فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قطر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة

الثقافة

سباق الجمال التقليدي في قطر
سباق الجمال التقليدي في قطر Photo Hollandse Hoogte

المحتويات

المقدمة
ثقافة قطر الوطنية
استيراد الثقافة العربية
الأزياء المحلية
الرياضة

كجزء من شبه الجزيرة العربية ومنطقة الخليج الفارسي الواسعة، تعتبر الثقافة القطرية عربية إسلامية في الغالب. وتشابه الموسيقى والمأكولات والأزياء القطرية إلى حد كبير ثقافات الدول المجاورة في شبه الجزيرة العربية.

ثقافة قطر الوطنية

يعرض متحف قطر الوطني في الدوحة، والذي جرى ترميمه مؤخراً، مجموعة من القطع الفنية المثيرة للاهتمام والآثار المحلية. وتُعرض في الأغلب على أنها أمثلة نموذجية للتراث القطري. لكن هل يوجد بالفعل شيء اسمه تراث “قطري”؟ من الجدير بالملاحظة أنّ المتحف الوطني أنشأته الحكومة – بعد الاستقلال بقليل – بهدف خلق “قصة وطنية”. فكان على هذه المؤسسة ومجموعتها تكوين تاريخ وثقافة مشتركة لمواطني الدولة الجديدة من أجل تعزيز عملية بناء الوطن السياسية وإيجاد هوية مشتركة.

في منطقة لا تزال فيها الحدود المشتركة تخضع أحياناً للجدال، يكون تعريف الثقافة الوطنية مهمة شاقة. وفي العديد من المجالات، لا فائدة من الحديث عن ثقافة أو تقاليد “قطرية” محددة. حتى ولو تم تفسير الثقافة القطرية بالمعنى الحصري، كالإشارة إلى “الوطنيين” فقط، فسرعان ما تظهر المشكلات. الصعوبة الكبيرة في تحديد ماهية اللهجة “القطرية” يمكن أن توضح هذه النقطة. يمكن الاستنتاج أن تكون اللهجة القطرية هي أسلوب التخاطب السائد محلياً في أوساط العائلات السنية البارزة في الدوحة. لكن البحارنة – أو العرب الشيعة – في الدوحة يتكلمون لهجة مختلفة كل الاختلاف لها صلاتها بلغة البحارنة المستخدمة في كل من البحرين والسعودية. وبالتالي فإن تحديد لهجة “وطنية” تستثني المواطنين الشيعة في قطر من ثقافتهم “الخاصة بهم”. كما أنها تتجاهل حقيقة أن العرب السنة في قطر والإمارات العربية المتحدة والبحرين والكويت يستخدمون لهجة متشابهة جداً، والمعروفة بشكل عام على أنها “العربية الخليجية”.

استيراد الثقافة العربية

ربما تعطى اللغة والفن والمصنوعات اليدوية بطاقة وطنية، ولكن ذلك لا يجعل منها “عرفاً محلياً” محدداً بشكل تلقائي. ولذلك، لا ينبغي للمسافرين في الخليج أن يستغربوا إذا ما تم تعريف نفس الخاصية المعمارية على أنها “قطرية تقليدياً” في الدوحة و “بحرينية تقليدياً” في المنامة. حتى أن المراقبين الغربيين يشيرون إلى نزعة معارضة نحو العولمة في منطقة الخليج: حلول “الثقافة العربية القومية” المصطنعة أحياناً محل تلك “الثقافة الخليجية” تدريجياُ. وبهذا المصطلح يشيرون إلى التأثيرات الثقافية المتزايدة من الشرق الأدنى ومصر، وحتى من الفنانين “المستشرقين” في الغرب. وبشكل خاص أصبحت لندن مركزاً لتصدير “الثقافة العربية” إلى الخليج. وينتج الناشرون والكتّاب البريطانيون الكتب المعلوماتية التي تعطي صورة مصححة ورومانسية لثقافة الخليج وتاريخه. وهذه المنتجات المتملقة محلياً، والتبسيطية والنمطية، يتم تمويلها في الغالب من قبل شيوخ الخليج وشركات البترول الغربية، والذين يوزعونها كهدايا “تراثية” للمغتربين والسكان المحليين على حد سواء.

الفن العربي

وفق الكاتبة الانثروبولوجية الأمريكية كريستا سلاماندرا التي نشرت منذ مدة قصيرة مقالة مهمة بعنوان ” التركيب الثقافي، الخليج ولندن العربية”، فإنّ فن المستشرقين الغربيين شعبي جداً بين المواطنين الخليجيين. ويتم جزئياً إشباع الحنين الشائع حالياً “للأيام الخوالي” بين المواطنين الخليجيين عن طريق استيراد اللوحات الغربية المبتذلة جداً للصحراء أو بائعي السجاد أو الأسواق الشعبية “العربية”. يقول أحد باعة القطع الفنية في لندن إن الخليجيين العرب يفضلون شراء الفن “العربي” في لندن. والشيء نفسه ينطبق على الفن “الإسلامي”. ولسنوات سعيدة خالية من الهم، جامع التحف القطري الشاب الشيخ سعود آل ثاني – رئيس المجلس الوطني للثقافة والفنون والتراث في قطر قبل فصله من منصبه عام 2005، وبانتظار البت في قضية إساءة استخدامه للأموال العامة – أغرق سوق الفن في العاصمة بملايين الدولارات على فورة جمع القطع الفنية. وقام الشيخ بجمع مجموعة واسعة من الفنون “الإسلامية” خارج قطر – كان الهدف من معظمها أن تعرض في المتحف الجديد للفنون الإسلامية في الدوحة، في آخر الكورنيش قرب ميناء الدوحة، والذي صممه المعماري الصيني المشهور I.M. Pei. ومن جهة الشرق، يقع متحف قطر الوطني في قصر فريق السلطة التاريخي الذي بني عام 1901. أما متحف قطر للتصوير الفوتوغرافي، الذي يقع في أسفل الكورنيش في البدع، يدهش بالتأكيد زواره بتصميمه على شكل “سمكة اللخمة الطائرة”.

الأزياء المحلية

الأزياء وسيلة للتعبير عن الشخصية والهوية. القسم الرئيسي من لباس القطريين هو الثوب (الجمع ثياب)، وهو عبارة عن قميص طويل حتى الكعب يشبه إلى حد كبير الثوب في البحرين والكويت. في الصيف، يرتدي الرجال الثوب الخفيف الأبيض، وفي الشتاء يكون قماش الثوب أسمك ولونه أغمق، مع درجات مختلفة من اللون الرمادي أو البني أو المغرة. غالباً ما يكون هدب الثوب في الأسفل مطوياً والأكمام معقودة بأزرار عادية أو معدنية. ويحمي الثوب، الذي يرتدي القطريون تحته قميص أو سروال، الجسم من فقدان الرطوبة في البيئة الحارة.

في المناسبات الرسمية، يرتدي الرجل عباءة أو بشت سوداء أو بنية فوق الثوب، والذي عادة ما يتدلى على الكتف الأيسر. وبشكل عام، تكون ياقة وتلابيب البشت مزركشة بتطريزات من خيوط الذهب الكثيفة، محاكة يدوياً ومطروقة بمطرقة خشبية. ويرتدي البدو أحياناً بشتاً من شعر الجمال.

الغطرة

يرتدي أغلب البالغين القطريين قلنسوة رأس مستديرة: كفية مخرمة. ويوضع فوقها منديل: الغطرة أو الشماغ. وعادة ما تكون الغطرة بيضاء اللون صيفاً وملونة شتاءً، حمراء وبيضاء، أو بيضاء وسوداء، وفي بعض الأحيان تكون بتركيبة ألوان استثنائية، كالأخضر والأبيض أو الأبيض والأزرق أو الأبيض والبرتقالي. يطوى غطاء الرأس المربع الشكل بشكل قطري، ويثبت بحبل ثنائي أسود يسمى العقال. للعقال ذيلين متدليين، وفق الزي. يمكن لف الغطرة حول الوجه في الطقس البارد أو عند هبوب رياح الشمال، مما يوفر حماية إضافية. وطريقة ارتداء الغطرة مرتبط بالذوق الشخصي والعمر والطقس والفوارق الاجتماعية. ويتم نزعها عن الرأس أثناء الصلاة.

يكتمل الزي الوطني للذكور بقطع إضافية نموذجية، والتي – مثل نوع وجودة الثوب والبشت والغطرة – تشير بشكل كبير إلى مكانة وثروة الشخص. فالمجوهرات والساعات والأقلام والأحذية تعتبر زينة هامة. كما يحمل الكثير من الرجال مسابح صلاة في جيوبهم.

المرأة

عادة ما ترتدي المرأة العباءة السوداء، وهي ثوب طويل فضفاض بأكمام طويلة؛ وبعض الأثواب الأضيق تسمى الفراشة أو السمكة. ترتدي بعض الشابات الأزياء الغربية تحت عباءة مصنوعة من قماش شفاف. كما تضيف الزينة، مثل المجوهرات والحقائب والأكمام الحمراء أو الفضية، إلى ألوان العباءة.

وفق تعاليم القرآن الكريم أو الحديث الشريف، ينبغي على المرأة تغطية جسمها بالكامل خارج البيت، باستثناء الوجه واليدين والقدمين. إلا أن النساء القطريات يسفرن عن وجوههن بشكل متزايد خارج البيت، وأحياناً يكشفن جزءً من شعورهن ورقابهن. والحجاب هو غطاء الرأس الأكثر شعبية، وهو عبارة عن منديل مطوي يغطي الشعر والرقبة. وعادة ما ترتدي النساء كبيرات السن البتولة، المعروفة في هذا الجزء من الخليج العربي، والذي يرمز إلى مركز العائلة والاحترام. وتتراوح أشكال البتولة العديدة من قطعة خشنة من القماش الأسود مع ثنية للأنف وثقوب صغيرة للرؤية من خلالها، والذي ترتديه على الأغلب البدويات الفقيرات؛ أو القناع الأكثر إتقاناً والذهبي اللون والذي يشبه المنقار، وترتديه النساء الحضريات الأكثر غنى. كما يغطي النقاب الوجه، باستثناء العينين.

الرياضة

نظراً لعدم بقاء حياة برية تقريباً في بلادهم، على القطريين السفر إلى الخارج لممارسة الرياضة الأشهر والأروع بين الرياضات العربية التقليدية: الصيد بالصقور. سباق الجمال والخيول شعبي أيضاً، مع أنها تقتصر على المشاهدة تقريباً. ودرجت التقاليد على أن يركب جمال السباق الفرسان الأجانب الذين تحت سن البلوغ، لكن ضغط الحساسية العالية لصورة قطر في العالم أدت إلى استبدالهم مؤخراً برجال آليين. ويتحمس الشباب القطري لقيادة سياراتهم في الليل بسرعة عالية، والتنافس مع أصدقائهم في عرض أكثر أساليبهم جرأة في القيادة. كما أن القيادة على الطرق الوعرة في الصحراء نشاط محلي شعبي.

تمارس الرياضات الشعبية، مثل بناء الأجسام وكرة القدم وكرة السلة، بشكل رئيسي من قبل الأولاد والشباب الأعزب. إن واقع أن الكثير من القطريين هم من المتفرجين السلبيين بدلاً من ممارسة النشاطات الرياضية التي تتطلب مجهوداً عضلياً بشكل فعال لا يقتصر فقط على العوامل الثقافية والمناخية. وربما لهذا السبب تقوم الحكومة بسياستها باستيراد وتوطين مشاهير الرياضيين من أفريقيا الشرقية على وجه الخصوص بهدف الفوز بالميداليات الدولية “القطرية” في الأحداث الرياضية الدولية.

قطر سباقة في النزعة الحالية في العالم للحصول على اللاعبين المأجورين الموهوبين. وقد اشترت بشكل حرفي فريقها الأولمبي للمشاركة في أولمبياد بكين عام 2008. ومن أبرز هؤلاء اللاعبين ستيفان شيرونو – حالياً سيف سعيد شاهين – ويُذكر أن الحكومة القطرية عرضت عليه شيكاً شهرياً بمبلغ ألف دولار أمريكي طوال حياته. وبالمثل، فإن النجوم الكبار ومدرب فريق قطر الوطني لكرة القدم هم من مواليد البرازيل أو أوروغواي.

كما تحرص قطر على استضافة الأحداث الرياضية الكبرى. ففي عام 2006 نجحت في استضافة الألعاب الآسيوية. ورغم أن طلبها لاستضافة الألعاب الأولمبية عام 2016 قوبل بالرفض بشكل مثير للجدل من قبل اللجنة الأولمبية الدولية في ربيع 2008، إلا أن ولي العهد تميم تعهد بمحاولة دعوتها مرة أخرى عام 2020. كما فازت قطر بقرعة استضافة كأس العالم لكرة القدم لعام 2022. وحالياً، تستضيف البلاد سباق القوارب الشراعية الدولي السنوي، وسباق قطر للدرجات الهوائية، وبطولة إكزون موبيل المفتوحة للتنس للرجال، وبطولة بنك قطر التجاري للغولف، وبطولة MotoGP في حلبة اللوسيل لسباق السيارات – والمخطط تحويلها إلى حلبة فورميولا 1 في أقرب وقت ممكن.

إقرأ المزيد

الثقافة القطرية مبنية على الشعر والغناء والرقص البدوي. إلا أنه بسبب عدم توفر الكثير من الأرشيفات حول الأهمية الثقافية في شبه ا...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Qatar / Society, Media & Culture of Qatar / Culture of Qatar

Culture of Qatar

Falconry is a traditional sport in Qatar and still popular Photo HH
Falconry is a traditional sport in Qatar and still popular Photo HH

Contents

Introduction
Qatar’s national culture
Importing Arab Culture
Local dress
Sports in Qatar

As part of the Arabian Peninsula and the broader Persian Gulf region, Qatar’s culture is predominantly Arab-Islamic. Qatar’s music, cuisine and fashion style are largely similar to the cultures of neighbouring countries on the Arabian Peninsula.

Qatar’s National Culture

The recently renovated Qatar National Museum in Doha exhibits a range of interesting artefacts and local antiquities. These are almost invariably presented as typical examples of Qatari tradition. But does ‘Qatari’ tradition really exist? It is important to realize that the National Museum was originally set up by the Qatari government – shortly after independence – with the aim of creating a ‘national narrative’. The institution and its collection had to present a shared history and culture for the new state’s citizens in order to further the political process of nation-building and the creation of a shared identity.

In a region where common borders are sometimes still subject to controversy, the definition of a national culture is a daunting task. In many ways, it really does not make sense to speak of a specific ‘Qatari’ culture or tradition. Even when interpreted in a restricted sense, as relating only to ‘nationals’, problems soon arise. The troublesome identification of a specific ‘Qatari’ dialect can illustrate this point. This could be understood to be the locally dominant form of speech, that of the prominent Sunni families of Doha. However, the Bahrani – or Shia Arabs – of Doha speak a very different dialect, related to the language of the Bahrani of Bahrain and Saudi Arabia. The identification of a ‘national’ dialect therefore excludes the Shia citizens of Qatar from their ‘own’ national culture.

Furthermore, it ignores the fact that Sunni Arabs from Qatar, the UAE, Bahrain and Kuwait speak a very similar dialect, commonly known as Gulf Arabic.

‘Importing’ Arab Culture

Language, art and artefacts may be given a national label, but that does not automatically make them a specific ‘local tradition’. Travellers in the Gulf should not be surprised if the very same architectural feature is described as ‘traditionally Qatari’ in Doha and ‘traditionally Bahraini’ in Manama. Western observers even point to an opposing, globalizing trend in the Gulf region: that Gulf culture is gradually being replaced by a sometimes rather artificial ‘pan-Arab culture’. With this term, they are alluding to the increasing cultural influence of the Levant and Egypt and even of ‘orientalist’ artists in the West. London especially has become a centre for exporting ‘Arab culture’ to the Gulf. British publishers and writers produce coffee table books which give a sanitized and romanticized picture of Gulf culture and history. These locally flattering, but all the same simplistic and stereotypical productions, are often financed by Gulf sheikhs and Western oil companies, who distribute them as ‘heritage’ gifts among expatriates and locals alike.

‘Arab’ art

According to the American anthropologist Christa Salamandra, who recently published an interesting article titled ‘Cultural Construction, the Gulf and Arab London’, Western orientalist art is very popular among Gulf nationals. The currently fashionable yearning for ‘the old times’ among Gulf nationals is partly satisfied through the import of highly clichéd Western paintings of the ‘Arabian’ desert, carpet sellers or souks. According to one London
art seller, Gulf Arabs prefer to buy ‘Arab’ art in London.
The same goes for ‘Islamic’ art. For a few happy, carefree years, the young Qatari collector Sheikh Saud Al Thani – President of the National Council for Culture, Arts and Heritage of Qatar until his dismissal in 2005 pending an investigation on misuse of public funds – showered the metropolitan art market with millions of dollars on a collecting spree. The Sheikh assembled an extensive ‘Islamic’ art collection abroad – most of which was meant to be exhibited in the new Museum of Islamic Art in Doha, just off the Corniche near Doha Port, which was designed by the Chinese architect I.M. Pei. At the eastern end of the Corniche the Qatar National Museum is housed in the historical Fariq al-Salata Palace, built in 1901. The Qatar Photography Museum, further down the Corniche in al-Bidda, will almost certainly astonish visitors with its ‘flying stingray’ design.

Local Dress

Dress is a means to express one’s individuality and identity. The main item of dress for Qatari males is the thawb (plural: thiyab), a smart ankle-length shirt very similar to that worn in Bahrain and Kuwait. In summer Qatari men wear light, white thiyab, but in winter the fabric of the shirt is heavier and has a darker colour, using different shades of grey, brown or ochre. The bottom hem of the thawb is generally folded over, and the sleeves are cuffed with buttons or cuff-links. The thawb, under which Qatari men wear a shirt and sirwal, protects the body from loss of moisture in a hot environment.

On formal occasions a light, black or brown cloak or bisht is worn over the thawb, usually draped loosely over the left shoulder. The collar and lapels of the bisht are generally embellished with heavy gold thread embroidery, which is hand sewn and then beaten with a mallot. Badu sometimes wear a heavier camel-hair bisht.

Ghutra

Most adult Qatari men wear a circular skull cap, the keffiyeh, which resembles lace. This is topped with a headscarf, the ghutra or shemagh.
The ghutra is usually white in summer and checkered in winter, either red and white, less frequently black and white, and only occasionally shows alternative combinations such as white and green, white and blue, or white and orange. The square headscarf is folded diagonally and fastened with a double black coiled and knotted rope known as an agal. Some agal are worn with one or two tails hanging down, depending on the fashion. The ghutra can be wrapped around the face in cold weather or when the shamal occurs, offering additional protection. The style of the ghutra depends on both individual preferences, age, weather and national differences. It is removed during prayer.

The male national costume is adorned with typical accessories which – like the type and quality of the thawb, bisht and ghutra – are highly indicative of an individual’s local status and wealth. Jewellery, watches, pens and sandals are important accessories.
Many men also carry prayer beads, or misbah, in their pockets

Women in Qatar usually wear the black abaya, a loose-fitting garment with long sleeves, although some fashions such as the farasha (butterfly) or the ‘fish’ style might be more tight-fitting. Younger women can increasingly be seen wearing Western-styled clothes beneath their abaya, which might be made of a transparant fabric. Accessories such as jewellery, handbags and red or silver sleeves add colour to their garments.

According to the requirements of the Koran and the Hadith, women should cover their entire body, excepting their face, hands and feet, when in public. Qatari women are however increasingly showing their faces in public, sometimes revealing part of their hair and necks. The most common head scarf worn is the hijab, a square scarf which is folded and which covers the hair and neck. The batula, which is very typical of this part of the Gulf, is generally worn by older women, and symbolizes family status and respectability. The different styles of the batula range from a coarse piece of black cloth with a fold for the nose and small holes to see through, mostly worn by Bedouin women, or more elaborate, gold-coloured covers, which are primarily worn by wealthier urban women. The niqab also covers the face, except for the eyes.

Sports in Qatar

With almost no wildlife left to hunt in their own country, Qataris have to go abroad to pursue the most famous and glamorous of traditional Arab sports: falconry. Camel and horse racing are also popular, although almost exclusively as spectator sports. Racing camels were traditionally ridden by extremely young foreign jockeys, but heightened sensitivity to Qatar’s image in the world press has led to their recent replacement by robots. Young Qataris get a kick out of driving their cars at high speed at night, competing with friends in showing off their most daring driving styles. Off-road driving in the desert is also a popular local activity.

Popular sports such as body building, football, and basketball are pursued mainly by boys and unmarried young men. The fact that so many Qataris are merely passive spectators instead of actively pursuing more physically demanding sporting activities, is not only due to cultural and climatic factors. The government’s policy of importing and nationalizing top class athletes from mainly East African countries with the aim of winning ‘Qatari’ medals in international sporting events, may also have something to do with it.

Qatar is a forerunner in the current trend for nations to acquire talented athletes. It literally bought its Olympic Team for Beijing 2008. Most prominent among these athletes is the Kenyan-born steeplechaser Stephen Cherono – now Saif Saaeed Shaheen – who was reportedly offered a USD 1,000 dollar monthly cheque for the rest of his life by the Qatari government. Likewise, the greatest stars and the coach of Qatar’s national football team were born in either Brazil or Uruguay.

The country is also eager to host major international sporting events. In 2006, it successfully hosted the Asian Games. Its bid for the 2016 Olympics was controversially turned down by the International Olympic Committee in the spring of 2008, but Crown Prince Tamim has vowed to bid again for 2020. Qatar won the bid for the 2022 FIFA World Cup. The country currently hosts an annual International Sailing Regatta, the Tour of Qatar Cycling Race, the ExxonMobil Qatar Open Men’s Tennis Tournament, the Commercialbank Qatar Masters Golf Tournament, and a MotoGP at the Lusail racetrack – which is planned to be converted into a Formula 1-racetrack as soon as possible

Further Reading

Qatar's culture is based on Bedouin poetry, song and dance. Yet, because of the few archives available on the importance of its culture in the Peninsula, its original development and raison d’être have not been documented prope...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update