فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / التلوث / التحديات البيئية في السودان

التحديات البيئية في السودان

Specials- Pollution in Sudan
المصدر AFP

التحديات البيئية التي يواجهها السودان، ذلك القطر الأفريقي البالغ مساحته 1,88 مليون كم2 ؛ تحدياتٌ ليست بالهينة، فالبلد الذي يضم ثلاثة أقاليم مناخية ذاخرة بالتنوع الحيوي؛ تُنهكهُ الحروب التي تندلع في مساحاتٍ تقدر بـ32,7% من جملة مساحته، وتستهلك حوالي ثُلثي إجمالي ميزانيته المحدودة.

يواجه السودان تحدياتٍ كثيرة، يقف في صدارتها تزايد معدلات التصحر وتدهور التربة، بفعل تراجع معدل اﻷمطار وموجات الجفاف التي ضربت البلاد في العقود اﻷخيرة، والتي ترتب عليها هدرٌ متسارع في المساحات الرعوية والزراعية والغابية في مقابل احتياجات الغذاء والطاقة المتزايدة للسكان الذين يبلغ تعدادهم حوالي 39,5 مليون نسمة، وفقاً لتقديرات الأمم المتحدة عام 2017. يتركز ثلث هؤلاء السكان في المدن الحضرية والعاصمة الخرطوم. بل إن الحاجة المتزايدة للغذاء والطاقة هي نتيجة لعوامل الجفاف الطويل والحروب والتدهور التنموي.

السكان والبيئة

ساهم هذا التركز السكاني في التمدد الافقي للمدن على حساب المزيد من المساحات الزراعية والأحزمة الخضراء الواقية من خطر انجراف التربة والتصحر. كما ساهم في تدني الخدمات فيها وارتفاع معدلات التلوث البيئي والإصابة بالأمراض الناجمة عنها لدرجة اقرت فيها وزراة الصحة السودانية في يناير 2014 بارتفاع معدلات الوفيات الناتجة عن تردي أوضاع صحة البيئة. وعادت وأكدت في ديسمبر 2016 ان 19% من الاصابات بامراض السرطان، و80% من اصابات الامراض السارية سببها تردي صحة البيئة في البلاد.

وعلى صعيد المدن تبدو قضايا تلوث مياه الشرب والغذاء والهواء والتخلص من النفايات الصناعية والمنزلية هي القضايا المتشابكة الأبرز ضمن القضايا العامة.

يشكل تلوث مياه الشرب الهاجس الأول لسكان المدن حيث تصاحب الشكوك مدى كفاءة محطات مياه الشرب والتزامها بالضوابط الصحية العالمية، وتبرز التقارير اختلاط مياه الصرف الصحي بمياه الآبار الجوفية، وعدم مطابقتها ومياه المحطات للمواصفات العالمية لمياه الشرب من الناحية الأحيائية والكيميائية. وهو تلوث محل اعتراف وزارة الصحة السودانية التي عزت اليه العام الماضي إصابة نحو 16 ألف شخص بالإسهال المائي في عدد من الولايات (فقد وصل عدد الإصابات في ولاية واحدة، ولاية النيل الأبيض، إلى 5 آلاف إصابة) وبين أغسطس 2016 ويونيو 2017، توفي 317 شخصاً بسبب الإسهال المائي في السودان، وفقاً لتقريرٍ صادر عن منظمة الصحة العالمية. وتعود بعض نسب التلوث العالية لفضلات المصانع التي يوجد اغلبها بالقرب من ضفاف الأنهار، كالتصنيع الحربي ومدينة جياد ومصانع السكر والصابون والأغذية والبتروليات والشحوم ومدابغ الجلود والتي تصب مخلفاتها الصلبة والسائلة مباشرة في المجاري المائية للأنهار دون معالجة جزئية اوكلية، الأمر الذي يهدد الحياة المائية وإنتاجية الأرض الزراعية ايضاً (حادثة نفوق اسماك النيل الأبيض 2010). وعلاوة على ذلك، تعود بعض نسب التلوث لشبكات المياه المصنوعة من مادة الاسبستس المسرطنة.

التلوث والنفايات

يبدو التلوث الغذائي أيضاً واسع الانتشار لضعف الإشراف الحكومي والرقابة، بدءاً من تلوث الماء والتربة بالمخلفات المؤثرة على الإنبات، مروراً بالاستخدام غير المرشد للمخصبات والمعالجات الكيميائية ومبيدات الحشرات والأعشاب، والملوثات المرتبطة بالنظافة في عمليات الحصاد والتغليف والنقل ووسائل الحفظ، انتهاءاً بأسلوب العرض في الأسواق، حيث الباعة المتجولين الذين يعرضون المياه والأطعمة على أرصفة الطريق، ويفترشون الأرض بالقرب من مياه الصرف الصحي بحوامل معرضة للذباب والأتربة ودخان عوادم السيارات، وحيث المطاعم ضعيفة الشروط الصحية، إضافة لتجاوزات الضوابط التصنيعية والإستيرادية الخاصة بالصلاحية والجودة.

وبصرف النظر عن الغازات المنبعثة من عوادم السيارات، هناك أيضاً الغازات الناتجة عن عمليات الإحتراق بالمصانع مثل ثاني أكسيد الكربون والنيتروجين والكبـريت، التي تسبب أيضاً تلوث الهواء، وبخاصة أن وسائل معالجتها عالية التكلفة على المصانع الصغيرة والمتوسطة.

وهناك ايضاً الغازات السامة الناتجة عن حرق مرادم النفايات المخصصة، وحرق المخلفات المنزلية داخل الأحياء عشوائياً، وحرق الطوب والخزف، والأخرى الناجمة عن طفح مجاري الصرف الصحي.

المصادر: World Bank Data and Climate Change Knowledge Portal - The World Bank Group. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack

كما يبدو جلياً أن تلوث مياه الشرب والغذاء والهواء يرجع في معظمه لآلية التجميع والتخلص من النفايات الصناعية والمنزلية القاصرة في جميع مدن السودان، حيث يبين العجز عن التخلص من النفايات بكافة أشكالها، إذ تعتمد معالجة جماعية دون فرز النفايات السائلة وتحليلها على اساس المكون، أو الصلبة على حسب نوعها، او فلترة الغازية الناجمة عن عملية التخلص، كما لا توجد صناعات لتدوير المخلفات والإستفادة منها.

تعتمد آلية تجميع النفايات الصلبة على ناقلات المصانع وشركات النظافة، حيث تنقل إلى مرادم مخصصة كمردم مدينة امدرمان الذي يعتبر ثالث اكبر مردم في أفريقيا (يستقبل يومياً 3,600 طن من نفايات ولاية الخرطوم). تواجه هذه الآلية مشكلات قلة آليات النقل وعمال النظافة والإهمال التجميعي المؤدي لتراكم النفايات في الأحياء والأسواق. إضافة إلى الإعتراضات البيئية للمواطنين الذين اقتربت بهم الخطط السكنية من المرادم، وبعض التجاوزات في ردم النفايات في اماكن غير مخصصة.

اما آلية تجميع النفايات السائلة فيعتمد على شبكات الصرف الصحي وناقلات المصانع، حيث تنقل لمصافي مخصصة كمصفاة الصحافة ومحطة الصرف الصناعي لمصنع سكر عسلاية. وتواجه هذه الآلية ضعف ربط المدن الصناعية والأحياء السكنية بشبكات صرف، وعمليات الإختناق الصرفي المتكررة لانخفاض جودة الشبكات أو تكدس الأوساخ، إضافة لقلة المصافي وقرب بعضها من الأحياء السكنية حيث تكثر إعتراضات المواطنين. وايضاً التجاوزات المتكررة لناقلات المصانع للتخلص من النفايات في اماكن غير مخصصة.

تهديدات بيئية اخرى

لا تشكل الزيادة في معدلات التصحر والنمو السكاني والهجرة الداخلية وحدها تحدٍ بيئي كبير، فمشاريع تنموية اخرى كإنشاء السدود وصناعتي النفط والتعدين لها ايضاً أثر كبيرعلى البيئة ومعدلات التلوث. فعلى صعيد مشاريع السدود الجاري انشاؤها أو المخطط لها تبرز قضايا استيفاء المعايير الدولية الحادة من الآثار السالبة، كمعدلات ترسّبات الطمي في بحيرات السدود وتآكل الضفاف، والتدهور الكبير في نظم الأراضي الرطبة كما حدث لميعات السنط على النيل الأزرق وغابات نخيل الدوم على ضفاف نهر عطبرة السفلي، أحد روافد نهر النيل المتدفقة من إثيوبيا إلى شرق السودان.

صناعة النفط بدورها افضت لآثار بيئية تشكل تحدياً كبيراً كآثار تصريف المياه المرافق لاستخراج خام النفط غير المطابق للشروط القياسية لعدم وجود مرافق لمعالجتها، وتسرب النفط في التربة في مناطق الإنتاج بما يهدد المياه السطحية والجوفية كما حدث في مناطق الإنتاج في هجليج في جنوب غرب السودان، ومنافذ التصدير البحرية على ساحل البحر الأحمر ومياهه بما يهدد الحياة البحرية لا سيما الشعب المرجانية.

وعلاوة على ذلك، تعدّ صناعة التعدين الأخطر من حيث الأثر البيئي لانتشارها في مناطق جغرافية واسعة، ولاعتمادها الكبير على التعدين المحلي بلا ضوابط فاعلة من حيث تحديد مواقع التعدين بعيداً عن مساقط المياه والآثار والقرى، ومن حيث طبيعة الآليات والمواد المستخدمة في التنقيب والإستخلاص، ومن حيث مؤهلات وكفاءة العاملين. وإلى جانب ذلك، تتضمن صناعة التعدين في السودان على مواد الإستخلاص الأكثر سمية في العالم كالسيانيد والزئبق، حيث يعد السودان من اكثر الدول النامية زيادة في معدلات انبعاثات الزئبق من خلال التعدين وانشطة حرق الفحم الاقتصادية.

يشهد واقع السودان البيئي تدهوراً كبيراً بالرغم من كونه سبّاقاً في مضمار التشريعات القانونية البيئية على مستويات حماية الموارد الطبيعية وتخصيص أولويات استثمارها الإقتصادي، حيث تذكر المصادر العدلية أن اولى التشريعات القانونية ذات الصلة بالبيئة كانت في العام 1901 (قانون امراض الحيوان)، تلته مواد تشريعية اخرى فاقت المائة وخمسون اداة تشريعية، تشمل مجالات الري والطاقة والشؤون الصحية والصناعية ومكافحة الآفات، وآخرها قانون صحة البيئة في عام 2009، ومشروع قانون حماية البيئة والموارد الطبيعية لسنة 2017 الأشمل. (كما صادَق السودان أيضاً على اتفاقية باريس للمناخ في عام 2017).

ومع ذلك، لا يزال تطبيق هذه القوانين محل ضعف، فالحروبات المتتالية، والتراجع الإقتصادي والمشكلات الإدارية، تؤثر بلا شك على عمل الأجهزة والمؤسسات الحكومية المختصة؛ كوزارة البيئة والموارد الطبيعية والتنمية العمرانية، والمجلس الأعلى للبيئة والترقية الحضرية والريفية، ومحكمة البيئة، وتحصر دورها في مساحة محدودة بإمكانات محدودة. بجانب أن العقوبات والجزاءات لا تكسب القوانين الفعالية المطلوبة دون نشاط توعية بيئية مضطرد عبر المناهج الدراسية الأساسية والإعلام.

ومع ذلك، تبذل منظمات المجتمع المدني النشطة في مجال البيئة جهداً ملحوظا لاتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة ورفع مستوى الوعي العام بالقضايا البيئية. ومن بينها الجمعية السودانية لحماية البيئة (التي تأسست عام 1975)، ومنظمة المجتمع البيئي السوداني، ومنظمة شباب الزحف الأخضر، وبرلمان الشباب السوداني للمياه– إلا أنها جميعاً يعوقها الافتقار إلى التمويل الكافي والموقف العدائي للحكومة السودانية تجاه المنظمات غير الحكومية المستقلة.

أوضاع وتحديات كبيرة كهذه تستلزم أخذها على محمل الجد وتوفير الدعم المالي والتقني من قبل المؤسسات الحكومية والتطوعية والمنظمات الدولية، لإيجاد مخارج مثلى وحلول مستدامة، فواقع التصدى للقضايا البيئية في السودان لا يبشر خيراً إذا ما استمر على هذا المنوال.

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Pollution / Environmental Challenges in Sudan

Environmental Challenges in Sudan

Specials- Pollution in Sudan
Photo AFP

The environmental challenges facing Sudan — a country in east Africa with an area of 1.88 million square kilometers — are major. The country, which has three climatic zones, each with their own biodiversity, is ravaged by war: conflict has broken out in 32.7% of its total area and that consume approximately two thirds of its total budget.

Sudan is facing many challenges, the most prominent of which are the accelerating rates of desertification and land degradation due to the drop in the rainfall rates and because of droughts that have hit the country in recent decades. This has resulted in the rapid loss of pastoral, agricultural and forest areas, aggravated by the increasing food and energy needs of the Sudanese population, which is about 39.5 million, according to the UN’s 2017 estimation. One third of the population is concentrated in urban cities and Khartoum, the capital. The rising need for food and energy is the result of prolonged drought, wars and developmental degradation.

Population and Environment

The country’s population concentration has contributed to the horizontal expansion of cities at the expense of agricultural areas and green belts that protect land against the danger of soil erosion and desertification. It has also resulted in the decline in services and in high rates of environmental pollution, which in turn have led to pollution-related diseases. In January 2014, the Sudanese Ministry of Health acknowledged that mortality rates increased because of the deteriorating health environment and directly linked the phenomenon to environmental pollution. In December 2016, the Ministry confirmed that 19% of cancer cases and 80% of common diseases were due to the worsening health of the country’s environment.

At the city level, the pollution of drinking water, food, air and the disposal of industrial and domestic waste are among the most complicated public issues.

The pollution of drinking water is the main concern for city residents. They have doubts about the efficiency of drinking water plants and the commitment to global health regulations of the companies that run them. Moreover, reports have indicated that sewage water mixes with groundwater wells and does not meet the international standards of drinking water, both biologically and chemically. The Sudanese Health Ministry has acknowledged that this type of pollution exists. Last year, the Ministry said that pollution was the cause of about 16,000 cases of watery diarrhea in a dozen of Sudanese states (one state, While Nile, counted 5,000 cases alone). Between August 2016 and June 2017, 317 people died of watery diarrhea in Sudan, a report from the World Health Organisation found. Some of the high pollution rates are caused by the waste rejected by factories, the majority of which are located near banks of rivers. For instance in the area of Al Tasni’ al ‘Askari [military manufacturing] in the city of Jiyad, which counts factories of soap, food, and petroleum, in addition to leather tanning factories, the solid and liquid waste flows into the waterways of the river without being treated partially or completely. This endangers aquatic life and the productivity of agricultural land too. One example is the death of fish of the White Nile state in 2010. Moreover, some of the pollution rates are caused by pipes in the water networks that are made of carcinogenic asbestos.

Pollution and Waste

Food pollution appears to be widespread because of weak government supervision and control. Food pollution is caused by the contamination of water and soil with residues that affect germination. It also caused by the unrationalized use of fertilizers, chemical treatments, insecticides and herbicides, contaminants that impact the hygiene of workers and consumers during harvesting, packaging, transportation and conservation. Food pollution is also caused by the way street vendors sell water and food by displaying them on the sidewalks and in areas near sewage, where the goods are exposed to flies, dust and car exhaust smoke. Moreover, many restaurants in Sudan do not follow general rules to health conditions, and manufacturing and import industries violate basic related to the validity and quality of goods are violated too.

Apart from gas emissions from car exhaust, gas emissions from combustion processes in factories such as carbon dioxide, nitrogen and sulfur are responsible for air pollution too, especially because the treatment of these gases is considered to be highly costly for small and medium-sized factories.

Sources: World Bank Data and Climate Change Knowledge Portal - The World Bank Group. Click to enlarge. @Fanack

Toxic gases also result from the incineration of waste in designated landfills, the random burning of domestic waste in neighborhoods, the burning of bricks and ceramics, and sewage spill.

The pollution of drinking water, food and air in Sudan is mostly due to the mechanism applied in collecting and disposing of industrial and domestic waste in all Sudanese cities. These processes show the failure to dispose of all forms of waste: waste is treated collectively, without sorting liquid and solid waste and analyzing it by components, types, or even without filtering gases resulting from the disposal processes. Besides, no industries are specialized in waste recycling and waste utilization.

The solid waste collection mechanism relies on tankers run by factories and cleaning companies, and it is transported to special landfills such as the Omdurman Landfill, which is the third largest in Africa and which receives 3,600 tonnes of waste from the Khartoum State everyday. This mechanism faces issues, including the lack of transport vehicles and cleaners, the collective negligence leading to the accumulation of waste in neighborhoods and markets, objections by citizens living in the residential areas that have become close to the landfills as they develop, and violations related to landfilling in non-designated places.

The liquid waste collection mechanism depends on sewage networks and the tankers of factories. The liquid waste is transported to special refineries, such as the Al Sahafah Refinery and the Industrial Sewage Plant for the Asalah Sugar Factory. This mechanism is obstructed by the weak linkage of sewage networks in industrial cities and residential neighborhoodst The poor quality of networks, the accumulation of dirt, the lack of refineries and the nearness of some refineries to residential neighborhoods tend to create suffocations or blocking of the sewage network. This in turn leads to frequent objections by citizens. Moreover, repeated violations are committed by tankers when disposing of waste in non-designated areas.

Other Environmental Threats

The increase in the rates of desertification, population growth and internal displacement alone does not create a major environmental challenge. Other developmental projects such as the construction of dams , as well as the oil and mining industries, have had a significant impact on the country’s environment and pollution rates. Regarding dams under construction or planned construction projects, one of the major challenges is to meet international standards to minimize the rates of silt deposits in dam lakes, the erosion of river banks, and the great deterioration in wetland systems, as was the case of acacia trees on the Blue Nile and the Dom palm trees on the banks of the Atbarah River, a tributary of Nile flowing from Ethiopia into Eastern Sudan.

The oil industry, in turn, has led to environmental impact that poses major challenges, such as the effect of discharging water while extracting crude oil that does not comply with standard conditions, because of the absence of facilities for treating the discharged water and because of the leakage of oil in the soil in production areas. The leakage threatens surface water and groundwater, casing wide deforestation in the production areas of Heglig in South Western Sudan and threatening marine life, especially coral reefs at the export outlets on the Red Sea.

Furthermore, the country’s mining industry is the most dangerous in terms of environmental impact because this industry is spread in large geographical areas. It also relies heavily on local mining without adhering to specific regulations, such as choosing mining sites that are far from waterfalls, ruins, and villages; using specific machines and materials in oil exploration and extraction; or regulations related to the required qualifications and efficiency of workers. Besides, Sudan’s mining industry involves dealing with some of the world’s most toxic extraction materials, such as cyanide and mercury. As a result of economic activities such as mining and coal burning, Sudan has some of the highest, and increasing, rates of mercury emissions in the world.

The environmental reality in Sudan is experiencing major deteriorationn, although it is a forerunner in enacting environment-related legislation aimed at protecting resources and giving priority to environment in economic investments. The first legislation related to environment in Sudan was endorsed in 1901 (the Animal Diseases Law), followed by more than 150 other legislative instruments on areas such as irrigation, energy, health and industrial affairs, and pest control. The latest legislation was the Environment Health Law in 2009, and the more comprehensive draft law on the protection of environment and natural resources of 2017. (Sudan also ratified the Paris climate agreement in 2017).

Yet the enforcement of these laws remains weak. Successive wars, economic downturn and administrative issues have definitely affected the work of competent government agencies such as the Ministry of the Environment, Natural Resources and Physical Development , the Supreme Council for Environment and Urban and Rural Development, and the Environment Court. The role of these agencies has become very restricted, and punishments and penalties on their own do not give relevant laws the effectiveness needed – to really enforce environment laws, the country would also need to raise awareness about the environment through academic curricula and the media.

However, civil society organizations active in the field of environment are exerting a remarkable effort to take action and raise the public awareness to environmental issues.Among them are the Sudanese Society for Environmental Protection (established in 1975), the Sudanese Environmental Community Organization, Youth Green Creep Organization, and the Sudanese Youth Parliament for Water – but they all impaired by the lack of sufficient funding and the hostile attitude of the Sudanese government towards independent NGOs.

These challenging conditions require serious action as well as financial and technical support by governmental, voluntary institutions and international organizations to find optimal and sustainable solutions. Should the situation remain unchanged, addressing environmental issues in Sudan will continue to be a challenge.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.