فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / اتفاقيات أوسلو بعد ربع قرن: أفق مسدود وآمال خائبة

اتفاقيات أوسلو بعد ربع قرن: أفق مسدود وآمال خائبة

Translation- Oslo Accords
الرئيس الأمريكي الأسبق بيل كلينتون يقف بين زعيم منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية ياسر عرفات ورئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي الأسبق إسحق رابين أثناء تصافحهما للمرة الأولى في البيت الأبيض بالعاصمة الأمريكية واشنطن دي سي، وذلك في أعقاب التوقيع على اتفاقية أوسلو التاريخية بين الجانبين. المصدر: AFP.

نشر موقع “The Conversation” مقالة سلطت الضوء على تاريخ مفاوضات السلام بين الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين وما يعتري هذه العملية من أفقٍ مسدود. ويقوم صاحب المقالة الكاتب توني وولكر، الأستاذ المساعد بكلية الإعلام في جامعة لا تروب، باستعادة ما تحمله ذاكرته من تجربةٍ شخصية حول اتفاقيات أوسلو، حيث يسرد كيفية تحوّل الاتفاقية من حلمٍ كاد أن يتحقق إلى مجرد وهم من أوهام الماضي.

ويقول وولكر: “يصعب عليّ تجنّب الوقوع في شرك إحدى الذكريات المؤلمة عندما أعود بالذاكرة إلى تلك الأحداث التي وقعت قبل ٢٥ عاماً عندما تم إبرام اتفاقيات أوسلو في حديقة البيت الأبيض. لقد كنت مستلقياً على فراش المرض بالقدس، عندما وقف بيل كلينتون بين رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي إسحق رابين والزعيم الفلسطيني ياسر عرفات لأجل تلك المصافحة الشهيرة في حديقة البيت الأبيض.

كنت أتعافى حينها من جراحة تجميلية أجراها لي جراح إسرائيلي ماهر وكان السبب فيها جرحٌ ناجم عن رصاصة أطلقها الجيش الإسرائيلي عندما كنت أغطي مظاهرة لشباب الحجارة في الضفة الغربية.

ويمكن القول إن تلك الندبة – التي تشبه الوشم – بمثابة تذكرة على زمنٍ بدا فيه أن العرب واليهود، الإسرائيليون والفلسطينيون قد يصلوا إلى تسوية تاريخية.

وبعد كل هذه السنوات، تبدو احتمالات التقدم الحقيقي نحو السلام، أو ” صفقة” كما يصفها الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب، أضعف من أي وقت مضى.

وبطبيعة عملي كمراسل على مدار عقدٍ كامل من الزمن “بين عامي ١٩٨٤ و١٩٩٣” في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وكمؤلف مشارك لسيرة الزعيم الفلسطيني الراحل ياسر عرفات، فقد كنت مهتماً بما ستخرج به عملية أوسلو من نتائج.

ولقد رأيت بنفسي من خلال حوارات طويلة أجريتها مع أعضاء القيادة التاريخية لمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية تغير آرائهم من الرفض المطلق لحق إسرائيل في الوجود إلى التسليم بالقبول الضمني بوجود هذه الدولة في اتفاقيات أوسلو.

وخلال تلك الفترة التي شملت مقابلات وإحالات إلى مصادر إسرائيلية، تمنيت أن يقع طلاق لائق بين خصوم العقود الطويلة، إلا أن أملي خاب مثل كثيرين غيري.

وأسفرت الاتفاقيات، التي سميت باسم اتفاقيات أوسلو وجرت مفاوضاتها بصورةٍ سرية في العاصمة النرويجية عام 1993، عن اعتراف إسرائيل ومنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية ببعضهما البعض. وأتاح هذا الاتفاق بدء مفاوضات سلام مباشرة بين الطرفين.

حدث مدمر

بعد عامين من تلك الأحداث التاريخية في البيت الأبيض، شاهدت حلقة أخرى من سلسلة التداعيات المأساوية في الشرق الأوسط عندما كنت أعمل كمراسل في بكين.

ففي الرابع من نوفمبر من عام ١٩٩٥ تم اغتيال رابين أثناء مشاركته في حشد سياسي في تل أبيب على يد متعصب يهودي عارض التسوية مع الفلسطينيين.

وأسفرت تلك اللحظة المدمرة عن وصول رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي الحالي بنيامين نتنياهو إلى السلطة لأوّل مرّة. ولم يتعامل نتنياهو بجدية مع الفلسطينيين على مدار أربع إدارات أمريكية، وذلك في عهد كل من بيل كلينتون، وجورج دبليو بوش، وباراك أوباما، والآن دونالد ترامب.

ويرى البعض أن الفلسطينيين وقيادتهم الضعيفة يتحملون مسؤولية كبيرة عن شلل عملية السلام. وقد تكون وجهة نظر تلك صحيحة إلى حدٍّ ما، إلا أن وصول نتنياهو إلى سدّة الحكم بعد رابين أعاق هذه العملية أيضاً.

والآن لا يواجه نتنياهو في عهد إدارة ترامب أي ضغط للتنازل في المفاوضات، أو حتى للتفاوض على الإطلاق. ويبدو أن الإدارة الأمريكية الحالية عازمة بالفعل على زيادة تهميش الحركة الوطنية الفلسطينية، حتى في ظل تسارع بناء المستوطنات في الأراضي المحتلة.

وكان عدد المستوطنين اليهود في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة قد وصل إلى ١١٠ آلاف مستوطن عشية اتفاقيات أوسلو. واليوم، ارتفع ذلك العدد ليضل إلى 430 ألف مستوطن. وارتفعت تلك الأرقام في عام 2017 بنسبة تزيد بنسبة 20% عن المعدّل المسجّل في السنوات السابقة.

ولم يكن قرار إدارة ترامب بنقل السفارة الأمريكية إلى القدس دون التمييز بين “القدس الغربية اليهودية” أو “القدس الشرقية العربية” ليكون أكثر عدائية.

وباتخاذها لهذا القرار وبامتناعها عن توضيح عدم تخليها عن الإعلان عن القدس الشرقية كعاصمة مستقبليةً للدولة الفلسطينية المزعومة، تكون الإدارة الأمريكية قد كشفت عن ازدرائها للأحلام الفلسطينية المشروعة.

وزادت حدة التوتر بفعل القرارات اللاحقة للإدارة، إذ قامت هذه الإدارة بقطع التمويل الذي تقدّمه لوكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين “الأونروا”، والمساعدة التي تقدمها للمستشفيات الفلسطينية في القدس الشرقية.

وتعتبر الأونروا المنظمة المسؤولة عن إعاشة آلاف من اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في مخيمات الضفة الغربية، وغزة، والأردن، ولبنان، وسوريا. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن هؤلاء هم الضحايا المستمرون لما وصفه الكاتب بحرب الاستقلال التي شنتها إسرائيل في عام 1948 ضد العرب “النكبة”.

وفي هذا السياق، تجدر الإشارة إلى أن جاريد كوشنر، صهر ترامب والمبعوث الأمريكي لمنطقة الشرق الأوسط، حثّ على رفض منح الفلسطينيين ونسلهم من النازحين صفة اللاجئ بسبب حرب ١٩٤٨.

وكان ذلك العام قد شهد تحوّل حوالي 750 ألف شخص، أو ما يشكل ثلثي سكان فلسطين التي كانت تحت الانتداب البريطاني، إلى لاجئين.

وبعد عقود من الصراع بين إسرائيل والفلسطينيين، بما في ذلك خوض حربين كبيرتين – وهما حرب الأيام الستة في عام 1967 وحرب يوم الغفران في عام 1973 – توصل الجانبان في عام 1993 إلى ما وُصف آنذاك بالتسوية التاريخية.

تلاشي الآمال

Translation- Bejamin Netanyahu
رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو مصافحاً رئيس السلطة الفلسطينية ياسر عرفات لأول مرّة على الجانب الإسرائيلي من معبر إيرز بين إسرائيل وقطاع غزّة في الرابع من سبتمبر من عام ١٩٩٦. المصدر: AFP.

ما يجب فهمه عن أوسلو هو أن وثيقتيْها اللتين وقع عليهما رابين وعرفات لم تتجاوزا أكثر من الاعتراف المتبادل بإسرائيل ومنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية في الوثيقة الأولى، وفي الثانية إعلان مبادئ يضع أجندة للتفاوض على الحكم الذاتي الفلسطيني في الأراضي المحتلة.

لكن ما لم تفعله أوسلو هو وضع خريطة طريق مفصلة لمفاوضات الوضع النهائي، والتي كان من المقرر أن تكتمل في غضون خمس سنوات. وكان من المفترض أن تعمل هذه الخطة على القضايا العويصة الخاصة باللاجئين، والقدس، ونزع السلاح من المناطق الفلسطينية في حالة التوصل لحل الدولتين، وأي شيء آخر بخلاف الاعتراف الضمني بالتنازلات الإقليمية، بما في ذلك مقايضة الأراضي التي ستكون ضرورية لتحقيق اتفاق دائم.

وكتب البروفيسور في جامعة أكسفورد آفي شلائيم بمجلة دراسات فلسطين في عام 1994 واصفاً مصافحة البيت الأبيض بالتالي: “إنه أحد أهم الأحداث التي شهدها تاريخ الشرق الأوسط في القرن العشرين. لقد أعاد الزعيمان في خطوة واحدة مذهلة رسم الخريطة الجيوسياسية للمنطقة بأكملها”.

إلا أن آمال البروفيسور المتقاعد تلاشت الآن إزاء إمكانية التوصل لتسوية حقيقية، شأنه في ذلك شأن كثيرين غيره.

وفي إشارة إلى القانون الجديد الذي أقره الكنيست ضمن “القانون الأساسي” والذي ينص على أن إسرائيل “دولة قومية للشعب اليهودي”، علّق شلائيم مؤخراً: “يتناقض هذا القانون تماماً مع إعلان الاستقلال في عام 1948 والذي يقر بالمساواة الكاملة بين جميع مواطني الدولة (دون تمييز على أساس الدين أو العرق أو الجنس) … لقد أعاد نتنياهو تشكيل إسرائيل جذرياً باعتبارها دولة قومية للشعب اليهودي وليست دولة يهودية وديمقراطية. ومادامت الحكومة التي أصدرت هذا القانون في السلطة، سيبقى أي اتفاق طوعي بين إسرائيل والفلسطينيين محض أوهام”.

ويتشارك شلائيم في أحلامه مع مارتن إنديك، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي لمعهد بروكينغز، حيث يأمل كلاهما في وقوع “تحول تاريخي” على مستوى أحداث الصراع العربي الإسرائيلي.
وباعتباره المستشار المختص بشؤون الشرق الأوسط في مجلس الأمن القومي خلال حقبة إدارة كلينتون، فقد كان إنديك مسؤولاً عن ترتيبات عام 1993 في الحديقة الجنوبية من البيت الأبيض. وكتب إنديك: “تمثل القصد من المصافحة في الدلالة على اللحظة التي قرر فيها الزعماء الإسرائيليون والفلسطينيون البدء بعملية إنهاء صراعهم الدموي وحل اختلافاتهم على طاولة المفاوضات”.

إلا أن أوسلو لفظت أنفاسها الأخيرة بعد مرور عقدين من الزمن وبالتحديد في عام ٢٠١٤، وذلك بعدما بذل وزير الخارجية الأمريكية حينها جون كيري كل ما في وسعه لإنقاذ هذه العملية من عناد نتنياهو. وفي أي حالٍ من الأحوال، فإن أوسلو كانت تحتضر منذ اغتيال رابين.

ويضيف إنديك: “ثم أتى ترامب بصفقة القرن”. ويضيف المستشار الأمريكي السابق: “لم يكشف (ترامب) عن خطته بعد، إلا أن الهدف منها يبدو هدفها واضحاً؛ ألا وهو شرعنة الوضع الراهن ووصفه بالسلام. وكان ترامب قد حاول بالفعل التدخل في كل قضايا الوضع النهائي لصالح إسرائيل، فلا عاصمة في القدس الشرقية للفلسطينيين ولا “لحق العودة” للاجئين الفلسطينيين، ولا إخلاء للمستوطنات النائية، ولا رجوع لحدود 1967، ولا نهاية للاحتلال، ولا دولة فلسطينية … على مدار أكثر من 25 عاماً، تبدل دور الولايات المتحدة، ابتداءً من لعب دور الشاهد، ومروراً بلعب دور المشرف، ووصولاً إلى لعب دور الحَكَم. وبذلك فشلت (واشنطن) مع الأسف في مساعدة الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين على صنع السلام، تاركةً إياهم حالياً فيما يُعد في جوهره صراعاً مجمداً”.

ومع ذلك، يظهر لنا التاريخ أن “الصراعات المجمدة” لا تبقى على حالها للأبد، خاصةً وأنها تميل للانفجار على حين غرة.

ويختم توني وولكر مقالته بالتالي: “قبل 25 عاماً، جاورت عشرات الجرحى الفلسطينيين في مستشفى دموي لا يختلف كثيراً عن مشاهد مسلسل M.A.S.H الأمريكي. وبعض هؤلاء لن يتعافى من جروح فظيعة ناجمة عن ذخيرة حية. حينها سألت نفسي وما زلت أتساءل اليوم: ما الهدف من كلّ ذلك”.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

  • التراث كوسيلة من وسائل المقاومة: شباب المناطق الفلسطينية المحتلة يستخدمون ماضيهم لحماية مستقبلهم

    أظهر الباحثون مدى ما يتمتع به التراث الثقافي من قدرة على تعزيز تماسك المجتمعات وعلاقتها بالأرض التي تعيش فيها. كما تحدث الباحثون مراراً عن وضع قراهم على الخريطة، وجعلها جزءاً من مجتمع بدوي أوسع يمتد عبر الزمان (بين الأجيال السابقة واللاحقة) والمكان. وبالطبع، فقد باتت جهود هؤلاء واضحة للعيان على المستويات المحلية والوطنية والدولية. فالتراث الثقافي والإجراءات المتخذة لحمايته، يمثل مورداً لدعم المساواة وطريقة للتشارك برؤية مختلفة لما يمكن أن تكون عليه الحياة في هذه المجتمعات المحاصرة.
  • استراتيجية الصراع بين إسرائيل وغزّة تشارف على حافة الهاوية

    قد تكون إسرائيل وغزة استأنفتا حالياً وقف إطلاق النار الهش بينهما، إلا أنه من المرجح استمرار حالة الاضطراب والعنف بين الجانبين إلا إذا وقعت معجزة. ومما لا شك فيه، فإن هذا الأمر يترك الجانبين على بعد حادثةٍ واحدة من الوقوع في الحرب.
  • العقوبات الأمريكية على إيران تدعم نفوذ الصين عالمياً

    باتت الصين نتيجة لهذه التطورات أحد القوى الفاعلة المهمة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط عبر تحديها للنظام القائم هناك وتغييرها له. في الوقت الذي تم فيه اعتبار العقوبات كمحاولةً للحفاظ على الهيمنة الأمريكية في المنطقة، فإن هذه العقوبات سيكون لها عواقب من شأنها تحدي هذا السعي بطريقةٍ غير مباشرة. فهذه الخطة الأمريكية قد تفشل في تحقيق هدفها فشلاً ذريعاً

Fanack Home / Twenty-Five Years after the Oslo Accords, the Prospect of Peace in the Middle East remains Bleak

Twenty-Five Years after the Oslo Accords, the Prospect of Peace in the Middle East remains Bleak

Translation- Oslo Accords
US President Bill Clinton (C) stands between PLO leader Yasser Arafat (R) and Israeli Prime Minister Yitzahk Rabin (L) as they shake hands for the first time, at the White House in Washington DC, after signing the historic Israel-PLO Oslo Accords on Palestinian autonomy in the occupied territories. Photo AFP

By: Tony Walker

Looking back on events 25 years ago, when the Oslo Accords were struck on the White House lawn, it is hard to avoid a painful memory.

I was watching from a sickbed in Jerusalem when Bill Clinton stood between Israel’s Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin and Palestinian leader Yasser Arafat for that famous handshake on the White House lawn.

At that moment, I was recovering from plastic surgery carried out by a skilled Israeli surgeon and necessitated by a bullet wound inflicted by the Israeli Defence Forces. (I had been caught in crossfire while covering a demonstration in the West Bank by stone-throwing Palestinian youths.)

That scar – like a tattoo – is a reminder of a time when it seemed just possible Arabs and Jews, Israelis and Palestinians could bring themselves to reach an historic compromise.

All these years later, prospects of real progress towards peace, or as American president Donald Trump puts it, the “deal of the century”, seems further away than ever.

As a correspondent in the Middle East for a decade (1984-1993) and as co-author of a biography of Arafat, I had an understandable interest in the outcome of the Oslo process.

In hours of conversations with members of the Palestine Liberation Organisation’s historical leadership, I had tracked the PLO’s faltering progression from outright rejection of Israel’s right to exist to acceptance implicit in the Oslo Accords.

Throughout that process of interviewing and cross-referencing with Israeli sources, I had hoped an honourable divorce could be achieved between decades-long adversaries. Like many, I was disappointed.

In 1993, the so-called Oslo Accords, negotiated in secret outside the Norwegian capital, resulted in mutual recognition of Israel and the PLO. This enabled the beginning of face-to-face peace negotiations.

A Devastating Event

Two years after the historic events at the White House, and by then correspondent in Beijing, I witnessed another episode of lasting and, as it turned out, tragic consequences for the Middle East.

On November 4, 1995, Rabin was assassinated while attending a political rally in Tel Aviv by a Jewish fanatic opposed to compromise with the Palestinians.

That devastating moment brought to power for the first time the current Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu. He has distinguished himself by his unwillingness to engage meaningfully with the Palestinians through four US administrations: those of Bill Clinton, George W Bush, Barack Obama, and now Trump.

Some argue the Palestinians and their enfeebled leadership bear significant responsibility for peace process paralysis. That viewpoint is valid, up to a point. But it is also the case that Netanyahu’s replacement of Rabin stifled momentum.

Under Trump, Netanyahu finds himself under no pressure to concede ground in negotiations, or even negotiate at all. Indeed, the administration seems intent on further marginalising a Palestinian national movement, even as settlement construction in the occupied areas continues apace.

On the eve of the accords, there were 110,000 Jewish settlers in the West Bank and Gaza Strip. That number has grown to 430,000 today. In 2017, those numbers grew by 20% more than the average for previous years.

The Trump administration’s decision to move the American embassy to Jerusalem without making a distinction between Jewish West or Arab East Jerusalem could hardly have been more antagonistic.

By taking this action, and not making it clear that East Jerusalem as a future capital of a putative Palestinian state would not be compromised, the administration has thumbed its nose at legitimate Palestinian aspirations.

The administration’s follow-up moves to strip funding for the United Nations Works and Relief Agency (UNWRA) and assistance to Palestinian hospitals in East Jerusalem have further soured the atmosphere.

UNWRA is responsible for the livelihoods of thousands of Palestinian refugees in camps in the West Bank, Gaza, Jordan, Lebanon and Syria. These are the ongoing casualties of Israel’s 1948 War of Independence against the Arabs.

In this context, it is interesting to note that Jared Kushner, Trump’s son-in-law and Middle East envoy, has urged that refugee status be denied Palestinians and their offspring displaced by the war of 1948.

In that year, two-thirds, or about 750,000 residents of what had been Palestine under a British mandate became refugees.

Against this background and years of conflict between Israel and the Palestinians, including two major wars – the Six-Day War of 1967 and Yom Kippur War of 1973 – the two sides had in 1993 reached what was then described as an historic compromise.

Hopes Dashed

Translation- Bejamin Netanyahu
Israeli Prime Minister Bejamin Netanyahu (left) shakes hand with the President of Palestinian Authority (PNA) Yasser Arafat (right) for the first time, at Israeli side of the Erez crossing point between Israel and the Gaza Strip, on September 04, 1996. Photo AFP

What needs to be understood about Oslo is that its two documents, signed by Rabin and Arafat, did not go further than mutual recognition of Israel and the PLO in the first, and, in the second, a declaration of principles laying down an agenda for the negotiation of Palestinian self-government in the occupied territories.

What Oslo did not do was provide a detailed road-map for final status negotiations, which were to be completed within five years. This would deal with the vexed issues of refugees, Jerusalem, demilitarisation of the Palestinian areas in the event of a two-state settlement, and anything but an implied acknowledgement of territorial compromise, including land swaps, that would be needed to bring about a lasting agreement.

Writing in the Journal of Palestine Studies in 1994, Oxford professor Avi Shlaim described the White House handshake as: “one of the most momentous events in the 20th-century history of the Middle East. In one stunning move, the two leaders redrew the geopolitical map of the entire region.”

Now emeritus professor, Shlaim’s own hopes, along with those of many others, that genuine compromise was possible, have been dashed.

Referring to the recent passage through the Knesset of a “basic law” that declares Israel to be “the nation-state of the Jewish people”, Shlaim recently observed:”This law stands in complete contradiction to the 1948 declaration of independence, which recognizes the full equality of all the state’s citizens ‘without distinction of religion, race or sex’… Netanyahu has radically reconfigured Israel as the nation-state of the Jewish people, rather than a Jewish and a democratic state. As long as the government that introduced this law stays in power, any voluntary agreement between Israel and the Palestinians will remain largely a pipe dream.”

Martin Indyk, now en route to the Council on Foreign Relations from the Brookings Institution, shared Shlaim’s hopes of an “historic turning point’’ in the annals of the Arab-Israeli conflict.

As Clinton’s National Security Council adviser on the Middle East, Indyk was responsible for the 1993 arrangements on the White House South Lawn. He writes: “The handshake was meant to signify the moment when Israeli and Palestinian leaders decided to begin the process of ending their bloody conflict and resolving their differences at the negotiating table.”

Two decades later, in 2014, the funeral rites were pronounced on the Oslo Process after then Secretary of State John Kerry had done all he could to revive it against Netanyahu’s obduracy. Oslo had, in any case, been on life support since Rabin’s assassination.

“Then,” in Indyk’s words, “along came Trump with “the Deal of the Century”. Indyk writes: “His plan has yet to be revealed but its purpose appears clear – to legitimize the status quo and call it peace. Trump has already attempted to arbitrate every one of the final status issues in Israel’s favor: no capital in East Jerusalem for the Palestinians; no ‘right of return’ for Palestinian refugees; no evacuation of outlying settlements; no ’67 lines; no end of occupation; and no Palestinian state… Over 25 years, in shifting roles from witness to midwife, to arbiter, the United States has sadly failed to help Israelis and Palestinians make peace, leaving them for the time being in what has essentially been a frozen conflict.”

However, as history shows, “frozen conflicts” don’t remain frozen forever. They tend to erupt when least expected.

Twenty-five years ago, I shared a bloody hospital casualty station – not unlike a scene from M.A.S.H. – with more than a dozen wounded Palestinians. Some of them would not recover from terrible wounds inflicted by live ammunition.

I asked myself then, as I do now: what’s the point of it all?

Remark: This article was originally published by https://www.theconversation.com/ in September 17, 2018.

The Conversation

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.

  • Heritage as Resistance: Young People in Occupied Palestinian Territory are using their Past to protect their Future

    Cultural heritage can strengthen communities and their ties to the land they live on. The researchers repeatedly talked about putting their villages on the map, and making them part of a wider Bedouin community which extends through both time (to previous and future generations) and space. They have become visible to local, national and international audiences. Cultural heritage, and the actions taken to protect it, become a resource both to encourage equality and to share a different vision of what life could be in these embattled communities.
  • Israel-Gaza Brinkmanship Slips over the Brink

    For the time being, Israel and Gaza have resumed their shaky ceasefire. But absent some miracle, the violent instability seems likely to continue, leaving the two sides only one incident away from war.
  • Iran: How US Sanctions are strengthening China’s Global Power

    As a result of these developments, China has become one of the wild cards of the Middle East, challenging and changing the established system there. While the sanctions were seen as an attempt to preserve American dominance in the region, they will have consequences that will indirectly challenge this. This is one US play that could badly misfire.