فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / المجتمع والاعلام والثقافة / الثقافة / الأدب والفن

الأدب والفن

الشاعر محمود درويش (Photo by KHALIL MAZRAAWI / AFP FILES / AFP)

كانت اللغة دائماً في صميم الثقافة العربية. وللشعر العربي حضور كبير كوسيلة للتعبير عن المشاعر الرومانسية، كما الهجاء والذم. كما كانت القصائد تغنّى في بعض الأحيان من قبل مطربين محترفين متجولين. بالنسبة للشعراء (والكتّاب) الفلسطينيين، خدمت النكبة كمصدر إلهام لا ينضب.

الشعراء

الشاعر الفلسطيني الأكثر شهرة هو محمود درويش (1942-2008). أصبحت قصائده مشهورة على نطاق واسع من خلال تلحينها وأدائها من قبل المطرب اللبناني الموهوب وعازف العود والملحن مارسيل خليفة. وقد أطلق على درويش اسم “شاعر العالم العربي”، عند قراءة قصائده أمام جمهور من 25,000 شخص في بيروت. ووفقاً لعالم الاجتماع الفلسطيني سامح فارصون، يعتبر شعر درويش مجازاً لفقدان الجنة الأرضية والولادة والموت والقيامة والخوف والحرمان من الميراث والعوز والنفي. فلسطين هي الجنة الأرضية التي فقدت مرتين. ووجه درويش في قصائده انتقادات حادة للقادة العرب الذين قمعوا الفلسطينيين أو تركوهم ليتدبروا أمرهم بأنفسهم.

الكتاّب

إلى جانب الشعراء الرئيسيين، أنتجت فلسطين أيضاً كتّاب أدب ومقالات نشأوا في الغالب في الطبقات المتوسطة الميسورة، ومن بينهم نساء. وقد احتل غسان كنفاني (1936-1972)، مكاناً هاماً بين الكتّاب المعاصرين. وقد كان لاجئاً عام 1948، وبدأ كرسام. وقد جمع بين مؤلفاته السياسية مع سيرة ذاتية كصحفي. وفي السنوات اللاحقة، كان المتحدث باسم الجبهة الشعبية لتحرير فلسطين في بيروت. وفي 9 يوليو/تموز عام 1972، قتل بسيارة ملغومة في بيروت. وقد أجمع الرأي العام بأن الاستخبارات السرية الإسرائيلية كانت المسؤولة عن اغتياله.

العنف ضد الفنانين

لم يكن كنفاني الفنان الفلسطيني الوحيد الذي مات ميتة عنيفة. فقد لاقى رسام الكاريكاتير الشهير ناجي العلي (1938-1987) ذات المصير. وقد عبّر في رسوماته، التي تظهر في الصحف العربية، عن التذبذب السياسي للقادة الفلسطينيين والقادة العرب الآخرين. وفي 22 أغسطس/آب عام 1987، أُطلق عليه النار في شوارع لندن وأصيب بجروح بالغة ومات متأثراً بجراحه بعد أسبوع. ولم يتم القبض على مرتكب الجريمة، ولكن افترض أنه كان من الأوساط العربية.

فن الأيقونة

حتى القرن العشرين، كان فن الأيقونة يسيطر على الرسم. وكان هذا بالطبع ذا صلة بكنيسة الروم الأرثوذكس ومن ثم الكنيسة الروسية الأرثوذكسية في فلسطين وعلاقاتهما الوثيقة مع الكنائس الأم في روسيا واليونان. بالإضافة إلى السيدة العذراء مع ابنها ولوحات درب الصليب الذي ساره يسوع الناصري، كانت لوحات مار جرجس/الخضر قاتل التنين موضوعاً شعبياً.

تأثراً بالفنانين الغربيين الذين كانوا يستكشفون “الشرق” في النصف الثاني من القرن التاسع عشر، بدأ الفلسطينيون باختيار مواضع جديدة وتبني أسلوب خاص في العمل (مثل التصوير والرسم في الهواء الطلق بدلاً من الأستوديو). ظهرت أنماط مختلفة من هذا التطور، والتي تحمل أوجه شبه إلى حد ما من أساليب الرسم الغربية، إلا أنها كانت تحمل طابعاً محلياً خاصاً.

كما وسمت النكبة فن الرسم بقوة. وفي ضوء هذا، من الجدير بالذكر أن الفنانين الفلسطينيين في إسرائيل وفلسطين والبلدان العربية المجاورة أنتجوا عملاً مجازياً يصوّر النكبة وغيرها من الأحداث الدرامية، في حين أنتج زملاؤهم في أماكن أخرى من العالم أعمالاً تجريدية حولها.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: KHALIL MAZRAAWI ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Palestine / Society, Media & Culture of Palestine / Culture of Palestine / Literature and art

Literature and art

Poet Mahmud Darwish (Photo by KHALIL MAZRAAWI / AFP FILES / AFP)

Language has always been at the centre of Arab culture. Expressive Arab poetry is well-represented, as are satire and invective. Poems were sometimes sung by itinerant professional singers. To modern Palestinian poets (and writers), the Nakba has served as an inexhaustible source of inspiration.

Poets

The most famous Palestinian poet is Mahmud Darwish (1942-2008). His poems became widely known through the musical adaptations and recitals by the talented Lebanese singer, composer, and ud (lute) player Marcel Khalifé. Darwish has been dubbed the ‘Poet of the Arab World’, and once recited his poems in front of an audience of 25,000 people in Beirut. According to the Palestinian sociologist, Samih Farsoun, Darwish’s poetry is a metaphor for the loss of earthly paradise, birth, death, and resurrection, and the fear of disinheritance, destitution, and banishment. Palestine is the earthly paradise twice lost. In his poems, Darwish also expresses sharp criticism of the Arab leaders who repressed the Palestinians or left them to fend for themselves.

Writers

Besides major poets, Palestine has also produced important literary authors and essayists, often originating from the well-to-do middle classes and including women. An important position is held by Ghassan Kanafani (1936-1972) among the modern writers. He too was a refugee in 1948, and started out as a painter. He combined his politically engaged authorship with a career as a journalist. In later years, he was also spokesman for the Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine (PFLP) in Beirut. On 9 July 1972, he was killed by a car bomb attack in Beirut. The general opinion is that the Israeli secret police were responsible for his assassination.

Violence against artists

He is not the only Palestinian artist to have met a violent death. The famous cartoonist Naji al-Ali (1938-1987) suffered the same fate. In his cartoons, appearing in leading Arab newspapers, he frequently exposed the political vacillations of Palestinian and other Arab leaders. On 22 August 1987, he was shot at in the streets of London and was severely injured, succumbing to his wounds a week later. The perpetrator was never caught, but was presumed to belong to Arab circles.

Iconic art

Up to the 20th century, painting was dominated by iconic art. This was of course related to the presence of the Greek Orthodox and later Russian Orthodox Church in Palestine and their close ties to the mother churches in Greece and Russia. In addition to Madonna with child, and scenes from Jesus of Nazareth’s Way of the Cross, the Saint George/al-Khidr (or al-Khadr) the Dragon Slayer was also a popular theme.

Influenced by western artists who were discovering the ‘Orient’ in the second half of the 19th century, Palestinian artists started to choose new subjects and adapt their method of working (such as painting and drawing in the open instead of in a studio). Various styles arose from this development, which to a certain extent bore resemblance to western styles of painting but nonetheless had a specific local character.

The Nakba also strongly influenced the art of painting. In this light, it is noteworthy that Palestinian artists in Israel, Palestine and neighbouring Arab countries predominantly produced figurative work depicting this and other dramatic events, whereas their colleagues elsewhere in the world mainly produced abstract works on the subject.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: KHALIL MAZRAAWI ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update