فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قطر / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الفترة الانتقالية

الفترة الانتقالية

الفترة الانتقالية أمير قطر السابق الشيخ حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني وابنه الأمير الشيخ تميم بن حمد آل ثاني
أمير قطر السابق الشيخ حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني وابنه الأمير الشيخ تميم بن حمد آل ثاني

في 25 حزيران/يونيو 2013، أعلن الأمير حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني عن تسليم السلطة لابنه وولي العهد الأمير تميم بن حمد آل ثاني. للوهلة الأولى، جاءت هذه الخطوة غير العادية بشكل غير متوقع، كون أمير البلاد، بعمر 61 سنة، كان في ذروة قوته. ففي منطقة يبقى فيها القادة عادة في السلطة حتى وفاتهم أو خلعهم، قام حمد بترتيب انتقال سلس للسلطة إلى تميم، قائلاً إن “الوقت قد حان ليتحمل الجيل الجديد المسؤولية”. وأصبح تميم (33 عاماً) أصغر زعيم في العالم العربي.

حوّل حمد قطر من بلد هادئ غير معروف إلى لاعب إقليمي قوي و مثير للجدل، حيث لعب دور الوساطة في الصراعات الإقليمية ودعم المعارضة (الراديكالية) في سوريا والإسلاميين في تونس ومصر. تمكنت قطر أن تحافظ على استقرارها السياسي، بينما تدخلت في الثورات في دول أخرى. عام 2012، فازت قطر بقرعة استضافة كأس العالم لكرة القدم لعام 2022، مما أدى إلى ازدهار بنية تحتية ضخمة تمهيداً لهذا الحدث. إلا أن الحرية (من خلال قناة الجزيرة) ودعم التغيير الذي روّجت له قطر في المنطقة لم تتطور في قطر ذاتها. تعرضت قناة الجزيرة للانتقاد الشديد على أنها تسترشد كثيراً بجدول الأعمال السياسي القطري، بينما تغطي الانتفاضات في المنطقة. كما يخضع الصحفيون للمحاكمة بتهمة انتقاد الحكومة. ففي تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2011 سجنت السلطات القطرية شاعراً قطرياً بتهمة محاولة قلب نظام الحكم وانتقاد أفراد العائلة المالكة. وعلاوة على ذلك، تعرضت الحكومة للانتقاد لعدم الشفافية في الشؤون العامة واحتكار عملية صنع القرار.

لا يعتبر انتقال السلطة من حمد إلى تميم مؤشراً على أي تغيير كبير، وإنما انتقال إلى الجيل الجديد. كما أنه ليس من المستغرب أن يختار حمد تميم خلفاً له. ففي السنوات الأخيرة، تم إعداد تميم، الابن الثاني لحمد من زوجته الثانية الشيخة موزة بنت ناصر المسند، لقيادة البلاد. تم تعيين تميم ولياً للعهد في آب/أغسطس 2003. وبعد تخرجه من أكاديمية Sandhurst العسكرية الملكية البريطانية، أصبح القائد العام للقوات المسلحة القطرية ورئيس المجلس الأعلى للتعليم ونائب رئيس المجلس الأعلى للشؤون الاقتصادية والاستثمار. وكرئيس للجنة الأولمبية، أشرف على المحاولة الفاشلة لطلب قطر باستضافة دورة الألعاب الاولمبية لعام 2020. ومع ذلك، لعب تميم دوراً هاماً في الفوز بقرعة استضافة كأس العالم لكرة القدم لعام 2022. كما تولى الشؤون الداخلية (رفع أجور القطاع العام بنسبة 120% في شهر أيلول/سبتمبر 2011) ودعم جهود الشيخة موزة في تغيير المجتمع والثقافة في دولة قطر من خلال تشجيع التعليم العالي (الغربي). وفي هذا المعنى، تعتبر هذه الخطوة بعيدة كل البعد عن الثورية. إذ لا تزال قطر استبدادية وبقيادة نفس الأسرة والمؤسسات. وكان الإجراء الأخير الذي اتخذه الأمير حمد قبل تسليم السلطة هو تمديد فترة المجلس الاستشاري المعين حتى عام 2016 وتأجيل الانتخابات مرة أخرى (التي وعد سابقاً بإجرائها عام 2013).

في أول خطاب له، أشار الأمير تميم إلى أنه سيواصل جدول أعمال “الإصلاح” ومشاريع التنمية التي بدأها والده. وبينما ركزت كلمته على السياسة الداخلية، لم يتطرق تميم إلى سياسات قطر بشأن سوريا ومصر وليبيا.

استبدل الأمير تميم رئيس الوزراء الذي خدم لفترة طويلة، حمد بن جاسم آل ثاني، بعبد الله بن ناصر بن خليفة (وزير الداخلية أيضاً). وتم تعيين خالد العطية وزيراً للخارجية. كان جاسم، وزير الخارجية السابق، يعتبر مهندس سياسة قطر الخارجية النشطة والمثيرة للجدل. يقول بعض المحللين إن حمد سلّم السلطة إلى تميم لضمان عدم قيام حمد بن جاسم بتسليم السلطة إلى أحد أبنائه. فمعارضة حمد وتميم تأتي أساساً من جاسم، الذي يعتبر أيضاً منافساً لوالدة تميم: الشيخة موزة، التي حققت مكانة عالية أدت إلى بروز “مؤسسة قطر“.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Qatar / Past to Present of Qatar / Qatar’s Transition

Qatar’s Transition

Qatar transition Former Emir Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani and his son, Emir Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani
Former Emir Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani and his son, Emir Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani

On 25 June 2013, Emir Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani announced that he would hand over power to his son and Crown Prince Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani. At first glance, this unusual step came unexpectedly, as the Emir, at 61, was at the height of power. In a region where leaders usually stay in power until they either die or are ousted, Hamad arranged a smooth succession of power to Tamim, saying that ‘the time had come for a new generation to step forward to take responsibility’. It made Tamim, 33, the youngest ruler in the Arab world.

Hamad transformed Qatar from a quiet, unknown country, to a powerful and controversial regional player, mediating in regional conflicts and supporting (radical) opposition in Syria, and Islamists in Tunisia and Egypt. Qatar managed to remain politically stable, while intervening in the uprisings elsewhere. In 2012, it won the right to host the FIFA World Cup in 2022, sparking a huge infrastructure boom to facilitate the event. Yet, the freedom (through al-Jazeera) and support for change that Qatar has promoted in the region, have not been advanced in Qatar itself. Al-Jazeera has been criticized for being strongly guided by Qatar’s political agenda while covering uprisings in the region. Journalists are subject to prosecution for criticizing the government. Qatari authorities in November 2011 jailed a Qatari poet for trying to overthrow the government and for criticizing royal family members. Furthermore, the government has been criticized for the lack of transparency in public affairs and monopolization of the decision-making process.

The succession of power from Hamad to Tamim does not signal any significant change, other than a transition to a new generation. Nor is it a surprise that Hamad chose Tamin as his successor. Tamim, the second son Hamad and his second wife Sheikha Moza bint Nasser al-Misnad, had in recent years been groomed to lead the country. Tamim was appointed Heir Apparent in August 2003. A graduate of Royal Military Academy Sandhurst, UK, he was Commander of the Qatari Armed Forces, chairman of the Supreme Education Council and Vice-President of the Supreme Council for Economic Affairs and Investment. As the chairman of the Olympic Committee, he supervised Qatar’s unsuccessful bid for the 2020 Olympics. However, Tamim played an important role in the successful bid for the 2022 FIFA World Cup. He had also taken responsibilities in domestic affairs (aanouncing a 120 percent rise of public sector wages in September 2011). He also supported Sheikha Moza’s efforts to change Qatar’s society and culture by promoting (Western) higher education. In this sense, the step is far from revolutionary. Qatar remains autocratic and led by the same family and institutions. The last action Emir Hamad took before handing over power, was to prolong the term of the appointed advisory council to 2016, again postponing elections (earlier promised to be held in 2013).

In his first speech, Emir Tamim indicated that he would continue his father’s ‘reform’ agenda and growth projects. While his speech focused on domestic policy, Tamim did not mention anything about Qatar’s policies regarding Syria, Egypt and Libya.

Emir Tamim replaced the long-serving Prime Minister Hamad bin Jassim Al Thani with Abdullah bin Nasser bin Khalifa (who is also Interior Minister). Khalid al-Attiyah was appointed Foreign Minister. Jassim, as former Foreign Minister, was viewed as the architect of Qatar’s active and controversial foreign policy. Some analysts argue that Hamad handed over power to Tamim to ensure Hamad bin Jassim would not hand over power to one of his sons. Opposition to Hamad and Tamim mainly comes from Jassim, who is also seen as a rival to Tamim’s mother Sheikha Moza. She developed a high profile, leading the Qatar Foundation.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.