فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قطر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / حُكم علي بن خليفة

حُكم علي بن خليفة

قطر جغرافيا
خريطة قطر

لم يدم التحالف بين رحمة والوهابيين طويلاً. ففي عام 1812، أجبرت الجيوش المصرية الوهابيين على الخروج من الحجاز، واستغل الحاكم العماني سعيد بن سلطان السعيد الفرصة وطرد الوهابيين من قطر. ونتيجة لذلك، حوّل رحمة بن جابر ولاءه إلى عُمان. ورداً على ذلك، احتل آل خليفة والوهابيون خور الحسن، مما دفع رحمة إلى الاستيطان على ساحل الخليج الفارسي. ومن بوشهر استمر في مهاجمة السفن البحرينية. وفي عام 1826، وبعد أن أصابه الهرم والعمى وتحقق هزيمته النهائية، أقدم رحمة على تفجير نفسه مع ابنه البالغ من العمر ثمان سنوات خلال آخر معركة بحرية يائسة مع أعدائه اللدودين.

ثبت عدم قدرة الوهابيين والعمانيين على السيطرة على قطر. وبدلاً من ذلك، أصبحت قطر أرض معارك للتنافس السياسي ضمن عائلة آل خليفة البحرينية. ومن الناحية التكتيكية، عن طريق تغيير الولاء بين أفراد آل خليفة المتناحرين، تحدى عيسى بن طريف، من أبناء قبيلة آل بني علي القطرية، النفوذ البحريني من قاعدته في الدوحة. لكن بن طريف قُتل في معركة عام 1847. وفي أعقاب ذلك، طرد حاكم البحرين محمد بن خليفة آل بني علي من الدوحة. ثم أرسل محمد أخاه علي ليكون والياً على الدوحة، في محاولة منه لإحلال السلام في شبه الجزيرة القطرية.

كانت الفترة الأولى لحكم علي قصيرة الأجل. فما لبث أن هرب من الدوحة عام 1850 عند اجتياح القوات الوهابية السعودية لقطر من جديد. وبعد رحيل علي القسري، ضربت عشائر قطر تحالفاً مع السعوديين المحتلين، مما أتاح الفرصة للزعيم السعودي فيصل بن تركي لشن غزو على البحرين من قطر. وحده التدخل البريطاني (والتي أسس أسطولها ‘السلام البريطاني Pax Britannca’ في مياه الخليج لحماية طرقها التجارية إلى الهند) الذي منع الهجوم. وتم إبرام معاهدة سلام بين الأطراف المتحاربة، وعاد علي إلى الدوحة. لكن التهديد السعودي استمر، وفي عام 1861 توصلت بريطانيا وآل خليفة إلى اتفاق بينهما، تتعهد فيه بريطانيا بحماية البحرين والبلاد الخاضعة لها (أي قطر) من أي عدوان عليها من البحر، مقابل تعهد البحرين بالامتناع عن خوض الحروب البحرية.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Qatar / Past to Present / Ali bin Khalifa’s governorship

Ali bin Khalifa’s governorship

The Rahma-Wahhabi alliance did not last long. In 1812, Egyptian troops drove the Wahhabis from the Hijaz, and the Omani ruler Said bin Sultan al-Said took the opportunity to expel the Wahhabis from Qatar. Rahma bin Jabir consequently switched allegiance to Oman. The Khalifa family and the Wahhabis occupied Khor (Khawr) Hassan in response, forcing Rahma to settle on the Persian coast. From Bushehr on the Persian coast he continued to attack Bahraini ships. In 1826, old and blind and realizing his ultimate defeat, Rahma blew himself and his eight-year-old son up during a last desperate sea battle with his arch-enemies.

Both the Wahhabis and the Omanis proved unable to control Qatar. Instead, the peninsula became a battleground for political rivalry within the Bahraini Khalifa family. By tactically switching allegiance between feuding Al Khalifa members, Isa bin Turayf of the Qatari tribe of Al Bin Ali challenged Bahraini influence from his base in Doha. In 1847, Bin Turayf was killed in battle. The Al Bin Ali were driven from Doha by the ruler of Bahrain, Mohammed bin Khalifa. Mohammed then sent his brother Ali to Doha as governor, in an attempt to pacify the Qatar peninsula.

Ali’s first tenure was short-lived. He fled from Doha in 1850 when Saudi-Wahhabi forces once again invaded Qatar. After Ali’s forced departure, the tribes of Qatar struck an alliance with the conquering Saudis. This gave the Saudi leader Faysal bin Turki the opportunity to launch an invasion of Bahrain from Qatar. It was only the intervention of the British (whose navy had by then established a ‘Pax Britannica’ in the Gulf waters in order to secure British trade routes to India) that prevented an attack. A peace treaty between the belligerents was concluded and Ali returned to Doha. But the Saudi threat continued, and in 1861 an agreement was reached between Britain and the Khalifa family in which the former pledged to protect Bahrain and its ‘dependencies’ (i.e. Qatar) from attack by sea, in exchange for a Bahraini pledge to abstain from maritime warfare.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.