فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / اتفاقات أوسلو

اتفاقات أوسلو

في إعلان المبادئ الصادر في 13 سبتمبر/أيلول عام 1993 (أوسلو الأول)، اعترفت دولة إسرائيل ومنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية “بالحقوق المشروعة والسياسية المشتركة لكليهما”، داعين إلى “الكفاح من أجل التعايش السلمي” و “تحقيق تسوية شاملة ودائمة وعادلة ومصالحة تاريخية من خلال العملية السياسية المتفق عليها”.

كانت هذه العملية تتألف من مرحلتين: (1) فترة انتقالية من خمس سنوات يتم خلالها تشكيل حكومة فلسطينية مؤقتة في أجزاء من فلسطين. (2) بعد أن تكون المرحلة الأولى قد دخلت حيز التنفيذ، تبدأ المفاوضات المتعلقة بالوضع الدائم لقضايا مثل القدس و اللاجئين الفلسطينيين و المستوطنات اليهودية والمياه والحدود. وبقيت الحدود غير الواضحة وإقامة دولة فلسطينية خارج جدول الأعمال. في مفاوضات مدريد، كان الوفد الفلسطيني قد رفض دراسة القضيتين بشكل منفصل، خوفاً من أن يكون لإسرائيل مصلحة من وراء المرحلة الأولى، وبالتالي لا يتم تنفيذ الثانية. واتفق الطرفان على عدم اتخاذ أية إجراءات من شأنها أن تؤثر سلباً أو تلغي نتائج المفاوضات بشأن هذه القضايا. وتمت تسوية تفاصيل الإدارة المؤقتة في اتفاق منفصل في 4 مايو/ أيار عام 1994، مما يسمح ببدء الإجراءات. وفي موعد أقصاه 4 مايو/أيار عام 1999، وفق الجدول الزمني، كان من المفترض تسوية الأمور بين إسرائيل ومنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية.

أوسلو الثانية

استناداً إلى الاتفاق الثاني (أوسلو الثانية) في 28 سبتمبر/أيلول عام 1995، تم تقسيم الضفة الغربية و قطاع غزة إلى ما يسمى مناطق أ، ب، ج: غطت المنطقة “أ” المناطق السكانية الفلسطينية الكبيرة، باستثناء القدس الشرقية والخليل، والتي انسحبت منها إسرائيل؛ وبعد القيام ببعض التعديلات، غطت حوالي 18.2% من مجموع الأراضي. وفيها كانت السلطة الفلسطينية ستتسلم الإدارة المدنية والعسكرية – استخدم الفلسطينيون مصطلح السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية. وكانت المناطق “ب” القرى والمناطق المحيطة بها مباشرة، 21.8%. وفيها كانت الإدارة المدنية في يد السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية في حين الإدارة العسكرية كانت لا تزال تحت سيطرة إسرائيل. وفي المناطق “ج” (مناطق قليلة السكان حيث كان هناك مستوطنات يهودية أيضاً وقواعد عسكرية إسرائيلية، 60%)، بقيت كل من الإدارة المدنية والعسكرية في يد الإسرائيليين.

النتائج

ارتكزت الاتفاقيتان على اتفاقات مشتركة مشروطة. لم يستند حل الصراع الفلسطيني الإسرائيلي على القانون الدولي. ولم تكن الاتفاقات المبرمة قانونية لأن القانون الدولي يحظر التوسع الإقليمي عن طريق العنف. وبالتالي، يتعين على إسرائيل، في إطار الاتفاق مع منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، الالتزام بالانسحاب الكامل من الأراضي المحتلة عام 1967. لكن بالاعتماد على اتفاقات أوسلو، كانت “درجة الانسحاب” خاضعة لمزيد من المفاوضات. فوفق الاتفاقية، وهذا يتوقف على رغبة إسرائيل في هذه المسائل، من المرجح أن تتحدد النتيجة النهائية بناء على نتيجة نقاش يجري داخل إسرائيل أكثر من المفاوضات مع منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، انصاع حزب عرفات لإسرائيل في العديد من النقاط الأساسية للفلسطينيين، وكانت النتيجة النهائية استمرار الاحتلال الإسرائيلي في هيئة مختلفة. ومع ذلك، تغيرت صورة إسرائيل، بين ليلة وضحاها، من قوة احتلال – قامت مؤخراً بقمع الانتفاضة بإجراءات صارمة – إلى شريك مفاوضات لمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية.

بالتخلي عن مسار القانون الدولي، التزمت منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية بمغامرة غير مؤكدة، وبالتالي بالمخاطرة بمصالح الشعب الفلسطيني. وبما أن الأمور وصلت إلى هذا الحد، لا يمكن النظر في هذا التصرف بشكل منفصل عن موقف المنظمة الضعيف للغاية: في منفاها في تونس، ومعوزة مالياً، وتواجه قيادة موالية وإنما واثقة من نفسها في فلسطين.

لنفس الأسباب بالضبط، اشتمت إسرائيل فرصة إمكانية التوصل إلى اتفاق سياسي مع المنظمة وفق شروطها والتي، وبسبب دورها التاريخي في الحركة الوطنية، كانت لا تزال في وضع يمكنها من الدخول في اتفاقات نيابة عن الشعب الفلسطيني.

بدا للعالم الخارجي أنه قد تم التوصل إلى تسوية تاريخية بين عدوين لدودين. وعززت هذه التمثيلية من هذا الانطباع: مصافحة تاريخية فوق مرج أمام البيت الأبيض، والصحافة العالمية، وجائزة نوبل، إلى ما هنالك. وعلى الرغم من أن النشوة كانت كبيرة في البداية في فلسطين، إلا أن الفلسطينيين رفضوا الاتفاقات فوراً، مقدمين حججاً قوية.

اسحق رابين وبيل كلينتون وياسر عرفات في واشنطن، أيلول/سبتمبر 1993
اسحق رابين وبيل كلينتون وياسر عرفات في واشنطن، أيلول/سبتمبر 1993
Photo HH


مزيد من القراءة

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Palestine / Past to Present / The Oslo Accords

The Oslo Accords

Bill Clinton, Yitzhak Rabin and Yasser Arafat at the White House, 1993

In the Declaration of Principles of 13 September 1993 (Oslo-I), the State of Israel and the PLO recognized ‘their mutual legitimate and political rights’, promising to ‘strive to live in peaceful coexistence’, and to ‘achieve a just, lasting, and comprehensive peace settlement and historic reconciliation through the agreed political process’.

This process was made up of two phases: 1) in an interim period of five years, a Palestinian interim government would be set up in parts of Palestine; 2) after phase 1 had taken effect, negotiations would commence to find a definite answer to issues such as Jerusalem, the Palestinian refugees, the Jewish settlements, water and the borders. Unclear boundaries and the establishment of a Palestinian state were left off the agenda. In the Madrid negotiations, the Palestinian delegation had refused to view the two issues separately, fearing that Israel only had an interest in the first phase and that the second, as a result, would not be effectuated. Both parties further agreed not to take any actions which could negatively influence or nullify the outcome of the negotiations regarding these issues. The details about the interim administration were settled in a separate agreement on 4 May 1994, thus allowing procedures to commence, and by 4 May 1999, according to the timetable, matters should have been settled between Israel and the PLO.

Oslo II

Based upon a second agreement (Oslo-II) of 28 September 1995, the West Bank and the Gaza Strip were divided into so-called A, B and C Areas. Area A covered the large Palestinian population areas, excluding East Jerusalem and Hebron, from which Israel was to withdraw. After carrying through a few modifications, these covered 18.2 percent of the total territory. Here, both the civil and military administration was to be placed in the hands of a Palestinian Authority – the Palestinians speak of a Palestinian National Authority (PNA). The B Areas were the villages and their direct surroundings; 21.8 percent. Here, the civil administration was in the hands of the PNA, whereas the military administration remained under Israel’s control. In the C Areas (thinly populated areas where there were also Jewish settlements and Israeli military bases; 60 percent), both the civil and the military administration remained in Israeli hands.

Consequences

Both accords rested on mutually dependent agreements. The solution of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict was not based upon international law. In fact, the agreements made were technically illegal since according to international law territorial expansion by means of violence is prohibited. Israel should, therefore, within the framework of an agreement with the PLO, have committed to ‘total withdrawal’ from the territories occupied in 1967. However, on the basis of the Oslo Accords, the ‘degree of withdrawal’ was made subject to further negotiations. As this depended on Israel’s willingness in these matters, the end result would probably be determined by the outcome of a debate within Israel rather than by negotiations with the PLO. In addition, Arafat’s party had made concessions to Israel on many essential points for the Palestinians, and the net result was a continuation of Israeli dominance under a different guise. Nevertheless, from one day to the next, Israel’s image had been transformed from an occupying power – which had only recently suppressed the intifada with tough measures – into a negotiation partner of the PLO.

By abandoning the path of international law, the PLO committed itself to an uncertain adventure, thereby hazarding the Palestinian people’s interests. That the situation had come to this cannot be viewed separately from the organization’s now strongly weakened position: in exile in Tunis, financially destitute, and confronted with a loyal yet self-confident leadership in Palestine.

For the exact same reasons, Israel sniffed at the opportunity to come to a political arrangement on its own terms with an organization which, because of its historical role within the national movement, was still in the position to enter into agreements on behalf of the Palestinians.

To the outside world, it appeared that a historical compromise had been reached by two sworn enemies. The theatricalities strengthened this impression: historical handshakes on the lawn in front of the White House and the world’s press, Nobel prizes and so forth. Although the euphoria was initially great in Palestine, Palestinians also immediately spoke against the agreements, using powerful arguments.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Palestine country file provides a comprehensive overview about Palestine, its history, politics, culture, eco...
Palestinians have been waging a bitter struggle to establish their independent state and implement international legitim...
In order to strengthen the Palestinian administration – the Palestinian National Authority (PNA) – by a mandate from...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS | ©Fanack

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update