فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قطر / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / وضع المرأة

وضع المرأة

قطر المرأة
المشاركة الأنثوية في المجتمع القطري

من المحتمل أن تختبر قطر ارتفاعاً في عدد الشابات ذوات المستوى التعليمي العالي ممن يدخلن سوق العمل. ويبقى أن نرى كيف سيتعامل هؤلاء النساء – أو يغيرن – مع بلاد لا يزال يهيمن عليها الذكور بأغلبية ساحقة.

عام 2004، كانت نسبة النساء العاملات 3,6% من إجمالي القوى العمالة و 30,6% من القوى العاملة من المواطنين القطريين. وفي ذلك الوقت، شكّلت الإناث نسبة 70% من طلاب الجامعات – وكان المعروف عنهن الاجتهاد أكثر والحصول على درجات أعلى مقارنة بالطلاب الذكور. واللواتي وجدن عملاً كن يدخلن عادة القطاعات الاقتصادية المرتبطة تقليدياً بالنساء، خاصة التعليم والطب. ومما لا شك فيه، يلتحق النساء القطريات على نحو متزايد في قطاعي الأعمال والأمن.

تنص المادة 35 من الدستور على “عدم التمييز على أساس الجنس”. ومع ذلك، فالفجوة كبيرة بين مثاليات الدستور وما يجري على أرض الواقع. ورغم أن رواتب النساء منذ عام 2005 تعادل رواتب الرجال، إلا أنه لا يحق لهن الحصول على تعويضات متساوية (كتكاليف النقل والسكن). ولا تزال شهادة الرجل في المحاكم تعادل شهادة امرأتين. وفي حين أنه يجوز للنساء حضور الجلسات وتمثيل أنفسهن، إلا أنهن لا يزلن يمثّلن من قبل أقارب ذكور. وترث الفتيات نصف ما يرثه إخوتهن الذكور. ويستمر العنف المنزلي أن يكون مشكلة رئيسية، ولا يعتبر اغتصاب الزوج لزوجته جريمة يعاقب عليها القانون. ويمكن لمرتكبي ما يسمى بـ “جرائم الشرف” توقع أحكام مخففة أقل بكثير من “القتلة العاديين”.

وما زالت التقاليد تفرض عدم جواز سفر المرأة خارج البلاد إلا بصحبة محرم ذكر، ويحظر على المرأة حجز غرف في الفندق.

عام 1997، أعلن الأمير عن منح المرأة الحقوق ذاتها التي يتمتع بها الرجل في التصويت والترشيح لمناصب. لكن هذه النية قوبلت بمعارضة من مجموعة من الزعماء الأصوليين الإسلاميين، بمن فيهم أستاذ التاريخ في جامعة قطر الذي سُجن مدة مئة يوم إثر ذلك. وفي الانتخابات الأولى عام 1999 لانتخاب 29 عضو للمجلس البلدي المركزي، لم تفز أية مرشحة بمقعد. وعند إعادة انتخاب المجلس عام 2003، أصبحت شيخة الجفيري أول امرأة عضو في المجلس. لكنها لم تواجه أية منافسة، وفازت بنسبة أصوات هزيلة لم تتجاوز 38%. حتى أن مشاركة الناخبين كانت أقل مما كانت عليه في عام 1999. وفي هذا الإطار، من المثير للاهتمام أنه في الانتخابات الأخيرة والحرة نسبياً في المنطقة – في الكويت والأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة ومصر – لم تصوّت النساء بشكل مختلف عن الرجال عند مواجهتهن بالاختيار بين المرشحين الليبراليين والإسلاميين المتشددين.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Fanack | ©Fanack

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Qatar / Society, Media & Culture of Qatar / Society of Qatar / Women

Women of Qatar

Qatar can expect to see an increasing number of highly educated young women entering the job market. It remains to be seen how these women will cope with – or change – a still overwhelmingly male dominated country. In 2004, 3.6 percent of the overall workforce and 30.6 percent of the Qatari citizen workforce was female. At that time, about 70 percent of university students were female – and they were known to work harder and achieve higher grades than their male companions. Those who found a job typically entered economic sectors traditionally associated with women, notably education and medicine. Nevertheless, Qatari women can increasingly be found in the business and security sectors.

Article 35 of the Constitution stipulates that ‘there shall be no discrimination on account of sex’. However, a wide gap exists between the ideals of the Constitution and the actual situation. Although since 2005 women have received the same salary as men, they are not entitled to equal allowances (such as transportation and housing costs). The testimony of one man still equals that of two women in court. And while women may attend court proceedings and represent themselves, they are still generally represented by a male relative. Girls can inherit only half as much as their brothers. Domestic violence continues to be a major problem, and marital rape is not legally considered a crime. Perpetrators of so-called ‘honour killings’ can expect substantially lower sentences than ‘common murderers’. Tradition requires women to travel abroad with male escorts, and they are prevented from booking hotel rooms.

In 1997, the Emir announced that women would be granted the same rights as men to vote and to stand for office. This intention met with opposition from a group of more fundamentalist Islamic leaders, including a professor of history at Qatar University who was subsequently jailed for a hundred days. At the first election of the 29-member Central Municipal Council in 1999 none of the female candidates gained a seat. When the Council was re-elected in 2003, Sheikha al-Jufayri became the first female councillor. But she faced no competition and with a meagre 38 percent, voters’ participation was even lower than in 1999. In this context it is interesting to note that in recent, relatively free elections in the region – in Kuwait, the Occupied Palestinian Territories and Egypt – women did not vote differently from men when faced with the choice between liberal and conservative-Islamist candidates.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Fanack | ©Fanack

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!