فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / فلسطين / المجتمع والاعلام والثقافة / العلاقات التقليدية

العلاقات التقليدية

الخليل عام 1937

تقليدياً، كانت فلسطين مجتمعاً يغلب عليه الطابع الزراعي، والذي يحدد العلاقات الاجتماعية بقوة. رغم أن المدن شهدت نمواً معتدلاً في النصف الثاني من القرن التاسع عشر، في نهاية الحرب العالمية الأولى، فقد كان حوالي 70% من الفلسطينيين لا يزالون يعيشون في المناطق الريفية. أما اليوم، فنسبة سكان الحضر والأرياف متعاكسة تماماً، رغم وجود اختلافات كبيرة ضمن فلسطين: حيث لا يزال حوالي 60% من سكان الضفة الغربية يعيشون في المناطق الريفية، بالمقارنة مع 20% فقط من سكان قطاع غزة. وهذا نتيجة للتدفق الاستثنائي للاجئين الفلسطينيين عام 1948.

في المجتمع الزراعي الفلسطيني، كان الأفراد الفلسطينيون يشكّلون جزءً من مجموعات قرابة أكبر، تسمى الحَمولة (غالباً ما تترجم بالعشيرة). تتألف الحمولة من عدة عائلات تنحدر من سلف مشترك. مجتمعة، تشكّل عدة عشائر قبيلةً. كانت القرابة (ولا تزال) تتحدد بعائلة الأب. وكان يحافظ على العلاقات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية القوية ضمن الحمولة. كان أفراد الحمولة يعيشون معاً، لهم ملكية مشتركة ويحرثون الحقول بشكل جماعي.

النساء

كانت النساء تتزوج من عائلات أزواجهن، ويتنقلن للعيش معهم ومع عائلات أزواجهن بعد الزواج. ويعتبر الأطفال من زواج آخر جزءً من أسرة الزوج، وكقاعدة كان الأب يُمنح حق حضانة الأطفال في حالة الطلاق. وهناك تسلسل هرمي ضمن الأسرة والعشيرة، حيث كان يخضع الأبناء إلى سلطة الأب (الجد)، والنساء للرجال الأكبر سناً، والنساء بين بعضهن للنساء الأكبر سناً. وكان على الأطفال إظهار الاحترام والطاعة لآبائهم. كما يمكن استبعاد البالغين الذين يرفضون الخضوع للسلطة من المجموعة.

شرف العائلة

في المجتمع الفلسطيني التقليدي، شرف العائلة ذو أهمية حاسمة. وفي حال تم انتهاكه أو تهديده، يكون قتل الشرف وثأر الدم آليات مقبولة لوضع الأمور في مسارها الصحيح. يحدث قتل الشرف في حال تهدد شرف العائلة، والذي غالباً ما ينطوي على علاقات غير شرعية بين الرجال والنساء. والغريب في الأمر، هو توجيه العنف إلى النساء بشكل خاص، ويكون مرتكبو هذه الجريمة هم الأقارب من الذكور (الآباء والأخوة). ويستند ثأر الدم على مبدأ أن سفك الدم يتم الثأر له بالدم (كتابياً، العين بالعين والسن بالسن). في حال قبول عائلة الضحية، يمكن شراء انتقام الدم عن طريق دفع فدية، ويتم تحديد المبلغ بالتشاور المتبادل.

لا تقتصر هذه العلاقات على المناطق الريفية. حيث كانت نفس العلاقات الشخصية والتقاليد والقيم تطبق في المدن أيضاً، مع أن الظروف الاجتماعية والاقتصادية مختلفة.

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Palestine / Society, Media & Culture of Palestine / Traditional Relations

Traditional Relations in Palestine

Hebron/al-Khalil in 1937
Hebron/al-Khalil in 1937

Traditionally, Palestine was a predominantly agrarian society, which strongly determined its social relations. Although the cities experienced moderate growth from the second half of the 19th century, at the end of World War I, around 70 percent of the Palestinians were still living in rural areas. Today, the urban-rural population ratio is the complete opposite, although there are large differences within Palestine. About 60 percent of the inhabitants of the West Bank still live in rural areas, compared to only 20 percent of the inhabitants in the Gaza Strip. This is the result of the exceptional influx of refugees in 1948.

In agrarian Palestinian society, individual Palestinians formed part of larger kinship groups, the hamula (or humulu, often translated as ‘clan’). The hamula is made up of several families descended from a common ancestor. Several clans together make up a tribe. Kinship was (and still is) determined by the father’s family. Strong social and economic ties were maintained within the hamula. Members of the hamula also lived together, holding common property and communally tilling the fields.

Women

Women married into their husbands’ families and moved in with them and their families after getting married. Children from wedlock were viewed as part of the husband’s family, and as a rule the father was granted custody of the children in the case of divorce. Within the family and the clan a hierarchy existed wherein sons were subordinate to their (grand)father’s authority, women to the older men and women among themselves to the older women. Children had to show respect and obedience to their parents. Adults who refused to submit to authority, could also be excluded from the group.

Family honour

In traditional Palestinian society, family honour is of crucial importance. If violated or threatened, honour killing and blood revenge are accepted mechanisms to put matters straight. Honour killing takes place if the family’s honour is threatened, a situation which is often caused by illegitimate relations between men and women. Strangely enough, the violence is directed especially towards the female, the perpetrators usually being close male relatives (fathers, brothers). Blood revenge is based on the principle that bloodshed should be avenged with blood (the biblical ‘an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth’). If the victim’s family consents, blood revenge can be bought off by paying blood money; the amount is determined after mutual consultation.

These relations were not limited to rural areas. The same inter-personal relations, customs, and values applied in the cities as well, although under different socio-economic conditions.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.