فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الانتفاضة الأولى

الانتفاضة الأولى

في النصف الثاني من الثمانينات، تصعّد الموقف نتيجة لتفاعل عدد من العوامل. فبالإضافة إلى الطريق المسدود لوضع الاحتلال، كان هناك المزيد من مخالفات بناء المستوطنات الإسرائيلية، والتي كانت تتزايد من حيث العدد والحجم، ونمو البنية التحتية التي رافقها. وعلاوة على ذلك، كان هناك تدهور اقتصادي لعدة سنوات. وتناقصت فرص عمل الفلسطينيين بشدة في دول الخليج نتيجة إيرادات النفط المستنزفة. وانطبق الأمر نفسه على الاقتصاد الإسرائيلي، الذي كان يعاني من الركود أيضاً. وعلاوة على ذلك، تلقت منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية ضربة قوية في لبنان بعد الغزو الإسرائيلي واسع النطاق عام 1982. وفي المجال السياسي، وصلت الأمور إلى طريق مسدود، ومُنع ممثلو الفلسطينيين من المشاركة في جميع المباحثات الدبلوماسية.

في 8 ديسمبر/كانون الأول عام 1987، أشعل حادث تورط بتنفيذه الجنود الإسرائيليون ضمن قطاع غزة فتيل الأزمة بعد قتل العديد من الفلسطينيين – لا سيما وأن الحادث وقع في مخيم جباليا أكبر مخيمات اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في قطاع غزة. ومن هناك انتشرت النيران إلى الضفة الغربية. وسريعاً ما اتخذت الاحتجاجات أبعاداً واسعة حتى أنها وصفت بانتفاضة شعبية.

شكلت الانتفاضة فورة قوية من الاحتجاجات من قلب المجتمع الفلسطيني. وتشكلت لجان محلية في كل مكان يقودها جيل جديد من الناشطين (الشباب). ومن أجل منع الجيش الإسرائيلي من تتبعها، عملت في الخفاء. وجاء معظم الناشطين من منظمات المقاومة الفلسطينية المختلفة. وتم تنسيق عمل اللجان المحلية في وقت لاحق من قبل القيادة الوطنية الموحدة (للانتفاضة)، والتي كانت على اتصال وثيق مع قيادة منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية في تونس، حيث أقامت منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية مقرها بعد طردها من بيروت عام 1982.

كانت المطالب الرئيسية للانتفاضة هي الإنهاء الفوري للاحتلال الإسرائيلي والاعتراف بمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية باعتبارها الممثل الرسمي الوحيد للشعب الفلسطيني وإقامة دولة فلسطينية مستقلة (في فلسطين). كانت أساليب المقاومة هي الإضرابات والمظاهرات بشكل خاص (مع الفتيان الذين كانوا يرشقون الجنود بالحجارة والصخور)، ومقاطعة المنتجات الإسرائيلية بالتزامن مع سياسة نشطة نحو تحقيق الاكتفاء الذاتي.

مباشرة عند بداية الانتفاضة، دخلت قوة جديدة على الساحة السياسية: حركة المقاومة الإسلامية (حماس)، وهي فرع فلسطيني من حركة الإخوان المسلمين. وقبلها بفترة وجيزة، ظهرت مجموعة أخرى ذات توجه إسلامي، الجهاد الإسلامي.

الانتفاضة الأولى
مواجهات / Photo HH / اضغط للتكبير
الانتفاضة الأولى
شباب فلسطينيون خلال الانتفاضة الأولى / Photo HH /اضغط للتكبير

على الرغم من استمرار الانتفاضة حتى عام 1993، إلا أنها فقدت حيويتها تدريجياً مع مرور الزمن. كان هذا بشكل خاص نتيجة الأساليب القاسية التي استخدمتها إسرائيل لكسر الانتفاضة. وقد عُرضت صور عن تلك الممارسات في جميع أنحاء العالم وألحقت ضرراً بالغاً بسمعة إسرائيل. وعلى الرغم من أن الانتفاضة تميزت بأنها مقاومة غير عنيفة بشكل عام ضد الاحتلال الإسرائيلي، إلا أن الجيش الإسرائيلي أو المستوطنين اليهود قتلوا 1162 فلسطينياً خلال ست سنوات، وقُتل 170 يهودياً إسرائيلياً على يد الفلسطينيين، وفقاً لمنظمة حقوق الإنسان الإسرائيلية “بتسيليم“.

كان تأثير الانتفاضة الأولى ضخماً – كون انتفاضة عام 1987 وحتى 1993 دخلت التاريخ، ولأن هناك انتفاضة ثانية كانت قادمة. فقد أرسلت الانتفاضة إشارة عن وجود هوية وطنية قوية وصمود فلسطيني في فلسطين. وبعد ثمانية أشهر من اندلاعها (31 يوليو/تموز عام 1988)، تخلى الملك حسين عاهل الأردن رسمياً عن مطالب الأردن في الضفة الغربية. وبالتزامن مع ذلك، أعلنت منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية في 15 نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني عام 1988 قيام دولة فلسطين من جانب واحد، ورئيس منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية ياسر عرفات رئيساً لها؛ وبعد ذلك تم الاعتراف بها من قبل أكثر من نصف الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة.
بهذا، ساهمت الانتفاضة الأولى في حقيقة دخول الصراع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني مرحلة جديدة بعد ذلك بفترة قصيرة.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Past to Present / The First Intifada

The First Intifada

First Intifada / Photo HH
Confrontation / Photo HH

In the second half of the 1980s, the situation escalated following an interplay of factors. In addition to the dead-end situation of the occupation, there was the growing infraction of the Israeli settlements, which were increasing both in number and in size, and the expanding infrastructure which came with them. Moreover, the territoires experienced an economic slump which went on for a number of years. Job opportunities for Palestinians in the Gulf States had greatly decreased as a result of falling oil revenues, and the same applied to the Israeli economy, which had also gone into a recession. Furthermore, the PLO had been dealt a heavy blow in Lebanon after the large-scale Israeli invasion in 1982. In the political sphere, things had reached a total deadlock, with the Palestinian representatives barred from all diplomatic negotiations.

On 8 December 1987, an incident occurred in the Gaza Strip involving Israeli soldiers and the killing of a number of Palestinians; it was particularly significant since it happened in the largest Palestinian refugee camp, Jabaliya in the Gaza Strip, and it set off the powder keg. From there, the fire spread to the West Bank. Soon, the protests assumed such vast dimensions that they were termed a popular uprising (intifada).

First Intifada / Photo HH
Palestinian youths during the First Intifada / Photo HH

The intifada represented a strong outburst of protest from the heart of Palestinian society. Everywhere, local committees were established, led by a new generation of activists. In order to prevent detection by the Israeli army, they operated underground. Most activists came from the various Palestinian resistance organizations. The local committees’ actions were later coordinated by a United National Leadership (of the Intifada), which was in close contact with the PLO leadership in Tunis, where the PLO had set up headquarters after it was expelled from Beirut in 1982.

Key demands of the intifada were the immediate termination of the Israeli occupation, recognition of the PLO as the only official representative of the Palestinian people, and the establishment of an independent Palestinian state (in Palestine). The main methods of resistance were strikes, demonstrations (with boys throwing rocks and stones), and a boycott of Israeli products alongside an active policy of self-sufficiency.

Right at the start of the intifada, a new force entered the political arena: the Islamic Resistance Movement (Hamas), which was a Palestinian offshoot of the Muslim Brotherhood. Shortly before, another Islamic orientated group, the Islamic Jihad, had also surfaced. Although the intifada continued until 1993, it lost much of its dynamics with the passage of time. This was particularly because of the harsh methods employed by Israel to crush the Intifada. Images thereof were shown across the world, severely harming Israel’s reputation.

Although the intifada was generally characterized as non-violent Palestinian resistance against the Israeli occupation, nevertheless 1,162 Palestinians were killed by the Israeli army or Jewish settlers in the course of six years, and 170 Jewish Israelis by Palestinians, according to the Israeli human rights organization B’Tselem.

The impact of the First Intifada – the appellation of the uprising from 1987 until 1993; there would also be a Second Intifada – was huge. It sent out a signal of a strong national identity and the sumud (steadfastness) of the Palestinians in Palestine. Eight months after the outbreak (31 July 1988), King Hussein of Jordan formally renounced Jordan’s claims to the West Bank. In conjunction with this, on 15 November 1988, the PLO unilaterally proclaimed the state of Palestine – with PLO chairman Arafat as its President. Afterwards, it was recognized by more than half the UN Member States.

The First Intifada thus contributed to the fact that the Israeli-Palestinian conflict entered a new phase shortly afterwards.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.