فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الضفة الغربية

الضفة الغربية

العاهل الأردني الملك عبد الله في القدس 1948

في حرب عام 1948، تمت الهيمنة على المنطقة التي تضم اليوم الضفة الغربية من قبل جيش الملك عبد الله عاهل إمارة شرق الأردن (عقب اتفاق سري مع قادة الحركة الصهيونية). ونتيجة لذلك، تم اقتطاع المنطقة فجأة من بقية فلسطين، مع عواقب اجتماعية واقتصادية درامية. وانتقلت المنطقة المركزية من الجزء الغربي لفلسطين المتطور جداً نسبياً إلى دولة إمارة شرق الأردن النامية.

قام الحكام الأردنيون بضم الضفة الغربية في عام 1950. ولأن إمارة شرق الأردن أصبحت تضم كلاً من الضفة الغربية والشرقية، تم تغيير اسم إمارة شرق الأردن مع الضم إلى المملكة الأردنية (الهاشمية العربية). ولفرض ادعائها، أدخلت السلطات مصطلح “الضفة الغربية” في المنطقة، وكان يحظر استخدام مصطلح يحتوي كلمة “فلسطين” في الوثائق الرسمية الأردنية. وبعد الضم، تم منح الفلسطينيين الذين يعيشون في الضفة الغربية وإمارة شرق الأردن سابقاً الجنسية الأردنية (وإن كان لاحقاً مع تسجيلهم من الضفة الغربية في الأصل في جوازات سفرهم).

بين 1948 و 1967، ظلت الضفة الغربية في يد الأردن. وكان حكماً بالهيمنة، وكانت مصالح الفلسطينيين السياسية والاقتصادية خاضعة كلياً للحكام في الضفة الشرقية. وبالتالي تم استخدام موارد الضفة الغربية لتطوير الضفة الشرقية. ومن خلال مزيج من الاستقطاب المشترك من قبل جزء من النخبة وقمع الفلسطينيين الذين قاوموا الهيمنة الأردنية، تمكن الحكام الأردنيون من السيطرة على الأمور في الضفة الغربية حتى عام 1967.

قوبلت مقاومة الفلسطينيين المسلحة في الضفة الغربية بانتقام إسرائيلي عنيف. وكانت أشهرها عملية الكوماندوس الإسرائيلية في قرية القبية (12 أكتوبر/تشرين الأول عام 1953)، عندما تم تفجير عشرات من المنازل وقتل أكثر من أربعين مواطناً.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن فلسطين يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وث...
يخوض الفلسطينيون كفاحاً مريراً لإقامة دولتهم المستقلة وتطبيق قرا...
وفي عام 2019 أيضاً، أثارت مجموعة الأزمات الدولية (ICG) مخاوف بشأن السي...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Palestine / Past to Present / The West Bank

The West Bank

King Abdullah of Jordan in Jerusalem, 1948

In the War of 1948, the region that today comprises the West Bank was taken over by King Abdullah I of Transjordan’s army (following a secret agreement with the leaders of the Zionist movement). As a result, the region was abruptly cut off from the rest of Palestine, with dramatic social and economic consequences. The core area was transferred from the relatively highly developed western part of Palestine to the desert state in developing Transjordan.

The Jordanian rulers annexed the West Bank in 1950. As Transjordan now encompassed both the East and the West Bank, together with the annexation the name Transjordan was transformed into the (Hashemite Arab) Kingdom of Jordan. To enforce their claim, the authorities introduced the term ‘West Bank’ for the region, and it was forbidden to use a term which included the word ‘Palestine’ in official Jordanian documents. Following the annexation, Palestinians living in the West Bank and in former Transjordan were given Jordanian nationality (albeit later with the registration in their passports that they originated from the West Bank).

Between 1948 and 1967, the West Bank remained in Jordanian hands. It was a rule of domination, the Palestinian population’s interests, both politically and economically, wholly subordinate to those of the rulers in the East Bank. In the process, the natural resources of the West Bank were used to facilitate the development of the East Bank. Through a combination of co-optation by part of the elite and repression of Palestinians who resisted the Jordanian domination, the Jordanian rulers managed to keep control over matters in the West Bank until 1967.

Armed resistance by Palestinians in the West Bank was met with heavy Israeli reprisals. An infamous event was the Israeli commando operation in the village of Qibya (12 October 1953), when dozens of houses were blown up and more than forty citizens were killed.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Palestine country file provides a comprehensive overview about Palestine, its history, politics, culture, eco...
Palestinians have been waging a bitter struggle to establish their independent state and implement international legitim...
Also in 2019, the International Crisis Group (ICG) raised concerns over new Israeli policies that would entrench its de ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!