فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / المجتمع والاعلام والثقافة / دور الدين / مار جرجس / الخضر

مار جرجس / الخضر

مار جرجس / الخضر
مار جرجس / الخضر

فوق مدخل الكثير من بيوت المسيحيين هناك حجر موضوع عليه صورة مار جرجس (يسميه المسلمون الخضر) وهو يطعن تنيناً برمحه، جالساً على حصان. بتاريخ 5 أيار/مايو من كل عام، يحتفل بعيد الخضر من قبل المسيحيين والمسلمين، في مسقط رأسه المزعوم في بيت لحم. وبهذا يعتبر مار جرجس / الخضر رمزاً للوحدة بين المجتمعين الدينيين.

بالنسبة للمسيحيين، كان القديس جرجس مسيحياً فلسطينياً خدم في الجيش الروماني، ومن ثم ترقى إلى رتبة عالية، حتى أنه أصبح من المفضلين لدى الإمبراطور دقلديانوس. وعندما أصبح الإمبراطور نصيراً متعصباً للآلهة الرومانية وبدأ باضطهاد المسيحيين في إمبراطوريته، ثار عليه مار جرجس. تم إلقاء القبض عليه وتخييره بين التخلي عن إيمانه وتكريم الآلهة الرومانية أو مواجهة عاقبة قراره. تمسك مار جرجس بإيمانه، وتم قطع رأسه في اللد (إسرائيل) بتاريخ 23 نيسان/أبريل 303، بعد أن قاسى شتى أنواع التعذيب الوحشي. (في اللد يعيدون له بتاريخ 23 نيسان/أبريل). يوقر المسيحيون المؤمنون مار جرجس كشهيد للإيمان المسيحي، كما يطلبون شفاعته في أوقات المرض (يقال أن له قوة الشفاء) والمحن، مقابل نذور معينة. أثناء الحملات الصليبية، ارتقى مار جرجس ليصبح رمزاً لقيم الفروسية، كما يحكى أنه تقدم دون وجل لإنقاذ عذراء من براثن تنين. كما أصبح شفيع بريطانيا العظمى.

يضع المسلمون الخضر في سياق أكثر صوفية. ففي القرآن يظهر كمرشد لموسى، يعلمه فن الصبر.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Palestine / Society, Media & Culture of Palestine / The Role of Religion in Palestine / St George/al-Khidr

St George/al-Khidr

St. George/al-Khidr
St. George/al-Khidr

Above the entrance to many a Christian home a stone is set showing the image of St George (called al-Khidr by Muslims) impaling a dragon with his lance, seated on a horse. Each year on May 5th, his name day (Id al-Khidr) is celebrated by both Christians and Muslims in al-Khadr, his purported birthplace near Bethlehem. St George/al-Khidr thus serves as a trait d’union between two religious communities.

In the eyes of Christians, St George was a Christian Palestinian who enlisted in the Roman army, subsequently rose to a high rank and even became one of Emperor Diocletian’s favourites. When the Emperor turned out to be a fanatical supporter of the Roman gods, and started to persecute Christians in his empire, St George rose in revolt. He was captured and given the choice either to renounce his faith and honour the Roman Gods, or face the consequences of his decision. St George remained true to his faith and was beheaded in Lydda (al-Lidd, Lod, Israel) on 23 April 303, after having endured some gruesome methods of torture (in Lydda, he is remembered on 23 April). Christian believers revere St George as a martyr for the Christian cause, but also call upon him in times of sickness (he was said to have healing powers) and adversity, in return for certain promises. During the Crusades, St George also grew into a symbol of knightly values, as he was said to have fearlessly saved a virgin from the clutches of a dragon. He also became the patron saint of Great Britain.

Muslims place al-Khidr in a more mystical context. In the Koran, he appears as the instructor of Musa (Mozes), teaching him the art of patience.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.