فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / التلوث / في مصر، الشباب يتحدون لمحاربة تلوث البلاستيك

في مصر، الشباب يتحدون لمحاربة تلوث البلاستيك

Verynile egypt
Photo: Verynile ©Verynile ⁃ Verynile

مع تزايد الوعي المجتمعي بأضرار البلاستيك على الصحة العامة والبيئة، انطلقت عدد من المبادرات الشبابية التي تهدف لمحاربة تلوث البلاستيك في مصر، من أبرزها “بانلاستك” و”بيكيا” و”فري نايل” .

تأسست فري نايل (Verynile) في ديسمبر 2018 بالتعاون بين جرينيش، شركة مجتمعية تقوم بحملات توعية بيئية، وبسيطة، شركة متخصصة في التسويق والإعلانات وإنتاج الفيديو، بهدف تنظيف نهر النيل والشواطىء المصرية من مخلفات البلاستيك والتوعية بأضراره وطرح بدائل مناسبة للجمهور.

وتأتي مصر في المرتبة السابعة عالمياً كأكبر مصدر للنفايات البلاستيكية، التي تتسرب إلى البحار والمحيطات، إذ تتراوح كمية النفايات البلاستيكية البحرية في مصر بين 0,15 إلى 0,39 مليون طن في السنة، بحسب دراسة حديثة نشرتها دورية ساينتفك أميركا.

ويقول سيف الأشقر، مسؤول التواصل في فري نايل، لنا في فَنَك، إن “تلوث البلاستيك من المشاكل البيئية متعددة الأضرار فهو يحتاج إلى مئات السنوات حتى يتحلل مما يجعله يتراكم حولنا لاسيما في الأنهار والبحار مما يهدد حياة الكائنات البحرية التي تتعرض للاختناق بسبب ابتلاع المخلفات البلاستيكية. كما يتكسر إلى أجزاء دقيقة تعرف بـ”الميكروبلاستيك،” تتناولها الأسماك وتصل في النهاية للإنسان عبر السلسلة الغذائية.”

ويؤدي حرق نفايات البلاستيك إلى انبعاث بعض المواد الكيميائية المسرطنة مثل الديوكسين، وهو مادة سامة للبشر، تتراكم في جسم الإنسان عند استنشاقها من خلال التعرض لأبخرتها، ويمكن أن تنتقل من الأم إلى الجنين عبر المَشيمة.

كما قامت فري نايل بتنظيم حملات تنظيف منذ انطلاق المشروع استهدفت ضفاف نهر النيل في القاهرة في مناطق العجوزة والمنيل والزمالك بالتعاون مع نادي مصر للتجديف، بالإضافة إلى حملة في محافظة الأقصر. وأشار الأشقر إلى أن مجموع النفايات التي استخرجوها خلال الحملات يبلغ حوالي 8 طن، وتذهب هذه المخلفات إلى شركة “جو كلين” المتخصصة في إعادة التدوير.

وتستهلك مصر سنوياً أكياس بلاستيك بتكلفة 12 مليار جنيه، وتدخل صناعة البلاستيك في جميع القطاعات بما في ذلك التعبئة والتغليف والمواسير والأدوات المنزلية وقطع الغيار والأدوات الهندسية والمكتبية وغيرها، ويبلغ حجم الاستثمار في الصناعات البلاستيكية في مصر 702 مليار دولار سنوياً، بحسب خالد أبو المكارم رئيس شعبة البلاستيك في اتحاد الصناعات المصري.

واستجابة للدعوة العالمية التي انطلقت العام الماضي في يوم البيئة العالمي الذي يصادف 5 يونيو 2018، تحت شعار “التغلب على التلوث البلاستيكي،” أطلقت وزارة البيئة المصرية مبادرة وطنية لتقليل استهلاك البلاستيك. كما توقفت بعض المحافظات المصرية بالفعل عن استهلاك البلاستيك مثل محافظة البحر الأحمر ومدينة دهب في محافظة شمال سيناء.

وجدير بالذكر أنه في يونيو 2019، تقدمت النائبة المصرية أنيسة حسونة بطلب موجه إلى مجلس الوزراء ووزيري البيئة والصناعة في يونيو الماضي لوقف استهلاك أكياس البلاستيك في مصر واستبدالها بمواد صديقة للبيئة.

Verynile
Photo: Verynile ©Verynile ⁃ Verynile

ويقول سيف الأشقر “الخطوات التي اتخذتها مصر لمحاربة البلاستيك خطوات إيجابية وتدعو للتفائل ونتوقع خلال وقت قريب صدور قرارات حاسمة بخصوص استهلاك البلاستيك في عموم مصر.”

كما أشار أيضاً إلى إن عملهم في فري نايل لا يقتصر على حملات تنظيف ضفاف النهر والبحار في مصر ويمتد إلى حملات توعية للمدارس والجامعات والشركات لترشيد استهلاك البلاستيك والتوعية بأضراره وإيجاد بدائل مناسبة وصديقة للبيئة.

ويضيف “نقوم بعمل متابعة للأماكن التي ننظفها ونجد أنها تمتلىء بالمخلفات مرة ثانية وهذا عائد لاستمرار استهلاك البلاستيك ولجرف الأمواج للمخلفات على الشاطىء. ولهذا فإن حملات التنظيف وإعادة التدوير ليست الحل النهائي وما نحتاجه هو الاستهلاك الحكيم واستخدام أنواع البلاستيك القابلة لإعادة الاستخدام أو بدائل من الورق أو القماش أو الزجاج وهي بدائل متوفرة وليست عالية التكلفة وآمنة على الصحة والبيئة.”

وعن حملات التنظيف يقول إنهم يبدأون بالبحث عن الأماكن التي تعاني بشكل أكبر من تلوث البلاستيك، ثم جمع المتطوعين من خلال فتح باب التطوع عبر الإنترنت. تستقبل كل حملة 300 متطوع، ومن ثم تجهيز أدوات التنظيف من أكياس جمع المخلفات وتكون قابلة للتحلل وشباك الصيد والقفازات والأحذية عالية الرقبة وغيرها من أدوات التنظيف والسلامة.

واليوم، تحاول فري نايل إيجاد الجهات الراعية للحملة للحصول على التمويل لتغطية تكلفة الحملات، وأخيراً الحصول على تصريح بالتنظيف من شرطة المسطحات المائية. كما يدعمهم عدة شخصيات عامة وفنانين مثل الممثل كريم قاسم والممثل أحمد مجدي، حيث يأمل الأشقر أن يساهموا في تشجيع التمويل.

ويتابع “لدينا قائمة انتظار طويلة من المتطوعين تمكننا من القيام بعدد أكبر من الحملات ولكن ينقصنا التمويل اللازم لاستيعاب كل هذه الأعداد.”

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تأمل فري نايل بتشكيل ائتلاف يجمع كافة المهتمين بالعمل البيئي في مصر للقيام بالمزيد من المبادرات الجادة في هذا الصدد.

وفي هذا الصدد، يقول الأشقر “لدينا خطة لجعل الزمالك منطقة خالية من البلاستيك خلال عام،” ويتابع “ينزل متطوعينا يومين أسبوعياً للحديث مع أصحاب المحلات لإقناعهم بوقف استخدام البلاستيك واستخدام القماش والورق كبديل له، إذ يقولون أن الاستجابة جيدة جداً.”

يستهدف المشروع القادم بعنوان “البلاستيك بح (اختفى)” عمل حملات تنظيف في محافظات الأقصر والمنيا وشرم الشيخ والإسكندرية والقصير.

ويقول الأشقر “ركزنا خلال الفترة الماضية على العاصمة وننوي التوسع في المحافظات في الفترة المقبلة،” ويضيف، “سنقوم بتدريب قادة المبادرات والجمعيات المهتمة بالبيئة في هذه المحافظات على تنظيم حملات تنظيف مستقبلية دون الحاجة لدعم مننا حتى لا نضطر للسفر. فالسفر مكلف فضلاً عن رغبتنا ضمان استمرار الحملات مرة كل شهر على الأقل.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Verynile ⁃ Verynile | ©Verynile ⁃ Verynile

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Pollution / In Egypt, Youth Join Forces to Fight Plastic Pollution

In Egypt, Youth Join Forces to Fight Plastic Pollution

Verynile egypt
Photo: Verynile ©Verynile ⁃ Verynile

With increasing community awareness of the dangers of plastic to human and environmental health, a number of youth initiatives in Egypt have been launched to tackle plastic pollution, notably Banlastic, Bekia and Verynile.

Verynile was established in December 2018 by Greenish, a green social enterprise, and Basita, a marketing, advertising and video production company, with the goal of removing plastic waste from the River Nile and Egyptian beaches, raising public awareness of its hazards and offering suitable alternatives.

Egypt ranks seventh on the list of the world’s largest exporters of plastic waste, which finds its way into seas, oceans and other water bodies. Marine plastic waste in Egypt ranges from 0.15 to 0.39 million tons per year, according to a recent study published in the Scientific American.

Saif al-Ashkar, communications officer at Verynile, told Fanack, “Plastic pollution is one of multiple environmental problems because plastic waste takes hundreds of years to decompose, and it accumulates around us, especially in rivers and seas, threatening the lives of organisms suffocated by ingesting plastic waste. Moreover, plastic waste breaks down into tiny parts known as microplastics, which are digested by fish and eventually reach humans through the food chain.”

The burning of plastic waste releases certain carcinogenic chemicals such as dioxin, a toxic substance that accumulates in the human body when inhaled. It can also be transmitted from mother to foetus through the placenta.

Verynile has organized four cleaning campaigns so far, targeting the banks of the Nile in the Cairo areas of al-Ajuzah, al-Manyal and Zamalek in cooperation with the Egyptian Rowing Club, as well as a campaign in Luxor Governorate. Al-Ashkar said that the campaigns resulted in the collection of about eight tons of waste, which were sent to GoClean for recycling and appropriate disposal.

Egypt consumes around 12 billion Egyptian pounds of plastic bags annually, and the plastics industry involves all sectors including packaging, pipes, household appliances, spare parts and engineering tools. Investment in plastics is also significant, amounting to $702 billion annually, according to Khaled Abu al-Makram, head of the Plastics Division at the Federation of Egyptian Industries.

In response to the global call to ‘beat plastic pollution’ launched on World Environment Day on 5 June 2018, the Ministry of Environment unveiled its own a initiative to reduce plastic consumption. Some places have already stopped consuming plastics, including the Red Sea Governorate and the city of Dahab in North Sinai Governorate.

Verynile
Photo: Verynile ©Verynile ⁃ Verynile

In June 2019, Member of Parliament Anissa Hassouna submitted a petition to the cabinet and the ministers of environment, foreign trade and industry to ban the use of plastic bags in Egypt and replace them with environmentally friendly alternatives.

“Egypt’s steps to fight plastic are positive and optimistic, and we expect that decisive decisions will soon be made regarding plastic consumption across Egypt,” said al-Ashkar.

He noted that Verynile’s work is not limited to cleaning campaigns but extends to initiatives in schools, universities and companies to rationalize plastic consumption, raise awareness of its damage and find suitable and eco-friendly alternatives.

“We follow up on the places we clean and notice that they become filled with waste again due to the continuing consumption of plastic and because the waves throw waste onto the beach. Therefore, cleaning and recycling campaigns are not the final solution, and we need wise consumption and the use of reusable plastics or substitutes made of paper, cloth or glass, which are available, not expensive and safe for public health and the environment.”

For its cleaning campaigns, Verynile identifies the places with the worst plastic pollution, then puts out a call for volunteers online. Each campaign involves around 300 volunteers, who are provided with biodegradable waste collection bags, fishing nets, gloves, boots and other cleaning and safety equipment.

Verynile is now looking for sponsors to cover the costs of the campaigns and is in talks with the water police to improve the process of obtaining cleaning licences. Several public figures have attached their name to the initiative, such as actor Karim Qasem and actor Ahmed Magdi, which al-Ashkar hopes will encourage sponsorship.

“We have a long waiting list of volunteers, which will enable us to carry out more campaigns, but we lack the funding to be able to cope with the demand,” he said.

In addition, Verynile is hoping to establish an alliance of environmental organizations that can take on larger initiatives.

“We have a plan to make Zamalek a plastic-free area within a year,” said al-Ashkar. “Our volunteers go down two days a week to talk to shopkeepers and convince them to stop using plastic and use cloth and paper materials instead. They say that the response has been very good.”

The next cleaning campaign, called ‘No more plastic’, will target the governorates of Luxor, Minya, Sharm al-Sheikh, Alexandria and al-Qusayr.

“We focused on the capital in the past, and we intend to expand in other governorates in the coming period,” said al-Ashkar. “We will train initiative leaders and associations concerned with the environment in these governorates on how to organize cleaning campaigns without our support, so that we will not have to travel. This is because travelling is costly and because we want to ensure that the campaigns take place at least once a month.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Verynile ⁃ Verynile | ©Verynile ⁃ Verynile | ©Verynile ⁃ Verynile

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.