فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / المجتمع والاعلام والثقافة / التعليم في فلسطين / منهاج الأونروا متهمٌ بالتحريض على العنف ضد اسرائيل

منهاج الأونروا متهمٌ بالتحريض على العنف ضد اسرائيل

pupils-in-UNRWA-school
عودة الطلاب إلى مدارس الأونروا في غزة، فلسطين، 31 أكتوبر 2015. Photo Polaris Images

يجري تعليم أكثر من نصف مليون طفل لاجىء فلسطيني في المدارس التي تديرها وكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشرق الأدنى (الأونروا). ومنذ تأسيسها عام 1949، امتثلت الوكالة للمناهج الدراسية في البلد المُضيف للاجئين الفلسطينيين الذين تساعدهم، سواء كان ذلك في فلسطين أو الأردن أو سوريا أو لبنان.

ولكن ماذا لو كان المنهج يحرض على العنف ضد إسرائيل؟ هل تستطيع الأمم المتحدة أن تعلّم الأطفال كراهية اليهود؟

هذا هو جوهر النزاع بين الأونروا والسلطة الفلسطينية وحماس، إذ يُعارض الأخيران، بشدة، تغيير المناهج الدراسية. اندلع الخلاف في فبراير 2017، عندما كتبت الدكتورة عينات ويلف، السياسية الاسرائيلية السابقة في حزب العمل، تقريراً ذكرت فيه أنها وجدت مواد محرضة في الكتب المدرسية التي تستخدمها الأونروا، إذ تستند هذه على الكتب المدرسية الرسمية لمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية. وإذا ما كانت هذه المواد تحرض على العنف والعنصرية ضد اليهود الإسرائيليين، خلصت ويلف، إلى أنها قد لا تمتثل لمعايير الأمم المتحدة للحياد.

ووفقاً لمنظمة الدعاية المؤيدة لإسرائيل، رصد معهد  السلام والتسامح الثقافي في التعليم المدرسي، فإن الكتب المدرسية الفلسطينية مصدرٌ رئيسي للتحريض الذي يحرّك الهجمات الإرهابية. وعليه، فإن حياد الكتب المدرسية موضوعٌ غاية في الحساسية بالنسبة للأونروا. ويتعين على المنظمة وضع خطٍ رفيع بين رغبات الدول المضيفة والنقاد مثل الدكتورة ويلف، الذين غالباً ما يكونون من إسرائيل أو الولايات المتحدة. كما يجب على الأونروا أن تولي اهتماماً خاصاً للردود الفعل من الولايات المتحدة، نظراً لأنها أكبر مانح للمنظمة، على الرغم من أن الولايات المتحدة لا تستطيع، بصفتها مانحاً، التأثير مباشرةً على سياسة الأونروا.

وسواء كانت الكتب المدرسية مصدراً للتحريض أم لا، فإن الدكتورة ويلف ليست، بأي حال من الأحوال، مُعقباً محايداً. فهي تصف نفسها بأنها مؤيدة متعطشة للصهيونية، الفكرة التأسيسية للدولة الإسرائيلية. وفي عام 2013، كتبت مقالة في مجلة Fathom تفيد بأن “تخليد مشكلة اللاجئين الفلسطينيين” هي “أحد أكبر العقبات أمام السلام.” ومنذ نكبة عام 1948 التي فر فيها 750 ألف فلسطيني أو طردوا من ديارهم فيما بات اليوم يعرف بإسرائيل، يعتبر جميع أطفال هؤلاء اللاجئين لاجئين أيضاً. وهناك الآن حوالي 5 ملايين منهم، وجميعهم يتمتعون “بحق العودة ” المعترف به دولياً إلى إسرائيل. وقد عارضت إسرائيل هذا الحق لعدة عقود، متحديةً العديد من قرارات الأمم المتحدة.

يتمثل الوضع الراهن في مساعدة وحماية الأونروا للاجئين الفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية وغزة، مخففةً على إسرائيل مهمة شاقة. وإن لم تفعل الأونروا ذلك، فإن إسرائيل – بوصفها القوة المحتلة – ستضطر إلى تولي المسؤولية. ومع ذلك، يستخدم السياسيون الإسرائيليون بشكلٍ روتيني لغةً تحريضية ضد الأونروا. فعلى سبيل المثال، في مارس 2017، اتهمت إسرائيل موظفاً في الأونروا بالانتماء إلى حماس، ولم يصدر حتى الآن أي دليلٍ يدعم مثل هذا الاتهام. وفيما يتعلق بادعاءات الدكتورة ويلف، قامت الأونروا بتصحيح عناصر من المنهاج الدراسي. ومن بين أمورٍ أخرى، تنص النصوص التي تم تعديلها على أن القدس تتمتع بأهميةٍ دينية للإسلام والمسيحية فضلاً عن اليهودية. وتشمل التصويبات الأخرى حالات التحيز الجنساني، والافتقار إلى الموضوعية والتحريض على العنف ضد إسرائيل.

وعلاوة على ذلك، تنص النصوص الآن على أن الأماكن المقدسة في القدس ليست محرمةً على المسلمين. إن هذا التغيير الأخير غير منطقي إلى حدٍ ما، ذلك أن الوصول إلى العديد من الأماكن المقدسة في القدس، في الواقع، مُقيّد. فعلى سبيل المثال، لا يمكن لشخصٍ من الواضح أنه مسلم أن يزور الجدار الغربي. كما أن الوصول إلى الحرم الشريف، وهو جبلٌ في القدس الشرقية المحتلة التي توجد فيه قبة الصخرة والمسجد الأقصى، مُقيّدٌ أيضاً بانتظام أمام المسلمين في سنٍ معينة، سيما الشباب.

فقد أعرب المنسق الإسرائيلي للأنشطة الحكومية في الأقاليم [الفلسطينية] عن تقديره لهذه التغييرات، إلا أن السلطة الفلسطينية وحماس كانوا أقل حماساً، وهدد كلاهما باتخاذ إجراءاتٍ ضد الأونروا، سواء كانت إدارية أو باستخدام العنف. وترى المنظمتان أن أي تغييرٍ يطرأ على المنهاج الفلسطيني أمرٌ غير مقبول. كما رفض وزير التربية والتعليم الفلسطيني، صبري صيدم، صراحةً تنفيذ أي تغييراتٍ أجرتها الاونروا. كما أصدرت وزارته بياناً جاء فيه “أن أي محاولةٍ لتغيير المنهاج الفلسطيني تعد اعتداءً على فلسطين، واستهدافاً وطمساً وتذويباً للهوية الوطنية.”

وفي مظاهرةٍ شعبية في غزة في أواخر مارس 2017، أكد المتظاهرون أن “جميع الخطوات التي تسعى إلى القضاء على الهوية الوطنية الفلسطينية من خلال تغيير المناهج المدرسية، تتفق مع محاولات سلطة الاحتلال الإسرائيلي محو هوية الشعب الفلسطيني،” وهي مرفوضة رفضاً تاماً. وقال المتظاهرون إن التغييرات على المناهج الدراسية أقل ما يُقال عنها أنها “محاولاتٌ لتصفية قضية اللاجئين،” فأكثر من نصف المليوني مواطن في غزة لاجئون. ووفقاً لمركز المعلومات الوطني الفلسطيني، دعا المتظاهرون الأمم المتحدة إلى “وضع حدٍ للهجوم العنيف الذي شنته الحكومة الإسرائيلية على المناهج الفلسطينية لترسيخ ثقافة العنصرية والإرهاب والتحريض ضد الشعب الفلسطيني.” وكان من بين المتظاهرين منظمة تسمى المجلس الأعلى للأهل في الأونروا.

ومن المثير للسخرية أن اتهامات المتظاهرين ضد إسرائيل تردد صدى اتهامات الدكتورة ويلف ضد المنهاج الفلسطيني. فكلا الطرفان يقولان أن الطرف الآخر هو، بشكلٍ أساسي، عنصري. وفي ضوء ذلك، تكمن سمة من سمات الخلاف في تعذر حل النزاع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني: فقد توقفت المفاوضات بين الجانبين في ربيع عام 2014. ومع ذلك، عندما يقول المتظاهرون أن إسرائيل تريد تصفية قضية اللاجئين، فهم بلا شكٍ على حق. فهذا بالضبط الهدف الذي ذكرته الدكتورة ويلف مراراً وتكراراً.

وبوصفها طرفاً محايداً، تجد الأونروا نفسها بين المطرقة والسندان، محاولةً تحقيق التوازن بين الطرفين، بينما تأمل في الوقت نفسه بتجنب الاتهامات بالانحياز. ورداً على ذلك، قال المتحدث باسم الأونروا، كريس غينيس، إن منظمته ملتزمة باستخدام مناهج الحكومة المُضيفة، إلا أنه أضاف أن “الأمم المتحدة تسعى جاهدة للتأكد من أن ما نُعلمّه للأطفال في غرفنا الدراسية يتماشى مع قيم الأمم المتحدة.”

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Mohammed Asad ©Hollandse Hoogte | Mohammed Asad ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Palestine / Society, Media & Culture of Palestine / Education in Palestine / UNRWA Curriculum Accused of Inciting Violence Against Israel

UNRWA Curriculum Accused of Inciting Violence Against Israel

pupils-in-UNRWA-school
Pupils return to UNRWA-run schools, in Gaza City, Palestine, 31 October 2015. Photo Polaris Images

More than half a million Palestinian refugee children are being educated in schools run by the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA). Since it was founded in 1949, the agency has complied with the curriculum in the host country of the Palestinian refugees it assists, whether it is Palestine, Jordan, Syria or Lebanon.

But what if the curriculum incites violence against Israel? Can the United Nations (UN) afford to teach children to hate Jews?

This is at the core of a dispute between UNRWA, the Palestinian Authority (PA) and Hamas. The latter two feverishly oppose curriculum changes. The dispute started in February 2017, when Dr Einat Wilf, a former Israeli politician for the Labor Party, wrote a report in which she stated she had found inciting material in textbooks used by UNRWA. These are based on the official textbooks of the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO). If this material indeed incites violence and racism against Israeli Jews, Wilf concluded it may fail to comply with the UN standard for neutrality.

According to the pro-Israeli propaganda organization, Institute for Monitoring Peace and Cultural Tolerance in School Education, Palestinian textbooks are a key source of incitement that drives terror attacks. The neutrality of the textbooks is a sensitive topic for UNRWA. The organization has to tread a fine line between the wishes of the host countries and critics such as Dr Wilf, who are often from Israel or the United States (US). UNRWA needs to be especially attentive to push-back from the United States, since it is the organization’s biggest donor, even though, as a donor, the US cannot directly influence UNRWA policy.

Whether the textbooks are a source of incitement or not, Dr Wilf is by no means a neutral commentator. She describes herself as an avid supporter of Zionism, the foundational ideology of the Israeli state. In 2013, she wrote an article in Fathom Journal stating that the ‘perpetuation of the Palestinian refugee problem’ is ‘one of the greatest obstacles to peace’.

Since the 1948 al-Nakba (‘disaster’), in which 750,000 Palestinians fled or were expelled from their homes in present-day Israel, all the children of these refugees are also considered refugees. There are now around 5 million of them, all of whom have the internationally acknowledged ‘right of return’ to Israel. Defying multiple UN resolutions, Israel has opposed this right for decades.

The status quo is that UNRWA assists and protects Palestinian refugees in the West Bank and Gaza, relieving Israel of an inconvenient task. If UNRWA did not do so, Israel – as the occupying power – would be obliged to take over. Nonetheless, Israeli politicians routinely use inflammatory language against UNRWA. For example, in March 2017, Israel accused an UNRWA employee of being affiliated with Hamas. To date, no evidence to support the accusation has been produced. With regards to Dr Wilf’s assertions, UNRWA corrected elements of the curriculum. Among other things, the corrected texts state that Jerusalem has religious significance to Islam and Christianity as well as to Judaism. Other corrections include cases of gender bias, a lack of objectivity and inciting violence against Israel.

Moreover, the texts now state that the holy sites in Jerusalem are not forbidden for Muslims. This last change is somewhat counterintuitive, since access to many holy sites in Jerusalem is, in reality, restricted. For example, someone who is obviously a Muslim cannot visit the Western Wall. Access to Haram al-Sharif, the mountain in occupied East Jerusalem on which the Dome of the Rock and al-Aqsa Mosque stand, is also regularly restricted for Muslims of a certain age, notably young men. The Israeli Coordinator of Government Activities in the [Palestinian] Territories (COGAT) expressed its appreciation for the changes. The PA and Hamas were less enthusiastic.

Both threatened to take action against UNRWA, be it administratively or using violence. Both organizations deem any change to the Palestinian curriculum unacceptable. Palestinian Education Minister Sabri Saydam has refused outright to implement any change made by UNRWA. His ministry issued a statement that read: ‘Any attempt to change the Palestinian curriculum will be considered an assault on Palestine and an eradication and dilution of our national identity.’

At a popular protest in Gaza in late March 2017, protesters affirmed that ‘all steps seeking to wipe out the Palestinian national identity through changing the school curricula [were] consistent with the Israeli occupation authority’s attempts to erase the Palestinian people’s identity’ and would be absolutely rejected.’ The curriculum changes, the protesters said, were nothing less than ‘attempts to liquidate the refugee issue’. More than half of the 2 million citizens of Gaza are refugees. According to the Palestinian Information Centre (PIC), the protesters called on the UN ‘to put an end to the fierce attack carried out by the Israeli government against the Palestinian curricula to entrench the culture of racism, terrorism and incitement against the Palestinian people’. Among the protesters was an organization called the Supreme Council of Parents in the UNRWA.

Rather ironically, the protesters’ accusations against Israel echo Dr Wilf’s accusations against the Palestinian curriculum. Both parties are essentially saying the other is racist. In this sense, the dispute is characteristic of the insolubility of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict: negotiations between the two sides stalled in the spring of 2014. However, when the protesters say that Israel wants to liquidate the refugee issue, they are undisputedly right. This is exactly the goal that Dr Wilf has stated many times.

As a neutral party, UNRWA finds itself between a rock and a hard place, trying to balance both interests, while at the same time hoping to avoid accusations of partiality. In a reaction, UNRWA spokesman Chris Gunness says his organization is committed to using the host government’s curriculum, but added that “as the UN we strive to make sure that what we teach to children in our classrooms is in line with UN values”.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Mohammed Asad ©Hollandse Hoogte | Mohammed Asad ©Hollandse Hoogte



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!