فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / الحشاشون: الطائفة الشيعية الغامضة

الحشاشون: الطائفة الشيعية الغامضة

Masyaf Castle
قلعة مصياف، سوريا. Photo: kylepounds2001 / Flickr

الحشاشون هم طائفة دينية شيعية إسلامية منبثقة عن الطائفة الإسماعيلية. تبدأ حكاية الحشاشين الفعلية بوفاة الامام جعفر الصادق عام 765 ميلادي، حيث انقسم المذهب الشيعي بعد وفاة الإمام جعفر الصادق بين مجموعتين؛ من قالوا بأنه قد نص على إمامة إبنه الأكبر إسماعيل، الذي بحسب الروايات توفي قبل أبيه، للشيعة من بعده، ومن أنكروا ذلك وطالبوا بالإمامة لإبنه الثالث، موسى الكاظم. يُطلق على المجموعة الأولى الطائفة الإسماعيلية، بينما يطلق على المجموعة الثانية الطائفة الاثنا عشرية.

أسس الإسماعيليون عام 909 ميلادي أول خلافةٍ شيعية في التاريخ امتدت في شمال أفريقيا والشام وفارس وأسيا الوسطى، وسُميت بالخلافة الفاطمية نسبة إلى السيدة فاطمة بنت النبي مُحمد، وتمركزت في القاهرة في مصر.

وفي عام 1094 توفي الخليفة الفاطمي الثامن المُستنصر بالله بعد أن وصى بولاية العهد لابنه الأكبر نزار، إلا أن أخيه الأصغر، المُستعلي بالله، نجح في الاستيلاء على العرش بمساعدة الوزير الأول ووصي العرش وقائد الجيوش بدر الدين الجمالي. وبعد استيلاء المستعلي بالله على العرش، تم سجن نزار وثم قتله عام 1095، وفر ابنه الهادي إلى إيران ومدعوماً من حسن الصباح الذي رفع لواء الدعوة لولاية نزار ومنشأ الطائفة النزارية التي سيُطلق عليها طائفة “الحشاشين” فيما بعد.

بحثاً عن قاعدةٍ لنشر دعوته وكسب أنصارٍ له، اتخذ الصباح مقراً حصيناً له يُسمى قلعة الموت، وهي حصن جبلي يوجد بوسط جبال البرز عام 1088. وبقي في قلعته طوال 35 عام حتى وفاته عام 1124. استمرت قلعة الموت مقراً ومركزاً لطائفة الحشاشين حتى دخول جيوش المغول وهدمها عام 1256، وحرق مكتبته، مما تسبب في فقدان الكثير من التفاصيل عن الطائفة.

ولكن استمرت بلاد فارس (إيران) كمقرٍ للإمامة حتى وفاة الإمام النزاري الخامس والأربعين، الشاه خليل الله، سنة 1817، ليتولى ابنه الأكبر، حسن علي شاه، مقاليد الإمامة. وعليه، قام الملك القاجاري حاكم فارس بتعيين حسن علي شاه حاكماً على مدينة قم المقدسة لدى الشيعة، وزوّجه إحدى بناته ولقبه بلقب تشريفي وهو (الأغا خان) بمعنى المولى والسيد. ولكن عصفت التوترات بالعلاقات الأغاخانية والبلاط القجاري وصولاً إلى الصدام العسكري عام 1840؛ مما دفع في نهاية المطاف الأغا خان للهروب إلى أفغانستان، ثم إلى إقليم السند في باكستان قبل أن يستقر الأغا خان في مدينة بومباي سنة 1884 للميلاد.

يرجع تسمية طائفة الحشاشين إلى أكثر من رواية، على الرغم من عدم وجود أي دليل على تعاطيهم مخدر الحشيش، منها أن كلمة “حشاشين” ما هي إلا تحويرٌ لكلمة “حساسان،” نسبة إلى شيخهم حسن الصباح، أو تحوير لكلمة “عساسون” اشتقاقاً من كلمة “عسس،” أي الحراس الذين يحمون القلاع طوال الليل، أو من كلمة “Assassins” بمعنى القتلة.

أما التفسير الأخير، فقد استحقوه بجدارة، إذ اتبع الحشاشون بقيادة حسن الصباح استراتيجيةً عسكرية مختلفة تماماً عما عُرف في ذلك الزمان، فقد تجنب تماماً في صراعاته وحروبه المواجهات المباشرة والحروب الميدانية تفادياً لسقوط آلاف القتلى، واتبع بدلاً من ذلك طريقة الاغتيال للشخصيات والقيادات الهامة والبارزة في جيوش أعداءه من وزراء وملوك ورجال دين، وذلك عن طريق فدائيين مُدربين احترافياً على فنون التنكر والجاسوسية والفروسية وطرق القتل والاغتيال والأهم من ذلك استعدادهم للموت في سبيل تحقيق الأهداف المطلوبة منهم. وكان نادراً ما ينجو أحدٌ من الفدائيين من الموت بعد تنفيذ مهمته، بل لجأ كثيرٌ منهم إلى الانتحار لتفادي الوقوع في ايدي الأعداء. وكان هؤلاء الفدائيين يندمجون في صفوف جيوش الخصوم أو البلاط الملكي حتى اللحظة المواتية لتنفيذ عملياتهم، وهي الاستراتيجية التي أدخلت الرُعب في قلوب خصوم الحشاشين وجعلت منهم طائفة اسطورية على مر الزمان.

وبالرغم من اعتبار الكثير من المؤرخين انتهاء طائفة الحشاشين في بلاد فارس على يد الغزو المغولي في القرن الثالث عشر، إلا أن هالة الغموض المحيطة بهم ألهمت العديد من “أساطير الحشاشين” التي تطورت على مراحل وتميل إلى تنميقهم بشكلٍ جديد في كل مرحلة. فعلى سبيل المثال، قصة “أسطورة الفردوس” للرحالة الإيطالي ماركو بولو التي وصف فيها “حديقة سرية في الجنة،” تحتوي على جميع الملّذات المادية ليتم إيهام الفدائيين أنهم في الجنة وسيعودون إليها، كجزءٍ من تدريبهم.

وعلى مر القرون التالية، ظهر الحشاشون في مناطق أخرى حول العالم على الرغم من أن أتباعهم أصبحوا معروفين باسم النزاريين، الذين يشكلون غالبية المسلمين الإسماعيليين. واليوم، تمتلك الطائفة مجموعة من المؤسسات والهيئات الربحية وغير الربحية يصل عددها لأكثر من 140 هيئة تمتد إلى أكثر من 30 بلداً لخدمة الجماعات الإسماعلية، ويشتغل فيها قرابة 58 ألف عامل وحوالي 20 الف متطوع حول العالم.

وتكاد الطائفة النزارية تتطابق مع الجمهور العريض من الطائفة الإسماعيلية وكثير من التفاصيل بباقي الطوائف والمذاهب الشيعية، فهم يؤمنون بأركان سبعة للإيمان، هي الصلاة والصيام والزكاة والحج والطهارة والجهاد والشهادة، كما يؤمنون بأن هناك تفسير باطني للقرآن الكريم، يليه في القداسة كتاب آخر للتعاليم الدينية يُسمى “كتاب الجنان.”

إلا أنهم يختلفون عن الطوائف الشيعية الأخرى في عدم الإيمان بوجود إمامٍ غائب الذي سيعود باعتباره المهدي المنتظر في آخر الزمان. ووفقاً للتقاليد النزارية، فلا بد من أن هناك إمامٌ حاضر يعيش حتى نهاية الزمان، وأن علي بن أبي طالب ونسله هم الورثة الشرعيون فقط للنبي محمد.

وعلى الرغم من الانقسامات بين الشيعة، إلا أن الطائفة النزارية نجت منها. واليوم، الإمام التاسع والأربعون هو شاه كريم الحسيني أو آغا خان الرابع، الذي تولى الإمامة في عام 1957. ومثل سلفه، فإن الآغا خان الحالي، الذي يعيش في فرنسا، معروفٌ بأعماله الخيرية من خلال شبكة الآغا خان للتنمية.

إقرأ المزيد

يقدّم موقع فنك هذا الملف الخاص عن الأديان للتعريف بعنصرٍ حيوي في ت...
ملف فنك الشامل عن إيران يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وثق...
إيران التي تخضع حالياً لنظامٍ جمهوري إسلامي تزخر بالكثير من المرا...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: kylepounds2001 ©Flickr | kylepounds2001 ©Flickr

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / The Hashashin: Shia Islam’s Mysterious Sect

The Hashashin: Shia Islam’s Mysterious Sect

Masyaf Castle
Masyaf Castle, Syria. Photo: kylepounds2001 / Flickr

A branch of the Nizari Ismaili sect of Shia Islam, the story of the Hashashin goes back to the death in 765 CE of Imam Jafar al-Sadiq. The question of succession after al-Sadiq’s death was the cause of division among Shiites who considered his eldest son Ismail, who had reportedly died before his father, to be the next imam, and those who believed his third son, Musa al-Kadhim, was the imam. The first group became known as the Ismailis and the second, larger group was named the Twelvers.

In 909 CE, the Ismailis established the first Shiite caliphate that extended from North Africa to the Levant, Persia and Central Asia. It was called the Fatimid Caliphate, named after Sayyidah Fatima, daughter of the Prophet Muhammad, and centred in Cairo, Egypt.

In 1094, before his death, the eighth Fatimid caliph, al-Mustansir Billah, recommended the mandate be passed to his elder son Nizar. However, his younger brother al-Mustali Billah succeeded in seizing the throne with the help of Badreddine al-Jamali, commander of the caliphate’s armies. After al-Mustali Billah seized the throne, Nizar was imprisoned and killed in 1095. His son, al-Hadi, fled to Iran where he was supported by missionary Hasan al-Sabah, originally a Twelver who converted to Ismailism. Al-Sabah called for the reinstatement of Nizar’s mandate and eventually established the Nizari Ismaili sect and its fedayeen military group, known as the Hashashin.

In search of a base from which to lead his religious missions, al-Sabah found and captured the Castle of Death, a fortress in the Alborz Mountains, in 1088. He lived in the castle for 35 years until his death in 1124. The castle remained the centre of the Hashashin community until 1256, when the invading Mongol armies destroyed the building and burned its library, causing the loss of many of the details about the sect.

Nevertheless, Iran continued to be the base of the imamate until the death of the 45th Nizari Imam Shah Khalilullah in 1817 and the appointment of his elder son Hasan Ali Shah as head of the imamate. The Qajar king of Persia (now Iran) appointed Ali Shah as the ruler of the Shiite holy city of Qom, married him to one of his daughters and gave him the title of Aga Khan, meaning ‘the lord and the master’. However, tensions between the Aga Khan and the Qajar ruling family led to military clashes in 1840, eventually forcing the Aga Khan to flee to Afghanistan, then to Sindh Province in Pakistan before he settled in Mumbai, India in 1884.

There are several stories about the origin of the name Hashashin, including the unsupported theory that members used hashish. Other more likely narratives suggest that the word ‘hashashin’ was a modification of ‘hassassan’, relating to Hasan al-Sabah, or a modification of the word ‘assasun’, derived from the word ‘assas’, which means ‘guards who protect castles at night’, or from the word ‘assassins’, meaning murderers.

The latter suggestion has merit. Under al-Sabah, the Hashashin developed a completely new military strategy, avoiding direct confrontations in conflicts and field wars for fear that thousands could die. Instead, they killed prominent political, religious and military figures, including ministers, kings and clerics, using fedayeen (‘death-seekers’) who were trained in disguise, espionage, equestrian skills, assassination techniques and, most importantly, were willing to die to achieve their goal. These fedayeen rarely survived their missions, and many of them committed suicide to avoid being captured by their enemies. Some fedayeen would infiltrate the royal court or the armies of their enemies and wait until the right moment to carry out their mission, a strategy that instilled terror into the hearts of the Hashashins’ opponents and made them legendary over time.

Although historians generally agree that the Mongol invasion in the 13th century marked the end of the Hashashin in Persia, the aura of mystery surrounding them inspired several so-called ‘Assassin legends’ that developed in stages and tended to receive new embellishments at each stage. In The Legend of Paradise, for example, Italian traveller Marco Polo described ‘a secret garden of paradise’, where physical pleasures were supposedly procured for the fedayeen as part of their indoctrination and training.

Over the following centuries, Hashashin appeared in other regions around the world although adherents became known as Nizaris, who constitute the majority of Ismaili Muslims. Today, the sect runs more than 140 for-profit and not-for-profit organizations spanning more than 30 countries to serve the Ismaili community. These organizations employ approximately 58,000 staff and about 20,000 volunteers.

The Nizaris share many similarities with the Ismailis as well as other Shia Muslim groups. They believe in the seven pillars of faith – prayer, fasting, almsgiving, hajj, purity, jihad and martyrdom – as well as in the mystical interpretation of the Koran, followed in terms of holiness by another book of religious teachings called the Book of Jinan.

However, they differ from other Shiites in that they do not believe in a hidden imam who will return as the mahdi or ‘divinely guided one’ for the Last Judgment. According to Nizari tradition, there must be a present and living imam until the end of time, and Ali ibn Abi Talib and his descendants are considered the only legitimate successors of the Prophet Muhammad.

Despite the splits in Shiism, the Nizari sect has survived. Today, their 49th imam is Shah Karim Husseini or Agha Khan IV, who took over the imamate in 1957. Like his predecessor, the current Aga Khan, who lives in France, is known for his philanthropic work through the Aga Khan Development Network.

Further Reading

Fanack presents this special report about religions to identify a vital element in the composition of identity and confl...
Fanack’s Iran country file provides a comprehensive overview about Iran, its history, politics, culture, economy and m...
Currently subject to an Islamic republican system, Iran is characterized by many distinct historical stages and fluctuat...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: kylepounds2001 ©Flickr | kylepounds2001 ©Flickr



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!