فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / التلوث / الحرب وسوء الإدارة وتغير المناخ: بيئة العراق على حافة الهاوية

الحرب وسوء الإدارة وتغير المناخ: بيئة العراق على حافة الهاوية

Pollution iraq
Photo: UNEP / Flickr ©Flickr ⁃ UNEP

أكاد أسمع النخيل يشربُ المطر
وأسمع القرى تَئِنُّ، والمهاجرين
يُصَارِعُون بِالمجاذيف وبالقُلُوع،
عَوَاصِفَ الخليج، والرُّعُودَ، منشدين :
مَطَر …
مَطَر …
مَطَر …
قصيدة “أنشودة المطر” للشاعر العراقي بدر شاكر السيّاب (1926- 1964).

كانت المياه شريان الحياة للعراق منذ ولادة الحضارة في بلاد ما بين النهرين وتم تضمينها بشكلٍ بارز في ملاحم بطولية عمرها آلاف السنين وكذلك القصائد المعاصرة. وفي العقود الأخيرة، أصبحت المياه مصدر الصراعات وضحاياها، حيث ظهرت كواحدة من العديد من المشاكل البيئية التي تلت سنواتٍ من الحرب والتمرد العنيف وسوء الإدارة الجسيم. من تدمير صدام حسين للأنظمة البيئية للأهوار الفريدة من نوعها في جنوب العراق خلال الحرب مع إيران في ثمانينيات القرن الماضي، إلى إحراق الأراضي الزراعية في الحزام الأخضر في العراق في عام 2019، أدت الهجمات البيئية والتلوث المستمر إلى زيادة تدهور الموارد الطبيعية والثقافية القيمة للبلاد.

تم توثيق اتساع نطاق القضايا البيئية التي تواجه العراق حتى ظهور تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” في العقد الماضي من خلال المنافذ الإخبارية ووكالات الأمم المتحدة والتقييمات الحكومية، التي استعرضت كيف أدى سوء الإدارة والحرب والفساد والإهمال السياسي في النهاية إلى التدهور البيئي. واليوم، يتجرع شباب العراق مرارة هذه الحوادث المؤسفة. وفي الوقت نفسه، عزز الوعي المتزايد بالقضايا البيئية الحركات الشعبية، وأجج الاحتجاجات وأثار صعود الجماعات التي ترغب في تغيير مسار البلاد.

الآثار المدمرة

بعد أن هدأت الأمور في أعقاب هزيمة داعش، ظهرت صورة مقلقة عن التداعيات البيئية عندما نشرت المنظمات الدولية والمنظمات غير الحكومية والصحفيين الذين راقبوا النزاع تحليلهم وتقييمهم. فقد كان لحرق داعش عن قصدٍ آبار النفط في القيارة في نينوى وإحراق مخزونات حقول كبريت المشراق آثارٌ صحية خطيرة على آلاف المدنيين في المناطق المجاورة لهذه المواقع. وفي الوقت نفسه، أثر التلوث الناجم عن الانسكابات النفطية والتكرير اليدوي والتسريبات على الأنهار والأراضي الزراعية، كما أوضح معهد الأمم المتحدة للتدريب والبحث وموقع بيلينغ كات ومنظمة باكس. كما وثق برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة للمستوطنات البشرية الآثار الشديدة للتدمير في المناطق الحضرية، مما يضاعف من مخاطر الصحة البيئية الناجمة عن الأنقاض والمناطق الصناعية التالفة وغيرها من المصادر الملوثة بالمواد الكيميائية الخطرة. وأثناء احتلاله للأراضي وانسحابه منها فيما بعد، دمر داعش جزءاً كبيراً من البنية التحتية للمياه الخاضعة لسيطرته، مما قلل من الإنتاج الزراعي بنسبة 40%، وفقاً لمنظمة الهجرة الدولية. وعليه، تقدر الحكومة العراقية أن هناك حاجة إلى 5,5 مليار دولار لإعادة تأهيل بيئة البلاد ومواردها الطبيعية، بما في ذلك إعادة بناء البنية التحتية وبناء القدرات.

مصائب المياه والنفايات

أثبت صيف 2018 هشاشة البيئة في البلاد، عندما أصيب أكثر من 120 ألف شخصٍ في البصرة بأمراض مختلفة بعد شرب المياه الملوثة. تم ربط الحادث بمحطة ترشيح قديمة غير قادرة على معالجة تحلية المياه، بسبب نقص المياه العذبة في نهري دجلة والفرات المتدفقة باتجاه البحر. تفاقم الوضع بسبب الجفاف المستمر ومشاريع السدود في تركيا وإيران، مما حد من تدفق المياه العذبة في اتجاه مجرى النهر. كما كانت الممرات المائية نفسها ملوثة بشدة بسبب إلقاء النفط والمواد الكيميائية الخطرة، سواء من المناطق الصناعية في بغداد أو التخلص من النفط في البصرة، بحسب ما وثقته هيومن رايتس ووتش والبنك الدولي.

كما تم الإعراب عن مخاوف أخرى بشأن الافتقار إلى القدرة المناسبة لإدارة النفايات، ومطامر النفايات والسياسات الرامية إلى معالجة تلوث المياه والتربة. فقد كانت هذه المشاكل تتفاقم منذ عقود، حيث تم وضع خطط قبل عام 2014 بهدف معالجة هذه المخاوف، بيد أن سيطرة داعش والعنف الذي أعقب ذلك لهزيمة الجماعة ساهم في تفاقم الوضع في المناطق المحررة. وعلى الرغم من اعتبار إعادة الإعمار أولويةً، إلا أن التقدم المحرز في تحسين إدارة النفايات الصلبة في جميع أنحاء العراق كان بطيئاً بسبب عدم كفاية التمويل وعدم وجود حكومة مستقرة.

التنوع البيولوجي تحت الضغط

وضع التدهور البيئي أيضاً التنوع البيولوجي والحياة البرية تحت الضغط. من الأهوار العراقية المحمية من قبل اليونسكو إلى الحياة البرية في منطقة بارزان، تتعرض النباتات والحيوانات البرية في البلاد للتهديد بسبب التلوث الصناعي والحرب وتغير المناخ. ووفقاً للتقرير الوطني السادس للعراق الملحق باتفاقية التنوع البيولوجي في عام 2018، تعمل الحكومة العراقية على تحسين التشريعات لتوسيع المناطق المحمية، على الرغم من أنها تظل موضع تساؤل حول ما إذا كانت الأهداف ستتحقق دون تمويلٍ مناسب وتطبيق قانوني.

يرتبط الوضع البيئي ارتباطاً جوهرياً بالأمن والرفاهية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية للبلاد، إذ تعتمد ثروات العراق على الموارد الطبيعية مثل النفط، في حين يعتمد الأمن الغذائي إلى حدٍ كبير على الإنتاج الزراعي، وبالتالي المياه. إن الفهم المحدود لنطاق التحدي البيئي، وغياب التمويل لإعادة بناء البنية التحتية البيئية أو الإدارة البيئية القوية أدى إلى ضعف التنظيم، مما أسفر عن مزيدٍ من تدهور النظم البيئية وسبل عيش الأشخاص الذين يعتمدون عليها. كما أن لتغير المناخ تأثيرٌ متزايد على المجتمع والاقتصاد، حيث تساهم موجات الحر الحارقة في الجنوب وتزايد حالات الجفاف المتكررة في زيادة المخاطر الأمنية.

بصيصٌ من الأمل

على الرغم من هذه الإنتكاسات، بات هناك وعيٌ متزايد بين منظمات المجتمع المدني بضرورة معالجة القضايا البيئية في العراق. تعمل مجموعات مثل طبيعة العراق وحماة مياه العراق، فضلاً عن حملات أنقذوا دجلة والفرات بلا كلل، وغالباً تحت الضغط لإثارة القضايا البيئية على الصعيدين الوطني والدولي. فقد حفزت قرارات جمعية البيئة التابعة للأمم المتحدة عملية تنظيف التلوث الناجم عن الصراع، بينما أدت عودة الأمطار والاستثمارات السياسية إلى تقدم حذرٍ في الأهوار العراقية. وبالمثل، تعد مبادرات إعادة التحريج الصغيرة في كردستان العراق وتخضير المدن مثل البصرة وبغداد من الخطوات الأولى الضرورية، على الرغم من أنها تحتاج إلى تحويلها إلى مشاريع واسعة النطاق بدعمٍ حكومي ودولي إذا ما أرادوا إحداث تغييرٍ بيئي ذي معنى للأجيال القادمة.


إقرأ المزيد

مشكلة التلوث في الشرق الأوسط و شمال أفريقيا
وفقاً لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة، "يمكن استخدام البيئة كنوع من ...
العراق كيان سياسي مصطنع، مثل الكثير من دول ما بعد الاستعمار. وبذلك...

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Flickr ⁃ UNEP | ©Flickr ⁃ UNEP

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Pollution / War, Mismanagement and Climate Change: Iraq’s Environment Pushed to the Brink

War, Mismanagement and Climate Change: Iraq’s Environment Pushed to the Brink

Pollution iraq
Photo: UNEP / Flickr ©Flickr ⁃ UNEP

I can almost hear the palm trees drinking the rain,
Hear the villages moaning and emigrants
With oar and sail fighting the Gulf
Winds of storm and thunder, singing
‘Rain… rain…
Drip, drop, the rain…

Verse from ‘Rain Song’ by Iraqi poet Badr Shakir al-Sayyab (1926-1964)

Water has been Iraq’s lifeline since the birth of civilization in Mesopotamia and features prominently in millennia-old epics as well as contemporary poems. In recent decades, water has become the source and victim of conflicts, emerging as one of many environmental problems following years of war, violent insurgencies and gross mismanagement. From Saddam Hussein’s destruction of the unique marshlands ecosystems in southern Iraq during the war with Iran in the 1980s to the burning of croplands in Iraq’s greenbelt in 2019, environmental attacks and ongoing pollution are driving further degradation of the country’s valuable natural and cultural resources.

The breadth of the environmental issues facing Iraq up to the emergence of the Islamic State (ISIS) in the last decade has been documented by news outlets, United Nations agencies and governmental assessments, outlining how poor governance, war, corruption and political neglect ultimately led to the environmental decline. Iraq’s youth is now tasting the bitter fruits of these mishaps. At the same time, growing awareness of environmental issues has bolstered popular movements, fuelled protests and spurred the rise of groups that want to change the course of the country.

A trail of destruction

When the dust settled after the defeat of IS, a worrying picture of the environmental fallout emerged as international organisations, NGOs and journalists who had monitored the conflict published their analysis and assessment. IS’ deliberate burning of oil wells at Qayyarah in Ninawa and the torching of al-Mishraq’s sulphur stockpiles had acute health impacts for thousands of civilians in the vicinity of these sites. Meanwhile, pollution from oil spills, artisanal refining and leaks impacted rivers and agricultural lands, as shown by the United Nations Institute for Training and Research, Bellingcat and PAX. The United Nations Environment Programme and UN Habitat documented the severe impacts of destruction in urban areas, compounding environmental health risks from rubble, damaged industrial areas and other sources with hazardous chemicals. During its occupation and in the course of its retreat, IS destroyed a significant part of the water infrastructure under its control, reducing agricultural production by 40 per cent, according to the IOM. The Iraqi government estimates that $ 5.5 billion dollars is needed to rehabilitate the country’s environment and natural resources, including infrastructure reconstruction and capacity building.

Woes over water and waste

The summer of 2018 proved the fragility of the environment, when over 120,000 people in Basra became ill after drinking polluted water. The incident was linked to an outdated filtration station unable to handle desalinization, caused by a lack of fresh water in the Tigris and Euphrates rivers flowing towards the sea. The situation was worsened by an ongoing drought as well as dam projects in Turkey and Iran, limiting fresh water flows downstream. The waterways themselves were also severely polluted by the dumping of oil and hazardous chemicals, both upstream from the industrial areas in Baghdad and oil dumping in Basra, as documented by Human Rights Watch and the World Bank.

Further concerns have been expressed over the lack of proper waste management capacity, landfills and policies to address water and soil pollution. These problems have been festering for decades. Plans were made prior to 2014 aimed at addressing these concerns, but the IS takeover and the ensuing violence to defeat the group served to worsen the situation in liberated areas. Despite being flagged as a reconstruction priority, progress to improve solid waste management throughout Iraq has been slow due to insufficient funding and lack of a stable government.

Biodiversity under pressure

Environmental degradation has also put biodiversity and the wildlife population under pressure. From the UNESCO-protected Iraqi Marshlands to the wilderness of the Barzan region, the country’s rich flora and fauna are threatened by industrial pollution, war and climate change. According to the Sixth National Report of Iraq to the Convention on Biological Diversity in 2018, the Iraqi government is working to improve legislation to expand protected areas, though it remains questionable if the goals will be met without proper funding and regulatory enforcement.

The state of the environment is intrinsically linked with the country’s security and socio-economic wellbeing. Iraq’s wealth relies on natural resources such as oil, while food security is largely dependent on agricultural production and, by extension, water. Limited understanding of the scope of the environmental challenge, absence of funding for reconstruction of environmental infrastructure or robust environmental governance has resulted in weak regulation, leading to further deterioration of ecosystems and the livelihoods of the people who depend on them. Climate change is also having an increasing impact on society and the economy, with scorching heatwaves in the south and more frequent droughts contributing to expanding security risks.

Glimmers of hope

Despite these setbacks, there is growing awareness among civil society organisations of the need to address Iraq’s environmental issues. Groups like Nature Iraq and Waterkeepers Iraq as well as Save the Tigris and Save the Euphrates campaigns are working tirelessly and often under pressure to raise environmental issues both on a national and international level. UN Environmental Assembly resolutions have galvanized the clean-up of conflict pollution, while returning rains and policy investments have resulted in cautious progress for the Iraqi Marshlands. Similarly, small reforestation initiatives in Iraqi Kurdistan and greening of cities like Basra and Baghdad are necessary first steps, although they need to be turned into large-scale projects with governmental and international support if they are to bring about meaningful environmental change for future generations.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Flickr ⁃ UNEP | ©Flickr ⁃ UNEP

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.