته بمؤتمر ميونخ للأمن في ألمانيا، أن قطر لا تموّل حماس، بل تحاول وضع حدٍ للأزمة الإنسانية في غزة.

انعكس ذلك بتخصيص قطر في 6 مايو 2019 مبلغ 480 مليون دولار تقدم للفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة على شكل منح وقروض للسلطة الفلسطينية، ويخصص منها مبلغ 180 مليون دولار لتقديم الدعم الإغاثي والإنساني العاجل، ودعم خدمات الكهرباء في قطاع غزة. وافقت قطر على مطلب السلطة الفلسطينية بإرسال دعمها المالي عبر رام الله.

جاء الدعم القطري بعد يومٍ واحد من الجهود القطرية لتثبيت التهدئة بين إسرائيل والفصائل الفلسطينية بعد جولة من التصعيد العسكري، حيث سقط حوالي 30 ضحية فلسطينية وقتل 4 إسرائيليين.

ماذا تهدف قطر من دعم قطاع غزة؟

يتحدث البعض عن دورٍ مريب لقطر في قطاع غزة، وأن قطر تقوم بمشاريع مشبوهة بالمنطقة، وأنها تنفذ سياسة الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية من أجل تحقيق مشروع الفصل بين الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة وصولًا لإقامة دولة غزة.

سواء كان ذلك صحيحاً أم لا، فمن الواضح أن قطر تسعى إلى تعزيز مكانتها بالمنطقة، خاصة وأنها تعيش حالة خصومة سياسية مع جيرانها، لا سيما السعودية والامارات العربية.

على الرغم من صعوبة فهم التحالفات الإقليمية والدولية، الا أن قطر استطاعت أن تحافظ على مكانةٍ مرموقة، فهي من ناحية تتمتع بعلاقاتٍ قوية مع أمريكا- إذ تستضيف على أرضها قاعدة عسكرية أمريكية، وبها مقر القيادة المركزية للقوات الجوية الامريكية- كما تعدّ قطر الدولة الخليجية الأولى التي تتمتع بعلاقات اقتصادية مع إسرائيل. وفي نفس الوقت تدعم قطر حركة حماس التي تصنفها أمريكا بالإرهابية، هذا بالإضافة لعلاقة قطر بجماعة الاخوان المسلمين، التي تعتبر حماس فرعاً لها.

من الجدير بالذكر أن دعم قطر لجماعة الإخوان المسلمين ليس مدفوعاً بتقاربهما من ناحية الآراء السياسية، بدلاً من ذلك، تقوم العلاقة على مبدأ أن عدو عدوي هو صديقي. فقطر الصغيرة مصممة على الخروج من ظل المملكة العربية السعودية ولعب دور إقليمي طغى في بعض الحالات على بعض جيرانها الخليجيين والعرب. ولتحقيق هذه الغاية، تستخدم قطر القوة الناعمة، وتحديداً شبكة الجزيرة الإعلامية التي تمولها الدولة، فضلاً عن استخدامها للمال الذي تمتلك منه مبالغ كبيرة بفضل احتياطياتها من الغاز والنفط.

العلاقة الجيدة مع الأطراف المتناقضة يجعل من قطر دولة محورية في التدخل الإيجابي، الذي يخدم جميع الأطراف، سواء الطرف الإسرائيلي او حركة حماس في هذا المقام هنا.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ SAID KHATIB | ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED ABED

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Past to Present of Palestine / Qatar’s Role in the Gaza Strip

Qatar’s Role in the Gaza Strip

Palestine- khan Yunis
Palestinian children play football in a courtyard between new Qatari-built residential units in Khan Yunis in the southern Gaza Strip on November 20, 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ SAID KHATIB

Although the Palestinian cause receives much Arab attention, most Arab regimes have failed to give anything to the cause beyond hollow slogans and speeches. This is with the exception of Qatar, which in recent years has played a prominent political and financial role in the Palestinian territories, especially the Gaza Strip. This role has been the subject of debate among intellectuals and politicians. Some consider it a nationalist Arab intervention aimed at supporting the Palestinians and rebuilding Gaza whereas others see it as serving Israel first and foremost.

Among Arab countries, Qatar’s position on the Palestinian cause is most in line with the Palestinian na-tionalist vision. The Gulf state embraced many of the leaders of the Palestinian National Liberation Movement (now Fatah) in the 1960s and was one of the first Arab countries to allow a Palestinian Liberation Organization (PLO) office in its territory, which became an embassy after the Algiers Declaration of a Palestinian State in 1988. Qatari Emir Hamad bin Khalifah was also the first Arab leader to visit Palestine after the establishment of the Palestinian Authority (PA). His first visit was in 1999, when he met the late President Yasser Arafat in Gaza. His second visit was in October 2012, in a clear attempt to break Israel’s blockade of the enclave. Moreover, he provided financial and moral support.

On the international stage, Qatar has been one of the Palestinians’ staunchest defenders. During a speech to the UN General Assembly in September 2014, Emir Tamim bin Hamad al-Thani strongly criticized Israel and accused the Israeli army of committing war crimes and crimes against humanity. In the same speech, he expressed his support for the Palestinian resistance and called for a resolution to compel Israel to end the occupation.

Financial support for the Palestinians

The Palestinian people may be one of the main beneficiaries of Qatar’s support, which has seen millions of dollars channeled into reconstruction and development projects. Much of this money, which Qatar committed to pay during the Sharm el-Sheikh donor conference in March 2009, has gone to Gaza, where three wars with Israel have destroyed infrastructure, houses, government civil and security installations, mosques, schools and hospitals.

The total amount of financial contributions pledged by countries participating in the conference amounted to $4 billion. Only a few countries have fulfilled their commitments, including Qatar, which doubled its reconstruction grant to $407 million during the emir’s visit on October 23rd, 2012.

Among the projects that have received Qatari funding are the rehabilitation of Salah al-Din highway that runs the length of Gaza, al-Rasheed Street, al-Bahr Street, Karama Street, Sheikh Hamad Residen-tial City and Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifah Hospital.

For these projects, the Gaza Reconstruction Committee was established, and Qatar sent its special envoy, Mohammed al-Emadi, to oversee their implementation. Qatar subsequently paid small annual grants such as the Gaza electricity support grant, the 2014 war grant, the Gaza employees bonus grant and the urgent humanitarian relief grant.

On 10 February 2019, Israeli newspaper Haaretz revealed that Qatar transferred more than $1.1 billion to Gaza between 2012 and 2018, with Israel’s endorsement, about 44 per cent of which was invested in infrastructure, 40 per cent in education and health and the rest was paid as salaries. This was in addition to $50 million paid to the UN relief agency for Palestinian refugees in 2018.

There is no doubt that Qatar’s financial support has taken a political turn. Some see it as a positive affirmation of the strong Arab support for the Palestinian people. Others, however, see it as deepening the internal divide between Gaza and the West Bank, which serves Israel’s agenda. Criticism by the Fatah party became so virulent that Mahmoud Abbas, Fatah chairman and Palestinian president, had to intervene to bring it to an end.

Palestine- Gaza
A general view of the Qatar-funded renovations of Harun al-Rashid street which runs parallel to the beach in Gaza City, 2017. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED ABED

Qatari role in truce between Israel and Hamas

The Great March of Return protests, in which Gazans gathered weekly near the border fence to demand to be allowed to return to their pre-1948 homes, created a tense security situation. More than 300 Palestinians were killed and thousands of others wounded in the protests.

The Palestinian resistance attacked Israeli towns with locally manufactured rockets, escalating the tensions and causing Egypt to intervene. It presented a proposal to foster calm between the two sides in early November 2018. One of the points of the proposal was to allow Qatar to send $15 million over six months to support poor families and civil servants who have received less than half their monthly salary for more than three years.

In October, Qatar had already announced a $150 million grant for the Gaza Strip, $90 million of which was allocated to Hamas employees and $60 million to buy Israeli fuel to restart Gaza’s power plant. The Qatari grant agreement was signed between Hamas, Qatar, Egypt, the United Nations and Israel in November 2018. Israel’s approval of Qatar’s support was aimed at preventing the situation from deteriorating.

Two months into the six-month agreement, right-wing voices in Israel, especially former Defence Minister Avigdor Lieberman, began criticizing the Israeli government and saying that the Qatari funds were a reward for silencing Hamas, which governs the Gaza Strip. Criticism also came from the PA and Fatah, which said that the Qatari funds serve Israeli aims by deepening the internal divide between the Gaza Strip and the West Bank as well as efforts to implement Donald Trump’s ‘deal of the century’.

Qatar’s stance towards the PA and Hamas

Qatar’s relationship with Hamas began after Hamas won the legislative elections in Gaza in 2006. Qatar has been particularly supportive of the Palestinian people since the war with Israel in 2008-2009, when Qatar called for an urgent Arab summit. The summit was boycotted by half of the Arab regimes, including the PA, which said it had not been consulted about the event. The PA’s boycott angered Qatar, which has increasingly developed a privileged relationship with Hamas. This relationship was strengthened after the outbreak of the Syrian revolution in 2011, when Hamas decided to leave Syria and Qatar agreed to allow the movement, headed by Khalid Mishal, to open its main office in Doha.

As part of Qatar’s efforts to achieve reconciliation between Fatah and Hamas, Doha hosted several rounds of talks between the two parties. These led to a reconciliation agreement that was signed in February 2012.

The PA’s refusal to accept Qatar’s aid to Gaza is due to the fact that the aid did not go through the Ministry of Finance in Ramallah, foiling the PA’s plan to exert economic and financial pressure on Gaza in an attempt to force Hamas to hand over power to the Ramallah-based government and to disarm.

Qatari Foreign Minister Mohammed bin Abdulrahman al-Thani stated during the Munich Security Conference in Germany on 17 February 2019 that Qatar is not financing Hamas but is trying to put an end to the humanitarian crisis in Gaza.

This was reflected in Qatar’s allocation on 6 May 2019 of $480 million for the West Bank and Gaza in the form of grants and loans to the PA, of which $180 million was earmarked for relief and humanitarian aid and for electricity services in Gaza. Qatar agreed to the PA’s demand to send its financial support through Ramallah.

The support came a day after Qatari efforts to achieve a truce between Israel and the Palestinian factions following a round of military escalation, which left around 30 Palestinian and four Israelis dead.

Why is Qatar supporting Gaza?

Some speak of a suspicious role by Qatar in Gaza and say that Qatar is carrying out suspicious projects in the region and implementing the policy of the United States to achieve separation between the West Bank and the Gaza Strip to eventually establish the state of Gaza.

Whether this is true or not, it is clear that Qatar is seeking to bolster its regional position in the face of political rivalry with its neighbors, notably Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

Although it is difficult to understand regional and international alliances, Qatar has been able to maintain a prestigious position. On the one hand, it has strong relations with the United States – it hosts a military base that is home to the headquarters of the US Air Force Central Command – and is the first Gulf state to establish economic relations with Israel. On the other hand, it supports Hamas, which the United States has designated as a terrorist group. This is in addition to Qatar’s relationship with the Muslim Brotherhood, of which Hamas is an offshoot.

It is noteworthy that Qatar’s support for the Muslim Brotherhood is not motivated by proximity of political views. Rather, the relationship is based on the principle that the enemy of my enemy is my friend. Tiny Qatar is determined to move out of Saudi Arabia’s shadow and play a regional role that in some cases has eclipsed some of its Gulf and Arab neighbours. To this end, Qatar uses soft power, namely the state-funded al-Jazeera media network and money, of which it has large amounts thanks to its gas and oil reserves.

These good relations with conflicting parties make Qatar a pivotal partner in terms of serving the interests of all these parties, including Israel and Hamas.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ SAID KHATIB | ©AFP ⁃ SAID KHATIB | ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED ABED

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.