فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / التلوث / التلوث في لبنان يُعرّض الصحة العامة للخطر ويضّر بالسياحة

التلوث في لبنان يُعرّض الصحة العامة للخطر ويضّر بالسياحة

التلوث في لبنان النفايات
عمّال يحمّلون أكياس النفايات في شاحنات في أحد شوارع الجديدة، شرق بيروت، لبنان، 19 مارس 2016. Photo Bilal Hussein ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Bilal Hussein

يمتاز لبنان عن باقي الدول العربية بجمال طبيعته الخضراء، وتعدد معالمه السياحية فمن غابتي الأرز في بشري وتنورين إلى وادي قنوبين ومغارة جعيتا، وقلعة بعلبك وصور وصيدا وجبيل. صغيرٌ ولكن متنوع، هكذا يروّج للبلاد التي يمكنك فيها التزلج على الجبال التي تغمرها الثلوج في الصباح والاستمتاع بالسباحة في البحر الأبيض المتوسط ما بعد الظهيرة.

التلوث في لبنان قمامة في صيدا
جامع قمامة ينقب في أحد المكبات الموجود على الواجهة البحرية لمدينة صيدا جنوب لبنان. Photo Ali Hashisho ©Flickr

كل هذه الميزات تسعى وزارة السياحة في لبنان إلى التركيز عليها لجذب أكبر عدد ممكن من السياح إليه. لكن لا يخفى على كثيرين اليوم أن

التلوث البيئي الحاصل على مختلف الأصعدة من تلوث الهواء إلى تلوث المياه والشواطئ اللبنانية، أصبح يشكل خطراً داهماً على الثروة البيئية اللبنانية. ويرى محللون أن السبب الأساسي وراء تفاقم مشكلة التلوث ووصولها إلى الحدود الخطرة التي وصلت إليها هو تقاعس الدولة والجهات المعنية عن إيجاد حلولٍ جذرية عبر السنين للحد من التدهور البيئي الحاصل .

ولا بد لنا من الحديث عن أزمة النفايات– التخلص العشوائي من النفايات- التي تصدرت عناوين الأخبار المحلية والدولية عام 2015، إذ لعبت هذه المشكلة الدور الرئيسي في تسليط الضوء على القضايا البيئة التي أصبحت الشغل الشاغل للمواطنين اللبنانيين.

فقد نشرت حملة “طلعت ريحتكم،” التي أطلقت جراء تفاقم أزمة النفايات في لبنان، فيديو على صفحتها الخاصة على موقع فيسبوك بعنوان “الإنذار الأخير.” ويظهر هذا الفيديو الأماكن التي تتجمع فيها النفايات على الطرقات وضفاف الأنهر وشواطئ البحار، فيديو شكل صدمة في الصحف اللبنانية والعالمية، إذ أنه أظهر حجم الكارثة التي وصلت إليها هذه الأزمة والتي عجزت الحكومة عن حلها طوال الأشهر الماضية. ومن الجدير بالذكر، أن مشكلة النفايات في لبنان تعود إلى سنين عديدة، فليس هناك بالأساس خطط واضحة وطرق سليمة للتخلص من المخلفات (سواء الصلبة أو السائلة) والنفايات في لبنان.

يتم التخلص من النفايات في لبنان بطرقتين لا ثالث لهما. الطريقة الأولى تتم عبر حرق النفايات التي ينتج عنها تصاعد الغازات السامة مثل أحادي أكسيد الكربون الذي يؤدي إستنشاقه إلى عرقلة نقل الأكسجين إلى الدماغ والقلب، وقد يؤدي في بعض الأحيان إلى الموت في حال تم إستنشاقه بكميات كبيرة.
فيما يؤدي الديوكسين الناتج عن حرق النفايات إلى أثار خطيرة على الأعصاب وجهاز المناعة، وقد يؤدي في بعض الأحيان إلى سرطانات مختلفة، أما إنبعاث غاز أكسيد الكبريت الناتج عن عملية الإحتراق نفسها فيؤدي إلى أزمات ربو حادة .

أما الطريقة الثانية التي يتم من خلالها التخلص من النفايات الصلبة في لبنان فمن خلال المطامر، الذي يتم غالباً بشكل عشوائي في مطامر غير منظمة منتشرة في أنحاء البلاد. ولعل أزمة النفايات الحالية في لبنان قد نتجت جراء إقفال مطمر الناعمة، الأكبر في لبنان، بسبب الأضرار الجسيمة التي ظهرت على صحة المواطنين الذين يسكنون بلدات قريبة منه.

تؤدي المطامر إلى انبعاث الغازات السامة كثاني أكسيد الكربون بالإضافة إلى الحدّ من نسبة الأوكسجين في الهواء، كما تتغلغل النفايات لدى تحللها في الينابيع والمياه الجوفية.

وفي هذا الإطار، أصدر المجلس الوطني للبحوث العلمية بياناً أعلن فيه أنه “خلال العاصفة الرملية التي هبّت على لبنان والمنطقة، إبتداءً من 7 سبتمبر 2015 ، وبلغت ذروتها في 9 و10 سبتمبر 2015، استطاعت الوحدة البحثية، الممولة من قِبل المجلس، قياس درجة تلوث الهواء في مدينة بيروت مقارنةً بالمعدل العام السابق.”

وقد أشار البيان إلى أنه تبيّن أن هذا التلوث قد ارتفع بنسبة كبيرة ليتعدى المعدل العام ويبلغ ما يقارب الـ 120 ضعفاً للجسيمات التي لا يتعدّى قطرها 10 ميكروميتر، أما الجسيمات التي لا يتعدّى قطرها الـ2,5 ميكروميتر للجسيم الواحد، فقد تعدّى تلوث الهواء المعدل العام بنسبة 6 أضعاف.

ومع ذلك، لا يمكننا حصر إرتفاع نسبة التلوث في الهواء في العام المنصرم وحساب كمية إنبعاث الغازات السامة الناتج فحسب عن تراكم النفايات، لأن التلوث في لبنان يعود لأسباب عديدة، لعل أبرزها الغازات السامة المنبعثة من دواخين المصانع ومعامل توليد الطاقة.

وفي عام 2014، سجل مستشفى سيدة لبنان في جونية شرقي بيروت، القريب من معمل الزوق الحراري، 1300 حالة إصابة بالربو، و1,280 إصابة بالتهابات رئوية وتنفسية حادة، بالإضافة إلى 84 حالة إصابة بسرطان الرئة.

التلوث في لبنان مداخن محطة توليد الطاقة
الدخان المتصاعد من مداخن محطة توليد الطاقة في لبنان. تشكل هذه الانبعاثات الصادرة من محطات توليد الطاقة تهديداً خطيراً على الصحة العامة. Photo Patrick Makhloul ©Flickr

وتشير بعض المصادر إلى أن ثاني أكسيد الكربون الصادر من دواخين المعامل الحرارية في منطقة شكا الصناعية شمال لبنان، يؤدي بشكلٍ أساسي للإصابة بسرطان الرئة. وبالرغم من كل الوعود التي تلقتها البلديات المحلية والأهالي، إلا أنّ المشاكل البيئية الناجمة عن دواخين هذه المصانع ما زالت تتفاقم عاماً بعد عام.

وتفاقم الغازات المنبعثة من عوادم المركبات المشكلة في لبنان بشكلٍ عام، وبيروت على وجه الخصوص، إذ تعتبر العاصمة مستودعاً كبيراً للسيارات. وفي ظل عدم وجود إحصاءات رسمية عن عدد السيارات في لبنان، تشير الأرقام غير الرسمية إلى وجود حوالي 5 ملايين سيارة بين خصوصي وعمومي، على مساحة قدرها 10,452 متر مربع، وهو رقم مرتفع نسبياً في ظل الافتقار إلى وجود نظام نقل عام متمكن.

وبالإضافة إلى كل ما سبق، يشكل تلوث الشاطئ اللبناني والموارد المائية نتيجة تصريف مخلفات المصانع في المياه بشكلٍ عشوائي مشكلة رئيسية أخرى، إذ يتم تصريف آلاف المخلفات الصناعية والملوثات في البحر كل عام، بكل ما تحمله من مواد كيمائية تشكل ضرراً مباشراً على الثروة البحرية، فضلاً عن تصريف مياه الصرف الصحي أو المياه العادمة غير المعالجة والناتجة عن المستشفيات والمنازل مع كل ما تحتويه من مواد عضوية ينتهي أمرها في أعماق البحار. وأضف إلى ذلك آثار النفط المتسرب من معمل الجية الحراري جنوب مدينة بيروت جراء العدوان الإسرائيلي على لبنان في العام 2006، مما يفاقم الوضع سوءاً.

وعلاوة على ذلك، يؤدي النمو السكاني السريع، إلى جانب تدفق حوالي مليون ونصف لاجىء سوري إلى البلاد، إلى استنزاف الموارد والدفع بقدرات لبنان إلى حافة الانهيار.

ففي عام 2014، أصدر وزير البيئة محمد المشنوق بياناً لتقييم أثر أزمة اللجوء السوري على البيئة في لبنان بناءً على دراسة قامت بها وزراته .
وقد أشارت النتائج الأولية لهذه الدراسة أن كمية النفايات التي ينتجها اللاجئون تشكل حوالي 15% من نسبة النفايات الصلبة التي كان ينتجها اللبنانيون قبل بدء أزمة اللجوء. كما أشارت الدراسة أيضاً إلى إرتفاع بنسبة مياه الصرف الصحي إلى حوالى 14%، مما قد يؤدي إلى طفح شبكات الصرف الصحي وإنسدادها. أما بالنسبة لتلوث الهواء، فقد أظهرت الدراسة ذاتها إلى إزدياد بنسبة 20% في انبعاث ملوثات الهواء جراء الارتفاع الكبير بحركة المرور في المدن التي تستضيف لاجئين بأعداد كبيرة .

وبالتالي، وبناءً على كل ما سبق، يُجمع الخبراء البيئيون والقيّمون على الجمعيات البيئية في لبنان على أن إيجاد حلول سريعة وجذرية للمشاكل البيئية التي تعاني منها البلاد قد يكون من الصعب جداً، في ظل التدهور الأمني والاقتصادي. وفي الوقت نفسه، تقترح هذه الجمعيات حلولاً قد يكون لها أثر إيجابي في الحياة البيئية اللبنانية. ويبقى المواطن اللبناني العنصر الأساسي في العمل على حماية بيئته.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Bilal Hussein | ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Bilal Hussein | ©Flickr | ©Flickr

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Pollution / Pollution in Lebanon Posing Serious Health Risks, Damaging Tourism

Pollution in Lebanon Posing Serious Health Risks, Damaging Tourism

pollution in Lebanon garbage in Beirut
Workers start to load garbage bags into trucks from a street in Jdeideh, east Beirut, Lebanon, 19 March 2016. Photo Bilal Hussein

Lebanon stands out for its beautiful nature and the multiplicity of tourist attractions, which include the cedar forests of Bcharee and Tannourine, the Qannoubine Valley , Jeita Grotto, Baalbek Castle, Tyre, Sidon and Jbeil. Small yet diverse, it markets itself as a country where you can ski on snow-capped mountains in the morning and swim in the Mediterranean Sea in the afternoon. The Lebanese Ministry of Tourism seeks to focus on all these distinct features to attract the largest possible number of tourists.

pollution in Lebanon rubbish dump in Sidon
A scavenger sifts through garbage from a rubbish dump on the Sidon seafront in south Lebanon. Photo Ali Hashisho

What this focus carefully overlooks is the environmental pollution that is threatening Lebanon’s natural wealth and harming public health. Analysts believe that the main causes of the worsening pollution problem is the failure of the state and concerned authorities over the past years to find drastic solutions.

The garbage crisis – the uncontrolled dumping of trash – which hit local and international headlines in 2015 played a key role in shedding light on the environmental issues that have become a prime concern of Lebanese citizens.

The ‘You Stink’ campaign launched in response to the crisis, published on its Facebook page a video clip titled ‘Last Warning’. The video, which shows tons of household waste littering roads, river banks and shorelines, highlighted both the extent of the crisis and the government’s failure to resolve it. It is worth mentioning that this particular crisis dates back several years, the result of a lack of clear planning and sound procedures to dispose of waste (both solid and liquid) and garbage.

There are two main ways of disposing of garbage and waste in Lebanon. The first is incineration, which results in the emission of toxic gases such as carbon monoxide, the inhalation of which blocks the transfer of oxygen to the brain and the heart, and in extreme cases can lead to death.

Moreover, dioxin released by combustion can seriously affect the nerves and immune system and may cause a number of cancers, while sulphur dioxide may lead to acute asthma attacks.

The second way is landfills, which are often scattered randomly throughout the country. The most recent garbage crisis resulted from the closure of the al-Na’imah Landfill, the biggest in Lebanon, due to the serious health problems experienced by residents living in towns adjacent to the site.

Landfills can also lead to the emission of toxic gases such as carbon dioxide, reducing oxygen levels in the air, and decomposing waste can enter surface and groundwater sources.

In this context, Lebanon’s National Council for Scientific Research issued a statement declaring that ‘during the sandstorm that hit Lebanon and the region on 7 September 2015, which reached a climax on 9-10 September, a research unit sponsored by the council managed to measure air pollution levels in the city of Beirut compared to previous average rates’.

The statement said that pollution increased exponentially such that it exceeded the average rates by nearly 120-fold in particles the diameters of which were not more than 10 micrometres, whereas air pollution in particles with a diameter of 2.5 micrometres per particle exceeded the average rates by six-fold .

However, it is not possible to define the exact rates of air pollution in the past year or measure the exact amount of toxic gas emissions resulting solely from the accumulation of rubbish and waste, because pollution in Lebanon has many different causes. A major problem is the emission of toxic gases from factory chimneys and power generating plants.

In 2014, Our Lady of Lebanon Hospital in Jounieh, east of Beirut, which is located close to the al-Zawq thermal power plant, recorded 1,300 cases of asthma attacks and 1,280 cases of acute respiratory infections, in addition to 84 cases of lung cancer.

pollution in Lebanon chimneys of a power plant
Smoking chimneys of a power plant in Lebanon. Emissions released from power plants pose a serious threat to public health. Photo Patrick Makhloul

Some sources noted that the carbon dioxide released from the thermal power plants in the industrial area of Shakka in northern Lebanon is one of the main causes of lung cancer. Despite all the promises made to local municipalities and residents, environmental problems caused by chimneys have worsened year after year.

Exhaust emissions exacerbate the problem because Lebanon in general, and Beirut in particular, is home to a high number of vehicles. Unofficial figures show that there are about 5 million registered vehicles, both public and private, in an area of 10,452m2, a figure that is considerably higher than it could be if a strong public transportation system were in place.

The pollution of Lebanon’s coastline and water sources as a result of unregulated factory discharge constitutes another major problem. Thousands of industrial waste and pollutants are released into the sea every year, carrying with them large amounts of chemicals that directly harm marine life. Raw or insufficiently treated hospital and household sewage also carries with it organic materials that pollute the sea. Oil leaks from the thermal power plants south of Beirut, the result of the Israeli attacks on Lebanon in 2006, has worsened the situation.

Rapid population growth, including the arrival of around 1.5 million Syrian refugees, is further depleting resources and stretching Lebanon’s capacities to breaking point.

In 2014, Environment Minister Mohammad al-Mashnuq issued a statement evaluating the impact of the Syrian refugee crisis on the environment based on a study carried out by the Lebanese Ministry of Environment.

Preliminary results indicated that Syrian refugees produce approximately 15 per cent of the solid waste that the Lebanese population used to produce ahead of the refugee crisis. The study also showed that wastewater ratios rose to about 14 per cent and that this increase may lead to the blockage or overflow of the sewage system. As for air pollution, the same study showed an increase in the emission of air pollutants to 20 per cent as a result of significant traffic increases in the cities hosting large numbers of refugees.

Based on the above, experts in actuarial science and the heads of environmental associations believe that finding quick and drastic solutions to Lebanon’s environmental pollution problems are likely to be extremely difficult in light of the country’s worsening security and economic situation. At the same time, these associations propose solutions that may have a positive impact on the Lebanese environment.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.