فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قطر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / نظرة عامة على المشهد الإعلامي في قطر / قناة الجزيرة: مؤثرة ومثيرة للجدل

قناة الجزيرة: مؤثرة ومثيرة للجدل

لعبت قناة الجزيرة دوراً هاماً في الربيع العربي، وذلك بتغطية الثورات العربية، معطية زعماء الثورة منبراً، مع بث محتوى يقدمه مستخدمو الإنترنت وعكس واقع الشارع العربي في الظاهر. وفي نفس الوقت، يبدو أن الربيع العربي يضع قناة الجزيرة على المحك، حيث تتزايد الشكوك حول استقلالية شبكة الأنباء هذه عن السلطات القطرية.

يتحدث الناقدون عن وجود علاقة تحريرية بين قناة الجزيرة والقيادة القطرية منذ بداياتها. ويشيرون إلى حقيقة أن قناة الجزيرة، التي كانت لفترة طويلة من أكبر الناقدين للسيطرة السعودية في المنطقة، تخلت عن انتقادها للقيادة السعودية بعد التقارب بين البلدين. واليوم، بينما كانت القناة تغطي بشكل مكثف الثورات في ليبيا وسوريا – حيث تقدم قطر الدعم السياسي (والعسكري – في حالة ليبيا)، إلا ان الثورات في عمان والبحرين والسعودية – وجميعها دول حليفة في مجلس التعاون الخليجي – لقيت اهتماماً أقل إلى حد كبير. إضافة إلى ذلك، كون قطر الدولة الخليجية الوحيدة التي لها علاقات على مستوى منخفض مع إسرائيل، فإن الجزيرة هي أولى القنوات العربية التي تسمح للإسرائيليين بالتحدث دون الخضوع للرقابة، وهو أمر غير معتاد في العالم العربي ويشير أيضاً إلى تأثير حكومي.

ينتقد عدد متزايد من المشاهدين في العالم العربي وفي أماكن أخرى قناة الجزيرة على أنها موجهة بشكل كبير عن طريق برنامج سياسي قطري. كما تسبب هذا بتوترات داخل المؤسسة ذاتها. ففي آذار/مارس 2012، استقال علي هاشم، مراسل قناة الجزيرة في بيروت. وكشفت رسائل البريد الإلكتروني المسربة خيبة أمله حول تغطية قناة الجزيرة للأحداث في سوريا. وكانت شبكة الأنباء قد رفضت بث صور كان قد التقطها لمسلحين يشتبكون مع الجيش السوري في وادي خالد. وعلاوة على ذلك، تجاهلت القناة الاستفتاء في سوريا على الإصلاح الدستوري الذي شهد 57% من الإقبال و 90% من الأصوات لصالح التغيير. وفي نفس الوقت، بالكاد كانت هناك تغطية للانتفاضة في البحرين. كما استقال رئيس مكتب الجزيرة في بيروت غسان بن جدو، احتجاجاً على عدم حياد القناة في أعقاب الثورات. كما استقال المدون السابق لقناة الجزيرة باللغة الإنكليزية Ted Rall بعد رفض مدونته أعمدته على نحو منتظم، مشيراً إلى أن تغييراً قد طرأ على سياسة القناة في الآونة الأخيرة.

التأثير الخارجي

هناك أمثلة أخرى عن التأثير الخارجي على الموقف التحريري لقناة الجزيرة. فقبل عدة أشهر، نشر موقع ويكيليكس برقية من السفارة الامريكية في قطر تشير إلى أن المدير العام لقناة الجزيرة، وضاح خنفر، اجتمع مع السفير الأمريكي في قطر. وبعد إبداء السفير تذمره حول المحتوى السلبي على موقع قناة الجزيرة حول الحرب في العراق، وعد خنفر بتخفيف اللهجة، وأزال المحتوى. وفي أيلول/سبتمبر 2011، قدّم خنفر استقالته فجأة. وحل محله عضو من العائلة المالكة بخلفية مهنية في إدارة الغاز – وليس الصحافة. في حين لم يذكر خنفر أي سبب لقراره ذاك، قالت مصادر مطلعة إنه طلب منه المغادرة من قبل العائلة المالكة.

جميع هذه الانتقادات موجهة تحديداً إلى قناة الجزيرة باللغة العربية. ولم تتعرض القناة النظيرة الناطقة باللغة الإنجليزية الجزيرة بالإنجليزية التي أنشئت عام 2006، للجدل، وفازت بعدد من الجوائز العالمية للصحافة، بما فيها جوائز لتغطيتها الانتفاضة البحرينية. كما تم تصنيفها قناة العام في “مسابقات الجمعية الملكية للقنوات التلفزيونية لعام 2012” في بريطانيا، وحصلت على نفس اللقب لثلاث سنوات متتالية في “مسابقات Freesat” البريطانية.

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Qatar / Society, Media & Culture of Qatar / Qatar’s Media Landscape: An Overview / al-Jazeera: influentual and controversial

al-Jazeera: influentual and controversial

Al-Jazeera has played an important role in the Arab Spring, covering the Arab uprisings, giving rebel leaders a platform and airing user-generated content off the Internet, seemingly reflecting the reality on the Arab street. At the same time, the Arab Spring seems to have put al-Jazeera to the test: doubts are growing about the news network’s independence from the Qatari authorities.

Critics believe that editorial ties have existed between al-Jazeera and the Qatari leadership from the early days. For example, for a long time al-Jazeera was a strong critic of Saudi hegemony in the region. Yet it abandoned its criticism of the Saudi leadership after a rapprochement between the two countries. While the uprisings in Libya and Syria – which Qatar supports politically (and in the case of Libya militarily) – were covered extensively, those in Oman, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia – all fellow Gulf Cooperation Council members – received considerably less attention. In addition, as the only Gulf State with low-level ties with Israel, al-Jazeera is the first Arab channel that allows Israelis to speak uncensored, which is highly unusual in the Arab world and also points to governmental influence.

A growing number of viewers in the Arab world and elsewhere have criticized al-Jazeera for being strongly guided by a Qatari political agenda. This also caused tensions inside the organization. In March 2012, al-Jazeera’s Beirut correspondent Ali Hashem resigned. Emails were leaked revealing his frustrations over al-Jazeera’s coverage of Syria. The news network had refused to air photos he had taken of armed fighters clashing with the Syrian Army in Wadi Khaled. Furthermore, it had ignored Syria’s constitutional reform referendum which saw a 57 percent turnout, with 90 percent voting in favour of change. At the same time the uprising in Bahrain was barely covered at all. Al-Jazeera’s Beirut bureau chief Ghassan Ben Jeddou also resigned, complaining that the news network had lost its neutrality in the wake of the uprisings. Former al-Jazeera English blogger Ted Rall stepped down after his blogs and columns had been rejected, noting that a change in policy had taken place recently.

External influences

There are examples of external influence on al-Jazeera’s editorial stand. Several months ago Wikileaks published a cable of the US embassy in Qatar which revealed that al-Jazeera’s director general, Wadah Khanfar, had met with the US ambassador in Qatar. After the ambassador had complained about unfavourable content on al-Jazeera’s website concerning the war in Iraq, Khanfar promised to tone it down and removed the content. September 2011 Khanfar suddenly resigned. He was replaced by a member of the royal family who had a professional background as a gas executive – not as a journalist. While Khanfar gave no reason for his decision, well-informed sources said he was asked to leave by the royal family.

All the criticism deals specifically with the Arabic-language news channel. The channel’s English-language counterpart, al-Jazeera English, established in 2006, has not been the subject of controversy and has won a number of international awards for its journalism, including awards for its coverage of the Bahraini uprising. It was recognized as News Channel of the Year at the UK’s 2012 Royal Television Society Awards and has held the same title for three successive years at Britain’s Freesat Awards.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!