فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قطر ودول المصالحة.. خسائر ومكاسب

قطر ودول المصالحة.. خسائر ومكاسب

قطر والسعودية المصالحة
صورة تم التقاطها يوم ١١ يناير ٢٠٢١ لرجل وهو يحضن اخته التي وصلت للتو إلى مطار الملك خالد الدولي في العاصمة السعودية الرياض. وعقب ذوبان الجليد الدبلوماسي الخليجي، تم استئناف السفر لجوي بين قطر والسعودية بحسب الخطوط الجوية التابعة للدولتين. المصدر: FAYEZ NURELDINE / AFP.

عادل مجاهد

تكبدت قطر، الإمارة الصغيرة، الغنية بالغاز، خلال سنوات المقاطعة مع الرباعية (السعودية، الإمارات، البحرين، ومصر)، التي امتدت من يونيو 2017م حتى مطلع العام الحالي2021م ، خسائر جسيمة من المبكر حصرها، وإن قدرها خبراء بأكثر من الترليون دولارٍ أمريكي.

وفي الأشهر الأولى من الأزمة، قامت قطر بتصفية ما يقرب من ثلاثة مليارات دولار من استثماراتها في أدوات الخزانة الأمريكية، وأنفقت أكثر من 40 مليار دولار من الاحتياطيات الأجنبية لدعم عملتها وبنوكها، ما يعادل 23% من إجمالي الناتج المحلي للدولة، وختمت عامها الأول بارتفاع في الدين العام 17.1 مليار دولار.

وعلى الرغم من المقاومة التي أبدتها الإمارة المتهمة بدعم الإرهاب من قبل الرباعية العربية، سرعان ما انعكست آثار المقاطعة على أبرز مؤشرات الاقتصاد الكلي للدولة. فسجل الناتج المحلي الإجمالي مقوماً بالأسعار الثابتة تراجعاً بنحو 2.6 مليار دولار في عام 2017م، بمعدل نمو سالب 1.5% مقارنة بالعام السابق له 2016م، والذي كان سجل بدوره معدل نمو بلغ 3.1% مقارنة بسابقه 2015م، وفقاً لبيانات البنك الدولي.

ليس ذلك فحسب، بل سجل معدل النمو التراكمي للناتج المحلي الإجمالي للإمارة خلال السنوات الثلاث الأخيرة من عمر المقاطعة، وحتى إعلان المصالحة القيمة الصفرية.

ولا شك أن تراجع الناتج المحلي الإجمالي لقطر عام 2020م، بمعدل 2% مقارنة بالعام 2019م، كان محصلة لأثري المقاطعة وتداعيات جائحة كوفيد 19.

وخلال الأزمة تضررت قطاعات العقارات والبيع بالتجزئة. فأصبحت مراكز التسوق والفنادق التي كانت تعج أحيانا بالسائحين السعوديين والإماراتيين شبه خالية. كما انخفضت أسعار العقارات بشكل حاد وسط تخمة المعروض في الفترة التي تسبق استضافة قطر لكأس العالم عام 2022م، فضلاً عن الخسائر السنوية التي حققتها الخطوط الجوية القطرية، بعد اضطرار الشركة المملوكة للدولة لتغيير مسارات وإعادة توجيه الكثير من رحلاتها الجوية، ما أدى إلى زيادة المدة والتكلفة، في آن معاً. ما دفع الشركة للتقدم بطلب للتحكيم الدولي في يوليو 2020م ضد كل من السعودية والإمارات والبحرين ومصر، على خلفية إيقاف هذه الدول عمليات الخطوط القطرية في أسواق دول المقاطعة، وإغلاق مجالها الجوي أمام طائراتها، والرجوع عليهم بالمطالبة بتعويضات تبلغ قيمتها 5 مليارات دولار.

ولما كانت المقاطعة بين طرفي الأزمة، حرب عناد وعض أصابع، يستسلم في نهايتها المتألم أو الخاسر الأكبر، فقد بدا الجميع خاسرين في نهاية المطاف. حيث تحدثت كل من وكالة بلومبيرغ الأمريكية ومجلة “إيكونومست” البريطانية عن خسائر مالية جسيمة للإمارات والسعودية منذ نهاية العام الأول للمقاطعة، حيث فقدت دولة الأمارات جانباً مهماً من الاستثمارات العقارية بفقدان كبار مستثمريها من القطريين، بالإضافة إلى خسائر قدرت بنحو 1.1 مليار دولار سنوياً جراء توقف السياحة القطرية لدبي. وفقدت السعودية السوق القطري كمركز لبيع منتجاتها من الأغذية والألبان بخلاف سوق الإعمار والبناء. وقد عمق انهيار أسعار النفط من خسائر الدولتين الناتجة عن المقاطعة. كذلك فقدت مصر سوقاً هاماً لمنتجاتها الزراعية بجانب رحلات شركة مصر للطيران التي توقفت عن نقل أكثر من 300 ألف مصري يعملون بقطر.

يذكر أن حجم التبادل التجاري بين قطر ودول مجلس التعاون الخليجي بلغ 10.5 مليار دولار في العام الذي سبق اندلاع الأزمة بين الطرفين، وفقاً لوزارة التخطيط والإحصاء القطرية، وتستحوذ السعودية والإمارات والبحرين على 87% من حركة التبادل التجاري بين قطر ومنطقة الخليج وفقاً لبيانات بلومبيرغ.

ومع رفع الحصار عن قطر مطلع هذا العام، واستئناف العلاقات التجارية والدبلوماسية بين أطراف الأزمة، لأسباب تحار فيها التكهنات والاجتهادات، بين ما هو اقتصادي وما هو جيوسياسي، نظراً للغموض الذي اكتنف حيثيات المصالحة، واستمرار العقبات الرئيسية التي كانت سبباً في اندلاع الأزمة، إلا أن الثابت ان العديد من الفوائد ستعم على كل الأطراف، ومن المتوقع تراجع نزيف الخسائر لشركات طيران أطراف الأزمة، وإن كانت تداعيات جائحة كورونا لا زالت تلقي بظلالها على عوائد قطاع السفر العالمي، خاصة مع ظهور أجيال جديدة من الفيروس، وتتوقع وكالة فيتش للتصنيف الائتماني زيادة التدفقات السياحية، ودعم سوق العقارات في منطقة الخليج.

ملاحظة

الأفكار الواردة في هذه التدوينة هي آراء المدوّن الخاص بنا ولا تعبّر بالضرورة عن آراء أو وجهات نظر فنك أو مجلس تحريرها.

إقرأ المزيد

يُشير المحللون إلى أن المصالحة بعيدة كل البعد عن حل الأزمة. فعلى ا...
وعلى الرغم من التغطية الإعلامية المثيرة للقلق، قد لا يكون الاقتصا...
وفي السنوات الخمس المقبلة، تهدف قطر إلى زيادة إنتاجها من الغاز ال...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: FAYEZ NURELDINE ©AFP | FAYEZ NURELDINE ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Qatar and the Reconciliation Countries: Losses and Gains

Qatar and the Reconciliation Countries: Losses and Gains

Qatar reconciliation
A man embraces his sister who just arrived to the King Khalid International Airport in the Saudi capital Riyadh on the first commercial flight from Qatar, on January 11, 2021. Following a Gulf diplomatic thaw, air travel between Qatar and Saudi Arabia has been resumed according to the countries’ airlines. Photo: FAYEZ NURELDINE / AFP

Adel Mojahed

During the boycott years with KSA, UAE, Bahrain, and Egypt, the small oil-rich emirate Qatar suffered heavy losses that are too early to be calculated. Some experts estimated the losses at more than a trillion USD in a boycott that lasted between June 2017 and the beginning of 2021.

During the crisis’ first months , Qatar liquidated about $3 billion of its investments in the US treasury securities. Moreover, the GCC emirate spent more than $40 billion of foreign reserves to support its currency and banks. The is equivalent to 23% of its GDP. As a result, the emirate ended the first year of the boycott with a surge in public debt of $17.1 billion.

Qatar resisted accusations of supporting terrorism by the Arab quadruple. Nevertheless, the effects of the boycott were quickly reflected in the most prominent indicators of the state’s macroeconomics. The GDP recorded a decline of 2.6 billion in 2017 measured by constant prices. A negative growth rate of 1.5% has been recorded in comparison with that of 2016. According to the World Bank data, Qatar recorded that year growth rate of 3.1% compared to 2015.

Not only that, the cumulative growth of the emirate’s GDP during the last 3 years of the boycott until the announcement of the reconciliation was zero (a Zero Economic Growth).

With a decline rate of 2% compared to 2019, there is no doubt that the Qatari GDP’s decline in 2020 was consequential to the effects of the boycott and the repercussions of the Covid-19 pandemic.

During the crisis, the real estate and retail sectors were also damaged. Shopping malls and hotels, which were packed with Saudi and Emirati tourists sometimes, were almost empty. Real estate prices also fell sharply, given the oversupply in the period leading up to Qatar’s hosting of the World Cup in 2022. In addition, Qatar Airways recorded annual losses after the state-owned company was forced to change routes and redirect many of its flights. In fact, this led to a simultaneous increase in length and cost of flights. This prompted the company to submit a request for an international arbitration in July 2020 against KSA, UAE, Bahrain, and Egypt, as these countries halted the operations of Qatar Airways in their markets. They also closed their airspace to Qatar’s aircraft. As a result, Qatar demanded a $5 billion compensation from these countries.

Since the boycott between the two sides of the crisis was a war of stubbornness and biting fingers, everyone seemed to lose in the end. Both Bloomberg and The Economist reported huge financial losses for UAE and KSA since the end of the first year of the boycott. At the same time, the UAE lost a significant part of real estate investments by losing its major Qatari investors. Moreover, the UAE recorded an annual loss of $1.1 billion due to the suspension of Qatari tourism to Dubai. When it comes to KSA, the kingdom lost the Qatari market as a hub for selling its food and dairy products. This should be added to the loss recorded in the construction market. The collapse in oil prices deepened these two countries’ losses resulting from the boycott. Egypt also lost an important market for its agricultural products. In addition, Egypt Air lost transporting more than 300 thousand Egyptians working in Qatar.

According to Qatar’s Planning and Statistics Authority, the volume of trade exchange between Qatar and the GCC countries amounted to 10.5 billion in the year before the outbreak of the crisis. Bloomberg reported that the share of KSA, UAE, and Bahrain amounted to 87% of the trade exchange between Qatar and the Gulf region.

For reasons that speculations fail to decipher, the blockade on Qatar has been lifted earlier this year. Commercial and diplomatic relations between that the two sides have been resumed. Some claims that such a decision has had either an economic background or a geopolitical one. The doubt might be referred to the ambiguity surrounding the terms of reconciliation and the continuation of the main obstacles that caused the outbreak of the crisis. However, no one denies that all parties will benefit from the reconciliation. Airlines’ losses are expected to decrease, although the Corona pandemic repercussions still cast a shadow on the global travel sector’s returns with the emergence of the virus new variants. Fitch Ratings Agency expects an increase in tourism flows and real estate market support in the Gulf region.

DISCLAIMER

The opinions expressed in this publication are those of our bloggers. They do not purport to reflect the opinions or views of Fanack or its Board of Editors.

Further reading

Analysts, however, note that reconciliation has far from resolving the crisis. In the immediate term, the move was to al...
Despite alarmist media coverage, it may not be Qatar’s economy that suffers the most, although state-owned Qatar Airwa...
In the next five years, Qatar aims to increase its LNG output from 77 million tonnes per year to 110 million. Write says...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: FAYEZ NURELDINE ©AFP | FAYEZ NURELDINE ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!