فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / المجتمع والاعلام والثقافة / أبو، أم، خال، ابنة عم، …

الأسرة الفلسطينية

Traditional Palestinian family / Photo Palestineremembered.com
عائلة فلسطينية تقليدية / Photo Palestineremembered.com

بعد ولادة الطفل الأول، يطلق الأقارب على والديه اللقب الفخري “أبو” (للأب) و “أم” (للأم)، متبوعاً باسم الابن البكر. في حال كان لديهم بنات فقط، يُطلق على الوالدين مع مرور الوقت لقب أبو وأم متبوعاً باسم الابنة الكبرى (وأفضل مثال هو زعيم الجبهة الشعبية الراحل، جورج حبش، والذي كان يدعى بأبو ميساء). يستخدم اللقب الفخري كاسم حركة: على سبيل المثال، ياسر عرفات غالباً ما كان يسمى بأبو عمار (على اسم عمار بن ياسر، من صحابى النبي محمد).

كان إنجاب الأطفال ولا يزال ذا قيمة عالية. ويمكن أحياناً للأزواج المحرومين من الأطفال أن يتبنوا طفل شقيق الزوج (حتى وإن كان على قيد الحياة). يمكن أن يكون عدم إنجاب الأطفال – الأمر الذي يقلق المسلمين – سبباً للطلاق أو الزواج بثانية (على فرض كانت الزوجة الأولى عاقراً).

عائلة الأب

كقاعدة، تعتبر العلاقات مع عائلة الأب أكثر أهمية من عائلة الأم. ومن أجل تمييز القرابة عن طريق الأب أو الأم يتم إعطاء أسماء مميزة: وهي عم وعمة من جانب الأب، وخال وخالة من جانب الأم، ويدعى أولاد شقيق الوالد بابن العم وبنت العم وأبناء شقيقة الوالد بابن العمة وبنت العمة، في حين يدعى أولاد شقيق الأم بابن الخال وبنت الخالة، وابن الخالة وبنت الخالة على التوالي. ويدعى الأجداد والجدات في كلا الطرفين بالجد والجدة. غالباً ما يدعى صديق الوالد المقرب “عمو” أو “خالو” وتدعى الصديقات “خالتي”. وعند سؤال رجل مسن في الشارع عن الاتجاهات، يخاطب بلفظة “حج” أيضاً.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Public Domain ©Palestineremembered.com | ©Palestineremembered.com

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Palestine / Society, Media & Culture of Palestine / Abu, umm, khal, bint amm…

Palestinian Family

Traditional Palestinian family / Photo Palestineremembered.com
Traditional Palestinian family / Photo Palestineremembered.com

After the birth of their first child, parents are given the honorary title of abu (father of) and umm (mother of) by their relatives, followed by the name of the firstborn son. If they only have daughters, then the couple is called abu or umm in the course of time, followed by the name of the eldest daughter (a well-known example is the late PFLP leader George Habash, who was called Abu Maysa). The honorary title abu can also used as a nom de guerre: Yasser Arafat, for example, was often called Abu Ammar (after Ammar ibn Yasir, a supporter of the Prophet Muhammad).

Having children was (and is) highly valued. Childless couples sometimes adopt the husband’s brother’s child (even though the children are not orphaned). Childlessness can be reason for divorce or – where Muslims are concerned – for taking a second wife (on the assumption that the first wife was infertile).

The father’s family

As a rule, the ties with the father’s family are considered more important than with the mother’s. To distinguish kinship via the father or mother, uncles, aunts, nephews and nieces are given distinct names: uncles and aunts on the father’s side are called amm and amma, on the mother’s side khal and khala; nephews and nieces on the father’s side are called ibn amm and bint amm if they are the children of the father’s brother, and ibn amma and bint amma if they are the children of the father’s sister; nephews and nieces on the mother’s side are called ibn khal and bint khal, ibn khala and bint khala respectively. Grandfathers and grandmothers on both sides are called jadd and jadda respectively. A close friend of the parents is often called amm (uncle) or khala; female friends are called khalti (my aunty). If you ask an older gentleman on the street for directions, he will also be addressed as amm or hajj.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Public Domain ©Palestineremembered.com | ©Palestineremembered.com

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update