فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قطر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / قطر وإسرائيل: تحالف استراتيجي ولكن معقد

قطر وإسرائيل: تحالف استراتيجي ولكن معقد

وزيرة الخارجية الإسرائيلية رئيس الوزراء القطري السابق حمد بن جاسم قطر وإسرائيل تحالف
وزيرة الخارجية الإسرائيلية السابقة تلفقي رئيس الوزراء القطري السابق حمد بن جاسم, ابريل/نيسان 2008 Photo M. Milner/Rex Features

في العام 1991، أعرب الأمير السابق خليفة بن حمد آل الثاني عن دعمه لمؤتمر مدريد للسلام بين الدول العربية وإسرائيل ما أتاح لقطر إنشاء علاقات ثنائية مع دولة إسرائيل. كذلك، كان خليفته حمد بن خليفة حاضراً في حفل التوقيع على اتفاقية “أوسلو 2” المبرمة بين الفلسطينيين وإسرائيل في العام 1995 وقد أعرب بدوره عن دعمه لعملية السلام هذه. وبفضل هذا الدعم السياسي، تم إطلاق عدد من المشاريع التجارية بين قطر وإسرائيل ما ساهم في توطيد العلاقات بين هذين البلدين. وبالتالي، أصبحت قطر الدولة العضو الأولى في مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية التي تعترف رسمياً بدولة إسرائيل وذلك عن طريق افتتاح المكتب التجاري الإسرائيلي الأول في مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية في الدوحة بعد زيارة رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي شيمون بيريز في العام 1996.

أدى انتخاب بنيامين نتنياهو رئيساً للحكومة الإسرائلية ومن ثم افتتاح نفق الجدار الغربي في العام 1996 إلى تدهور العلاقات بين إسرائيل وقطر. وعلى الرغم من تعليق عملية السلام بين العرب وإسرائيل في ذلك الوقت، استضافت قطر وزير التجارة الإسرائيلي في المؤتمر الاقتصادي الرابع لمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا الذي أقيم في الدوحة في العام 1997 ما أثار غضب الدول العربية وقد وصفت المملكة العربية السعودية هذه الخطوة بأنها تهديد “للمصلحة العليا للأمة العربية”.

مع تعليق عملية السلام، تعرضت قطر لضغوط متزايدة من أجل تجميد علاقاتها مع إسرائيل كما أن انتهاك إسرائيل لاتفاقية أوسلو صعّب على الحكومة القطرية تبرير علاقاتها التجارية مع إسرائيل. نتيجة لذلك، برزت أولى إشارات التباعد بين هذين البلدين الشريكين واستمر الوضع على هذا النحو مع اندلاع انتفاضة الأقصى في العام 2000. ووجهت السلطات القطرية انتقادات لإسرائيل كما رفضت زيارة إيهود باراك للبلاد. و اجتمع حمد في النهاية بإيهود باراك في مؤتمر قمة الألفية الذي عقد في مقر الأمم المتحدة في شهر أيلول/سبتمبر من العام 2000.

استضافت الدوحة اجتماع منظمة المؤتمر الإسلامي في شهر تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر من العام 2000، إلا أن استمرارها في التعامل مع الإسرائيليين تسبب بحدوث تضارب سياسي مع المملكة العربية السعودية وإيران ودول أخرى. ورفضت قطر تلبية الدعوات التي وجهها رئيس منظمة المؤتمر الإسلامي إلى قطر من أجل إقفال المكتب التجاري الإسرائيلي إلا أنها استسلمت في النهاية للضغوطات المتزايدة وأعلنت إقفال المكتب التجاري في الدوحة في 9 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر من العام 2000. وعلى الرغم من ذلك، تم عقد اجتماعات سرية بين البلدين واستمر التعاون بينهما بشكل غير رسمي, وفق مثيو ماكوفسكي, باحث في جامعة ملكة ماري في لندن, بريطانية.

وزير الخارجية القطري السابق حمد بن جاسم يلتقي وزير التطوير الإقليمي الإسرائيلي في باريس, 2003

ازدادت طموحات قطر في أن تصبح دولة ناشطةً إقليمياً على الصعيد الديبلوماسي، فطلبت أكثر من مرة التوسط في عملية السلام بين إسرائيل والدول العربية. وفي العام 2003، اجتمع وزير الخارجية القطري حمد بن جاسم آل ثاني مع وزير الخارجية الإسرائيلي سلفان شالوم في باريس لمناقشة سبل إرساء السلام في منطقة الشرق الأوسط. وفي شهر أيار/مايو من العام 2003، صرّح حمد بأن “قطر مستعدة للنظر في معاهدة سلام مع إسرائيل إن كان ذلك يصب في مصلحة دول الخليج”. وفي العام 2005، وكخطوة إيجابية تهدف إلى فصل إسرائيل عن غزة، التقى حمد بوزيرة الخارجية الإسرائيلية تسيبي ليفني في إطار اجتماع الأمم المتحدة في نيويورك.

حاولت قطر إيجاد نوع من التوازن في علاقاتها مع إسرائيل فسعت إلى التوفيق بين الجانب الديبلوماسي الذي يتيح لها استخدام نفوذها الإقليمي للتوسط في العلاقات الإسرائيلية العربية من جهة ووفائها للقضية الفلسطينية من جهة أخرى. وفي العام 2006، عرضت قطر المساعدة أثناء الحرب بين إسرائيل ولبنان كما قامت بالتوسط بين إسرائيل والحكومة اللبنانية وممثلي حركة حماس وحزب الله. وفي العام 2006-2007، دعمت إسرائيل قطر في تمثيلها المؤقت لمجلس أمن الأمم المتحدة.

في شهر نيسان/أبريل من العام 2008، زارت وزيرة الخارجية ليفني قطر في رحلتها الأولى إلى منطقة الخليج. وبدعوة موجهة من قبل الأمير السابق بن خليفة آل ثاني، عقدت ليفني اجتماعات عديدة بما في ذلك اجتماعاً مع الأمير. ونتيجة لذلك، تعرضت قطر لانتقادات عديدة من قبل الدول المجاورة إلا أن إسرائيل أعربت عن تقديرها لها في منطقة تكثر فيها حركات المقاومة وترفض فيها الحكومات التحاور مع إسرائيل طالما أن احتلال الأراضي الفلسطينية مستمر.

وفي شهر ديسمبر من العام 2008، شهدت العلاقات التي تربط بين البلدين نقطة تحول حين شنت إسرائيل هجوماً على قطاع غزة وهي خطوة وصفها رئيس الوزراء القطري ووزير الخارجية حمد بن جاسم آل ثاني بأنها “من أكثر الهجمات وحشية ضد الشعب الفلسطيني”. وفي هذا السياق، قطعت قطر علاقاتها مع إسرائيل وأقفلت المكتب التجاري كما طردت جميع الأفراد الذين يمثلون إسرائيل”. في المقابل، عرضت قطر مساعدتها للتوسط من أجل وقف إطلاق النار بين حماس وإسرائيل في أوائل العام 2009. ونقل القائد القطري رسالته من خلال عضو في الكنيست الإسرائيلي (وهو تابع لحزب ميرتس اليساري التقدمي) ووزير الخارجية السابق يوسي بيلين اللذين التقيا في قطر في اجتماع لوزراء الخارجية السابقين.

بعد إعلان الهدنة بين إسرائيل والفلسطينيين وتراجع إدانة الأعمال الإسرائيلية في غزة، سعت قطر جاهدةً إلى إعادة بناء علاقاتها مع إسرائيل في العامين 2009 و2010 وذلك شرط أن تسمح إسرائيل لها بإرسال الأموال ومواد البناء إلى غزة من أجل إعادة تأهيل اقتصادها وبناها التحتية وأن تعترف إسرائيل علناً بدور قطر في عملية إرساء السلام في الشرق الأوسط. في المقابل، رفض كل من رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو ووزير الخارجية أفيغدور ليبرمان تلك المبادرة القطرية.

في السنوات التالية، بقيت العلاقات القطرية الإسرائيلية مستقرة. وادعت قطر بأنها قادرة على أن تكون وسيطاً إقليمياً للسلام من خلال بناء علاقات سياسية متساوية مع مختلف الجهات. وفي شهر تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر من العام 2012، شنت إسرائيل هجوماً على قطاع غزة تسبب في تدمير البنى التحتية فيه. وتعبيراً عن تضامن قطر مع قطاع غزة، زار أمير قطر قطاع غزة في شهر تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر من العام 2012. وكانت إسرائيل قد سمحت بهذه الزيارة في إطار الجهود المشتركة مع الولايات المتحدة والهادفة إلى إبعاد حركة حماس عن إيران وسوريا ومساعدتها على بناء علاقات مع دول ذات توجه غربي ودول سنية معتدلة في الشرق الأوسط مثل مصر، وتركيا، والأردن. في المقابل، قطعت مصر مجدداً علاقاتها مع حماس بعد الانقلاب العسكري الذي أطاح بحكومة محمد مرسي الداعمة لحركة حماس.

ستواصل قطر تحاورها مع إسرائيل لأسباب استراتيجية وإقليمية فهي تسعى من خلال علاقاتها مع إسرائيل إلى تعزيز ارتباطها بالغرب بما في ذلك الولايات المتحدة كما أنها ترغب في أن تساهم علاقاتها الاقتصادية مع إسرائيل في بيع مخزونها الفائض من الغاز الطبيعي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ترغب الحكومة القطرية في تعزيز قطاع التكنولوجيا من خلال اكتساب المعرفة وتشجيع الشركات الإسرائيلية العالية التقنية على تصدير الوظائف ومشاريع التنمية إلى قطر عوضاً عن الهند أو أوروبا الشرقية.

كان حجم التبادلات التجارية بين إسرائيل وقطر ضئيلاً. ووفقاً  لدائرة الإحصاء المركزية في إسرائيل، بلغت قيمة الصادرات الإسرائيلية إلى قطر 509,000 دولار أميركي في العام 2012 (598,000 دولار أميركي في العام 2008) وبلغت قيمة وارداتها من قطر 353,000 دولار أميركي في العام 2013 (2,141,000 دولار أميركي في العام 2008). إشارة إلى أن الصادرات الإسرائيلية إلى قطر كانت تتألف بمعظمها من الآلات ومعدات الكمبيوتر والتجهيزات الطبية في حين كانت معظم وارداتها من قطر تتألف من المواد البلاستيكية.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Hollandse Hoogte

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Qatar / Past to Present / Qatar and Israel: A Strategic but Complicated Alliance

Qatar and Israel: A Strategic but Complicated Alliance

Tzipi Livni Hamad bin Jassim alliance qatar Israel
Former Israeli Minister of Foreign Affairs Tzipi Livni meets former Qatari Prime Minister Hamad bin Jassim, april 2008 / Photo M. Milner/Rex Features

In 1991, former emir Khalifa bin Hamad al-Thani expressed his support for the Arab-Israeli peace conference in Madrid, engaging Qatar in bilateral relations with the state of Israel. His successor, Hamad bin Khalifa was present at the signing ceremony of the ’Oslo 2’ agreement in 1995 between the Israelis and the Palestinians, giving his support to the peace process. This political support initiated several trade ventures between Qatar and Israel, leading to a warming of relations between the two countries. Qatar became the first Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) state to grant Israel de facto recognition, when the first Israeli trade office in the GCC opened in Doha, following a visit by the Israeli prime minister Shimon Peres in 1996.

The election of Benyamin Netanyahu as Israeli prime minister, followed by the opening of the Western Wall tunnel in 1996, caused a significant deterioration in relations with Qatar. Yet, despite the Arab-Israeli peace process being stalled at the time, Qatar hosted the Israeli trade minister at the fourth annual Middle East and North Africa Economic Summit in Doha, in 1997, which caused Arab outrage; Saudi Arabia called the move threatening to ‘the higher interest of the Arab Nation’.

The pressure on Qatar to freeze its ties with Israel grew as the peace process was stagnating, and Israeli violations of the Oslo Accords made the Qatari government uneasy  in justifying their mutual trade relations with Israel. The first signs of distance between the two partners emerged and continued with the outbreak of the al-Aqsa Intifada in 2000. The Qatari authorities expressed their criticism of the state of Israel and subsequently turned down Ehud Barak’s request to visit the country. Hamad eventually met Barak at the UN Millennium Summit in September 2000.

As Doha was hosting the Organization of the Islamic Conference (OIC) meeting in November 2000, Qatar’s continuing engagement with the Israelis caused a major political row with Saudi Arabia, Iran, and other states. Qatar dismissed calls from the chair of the OIC to close the Israeli trade office. Eventually, however, the country gave in to regional pressures and announced the closure of the Israeli office in Doha on 9 November 2000. Further secret meetings between the two states did, however, take place, and the unofficial cooperation continued, according to Matthew Machowski, research fellow at Queen Mary University of London.

Former Qatari Minister of Foreign Affairs Hamad bin Jassim meets Silvan Shalom, Israeli Minister for Regional Development in Paris, 2003
Former Qatari Minister of Foreign Affairs Hamad bin Jassim meets Silvan Shalom, Israeli Minister for Regional Development in Paris, 2003

As Qatar’s diplomatic ambitions to become a regional player grew, it repeatedly offered to broker peace between Israel and the Arab states. In 2003, the Qatari and Israeli foreign ministers, Sheikh Hamad bin Jassim al-Thani and Silvan Shalom, met in Paris to discuss ways of forging a Middle East peace. In May 2003, Sheikh Hamad stated that ‘Qatar could consider a peace treaty with Israel if it served the Gulf state’s interests’. In 2005, as a positive step towards Israel’s disengagement from Gaza, Sheikh Hamad met with Israeli foreign minister Tzipi Livni on the sidelines of the UN meeting in New York.

Qatar has tried to balance its  relations with Israel between diplomacy that would allow it to use its regional influence to mediate Israeli-Arab relations and loyalty to the Palestinian cause. In 2006, Qatar offered its assistance during the war between Israel and Lebanon. It mediated between Israel and the Lebanese government and representatives of Hamas and Hezbollah. In 2006-2007, the Israelis supported Qatar’s non-permanent representation on the UN Security Council.

In April 2008, Israeli foreign minister Livni visited Qatar on her first trip to the Gulf region. Invited by the former emir, Bin Khalifa al-Thani, Livni held many meetings, including one with the emir. Qatar was criticized widely for this by its neighbours, but Israel prizes it in a region of many resistance movements and governments who refuse to talk to Israel as long as the occupation of Palestinian lands continues.

The relationship between the two countries reached a turning point in December 2008, when Israel attacked the Gaza Strip, in what the Qatari prime minister and foreign minister, Sheikh Hamad bin Jassim al-Thani, called ‘the flagrant savage aggression against the Palestinian people’. Qatar disengaged from all ties with Israel, shut down the trade office, and expelled all Israeli representatives. However, Qatar had offered to assist in brokering a cease-fire between Hamas and Israel in early 2009. The Qatari leader passed on the message through an Israeli Knesset member (of the progressive leftist party, Meretz) and the former foreign minister, Yossi Beilin. The two had met in Qatar at a meeting for former foreign ministers.

Once a truce was brokered between Israel and the Palestinians and the international condemnation of Israeli actions in Gaza lessened, Qatar made efforts to re-establish its relationship with Israel in 2009 and 2010, on condition that Israel allow Qatar to send building materials and money to Gaza to help rehabilitate its economy and infrastructure. In addition, Israel was to acknowledge publicly Qatar’s role in forging peace in the Middle East. Prime Minister Benyamin Netanyahu and Foreign Minister Avigdor Lieberman rejected the Qatari initiative.

In the following years, Qatar-Israeli relations remained stable. Qatar claims that it is able to engage politically with numerous political players on an equal footing as regional peace broker. In November 2012, Israel launched an attack on the Gaza Strip, destroying much of the infrastructure of the Strip. In a show of solidarity, the emir of Qatar visited the Gaza Strip in October 2012. Israel gave its permission for this visit, as a joint effort with the United States to redirect Hamas away from Iran and Syria and help them establish relationships with the more Western-oriented and Sunni-moderate Middle Eastern countries, such as EgyptTurkey, and Jordan. Egypt, however, distanced itself again from Hamas after the military coup that ousted the Hamas-friendly government of Mohammed Morsi.

Qatar will continue its dialogue with Israel for strategic and economic reasons. Qatar’s relations with Israel are meant to strengthen its ties with the West, including the United States, and Qatar hopes that economic ties with Israel will lead to sales of its plentiful natural gas. The Qatari government is also interested in strengthening its high-tech sector by acquiring knowledge and technology and by encouraging Israeli high-tech companies to export jobs and development projects to Qatar rather than to India or Eastern Europe.

The amount of trade between Israel and Qatar has been modest: Israeli exports to Qatar amounted to 509,000 USD in 2012 (598,000 USD in 2008), and its imports from Qatar amounted to 353,000 USD in 2013 (2,141,000 USD in 2008), according to the Israeli Central Bureau of Statistics. Israeli exports to Qatar consisted mainly of machinery, computer equipment, and medical instruments, and its imports from Qatar were primarily plastics.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.