فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / المجتمع والاعلام والثقافة / الثقافة / المتحف الفلسطيني: “سيقرّب شعبنا في الشتات من بعضهم البعض.”

المتحف الفلسطيني: “سيقرّب شعبنا في الشتات من بعضهم البعض.”

المتحف الفلسطيني
المتحف الفلسطيني الجديد قيد الإنشاء , بيرزيت ، فلسطين. المصدر: www.palmuseum.org

“أعذريني عن الفوضى،” هذا ما قاله عمر القطان أثناء جولة مراسلة Fanack في موقع بناء المتحف. لا زال هناك الكثير للقيام به، إذ لا يوجد حتى الآن مجموعة فنية، إلا أن منظر المتحف الفلسطيني الواقع في مدينة بيرزيت، وهي قرية في النصف الشمالي من الضفة الغربية الذي تحتله إسرائيل، وإطلالته، رائعة. يتناسب شكل المبنى المثلثي الشكل، الذي سُيفتتح في 18 مايو 2016 أمام الزوار، على نحوٍ ملفتٍ للنظر مع محيطه على قمة التلة، ففي الأيام الصافية، يمكن للمرء رؤية البحر الأبيض المتوسط بالقرب من تل أبيب. كما تعكس حديقة المتحف التقاليد الفلسطينية القديمة لزراعة النباتات والأشجار على المصاطب، فقد تم بالفعل زراعة أكثر من مائة شجرة زيتون. حتى وإن كان المتحف لا يحتوي بعد على مجموعات فنية، إلا أن المبنى نفسه جديرٌ بالزيارة.

وأوضح القطان أن المعرض الأول سيُفتتح في شهر أكتوبر. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن عمر القطان، وهو فلسطيني يبلغ من العمر 51 عاماً، يعيش في بريطانيا ونشأ في لبنان، يشغل منصب رئيس فريق عمل المتحف الفلسطيني، حيث يمضي ما تبقى من وقته في صناعة وإنتاج الأفلام، ورئاسة المؤسسات الثقافية، فضلاً عن عمله في الشركة الهندسية المملوكة لعائلته ومقرها الكويت.

وأثناء تجولنا في المبنى، أخبرنا القطان عن خطة للتعاون مع متاحف أخرى في فلسطين وفي جميع أنحاء العالم. تتمحور الفكرة حول البدء بمعارض مؤقتة لقطع مستعارة، ليبدأ المتحف فيما بعد جمع مجموعته الخاصة، بشكلٍ تدريجي، من التحف والصور والمنحوتات واللوحات وأشرطة الفيديو. كل ما له علاقة بتاريخ فلسطين مرحبٌ به، ولربما يتضمن هذا معرضاً للصور العائلية وأشرطة فيديو حفلات الزفاف.

كلّف المتحف 28 مليون دولار، تم تمويلها بالكامل من القطاع الخاص، معظمهم من الفلسطينيين الأثرياء ولكن أيضاً من مانحين من الدول العربية الأخرى. وبسبب تشتت الشعب الفلسطيني، إذ لا يقتصر الأمر فقط على الفجوة الجغرافية بين الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة بل أيضاً اللاجئين المشتتين في البلدان المجاورة وجميع أنحاء العالم، لن يقتصر المتحف فقط على المبنى القائم في بيرزيت. ووفقاً للقطان، تتمثل الفكرة في أنّ يكون المتحف “مركزاً له أفرع،” أو بالأحرى شبكة وليس مجرد مبنى، من أجل خدمة جميع المجتمعات الفلسطينية. هذا وسيُفتتح أول معرض للمتحف خارج فلسطين حول التطريز الفلسطيني في سياقه التاريخي في 25 مايو 2016 في بيروت. كما يأمل القطان تأسيس فرع للمتحف في قطاع غزة.

تبلورت الفكرة الأساسية لتدشين المتحف في عام 1997، إلا أن الانتفاضة الثانية، التي استمرت منذ عام 2000 إلى عام 2005، شكلّت عائقاً كبيراً. وفي عام 2008، تمت إعادة إحياء الخطة، التي نتج عنها المبنى الذي شارف على الانتهاء في بيرزيت. خضعت فكرة المتحف، كما يقول القطان، للكثير من النقاش “أراد الجيل الأكبر سناً أن يكون متحفاً عن النكبة،” وهي الهجرة الجماعية لأكثر من 700,000 فلسطيني الذين فروا أو طردوا من منازلهم فيما يُعرف الآن بإسرائيل في الحرب العربية الاسرئيلية عام 1948. وأضاف “إلا أنّ الجيل الأصغر- حيث كنت آنذاك أصغر سناً- أراد أن يكون المفهوم ذي نطاقٍ أوسع. ألا ننظر فقط إلى الوراء ونعيد إحياء الماضي، بل أن نقدّر الحياة والثقافة الفلسطينية.” نجح جيل الشباب بكسب النقاش، ولكن بطبيعة الحال، وكما يقول القطان، من الممكن بكل تأكيد أن يستضيف المتحف معرضاً حول النكبة.

سيُقام مثل هذا المعرض في القاعة الرئيسية للمتحف أو “المكعب الأبيض،” الذي يغطي مساحة 500 متر مكعب، والتي يمكن تقسيمها إلى غرف أصغر باستخدام الجدران المتحركة. وفي نهاية المطاف، سيوظف المتحف، أو يؤمل بأن يوظف، حوالي 42 شخصاً، كما سيكون هناك غرفة للتخزين يتم التحكم في درجات حرارتها ودائرة للمحفوظات، وبالتالي، سيكون المتحف أحدث منشأة لحفظ الفن في فلسطين. ويأمل القطان بمد جسور التعاون مع جامعة بيرزيت، المجاورة للمتحف. فعلى سبيل المثال، لا يحتاج طلاب جامعة بيرزيت سوى المشي لبضع مئاتٍ من الأمتار فقط لزيارة المتحف، كما يمكنهم استخدام ساحة المبنى للتعليم أو لتقديم عروضهم، بينما يمكن للمتحف الاستفادة من المرافق البحثية في الجامعة.

يمتلك القطان خططاً طموحة، فالمبنى مصمم بحيث يمكن توسعته ليتخطى حجمه الحالي مرتين ونصف. ومع ذلك، هناك العديد من العقبات، فعلى سبيل المثال، يعاني المتحف حالياً من نقص التمويل، إذ أن الوضع الكارثي الراهن في الشرق الأوسط يفاقم الأمر. ووفقاً للقطان، سيكون من الصعب أيضاً الحصول على القطع الفنية من الدول العربية الأخرى، ففي نهاية المطاف، ستصل هذه القطع إلى بيرزيت عبر مطار بن غوريون في إسرائيل، لذا يعتمد اقتناؤها على العطف الاسرائيلي.

وبالرغم من ذلك، يعتقد القطان أن المتحف سيقرّب الفلسطينيين من بعضهم البعض، على الرغم من تشتتهم اليوم، جغرافياً وسياسياً. ولعدم وجود أي ارتباط بأي من الفصائل السياسية الفلسطينية، التي تشتعل دوماً بصراعٍ مرير مع بعضها البعض، فإن قرارات المتحف مستقلة. “بالنسبة لي شخصياً، كفلسطيني، أعتبر المتحف تقديراً واحتفالاً بثقافتنا. تُراثنا غنيّ جداً.” ويأمل القطان أيضاً أن يزور الإسرائيليون المتحف. حسب القانون الاسرائيلي فان الاسرائيليين ممنوعون من  دخول المنطقة (أ) حيث يقع المتحف. “ولكنهم سيرغبون بزيارة المتحف بكل تأكيد،” حسب القطان.

سيتم الافتتاح الكبير للمبنى في 18 مايو 2016 من قِبل مسؤولين فلسطينيين، يرافقه فعاليات مساء، وأيضاً، في نفس اليوم، سيتم إطلاق منصة المتحف الفلسطيني على شبكة الانترنت. في الأشهر الأولى، سينشغل المتحف بتدريب وتثقيف الموظفين، إلى أن يتم الانتهاء من تحضيرات المعرض الأول المقرر في شهر أكتوبر. ومع ذلك، يأمل القطان أن يجلب المتحف، في الوقت الحالي، الزوار الراغبين في الاستمتاع بجمال تصميم المبنى. ويقول القطان، أنه لم يكن من البديهي أن يبرز مشروع كهذا في خضم الاحتلال الاسرائيلي المتعمق والمتواصل، فضلاً عن الإحباط المتزايد الذي يعاني منه الشباب الفلسطيني، “خاصة بالنسبة لجيل الشباب، فمن الضروري أن يمتلكوا ما يفخروا به.”

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ABBAS MOMANI ©AFP | ABBAS MOMANI ©AFP

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Palestine / Society, Media & Culture of Palestine / Culture of Palestine / The Palestinian Museum: “It Will Bring Our Scattered People Closer Together”

The Palestinian Museum: “It Will Bring Our Scattered People Closer Together”

palestinian museum
the new Palestinian Museum under construction, Birzeit, Palestine. Source: www.palmuseum.org

“Please, don’t mind the mess,” Omar al-Qattan says as he’s giving a tour of the construction site to a Fanack reporter. Much has still to be done; there is still no art collection, but the view of and from the Palestinian Museum in Bir Zeit, a village in the northern half of the Israeli-occupied West Bank, is magnificent. The triangular building itself, which will open to the public on 18 May 2016, fits in remarkably well with its surroundings on a hilltop. On a good day, one can see the Mediterranean Sea, near Tel Aviv. The museum garden reflects the old Palestinian habit of cultivating plants and trees on terraces. More than one hundred olive trees have already been planted. Even without a collection, the building is worth a visit.

The first exposition will be held in October 2016, al-Qattan explains. The 51-year-old Palestinian, who lives in Britain and grew up in Lebanon, is the chairman and acting director of the Palestinian Museum. He spends the rest of his time making and producing films, chairing cultural organizations, and working for the Kuwait-based engineering company his family owns.

While showing the building, al-Qattan speaks about the plan to cooperate with other museums in Palestine and worldwide. The idea would be to start with temporary expositions of borrowed pieces and for the museum to gradually gather its own collection of artifacts, photos, sculptures, paintings, and videos. Anything that has to do with the history of Palestine is welcome, possibly including an exhibition of family pictures and wedding videos.

The museum has cost $28 million and has been completely privately funded, mostly by wealthy Palestinians but also by donors from other Arabic countries. Due to the scattered situation of the Palestinian people—not just the geographical divide between the West Bank and Gaza but also the refugees in neighbouring countries and a worldwide diaspora—the museum will not consist solely of a physical building in Bir Zeit. According to al-Qattan, the idea for the museum is to be “a hub with satellites”—rather a network than a building—in order to serve all Palestinian communities. The museum’s first external exhibition of political embroidery, will open on 25 May 2016 in Beirut. Al-Qattan also hopes to establish a functioning satellite museum in the Gaza Strip.

The original plan for the Palestinian Museum goes back to 1997, but the Second Intifada, which lasted from 2000 until 2005, was a major setback. In 2008, the plan was revived, resulting in the almost-finished building in Bir Zeit. The concept of the museum, al-Qattan says, underwent much discussion: “The older generation wanted it to be a museum about the Nakba,” the exodus of more than 700,000 Palestinians who fled or were expelled from their homes in what is now Israel during the 1948 Arab-Israeli war. “But the younger generation—back then, I was still young—wanted the concept to be broader. Not just to look back and commemorate the past, but also to appreciate Palestinian life and culture.” The younger generation has won the dispute, but, of course, al-Qattan says, it is still more than possible that the museum will host an exhibition on the Nakba.

Such an exhibition would take place in the main hall or “white cube,” which covers 500 square metres and can be divided into smaller rooms with movable walls. In the museum, which, it is hoped, will eventually employ some 42 people, there is also a climate-controlled storage room and an archive. It is the most state-of-the-art facility for art storage in Palestine. Al-Qattan is hoping to cooperate with Bir Zeit University, which is located next door. The students of Bir Zeit have to walk only a few hundred metres to visit the museum. They can use the building’s space for education or presentations, while the museum can benefit from the university’s research facilities.

Al-Qattan has ambitious plans. The building is designed so that it can be enlarged up to two-and-a-half times its present size. Many hurdles, however, remain. For example, there is already a shortage of donations. The current disastrous state of much of the Middle East is making funding even more difficult. And it will be hard, according to al-Qattan, to obtain artifacts from other Arab countries. These objects, after all, have to travel to Bir Zeit through Ben Gurion airport in Israel, so acquisitions depend on Israeli goodwill.

Nonetheless, al-Qattan believes the museum will bring Palestinians closer together, scattered as they are today, geographically as well as politically. Because there is no connection with any of the Palestinian political factions, which are as always in bitter conflict with each other, the museum’s decisions are autonomous. “For me personally, as a Palestinian, I think the museum is a recognition and celebration of our culture. Our heritage is so rich.” Al-Qattan hopes that Israelis, too, will visit the museum, although by Israeli law they’re prohibited from entering Area A, where the museum is located. “But they will definitely be interested.”

The triangular building itself, which opened to the public on 18 May 2016, fits in remarkably well with its surroundings on a hilltop.

On 18 May 2016 a grand opening of the building by Palestinian officials took place, accompanied by a sunset performance, and, on the same day, the online platform of the Palestinian Museum was launched. In the first months, the museum was busy with training and educating staff members, until the first exhibition was ready to be displayed in October 2016. In the meantime, however, al-Qattan hopes to attract visitors who want to enjoy the design of the building itself. It isn’t self-evident that a project like this emerges in a time of ongoing and deepening Israeli occupation, together with the growing frustration of Palestinian youth, says Al-Qattan. “Especially for the young generation, it is important to have something to be proud of.”

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ABBAS MOMANI ©AFP | ABBAS MOMANI ©AFP

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!