فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / اللاجئون / ؟التغريبة الثالثة للمصريين في التاريخ الحديث: لماذا يغادر العديد منهم البلاد

؟التغريبة الثالثة للمصريين في التاريخ الحديث: لماذا يغادر العديد منهم البلاد

Egypt- protests egypt
متظاهرون مصريون في وسط القاهرة خلال اشتباكٍ مع الشرطة بعد أن فرقت قوات الأمن المتظاهرين من مظاهرة نظمتها جماعة حقوق الإنسان “لا للمحاكمات العسكرية للمدنيين” في أول مظاهرة غير مرخصة في العاصمة منذ اعتماد قانون ينظم المظاهرات في 26 نوفمبر 2013. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED ABDELWAHAB

استغل الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي المخاوف من الهجرة لإقناع الغرب بدعمه سياسياً ومالياً والتغاضي عن ملفه الوحشي في مجال حقوق الانسان. فمنذ انقلابه العسكري منتصف عام 2013، شهدت مصر موجات نزوح كبيرة هرباً من التنكيل الشديد الذي طال عشرات الآلاف من المصريين.

ففي حواره مع التلفزيون البرتغالي، في نوفمبر 2016، قال السيسي “إن تعداد سكان مصر 92 مليون نسمة، وهو تعداد يفوق سكان سوريا والعراق وليبيا مجتمعين، تخيّل لو خرجت الأمور عن نطاق السيطرة كم سيكون حجم الهجرة غير الشرعية وعدد الضحايا الذين سيعانون نتيجة ذلك محلياً وعالمياً؟”.

وقد أعاد تكرار نفس التحذيرات في كل مناسبة وحتى خلال لقاءه مع قادة الدول الغربية. بل كان هذا الملف إحدى أساليب التهديد لإيطاليا بعد توتر الأجواء بين البلدين عقب مقتل الباحث الإيطالي جوليو ريجيني في القاهرة داخل مقر إحدى الأجهزة الأمنية، كما يُقال.

إلا أن السيسي لم يذكر بأن سياساته هي أكبر مصدرٍ لنزوح المصريين إلى الخارج، ففي يوليو من العام الماضي 2018، قررت حكومة كوريا الجنوبية فرض تأشيرة دخول مُسبقة على المصريين القادمين إليها، وذلك بعدما كشفت عن أن نصف طالبي اللجوء لبلادهم تقريباً هم من المصريين. وفي بيان لوزارة العدل الكورية قالت بأنه بين يناير ومايو من عام 2018، تفوق عدد المصريين الطالبين للجوء على أمثالهم من الباكستانيين والصينيين، وهو ما يُمثل 40% من إجمالي طلبات اللجوء. وأضافت الوزارة أن أغلب أولئك المتقدمين في العشرينيات والثلاثينيات من عمرهم.

أحد طالبي اللجوء هؤلاء هو أحمد سمير، الذي وصل إلى كوريا الجنوبية في فبراير 2016، والذي قال “تم القبض عليّ من منزلي بالقاهرة وبعد فترة اختفاء قسري داخل أحد الأجهزة الأمنية وجهت لي النيابة العامة تهمة التظاهر والانضمام لجماعة الاخوان المحظورة قانوناً في مصر، حيث قالت الشرطة أنها قبضت عليّ من داخل إحدى مظاهرات الجماعة المطالبة بعودة الرئيس الراحل محمد مرسي.”

“تم إطلاق سراحي مؤقتاً على ذمة القضية، وقبل أقل من شهر كنت أقف أمام ضابط الجوازات بمطار برج العرب بمدينة الإسكندرية –شمال القاهرة –حيث أوضحت له بأني مسافر لإتمام زواجي من بنت كورية اخترعتها واخترعت لها حساباً على موقع فيسبوك مستعيراً صور إحدى الفنانات الكوريات، وقمت بعمل محادثات بيني وبينها لأقدمها للضابط، بالإضافة إلى بعض الهدايا التي قمت بشرائها ووضعتها في حقيبتي كان من بينها قميص نوم نسائي قمت بإخراجه من الحقيبة وإظهاره للضابط الذي تركني أغادر دون الاهتمام بهويتي.”

يُضيف سمير “بعد وصولي إلى كوريا تم الحكم عليّ في القضية بالسجن خمس سنوات.” وتابع القول “ورغم المرارة تلك إلا أنني كنت أشعر بالراحة في كوريا وأحسست بأن عُمراً جديداً كُتب لي، ولكن بعد فترة انتابني شعور بأن جزءاً كبيراً مني لا يزال في مصر وأني أريد العودة من جديد خاصة بعد المضايقات التي زادت من طرف الحكومة الكورية ضد طالبي اللجوء وترحيل كثير منهم وهرب آخرين إلى دول أخرى خوفاً من الترحيل إلى مصر.”

شابٌ آخر يدعى خليل ( وهو اسمٌ مستعار) فرّ إلى انجلترا، حيث حصل على حق اللجوء السياسي في لندن مؤخراً. ويقول خليل أنه هرب من مصر لأنه كان أحد قيادات إحدى الحركات السياسية، إذ “تم اعتقالي مرتين الأولى في ديسمبر 2015 استباقاً لمشاركتي في إحدى المظاهرات، والثانية في أبريل عام 2016 خلال المظاهرات المعترضة على التنازل عن جزيرتي تيران وصنافير [للمملكة العربية السعودية]،” وأضاف “ما تسبب في فصلي من عملي وبعد محاولاتي إقامة مشروع خاص قام الأمن بإغلاقه وقطع عيشي.”

يُكمل خليل: “خرجت من مصر في مارس عام 2017 إلى إحدى الدول العربية بحثاً عن الأمان ولقمة العيش إلا أن السفارة المصرية قامت بطلب ترحيلي إلى مصر وهو ما استتبعه إلغاء إقامتي الرسمية، ففرت إلى أوروبا بحثاً عن الأمان، حيث تملك مني الخوف من عودتي إلى مصر حيث كان متوقع أن يتم سجني لزمن طويل، ومؤخراً تم قبول طلب لجوئي السياسي إلى انجلترا.”

ووفقاً للمفوضية العليا لشؤون اللاجئين التابعة للأمم المتحدة، تم منح 3061 مصرياً حق اللجوء في المملكة المتحدة بين عامي 2013 و2018، مقارنةً بـ535 بين عامي 1988 و2012.

أما الناشطة هند نافع فقد فرّت إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بعد الحكم عليها بالسجن لـ25 عاماً لمشاركتها في إحدى المظاهرات. بدأت قصتها بالمشاركة في اعتصام خلال شهر ديسمبر عام 2011 أمام مبنى مجلس الشورى والذي تم فضه من قِبل قوات الجيش. تم الاعتداء على هند وسحلها على الأرض والاعتداء عليها بالعصي والبيادات العسكرية، ثم تم جرها من شعرها إلى داخل مبنى مجلس الشورى حيث تم تعذيبها بالصواعق الكهربية وتهديدها بتشويه وجهها بالسكين، وإجبارها على الاعتراف. ظهرت بعد ذلك صور لهند وهي مصابة بكم هائل من الكدمات والاصابات.

تم بعد ذلك توجيه تهم لها ضمن قرابة 230 شاب آخرين بتهم “الاعتداء على قوات الأمن بالطوب والمولوتوف، وحرق المجمع العلمي، وإتلاف الممتلكات العامة، وإثارة الشغب والفوضى في الشارع، وحيازة الأسلحة.” وفي فبراير 2015، تم الحكم عليها بالسجن المؤبد لمدة 25 عاماً. حصل هذا عندما قررت الفرار من البلاد مستغلةً حقيقة أن مطار القاهرة لا يمتلك قائمةً بأسماء جميع من صدر بحقهم حكمٌ أولي من المحكمة لمنعها من السفر. سافرت بدايةً إلى لبنان قبل أن تستقر في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، على أمل العودة لبلادها يوماً ما.

وفي مقابلةٍ لفَنَك مع إبراهيم حجي، الباحث والناشط المصري المقيم في إيطاليا الذي يعمل أيضاً بإحدى المنظمات غير الحكومية المعنية بالهجرة ومساعدة اللاجئين، قال لنا: “هناك أعداد كبيرة جداً من المصريين فروا من مصر منذ صعود السيسي للحكم، حيث كان الكثير من هؤلاء مفكرين ومبدعين وعقول كانت على أتم الاستعداد لبناء مصر، لكنهم فضّلوا الخروج خوفاً على حياتهم وأمنهم.”

ويُضيف حجي بأن العديد من المصريين المقيمين في إيطاليا قرروا العودة إلى مصر بعد ثورة يناير، إلا أن هذا العدد الكبير عاد من جديد إلى إيطاليا بسبب الأجواء القمعية والظروف الاقتصادية السيئة في مصر قائلين “نار إيطاليا ولا جنة مصر في عهد السيسي.”

يُضيف حجي قائلاً “إني أعمل في هذا المجال منذ زمن، وكانت الجنسيات الغالبة المعروفة بطلباتها للجوء السياسي في إيطاليا هي نيجريا، وكوت ديفوار وغامبيا. لاحقاً، زادت أعداد السوريين والليبيين، إلا أنه ومنذ منتصف عام 2013 أصبح المصريين إحدى أكبر الجنسيات طلباً للجوء في إيطاليا، وأصبحنا نُخصص أماكن كبيرة داخل معسكرات اللاجئين لهم، منهم إسلاميين وغير إسلاميين من المهتمين بالسياسة ومن المسيحيين أيضاً. كذلك هناك عائلات كاملة جاءت من مصر طلباً للجوء هرباً من الجحيم الاقتصادي في مصر. وبشكلٍ مفاجىء، وافقت إيطاليا على منحهم اللجوء الإنساني، وأصبحت مطارات إيطاليا منفذاً لقدوم طالبي اللجوء أثناء المرور العابر بالبلاد، ومنهم من رُفض طلبه في كوريا وغيرها ومنهم من هرب من مصر مباشرة. وهناك أيضاً الكثيرين الذين جاءوا بحجة الدراسة رغم إن إيطاليا معروفة بضعف جودة التعليم فيها، إلا أن ذلك كان إحدى الوسائل التي اتخذها الشباب للقدوم إلى إيطاليا وطلب اللجوء.”

ووفقاً للمفوضية العليا لشؤون اللاجئين، تم منح 9079 مصرياً حق اللجوء في إيطاليا بين عامي 2013 و2018، مقابل 585 فقط بين عامي 1980 و2012.
فقد وصفت دراسة أعدتها الشبكة العربية لمعلومات حقوق الإنسان حول شتات المصريين بعد ثورة يناير، ما حدث بأنه التغريبة الثالثة للمصريين في التاريخ الحديث، فهناك التغريبة الأولى التي حدثت بعد انقلاب عام 1952، والثانية في عهد الرئيس الراحل أنور السادات في السبعينيات، في حين بدأت التغريبة الثالثة في أعقاب الإطاحة بالرئيس المخلوع حسني مبارك عام 2011 وامتدت خلال حكم الاخوان المسلمين، إلا أنها تفاقمت بشدة في عهد السيسي.

بينما وصف المؤرخ واستاذ التاريخ المصري د. خالد فهمي هذه الهجرة الجماعية باعتبارها شكلاً من أشكال المنفى، إذ قال، “بمرور الوقت وبترسيخ مفاهيم الوطنية والمواطنة، أصبح من غير القانوني إصدار أحكام بالنفي في حق المصريين، بل أن الدساتير المصرية المتعاقبة حرّمت النفي تحريماً قاطعاً، ومما يدمي له القلب أن نرى النفي الآن يُمارس على المصريين. لم يحدث هذا التحول الخطير نتيجة إجراء تعديلات دستورية أو إصدار قوانين أجازت ما كان محظوراً سابقاً، بل نتيجة انتهاج الدولة مؤخراً لممارسات غرضها الواضح إغلاق المجال العام ومصادرة العمل السياسي ورفع كلفة ممارسته.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ MOHAMED ABDELWAHAB

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Refugees / Third Exodus in Modern History: Why So Many Egyptians Are Leaving Home?

Third Exodus in Modern History: Why So Many Egyptians Are Leaving Home?

Egypt- protests egypt
Egyptian protesters in downtown Cairo during a clash with police after the security forces dispersed protesters from a demonstration organized by human rights group “No Military Trials for Civilians” in the first unauthorized protest staged in the capital since the adoption of a law that regulates demonstrations. November 26, 2013. Photo AFP

Egypt’s President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi has used migration concerns to convince the West to support him politically and financially and turn a blind eye to his brutal human rights record. Since he came to power in a military coup in mid-2013, tens of thousands of Egyptians have fled the country to escape the widespread state-sanctioned abuse.

In an interview with Portuguese Television in November 2016, al-Sisi said, “The population of Egypt is 92 million, which is more than the population of Syria, Iraq and Libya combined. So, imagine if things get out of control and imagine the size of illegal immigration and the number of victims who will suffer locally and globally as a result.”

He repeated this warning at every opportunity, including during meetings with Western leaders. He even used it to threaten Italy after the murder of researcher Giulio Regeni, allegedly by Egypt’s security services, heightened tensions between the two countries.

What al-Sisi has failed to mention is that his policies have been a major contributor to the exodus. In July 2018, the South Korean government decided to scrap visa-free entry for Egyptians and introduce a pre-entry visa following a dramatic increase in the number of asylum applications from Egyptians. According to the Ministry of Justice, more than 40 per cent of asylum applications filed between January and May 2018 were from Egyptians, a figure only surpassed by Pakistanis and Chinese. The ministry added that most of the applicants were men in their 20s and 30s.

One of these asylum seekers is Ahmed Samir, who arrived in South Korea in February 2016. “I was arrested from my house in Cairo and after a period of enforced disappearance inside the premises of one of the security services, the public prosecution charged me with protesting and joining the outlawed Muslim Brotherhood group in Egypt. The police said that they arrested me from the site of a demonstration staged by the group demanding the return of President Mohamed Morsi,” Ahmed explained.

“I was temporarily released on remand. Less than a month ago, I stood before a passport officer at Borg al-Arab airport in Alexandria, north of Cairo, where I explained to him that I was travelling to complete the arrangements of my marriage with a Korean lady, and I made up the name of the Korean lady and her Facebook account using pictures by a Korean artist. Also, I made conversations with her to introduce her to the officer. In addition, I showed the officer some of the gifts that I bought, including a woman’s nightshirt that I took out of the bag and showed to the officer, who let me leave without caring about my identity.”

After arriving in South Korea, Samir said he was sentenced to five years in prison in the same case. “Despite that bitterness, I felt comfortable in Korea and thought that I would live a new life here. However, after a while I felt that a large part of me is still in Egypt and I wanted to return to Egypt again, especially after the Korean government stepped up harassment against asylum seekers and deported many of them, and after other asylum seekers started to flee to other countries out of fear of deportation to Egypt.”

Another young man named Khalil (not his real name) fled to the United Kingdom, where he was granted political asylum in London. He said he left Egypt because he was a leading member of a political movement. “I was arrested twice in December 2015 in anticipation of my participation in one of the demonstrations, and in April 2016 I was arrested during the demonstrations objecting to ceding the Egyptian islands of Tiran and Sanafir [to Saudi Arabia],” he said. “As a result, I was dismissed from my job, and after attempts to set up my own project, security services closed it down although it was my only source of income.”

He added, “I went out of Egypt in March 2017 to one of the Arab countries in search of safety and a decent living, but the Egyptian embassy requested that I be deported to Egypt, which resulted in the cancellation of my official residence permit. So, I fled to Europe in search of safety, because I was afraid of returning to Egypt where I expected to be put in prison for a long time, and recently my asylum application for England was accepted.”

According to the UNHCR, the UN refugee agency, 3,061 Egyptians were granted asylum in the United Kingdom between 2013 and 2018, compared to 535 between 1988 and 2012.

Activist Hind Nafi fled to the United States after being sentenced to 25 years in prison for participating in a demonstration. She first took part in a sit-in in front of the parliament building in December 2011. The demonstration was dispersed by the army. Hind was dragged along the ground and assaulted with sticks and other objects. She was then pulled by her hair into the building of the Shura Council where she was tortured with electric shocks and threatened with having her faced disfigured with a knife and forced to make a confession. Photos released after the ordeal showed Nafi’s body covered in bruises and other injuries.

She was then charged with around 230 other young people with ‘attacking security forces with bricks and Molotov cocktails, burning the Scientific Complex, destroying public property, provoking riots and chaos on the street and possessing weapons’. In February 2015, she was sentenced to 25 years in prison. This was when she fled, using the fact that Cairo airport does not have the names of everyone with a preliminary court ruling to get past border control. She first flew to Lebanon before settling in the United States. She hopes she will be able to return to her homeland one day.

In an interview with Fanack, Ibrahim Haji, an Egyptian researcher resident in Italy who works for a non-governmental organization concerned with immigration and refugee assistance, said, “There are too many Egyptians who have fled Egypt since al-Sisi came to power, and many of them were thinkers and creative people who were fully prepared to build Egypt but preferred to leave it for fear of their lives and security.”

He said that many Egyptians in Italy returned to Egypt after the January 2011 revolution but have since left again to escape the oppression and poor economic conditions. “They would rather live in the inferno of Italy than in the paradise of Egypt in the era of al-Sisi.”

He added: “I have been working in this field for a long time, and the main nationalities known for their applications for political asylum in Italy are those coming from Nigeria, Côte d’Ivoire and Gambia. Later, the number of Syrians and Libyans increased, but since mid-2013, Egyptians have become one of the biggest nationalities seeking asylum in Italy, and we have started to allocate large places within refugee camps for Egyptians, including Islamists and non-Islamists who are interested in politics, and for Christians too. Moreover, entire families came to seek refuge from the economic hell in Egypt. Surprisingly, Italy agreed to grant them humanitarian asylum, and Italy’s airports became an outlet for asylum seekers in transit, including some whose asylum applications were rejected in Korea and others who fled from Egypt directly. Many others came under the pretext of studying. Although Italy is known for its poor quality of education, studying there was one of the means used by young people to travel to Italy and seek asylum there.”

According to the UNHCR, 9,079 Egyptians were granted asylum in Italy between 2013 and 2018, compared to only 585 between 1980 and 2012.

A study prepared by the Arabic Network for Human Rights Information on the Egyptian diaspora after the January revolution described recent events as the third exodus of Egyptians in modern history, the first occurring after the 1952 coup and the second under the late President Anwar Sadat in the 1970s. The third exodus followed the ouster of President Hosni Mubarak in 2011, was extended during the rule of the Muslim Brotherhood and has been severely aggravated by al-Sisi.

Khalid Fahmy, an Egyptian historian, described the exodus as a form of exile: “With the passage of time and the consolidation of the concepts of patriotism and citizenship, it has become illegal to issue verdicts of banishment or exile against the Egyptians. Even successive Egyptian constitutions have categorically prohibited exile. It is saddening to see exile de facto being practised against the Egyptians in the present time. Such dangerous transformation has not taken place as a result of constitutional amendments or the enforcement of laws that allowed for what had been prohibited in the past, but rather the outcome of the state’s recent practices with the clear purpose of placing restrictions on the public, confiscating political action and raising the cost of practicing politics.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.