فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / النكبة

النكبة

The official UN map of the 1947 Partition Plan / Source UN
خارطة التقسيم للأمم المتحدة الرسمية لعام 1947
المصدر: الأمم المتحدة / اضغط للتكبير
خارطة الأمم المتحدة تظهر ملكية الأراضي اليهودية والفلسطينية عام 1947 / المصدر: الأمم المتحدة / اضغط للتكبير
خارطة الأمم المتحدة تظهر ملكية الأراضي اليهودية والفلسطينية عام 1947 / المصدر: الأمم المتحدة / اضغط للتكبير

في عام 1947، قدمت الجمعية العامة في الأمم المتحدة القرار رقم 181، خطة تقسيم يتم على أساسها تقسيم أراضي فلسطين أيام الانتداب إلى دولتين: عربية ويهودية. ورغم تضاعف عدد المستوطنين اليهود في السنوات السابقة (حتى 650,000) – ازداد عددهم بعد ذلك بسبب اليهود المشردين والناجين من المحرقة، والذين توجهوا إلى فلسطين مباشرة جزئياً بسبب إغلاق الدول الغربية حدودها أمامهم – إلا أنهم كانوا لا يزالون لا يشكلون أكثر من ثلث السكان. ومع ذلك، تم تخصيص 54% من الأراضي لهم في إطار خطة التقسيم (وكانوا قد تمكنوا من شراء 7% منها فقط في السنوات السبعين الماضية).

رفض الفلسطينيون الموافقة على التقسيم مقدماً. بينما دعم معظم اليهود الصهاينة التقسيم، كونها كانت تحقق جزءً من جدول أعمالهم على الأقل. وفي 29 نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني عام 1947، تمت الموافقة على خطة التقسيم من قبل الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة بأغلبية الأصوات.


إعلان دولة إسرائيل

كان إعلان دولة إسرائيل في مايو/أيار عام 1948 بمثابة كارثة بالنسبة للفلسطينيين. في الأشهر السابقة، وضعت حملة التطهير العرقي حيز التنفيذ – الخطة داليت – والتي كانت تهدف إلى تعديل جذري مسبق للعلاقات الديموغرافية في الدولة اليهودية المنشأة حديثاً (انظر كمراجع لإيلان بابي Ilan Pappé ومؤرخين آخرين، انظر النكبة في ملف إسرائيل). وإلا سيكون فقط أكثر من نصف سكان دولة إسرائيل من “غير اليهود”. وقد شرح ذلك المؤرخون الفلسطينيون-الإسرائيليون واليهود الإسرائيليون على أساس وثائق نشرت من محفوظات الدولة الإسرائيلية في بداية التسعينات. ومن أجل تحريك تدفق اللاجئين، حدثت مجزرة في قرية دير ياسين الفلسطينية في 9 نيسان/أبريل عام 1948 –  قبل أكثر من شهر من انتهاء الانتداب البريطاني على فلسطين. وقام نحو 300,000 فلسطيني بالفرار قبل إعلان دولة إسرائيل في مايو/أيار عام 1948.

العواقب

كانت النتيجة تدفق ضخم لللاجئين الفلسطينيين. تمكنت الدول العربية التي كانت قد أعلنت الحرب على إسرائيل في 15 أيار/مايو، والتي كانت قد أرسلت عدداً محدوداً من الجنود إلى فلسطين، من تحقيق القليل في مواجهة القوة العسكرية الإسرائيلية.

في نهاية المطاف، نزح حوالي 726,000 فلسطيني (83% من سكان فلسطين) كلاجئين في فلسطين أو غيرها من الدول العربية المجاورة. وشكّل أولئك الذين لم يفروا الأقلية في الدولة التي تأسست للمواطنين اليهود. ومن أجل إحباط أو جعل الأمر مستحيلاً على عودة اللاجئين تم تدمير أكثر من خمسمئة قرية خالية من السكان. ويصف الفلسطينيون أحداث عام 1948 بالنكبة.

بعد الحرب، تم تقسيم أراضي فلسطين المنتدبة إلى دولة إسرائيل (والتي امتدت في النهاية، بعد احتلالها، إلى 78% من الأراضي وليس 54%) والضفة الغربية و قطاع غزة (معاً 22% المتبقية). كانت الحدود بين القسمين عشوائية نظراً إلى أنها كانت مرسومة على طول خطوط الهدنة بين القوات العسكرية المختلفة.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Past to Present / The Nakba

The Nakba

The official UN map of the 1947 Partition Plan / Source UN
The official UN map of the 1947 Partition Plan / Source UN
UN map showing the share of Jewish and Arab (Palestinian) landownership in 1947 / Source UN
UN map showing the share of Jewish and Arab (Palestinian) landownership in 1947 / Source UN

In 1947, the United Nations General Assembly presented Resolution 181, a partition plan on the basis of which the mandate territory of Palestine would be divided into a Jewish and an Arab state. The number of Jewish settlers had increased greatly in the previous years (up to 650,000) – afterwards augmented by homeless survivors of the Holocaust who were directed towards Palestine partly because Western states closed their borders to them. Despite this, they still did not make up more than a third of the inhabitants. Nevertheless, within the framework of the Partition Plan, they were assigned 54 percent of the territory (of which they had managed to purchase only 7 percent in the previous seventy years).

The Palestinians refused to agree to the partition in advance. However, the majority of Zionist Jews did support the partition, as it represented at least a partial realization of their agenda.

On 29 November 1947, the Partition Plan was approved by the
General Assembly of the United Nations by a majority vote.

Click on the image to visit the gallery

The declaration of the State of Israel

The declaration of the State of Israel on 15 May 1948 meant disaster for the Palestinians. In the previous months, a detailed campaign of ethnic cleansing had already been set into motion – Plan Dalet – which was meant to drastically modify in advance the demographic relations in the newly established Jewish state (see for references to Ilan Pappé and other historians al-Nakba under Israel). Otherwise, just over half of the inhabitants of the State of Israel would be ‘non-Jewish’. This has been demonstrated by Israeli-Palestinian and Jewish Israeli historians on the basis of documents released from the Israeli state archives at the beginning of the 1990s. A stream of refugees resulted from a bloodbath that took place in the Palestinian village of Deir Yassin (Dayr Yasin) on 9 April 1948 – more than a month before the end of the British Mandate for Palestine. About 300,000 Palestinians had already taken flight before the declaration of the State of Israel on 15 May 1948.

The consequences

The result was a huge exodus of Palestinian refugees. Arab states which had declared war on Israel on 15 May and which had hastily sent limited numbers of soldiers in the direction of Palestine, could accomplish little in the face of the Israeli military strength.

Eventually, about 725,000 Palestinians (83 percent of the Palestinian population) were displaced as refugees in Palestine or in other neighbouring Arab countries. Those who did not flee now formed a minority in a state which was established for Jewish citizens. In order to thwart, or even render impossible, the return of the refugees, more than five hundred depopulated villages were razed to the ground. Palestinians call these events in 1948 the Nakba (the Catastrophe).

After the war, the former mandate territory of Palestine was divided into the State of Israel (which, after conquests, eventually spanned not 54 but 78 percent of the territory), the West Bank and the Gaza Strip (together, the remaining 22 percent). The borders between the two parts were random since they were drawn along the armistice lines between the various military forces.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.