فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قطر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / مجتمع في مرحلة الانتقال

مجتمع في مرحلة الانتقال

 

عندما عاد العالم السياسي لؤي بحري في تشرين ثاني/نوفمبر 2007 إلى قطر بعد غياب ثلاث سنوات، فاجأه وجود ضابطة أنثى في دائرة الهجرة تصدر التأشيرات في المطار. وقد أدهشه أيضاً أن جميع موظفي الجوازات وفرز الأمتعة كنّ من النساء القطريات. فمنذ مطلع الألفية الثالثة، خطت قطر التي كانت معروفة بالاستبطان في السابق خطى متقدمة في التحضر والعولمة بسرعة مدهشة. وانفتحت قطر بشكل متزايد على الاستثمار الأجنبي والسياحة والمنتجات الأجنبية. وامتلأت مجمعاتها التجارية الفاخرة بمحلات الأزياء الغربية ومطاعم الوجبات السريعة. كما بدأت العائلات القطرية تميل إلى المطبخ الهندي وأفلام البوليوود. ويلتحق الشباب الطموح بكلية ويل كورنيل الطبية في المدينة التعليمية على مشارف الدوحة.

سيدتان بارزتان

يشهد المجتمع القطري نقلة اجتماعية وأخلاقية حسب الصورة النمطية التي رسمتها النخبة الحاكمة. وليس من سبيل المصادفة أن تكون اثنتين من المحركات البارزات للثورة الاجتماعية من النساء: السيدة الأولى الرسمية في قطر الشيخة موزة بنت ناصر المسند، وشيخة بنت عبد الله المسند. السيدة الأولى الأميرة موزة بنت ناصر المسند هي واحدة من زوجات الأمير السابق، وزوجة والد الأمير، والوحيدة التي تظهر في المحافل العامة. ومباشرة بعد تولي زوجها السلطة عام 1995، أسست الأميرة موزة مؤسسة قطر للتعليم والعلوم وتنمية المجتمع. وفي خريف عام 2003، افتتحت المؤسسة رسمياً المدينة التعليمية التي بلغت تكاليف تشييدها مليار دولار بتمويل من أموال الأمير الخاصة.

 

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Qatar / Society, Media & Culture of Qatar / Society of Qatar / A society in transition

A society in transition

When in November 2007 political scientist Louay Bahry returned to Qatar after three years of absence, he was surprised to find a female immigration officer issuing visas at the airport. He was even more amazed when he noticed that all the passport officials and luggage screeners were Qatari women. Since the turn of the millennium, the country that was once notorious for its introspectiveness has modernized and ‘globalized’ at an astonishing speed. Qatar has opened up increasingly to foreign investment, tourists and products. Its luxury shopping malls are crammed with Western boutiques and fast food eateries. Qatari families have developed a liking for Indian cuisine and Bollywood movies. Ambitious youngsters attend Weill Cornell Medical School in Education City, on the outskirts of Doha.

Two prominent women

Qatar is a society in social and moral transition: that is the image put forward by the ruling elite. It is no coincidence that two of the most prominent instigators of societal evolution are women: Qatar’s former First Lady Princess Sheikha Moza bint Nasir al-Misnad and Sheikha Abdullah al-Misnad, President of Qatar University. Former First Lady Princess Sheikha Moza bint Nasir al-Misnad is one of the Emir’s father’s wives, and the only one to appear in public. Soon after her husband assumed power in 1995, Princess Moza founded the Qatar Foundation for Education, Science and Community Development. In the autumn of 2003 the Foundation officially inaugurated Education City, a billion dollar project funded by the former Emir from his personal assets.

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update