فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الحركات الاحتجاجية في العراق في عصر “مجتمعٍ مدني جديد”

الحركات الاحتجاجية في العراق في عصر “مجتمعٍ مدني جديد”

Protests iraq
متظاهرون عراقيون يرفعون علم بلادهم ويصدحون بالهتافات أثناء مظاهرة في ساحة التحرير ببغداد يوم ٢٧ مايو ٢٠١٦، متحدين بذلك دعوة رئيس الوزراء العراقي لوقف التظاهرات أثناء قتال القوى الأمنية لتنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية” في الفلوجة. وأطلقت القوى الأمنية الغاز المسيل للدموع أثناء تجمّع مئات الآلاف من المتظاهرين وسط بغداد بهدف الوصول التوجّه نحو المنطقة الخضراء، وهي منطقة محصّنة تم احتراقها مرتين الشهر الماضي. المصدر: Jean Marc MOJON / AFP. ©AFP ⁃ Jean Marc MOJON

نشر الموقع الإلكتروني الخاص بـ “معهد أبحاث النزاعات” مقالة سلّطت الضوء على ما شهده العراق من احتجاجاتٍ أخيرة. وتحاول صاحبة المقالة زهراء علي، الأستاذة المساعدة في قسم علم الاجتماع بجامعة “روتغرز”، توضيح أثر هذه الاحتجاجات في تشكيل مجتمعٍ مدني جديد وفي تغيير المعادلة السياسية الذي يعيشها العراق، مشدّدة في الوقت نفسه على أن وعي الشباب يعكس اهتماماً بضرورة التخلّص من نظام المحاصصة، وإنهاء السياسات الطائفية باعتبارها مطلباً لا يقل أهمية عن المطالب بالحرية والمساواة. وفي عام 2018، رفضت التظاهرات في البصرة أي نوع من القيادة كما ابتعدت عن الجماعات والائتلافات السياسية، وكان المتظاهرون يطالبون بمطالب تجاوزت مطالبهم في عام 2015، باتجاه رفض تام للنخبة والنظام السياسي. احتجاجات هذا العام، تشابه البصرة في أشكالها ومطالبها، حيث توسعت لتشمل طبقات الفقراء المطالبين بنظام جديد بالكامل، بعد فشل الاحزاب السياسية في تحقيق مطالب المتظاهرون.

ويشهد العراق منذ عام 2015 حركة احتجاجاتٍ شعبية غير مسبوقة احتشد فيها جيلٌ كامل من شبابه للمطالبة بإحداث تغييرٍ جذري في النظام. واستناداً لما قامت به صاحبة المقالة مؤخراً من عملٍ ميداني مع النساء ومع المنظمات والشبكات العاملة على مستوى المجتمع المدني والشباب، فإنها تقوم باستكشاف الاحتجاجات العراقية في ضوء التنظيرات الجديدة عن المجتمع المدني المعاصر والحركات الاجتماعية. وبحسب علي، فإن فكرة “المدنية” التي يطالب بها المحتجون العراقيون ليست مجرد تعبيرٍ عن لحظةٍ سياسية تخص مرحلة “ما بعد الإسلاموية”، بل إنها نتاج تجربةٍ مريرة مع العنف الطائفي في سياق انهيار الدولة. فالشباب العراقي يؤمن بعدم إمكانية فصل مطالب العدالة الاجتماعية وإعادة التوزيع الاقتصادي عن المطالبة بالمساواة الطائفية والحرية الدينية، فكلاهما مسألة حياةٍ أو موت.

مجتمعٌ مدني جديد؟

يرتبط البحث الذي أجرته صاحبة المقالة بمفهوم بول “غريدي وسايمن روبنز” عن “المجتمع المدني الجديد” ونقد الباحثة إصلاح جاد “تحويل الحركات الاجتماعية في المنطقة العربية إلى منظماتٍ غير حكومية”. وغالباً ما تخضع مفاهيم المجتمع المدني، بحسب هؤلاء الباحثين، لما تحمله منظمات حقوق الإنسان غير الحكومية من رؤية تجاه العدالة الانتقالية على مستوى النظرية والممارسة. وإذا ما تم النظر إلى المجتمع المدني باعتباره المساحة الخارجة عن قبضة الدولة والسوق الاقتصادية، فإن الفرق بين المجتمع المدني “القديم” و”الجديد” عند غريدي وروبنز يكمن في علاقة الدولة بمؤسساتها: فالمجتمع المدني القديم يتّسم بتلقيه للدعم من الدولة ومؤسساتها، ويبني إمكاناته من خلالها، ويعتبرها نقطةً مرجعية رئيسية، بينما يؤكد مفهوم المجتمع المدني الجديد على الاستقلال عن الدولة. ويشير “المجتمع المدني الجديد” إلى أشكالٍ من الفعل والاحتجاج، وفي الحالة العراقية يتجلى ذلك عبر رفض الطائفية والسياسات المبنية على أساس مفهوم الهوية.

وكانت الاحتجاجات السابقة التي شهدها ساحة التحرير ببغداد عام 2011 في سياق “الربيع العربي”، وكذلك الاحتجاجات العراقية في عام 2015، حملت في طياتها نواة التغيير وتركت أثراً كبيراً. وشهد يوليو من عام ٢٠١٥ انطلاق المظاهرات بحضور عشرات الآلاف من المتظاهرين، واستمرت هذه المظاهرات كل جمعة حتى وصل تعداد المتظاهرين إلى قرابة مليون شخص. وندد المتظاهرون بالنظام السياسي العرقي والطائفي الذي تأسس نتيجةً للغزو والاحتلال الأمريكي عام 2003، مرددين هتافات مماثلة لـ “باسم الدين باگونا [سرقونا] الحرامية”. وشكّك المحتجون حينذاك بالنخبة السياسية الدينية برمتها، بالتزامن مع إدانة الفساد المؤسسي المتفشي، ونقص الخدمات الأساسية كالكهرباء والماء، وانعدام البنية التحتية للصحة والتعليم، وكذلك البطالة المستفحلة. وانتشرت الاحتجاجات في جميع أنحاء البلاد واستمرت لما يزيد عن خمسة أشهر عبر الأعمال المماثلة للاعتصامات عند مدخل المنطقة الخضراء في بغداد وأمام البرلمان العراقي.

دعا لحركة الاحتجاج العراقية في عام 2015 شبابٌ غير منظم تقلّ أعمارهم عن 30 عاماً من الطبقة المتوسطة والشريحة الأدنى من هذه الطبقة، وكان معظم هؤلاء من المعلمين وموظفي الدولة. ومع ذلك، فقد انتمى الأفراد الذين تولوا قيادة الحركة إلى جيلٍ يكبر الشباب سنّاً، ومعظمهم ممّن يتمتعون بخبرةٍ سابقة وعملوا سابقاً في المجتمع المدني أو في المنظمات السياسية المماثلة للحزب الشيوعي العراقي. ويرى علي طاهر الحمود أن احتجاجات عام 2015 كانت احتجاجات للطبقة الوسطى الساعية لتأكيد وجودها بعد عقودٍ من الصمت. وتزامنت عودة ظهور هذه الطبقة التي دُمرت على إثر الأزمة الاقتصادية والحروب المتعاقبة مع نهاية العقوبات التي فرضتها الأمم المتحدة في عام 2003.

Corruption in iraq
مناصرو الإمام الشيعي العراقي مقتدى الصدر يصلّون في مظاهرة دعت لإصلاح الحكومة والقضاء على الفساد يوم ٢٥ مارس ٢٠١٦، وذلك خارج البوابات الرئيسية للمنطقة الخضراء بالعاصمة العراقية بغداد. ودعا الصدر رئيس الوزراء (السابق) حيدر العبادي لطرح حزمة إصلاحات “مقنعة”، منوهاً إلى استمرارية الطابع السلمي للتظاهرات حتى في حال لم يقم العبادي بتلبية مطالب المحتجين. المصدر: AHMAD AL-RUBAYE / AFP ©AFP ⁃ AHMAD AL-RUBAYE

وتبرز احتجاجات 2015 الفجوة المتنامية بين النخبة السياسية وبقية الشعب العراقي. ويرى “الشارع السياسي” العراقي، بحسب تعبير آصف بيات، أن النخبة السياسية طائفية وفاسدة وتقع عليها مسؤولية العنف الطائفي ونقص خدمات الدولة. كما أن الشباب الذي يشكّلون نواة الاحتجاجات نشؤوا وسط الحرب الطائفية في بلدٍ يفتقر إلى البنية التحتية والخدمات الأساسية، وتُبنى فيه مؤسسات الدولة بالفساد والمحسوبية. وكلا من الإسلاموية والتشكّلات السياسية الهوياتية مرفوضان تماماً، وهذا ما يتضح في الشعار الرئيسي للحركة الذي لا يدين النخبة السياسية الإسلامية وفسادها فحسب، بل ينتقد أيضاً أهمية الدين في الحياة اليومية في العراق منذ 2003. ومن خلال مفهوم “المدنية”، يرفض المتظاهرون الأسلمة والطائفية في الحياة الاجتماعية والسياسية، ويطالبون بدولة الرفاه التي ستعيد توزيع الثروة العراقية على مواطني هذه الدولة.

وتُعدّ الاحتجاجات المشهد الأبرز ضمن مجموعةٍ واسعة من المبادرات الاجتماعية والسياسية التي تنتشر في البلاد وتفتح مجالاتٍ وممارساتٍ اجتماعية وسياسية خارج نطاق المنظمات غير الحكومية وتشكّل “مجتمعاً مدنياً جديداً”. ومن الأمثلة على مثل هذه المبادرات تنظيم الاحتفال بيوم عيد الحب في ميدان التحرير لتشجيع دور الحب في بناء السلام، ناهيك عن حملة “أنا عراقي أنا أقرأ” التي تم تنظيمها على الأرصفة وفي الحدائق لتشجيع “ثقافة القراءة”. واتسمت هذه المبادرات الجديدة التي أنشأها الشباب العراقي المتعلم منذ عام 2011 بمستوى عالٍ من الإبداع والأصالة، وشارك معظم الشباب الذين أطلقوا هذه المبادرات بعد ذلك في احتجاجات عام 2015 وأصروا على تطوير وعيٍ يقوده رفض العنف والسياسة الطائفية، والدفاع عن حرية التفكير.

وفي إطار ما قامت به صاحبة المقالة من عملٍ ميداني ومقابلات مع المتظاهرين الشباب، لاحظت وجود فجوة مهمة بين أجيال الناشطين ممّن وُلدوا في أواخر التسعينيات وأولئك الذين وُلدوا قبل هذه الفترة. فكلما كان الأفراد أصغر سناً، أصبحت مطالبهم بالتغيير ورفضهم للنخبة السياسية والنظام أكثر راديكاليةً. وبحسب ما أشارت له مارسين الشمّري، فإن “الحنين إلى عهد صدّام” كان ملحوظاً لدى الجيل الذي يقلّ عمر أبنائه عن 30 عاماً، علماً بأن هذا الجيل لم يعش قط في ظل ذلك النظام الاستبدادي.

وشهدت احتجاجات عام ٢٠١٥ ظهور جدل رئيسي قسّم النشطاء والمتظاهرين في ميدان التحرير ببغداد حول مشاركة التيار الصدري الشيعي المحافظ، إذ وجه بعض المحتجين لهذا التيار اتهاماتٍ بفرض نفسه على الحراك. في المقابل، نظر آخرون إلى مشاركة التيار كوسيلةٍ لإشراك قاعدته الجماهيرية الكبيرة من الطبقة العاملة في الحراك. وتعاملت بعض الناشطات في حقوق المرأة ببراغماتية مع الموضوع، إذ نظرن إلى مشاركة التيار الصدري كفرصة لنشر الأفكار المدنية بين جماهير هذا التيار من البروليتاريا “الطبقة الكادحة”. من جهةٍ أخرى، انتقد آخرون بشكلٍ كبير غياب المطالب النسوية الواضحة ضمن الاحتجاجات، ورفضوا مشاركة الصدريين الذين وصفوهم بالجماعة الدينية والمحافظة. كما انتقد العديد من الناشطات النسويات حركة عام 2015 لاستيعابها الحركة الإسلامية الشيعية عبر تبنّي مطالب “مدنية” و”قومية” بدلاً من “علمانية” و”يسارية”.

وشهدت الآونة الأخيرة، وبالتحديد في يوليو 2018، خروج احتجاجاتٍ في محافظة البصرة الغنية بالنفط، علماً بأن هذه الاحتجاجات انتشرت في الجنوب الشيعي. وتجاوزت هتافات هذا الاحتجاج، الذي شكّل الشباب معظمه، انتقاد سوء خدمات الدولة، إذ هتف المتظاهرون: “لا وطن!” و”لا، لا، لا للأحزاب!”. رفضت التظاهرات في البصرة أي نوع من القيادة كما ابتعدت عن الجماعات والائتلافات السياسية، وكان المتظاهرون يطالبون بمطالب تجاوزت مطالبهم في عام 2015 التي كانت تركز على نظام المحاصصة الطائفية، باتجاه رفض النظام السياسي وتغيير النظام. احتجاجات هذا العام، تشابه البصرة في أشكالها ومطالبها، حيث توسعت لتشمل طبقات الفقراء المطالبين بنظام جديد بالكامل، بعد فشل الاحزاب السياسية في تحقيق مطالب المتظاهرين.

من الاعتراف لإعادة التوزيع؟

ترى نانسي فريزر أن المطالبة بإعادة التوزيع تتوافق مع معالجة الظلم الاجتماعي والاقتصادي المتجذر في الهيكل السياسي والاقتصادي لمجتمعٍ ما (الاستغلال، والحرمان، والتهميش الاقتصادي)، في حين تقوم مطالبات الاعتراف بمعالجة الظلم الرمزي و”الثقافي” المتجذر في أنماط التمثيل، والتفسير، والتواصل. كما تعتقد فريزر أن التقاطع بين الطبقة والعرق والجنس على سبيل المثال هو تقاطعٌ اجتماعي اقتصادي ورمزي، وأن العدالة الطبقية والعرقية وبين الجنسين تتطلب إعادة التوزيع والاعتراف. محاولة فريزر لدراسة العلاقة بين هذه الأشياء، ونقدها التحليلي المهم لفكرة “معضلة الاعتراف/إعادة التوزيع” هي أمرٌ مثيرٌ للاهتمام في اكتشافنا للتعبئة السياسية والاجتماعية اليوم في العراق.

ويبدو واضحاً أن إدارة الاحتلال وما لحق بها من سياسات النخبة العراقية الجديدة قد هيمن عليها نموذج الاعتراف، ويعني هذا الأمر أن سياسات الهوية الاثنية والطائفية المعدة سلفاً فُرضت من أعلى، وأُضفي عليها الطابع المؤسسي. وهذا تحديداً ما ترفضه حركات الاحتجاج، وتطرح بدلاً منه ما يسميه فالح عبد الجبار “سياسة القضية” التي يهيمن عليها نموذج إعادة التوزيع. وفي حين أن السياق الذي أعقب غزو العراق واحتلاله يتسم بوضوح بإضفاء الطابع المؤسسي على سياسات الهوية عبر نظام المحاصصة الذي يحدّد التمثيل السياسي على أساس الهويات المجتمعية الدينية أو الإثنية أو الطائفية، فإنه من الضروري بالقدر نفسه تحليل سياسات الهوية باعتبارها متغيرةً وديناميكيةً. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن حركات الاحتجاج الأخيرة لا تتجاوز موضوع المحاصصة الطائفية، إذ أن الفاعلين الرئيسيين فيها هم أساساً مواطنون شيعة يحتجّون على النخبة السياسية الشيعية.

وإلى جانب معضلة إعادة التوزيع/الاعتراف، يظهر البحث الذي أجرته زهراء علي أن الاستقطاب بين النخبة والشعب بحاجة إلى تحليل عبر النظر في السياسة الاقتصادية النيوليبرالية (الخصخصة، أزمة التوظيف وما إلى ذلك)، والاقتصاد السياسي للحرب (تكوين الميليشيات، والعسكرة وما إلى ذلك)، و”سُمّية الحياة اليومية” لعمر الديوه جي، والتي تعرّفها صاحبة المقالة هنا بالظروف الهيكلية للحياة اليومية، وسبل العيش مثل البنية التحتية للصحة والظروف البيئية.

ولم تحظى احتجاجات البصرة الأخيرة بصدى في المحافظات السنية التي دُمّرت غالبيتها خلال ما شهده عام ٢٠٠٣ من معارك عسكرية عديدة، ناهيك عن الحرب التي تم شنّها ضد تنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية” في الموصل. وكما أشار الباحث صفاء خلف، فإن الملايين من سكان هذه المحافظات، سواءً الذين يعيشون في مخيمات أو في ظروف قاسية، يخشون أن يُوصموا “بالإرهاب” أو أن يتم اتهامهم بالانتماء لتنظيم “الدولة الإسلامية” أو أن تقوم الحكومة بقمعهم. كما أن حركة الاحتجاج لم تنتشر في كردستان العراق رغم الأزمة الاقتصادية التي تمر بها هذه المنطقة. وتمثّل حركة الاحتجاج الحالية في هيكلها ومطالبها ومداها تحولاً من “سياسة الاعتراف” المرتبطة بالنظام الذي تدعمه النخبة السياسية إلى سياسة إعادة التوزيع. وتلخص الأزمة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والصحية الحادة التي تعيشها البصرة كلّ الخلل الهيكلي الموجود في النظام السياسي العراقي بعد عام 2003، إذ يقوم هذا النظام بحرمان المواطنين من موارد بلادهم النفطية الغنية.

وتختم زهراء علي مقالتها بالتالي: “إذا كان بالإمكان اعتبار حركة 2015 من سمات “المجتمع المدني الجديد”، فإن خصوصيات السياق العراقي المبني على العنف السياسي والطائفي تجعل رفض سياسات الهوية أمراً محورياً، لا سيما الهوية الطائفية والدين. وتعتبر الحرية الفردية عند المتظاهرين العراقيين، لا سيما حرية عدم الانتماء لجماعة دينية وطائفية، ضرورية شأنها في ذلك شأن المساواة الاقتصادية. فالمدنية التي يطالب بها الشباب العراقي ليست مجرد تجسيد للحظةٍ “ما بعد إسلاموية” انتشرت في جميع أنحاء المنطقة خلال العقد الماضي. بل إنها نتيجة تجربةٍ مؤلمة مع العنف الطائفي الذي تفاقم بعد غزو تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية. وعلى هذا النحو، فإن حرية الشباب العراقي في عدم الإيمان بالدين أو الانتماء إلى طائفة ما تحظى بنفس أهمية التحرر من الفقر خاصّة وأن كليهما أصبحا: مسألة حياة أو موت”.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Jean Marc MOJON | ©AFP ⁃ AHMAD AL-RUBAYE

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

  • الملصقات المشوهة وروح الاختلاف الصامتة في مصر

    لا تعدو الملصقات عن كونها أحد الأمثلة على العديد من الآثار التي جعلت المساحات الحضرية أشبه بالمتاحف. إن هذه الملصقات الممزقة تظهر ذاكرتي الفوضوية في مخيلتي وربما في مخيلات آخرين، ويخيّل لي كما لو كنت أبحث في مرآةٍ مقلوبة أرى فيها الماضي ينهار في الوقت الحاضر. إنها تذكرني برغبتي في تمزيق الماضي ووضع ملصق آخر فوقه.
  • اضمحلال استبدادية أردوغان: فرصة جديدة للديمقراطية في تركيا؟

    ومن المفارقات أن صناعة استبداد إردوغان خلقت فرصة كبيرة لتحرّرٍ جذري في النظام السياسي التركي. فالتخلي عن الانضباط المؤسسي، وزعزعة أركان البيروقراطية، والتخلص من الهيكل “التقليدي” للكادر الحكومي، وإرباك البوصلة الأيديولوجية التي كانت تحدّد طبيعة أجهزة الدولة المستبدة “القديمة” دون استبدالها بأجهزة “جديدة” يمثل لحظة تاريخية لحدوث تحول شامل في تركيا.
  • أوروبا وخيارات التعامل مع أزمة معتقلي تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" المقيمين في المخيّمات السورية

    يبقى خيار إعادة الأجانب إلى بلادهم هو الأفضل لأنه يعني إغلاق هذا الملف سريعاً. ومع ذلك، ستبقى الأسئلة عما يجب القيام به مع المواطنين العراقيين والسوريين، ناهيك عن الدور الذي ينبغي على الغرب القيام به لحل أوضاعهم. وهنا لا بد من الإشارة إلى وجوب تجنّب القوى الأوروبية للخيار الثالث الذي اتبعته حتى اللحظة ألا وهو السكوت والانتظار إلى حين تغيّر الظروف.

Fanack Home / Protest movements in Iraq in the age of a ‘new civil society’

Protest movements in Iraq in the age of a ‘new civil society’

Protests iraq
Iraqi protesters wave the national flag and shout slogans during a demonstration at Tahrir square in Baghdad on May 27, 2016 defying a call by Iraqi prime minister to halt protests while security forces are battling the Islamic State group in Fallujah. – Security forces fired tear gas as thousands of protesters gathered in central Baghdad and attempted to head to the Green Zone, a fortified area they have breached twice in the last month. Photo: Jean Marc MOJON / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Jean Marc MOJON

For Iraqi youth, the demands for social justice and economic redistribution cannot be separated from the claim for sectarian equality and religious freedom.

By: Zahra Ali

Since 2015 Iraq has been experiencing an unprecedented movement of popular protests that is mobilising a whole generation of its youth, demanding a radical change of regime. Based on recent fieldwork with women, civil society and youth organisations and networks, I explore the Iraqi protests in the light of new theorisations of contemporary civil society and social movements. What I find is that the notion of madaniyya claimed by Iraqi protesters is not only an expression of a ‘post-Islamist’ political moment but it is structured by the traumatic experience of sectarian violence. For Iraqi youth, the demands for social justice and economic redistribution cannot be separated from the claim for sectarian equality and religious freedom: both demands are experienced as matters of life and death.

A new civil society

My research engages with Gready and Robins’ concept of a ‘new civil society’ and Islah Jad’s critique of the ‘NGOization’ of social movements in the Arab region. For them, conceptions of civil society are often reduced to the human rights NGOs’ understanding of transitional justice in theory and practice. If civil society is understood as the sphere outside of the state and the economic market, for Gready and Robins, the difference between the ‘old’ and the ‘new’ civil society lies in the relationship to the state and its institutions: ‘old civil society’ privileges advocacy, support and capacity building, with the state and state institutions as the main point of reference while ‘new civil society’ insists on autonomy and independence from the state. The ‘new civil society’ refers to forms of actions and protests, and in the Iraqi case this is manifested through a rejection of sectarianism and identity-based politics.

Earlier protests took place in Baghdad’s Tahrir Square in 2011 in the context of the Arab Spring, and the Iraqi protests of 2015 carried transformative and influential dimensions. Demonstrations started from tens of thousands of protesters in July 2015, carrying on every Friday to reach almost one million. Under slogans such as Bis mil-din baguna al-haramiya -in the name of religion we were robbed by looters- protesters denounced the ethno-sectarian political system established through the US invasion and occupation of 2003. They question the entire religious political elite, and denounce institutionalised and generalised corruption, the lack of basic services such as electricity, water, the absence of functioning health and education infrastructures as well as endemic unemployment. Protests spread all over the country and continued for over five months with actions such as sit-ins at the entrance of Baghdad’s Green Zone and Iraqi Parliament.

Corruption in iraq
Supporters of Iraqi Shiite cleric Moqtada al-Sadr pray during a demo calling for governmental reform and elimination of corruption on March 25, 2016, outside the main gates of Baghdad’s Green Zone. – Iraqi cleric Moqtada Sadr urged Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi to propose a “convincing” reform package but hinted that further protests if he did not would remain non-violent. Photo: AHMAD AL-RUBAYE / AFP ©AFP ⁃ AHMAD AL-RUBAYE

The 2015 Iraqi protest movement was launched by young male individuals under the age of 30 years old, educated, belonging to the lower middle class and middle class – mainly educators, teachers or state employees. However, the individuals who took leadership of the movement belong to the older generation, mainly men with former activist experience and affiliated with civil society or political organisations, such as the Iraqi Communist Party. Ali Taher Al-Hamoud argues convincingly that the 2015 protest are the protest of a middle class seeking to assert itself after decades of silence. The end of the UN sanctions in 2003 saw the re-emergence of this class previously destroyed by the economic crisis and successive wars.

The 2015 protests echo the growing gap between the political elite and the rest of the Iraqi population. The Iraqi ‘political street’, to use Asef Bayat’s notion, sees the political elite as sectarian, corrupt and responsible for sectarian violence and the lack of state’s services. The core of the protesters grew up in the sectarian war and in a country lacking basic infrastructure and services, and in which the state’s institutions are structured by corruption and nepotism. Islamism and identity-based political formation are rejected all together. This is clear in the movement’s main slogan denouncing not only the Islamist political elite and its corruption, but also both the importance religion holds in Iraq’s everyday life since 2003.Through the notion of madaniyya which could be translated as ‘civicness’, protesters reject the Islamisation and the sectarianisation of social and political life and demand a functioning welfare state redistributing Iraqi wealth to its citizens.

The protests are the most visible side of a wider range of social and political initiatives mushrooming in the country that open social and political spaces and practices outside of the sphere of the NGOs and composes a ‘new civil society’. From initiatives such as organising a Valentine’s Day celebration in Tahrir Square to foster love in peace-building, to the campaign Ana Iraqi Ana Aqraa -I am Iraqi and I read- placing books on sidewalks and parks to promote a ‘culture of reading’, a high level of creativity and originality have characterised these new forms of activism developed among young educated Iraqis since 2011. Most of the young individuals who launched these initiatives then participated in the 2015 protests and insist on developing a consciousness led by a rejection of sectarian violence and politics and the defence of freedom of thinking.

During my fieldwork and interviews with young protesters, I observed an important generational gap between the activists born in the late 1990s and the ones born before this period. The younger the individuals, the more radical they were in their demand for change and their rejection of the political elite and system. Expression of a ‘Saddam nostalgia’ is even noticeable among the generation under 30 years old who never experienced life under the authoritarian regime, as also pointed out by Marsin Alshamary.

The main controversy that divided activists and protesters in Baghdad’s Tahrir Square during the 2015 protest is the involvement of the conservative Islamist Shi‘a Sadrist movement, some accusing the Sadrists of co-opting the movement, others considering their participation as a way to involve their wide working-class base in the movement. Some women’s rights activists view the Sadrist involvement with pragmatism describing it as a way to spread ideas of madaniyya to the proletarian Sadrist base. Others are very critical of the lack of clear feminist demands in the protest and reject the participation of the Sadrists describing them as sectarian, religious and conservative. Many feminist activists criticise the 2015 movement for accommodating the Shi‘a Islamist movement in their choice for ‘civil’ and ‘nationalist’ type of demands rather than ‘secular’ and ‘leftist’.

More recently, in July 2018 protests erupted again from the oil-rich province of Basra and spread in the Shi‘a South. Composed predominantly of young men, its slogans are clear and go beyond the call for functioning state services through slogans such as “There is no watan (homeland)!” and “No, no, no to parties!”.

From recognition to redistribution?

For Fraser, demands for redistribution correspond to the addressing of socioeconomic injustices rooted in the political and economic structure of a society (exploitation, deprivation and economic marginalisation) while claims for recognition tackle symbolic or ‘cultural’ injustice, rooted in patterns of representation, interpretation and communication. Fraser considers that the intersection of class, race and gender, for example, are both socioeconomic and symbolic and that class, race and gender justice requires both redistribution and recognition. Her attempt to examine the relationship between them and her critical examination of the analytical ‘redistribution-recognition dilemma’ is interesting in our exploration of today’s political and social mobilisations in Iraq.

It is clear that the occupation administration along with the new Iraqi elite politics have been dominated by a recognition paradigm, in the sense that prefabricated ethno-sectarian identity politics have been imposed from the top and institutionalised. The protest movements reject this. Instead, they are putting forward what Faleh A. Jabar calls ‘issue politics’ dominated by a redistribution paradigm. While the context following the invasion and occupation of Iraq is clearly characterised by the institutionalisation of identity politics through the muhasasa system that determines political representation based on communal identities -religious, ethnic or sectarian; it is equally important to analyse identity politics as changing and dynamic. Moreover, these recent protest movements are intra-sectarian, their main actors are mainly Shi‘a citizens protesting against the Shi‘a political elite.

So beyond the redistribution-recognition dilemma, my research shows that the polarisation between the elite and the people needs to be analysed by looking at neo-liberal economic politics (privatisation, job crisis etc.), the political economy of war (militia-sation, militarisation etc.), and the ‘toxicity of everyday life’, that I would define here as the structural conditions of everyday life and livelihood such as health and sanitary infrastructures and environmental conditions.

Basra’s recent protests have not been echoed in the Sunni provinces, many of which have been destroyed in the course of the numerous military battles from 2003 and the war against the Islamic State in Mosul. As pointed out by the researcher Safaa Khalaf, their millions of inhabitants, either living in camps or in terrible conditions fear the stigmatisation of being associated with ‘terrorism’ or members of the Islamic State and state repression. Additionally, the protest movement has not been followed in Iraqi Kurdistan despite the economic crisis in which it is plunged. In its structure, demands and reach, the movement represents a shift from ‘recognition politics’ that is associated with the system backed by the political elite to redistribution politics. Basra’s dramatic social, economic and sanitary crisis epitomised the structural dysfunction of the post-2003 Iraqi political system depriving its citizen from its very rich oil resources.

If the 2015 movement could be deemed as characteristic of a ‘new civil society’, the specificities of the Iraqi context structured by political and sectarian violence make the rejection of identity politics, especially sectarian identity and religion, central. For Iraqi protesters individual freedom, especially the freedom not to belong to a religious and sectarian group is considered as essential as economic equality. The madaniyya claimed by Iraqi youth is not only the ‘post-Islamist’ moment spreading throughout the region over the last decade. Instead, it is characterised by the traumatic experience of sectarian violence that the invasion of the Islamic State only further exacerbated. Thus, for Iraqi youth being free to not believe in religion or belong to a sect is as important as being free from poverty: both are lived as matters of life and death.

Remark: This article was originally published by https://blogs.lse.ac.uk/ in October 04, 2019.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Jean Marc MOJON | ©AFP ⁃ Jean Marc MOJON | ©AFP ⁃ AHMAD AL-RUBAYE

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.

  • The decline of Erdoğanist authoritarianism: a new chance for “democratization” in Turkey?

    On the flip side of the picture, ironically, the making of Erdoğanist authoritarianism has generated ample opportunities for a radical liberalization of the Turkish political system. Scrapping institutional discipline, liquidating the bureaucratic guardians, disposing of the ‘traditional’ cadre structure and confusing the ideological compass that defined the ‘old’ imperious state apparatus, without effectively replacing them with ‘new’ ones, presents a historic moment for a comprehensive and thorough transformation.
  • Western states must repatriate IS fighters and their families before more break free from Syrian camps

    The first, still best, option – repatriation of foreign nationals – is arguably a quickly closing window. Even then, questions would remain about what should happen to Iraqi and Syrian nationals, and what role the West should play in resolving their situation. But European powers must avoid taking the third option they’d been exercising by default – doing nothing, and waiting for circumstances to change.