فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / ما هي العلاهية؟

ما هي العلاهية؟

Turkish Alevis
علاهيون أتراك يوزعون طبق عاشوراء التقليدي في وسط مدينة أنقرة في 26 أكتوبر 2015. Photo: ADEM ALTAN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

العلاهية، التي تعتبر ديانةً ذات أهمية وطنية وعالمية على حد سواء في تركيا وسوريا وإيران والبلقان، غير معروفةٍ عى نطاقٍ واسع خارج هذه الأجزاء من العالم. وغالباً ما يُساء فهم العلاهية، التي تعدّ معقلاً رئيسياً للتنوع التاريخي المجيد لتركيا بينما تتعرض أيضاً لاضطهادٍ واسع النطاق، من قِبل أولئك الذين يدركون ماهيتها فضلاً عن تجاهلها من قِبل أولئك خارج نطاق الاحتكاك بها. إذاً، ما هي العلاهية؟

هل العلاهية جزءٌ من الإسلام؟

العلاهية هي فرعٌ من الإسلام الشيعي ويُقدر أتباعها في تركيا بما نسبته 20% من السكان، وهي جماعةٌ تضم حوالي 25 مليون شخص تتراوح عرقيتهم ما بين العرب المحليين والأتراك والتركمان والأكراد. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن غالبية مجتمع العلاهيين يعيشون داخل البلدان ذات الأغلبية السُنيّة (أي تركيا، إجمالي عدد السكان 80 مليون). يُقيم العلاهيون، الذين تربطهم علاقة فضفاضة بالعلويين في سوريا، بشكلٍ أساسي في تركيا. وداخل تركيا على الأقل، يعتبر العدد الدقيق للعلاهيين مسألةً خلافية، إذ لا يوجد إحصاء رسمي يحدد حجم أي من المجتمعات الدينية على وجه الخصوص. وخلافاً لغالبية المسلمين، يصلي العلاهيون باللغة التركية، حتى أولئك الذين ينحدرون من البلقان والمناطق الكردية، مما يعكس التتريك العميق لهذا المجتمع الديني.

باعتبارها جزءاً فرعياً من الإسلام، تختلف معتقدات العلاهيين عن كلٍ من السُنّة والإسلام الشيعي السائد. يُعتقد أن مصطلح علاهي مرتبط بوصف “أتباع الإمام علي،” في إشارةٍ إلى علي بن أبي طالب، ابن عم الرسول محمد وصهره، الذي يعتقد العلاهيون، كحال مختلف طوائف الشيعة، أنه خليفة محمد الشرعي. وأيضاً كحال الطوائف الشيعية الأخرى، يرفض العلاهيون قيادة “الخلفاء الراشدين” الثلاثة، مما يُمثل تمايزاً رئيسياً عن معتقدات السُنة. ومع ذلك، سيكون من الخطأ تصنيف العلاهيون باعتبارهم شيعة (بينما يندرج العلويون على نحوٍ ملائم ضمن هذه الفئة)، وذلك نظراً لتفسيرهم غير المنظم نسبياً للإسلام والطبيعة التوافقية للدين، إذ يحترمون أحياناً بعض التقاليد المسيحية وحتى الشامانية.

وغالباً ما يتم الخلط أو الاعتقاد الخاطىء بأن العلاهيين والعلويين هم ذات الطائفة، ولكن بصرف النظر عن التشابه بلفظ الإسم- ومرجع كليهما لعلي- إلا أنهم مختلفون اختلافاً كبيراً. يتمثل أحد الإختلافات بالعرقية؛ ففي حين أن العلاهيين هم في الغالب من الأتراك أو من العرقية الكردية ويصلون باللغة التركية، إلا أن العلويين عرب وكحال جميع المسلمين تقريباً، يُصلون باللغة العربية. كما يُصنف العلويون قطعاَ ضمن إطار الإسلام الشيعي حيث يؤلهون علي، بينما العلاهيون يحترمونه فحسب. وعلاوةً على ذلك، يُعرف العلويون بسريتهم التامة إذ يحرصون على حماية تفاصيل معتقداتهم وطقوسهم من الغرباء وحتى من النساء داخل مجتمعاتهم، في حين يتمتع العلاهيون بمساواة أكبر بين الجنسيين ولا يقدرون السرية إلى هذا الحد.

وكحال الصوفيين، يؤمن العلاهيون بحقائق اليقين وخفي معاني القرآن، الذي يصلون إليه من خلال ممارسة الشعائر الدينية غير المتاحة للمبتدئين. يجتمع غالبية العلاهيين في حلقة ذكر روحانية يوم الخميس تماماً مثل الصوفيين، وخلافاً لصلاة الجمعة التقليدية. ولكن كحال الشيعة، يولي العلاهيون أهمية كبيرة للأئمة الإثنا عشر الذين يشكلون القيادة الروحانية للخلافة الأولى للإسلام الشيعي، حيث غالباً ما يتم دمج تصاميم بـ12 جانباً في الهندسة المعمارية الدينية.

يعتبر العلاهيون أنفسهم مسلمين ومعتقداتهم راسخة الجذور في تعاليم وآيات القرآن الكريم. ومع ذلك، هم لا يلتزمون بالعديد من أركان الإسلام الخمس، مما يجعل البعض يجادل بأنهم يقعون خارج دائرة المفاهيم التقليدية للدين الإسلامي. يمكن إيجاد بعض هذه الاختلافات في خصائص الإسلام الأكثر بروزاً، ومن الجدير بالذكر أن العلاهيون لا يسجدون أثناء الصلاة ولا يُطلب منهم الصوم خلال شهر رمضان المبارك، بل يحتجبون عن أنماط الأكل المعتادة خلال الأيام العشرة المقدسة من شهر محرم، أي أثناء إحياء الشيعة لذكرى مقتل الحسين.

كما يجتمع العلاهيون للصلاة وحضور الدروس الدينية في “بيوت الجمع،” وليس في المساجد كحال غالبية المسلمين. كانت هذه نقطة خلاف فيما يتعلق بحقوق الجماعة في تركيا حيث أن الحكومة لا تعترف ببيوت الجمع كأماكن للعبادة، مما يحرم مجتمع العلاهيين من التمويل والدعم الحكومي. وعلى عكس جميع المجتمعات الإسلامية ما عدا الليبرالية منها، يصلي الرجال والنساء في نفس المكان عادةً داخل بيوت الجمع.

Alevism
علاهيون أتراك يشاركون بأحد المسيرات في أنقرة في 9 نوفمبر 2008. Photo: ADEM ALTAN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

ليبرالية أم عصرية فحسب؟

دفع التمييز من التيار الديني السائد في تركيا مجتمع العلاهيين إلى اعتناق المثل العليا العلمانية للجمهورية الحديثة، والتي كانت بمثابة ضامنٍ لحقوق العلاهيين في القرن الماضي. ومن الصعب القول ما إذا كان هذا عاملاً سببياً في المعايير الاجتماعية والجنسانية الأكثر تساهلاً والأقل تحفظاً في المجتمع، ولكن بين النساء العلاهيات، فإن ارتداء الحجاب والملابس الأكثر تحفظًا والمشتركة بين العديد من النساء المتدينات في تركيا أمرٌ نادر. كما يحتسي العديد من العلاهيون الكحول. وبالمثل، خلال الأحداث الثقافية، لا يعدّ الفصل بين الجنسين المعيار القائم، مما يزيد من شعورهم بالمساواة بين الجنسين. وبمرور الوقت، أصبح العلاهيون مرتبطون بقوة باليسار السياسي في تركيا، وخاصة في سياق إحياء الثقافة الإسلامية في الثمانينيات. تستمر هذه الرابطة حتى يومنا هذا.

وكما هو الحال دائماً، العلاهية ليس مجرد ديانة بل هي أيضاً مجموعة ثقافية تمتاز برقصاتها وأمثالها. تعتبر هذه الروابط الثقافية بمثابة حصنٍ أوسع للمجتمع، مما يخلق شعوراً بالانتماء والوعي بالهوية، حتى بين العلاهيين غير الملتزمين. ولسوء الحظ، تم استخدام مثل هذه السلوكيات أيضاً ضد المجتمع، حيث ادعى الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان أن أماكن العبادة العلاهية ليست مواقع دينية بل مجرد “مراكز للأنشطة الثقافية.”

خارج نهج الإسلام

كثقافةٍ فرعية مع معتقدات مختلفة عن السُنة المهيمنين، عانى العلاهيون من قرونٍ من الاضطهاد، حتى أن العثمانيين وصفوهم بأهل البدع. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، خلال الاضطرابات السياسية والقمع في سبعينيات القرن الماضي، قتل العشرات من العلاهيين.

ففي عام 1993، في مدينة سيواس، تم حرق أكثر من 30 علاهي أحياء في مبنى هاجمه حشدٌ إسلامي. ووسط الإسلاموية المتزايدة في تركيا، يظل العلاهيون مواطنين من الدرجة الثانية، مع تجاهل احتياجات مجتمعهم أو هويتهم من قِبل الهوية السُنية السائدة. هذه ليست مجرد مسألة أرقام، ولكنها متأصلة في مفهوم النظام التتريك الحقيقي. ويبدو أن هذا الأمر لا يعيقه تسمية الدولة التركية الرسمية والإسمية بالعلمانية، بل إن تقارب العلاهيين الديني من الطائفة العلوية التي يتبعها الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد، جعل منهم هدفاً ملائماً مع تنامي كراهية النظام السوري في تركيا.

وعلى المستوى المؤسسي، فإن عدم إعتراف الحكومة بالعلاهية يُقيد كل شيء، بدءاً من تمويل أماكن العبادة ووصولاً إلى التعليم الديني (الذي تم الطعن فيه بنجاح من قبل أحد أولياء الأمور في المحكمة الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان) والتمثيل في وزارة الشؤون الدينية. تمثل هذه القيود مجتمعةً فجوةً كبيرة في الحقوق الممنوحة لمجتمع العلاهيين. ومع ذلك، فقد أدى نشاط العلاهيين إلى حفنةٍ من الانتصارات. ففي عام 2018، قضت محكمة استئناف تركية بأن على الدولة أن تدفع تكاليف الكهرباء لأحد بيوت الجمع، مما يعني الإعتراف بها فعلياً كأماكن للعبادة وإنهاء الممارسات التمييزية القائمة منذ فترةٍ طويلة، بالرغم من شكوك العديد من العلاهيين إلتزام الحكومة بالحكم الصادر. وبين عامي 2000 و2013، تضاعف عدد بيوت الجمع في تركيا ثلاثة أضعاف، من 300 إلى 900، على الرغم من استيلاء السلطات السُنية على بعض هذه المواقع. وفي مثالٍ آخر، سُمح لزعيم ديني علاهي، أو كما يُعرف بـ”ديدي” أي الجد، بزيارة سجينٍ علاهي في عام 2015.

وفي عام 2013، وعد حزب العدالة والتنمية الحاكم بمجموعة من الإصلاحات العلاهية الخاصة التي كان من المأمول أن تعالج بعض هذه الاضطهادات. بيد أنه لم يتحقق سوى القليل من هذا الوعد، حتى بعد أن أمرت المحاكم الوطنية والدولية الحكومة بالتصرف.

وفي نهاية المطاف، سيظل تقدير واحترام تاريخ وتقاليد العلاهيين، كجزءٍ أساسي من المشهد الديني والثقافي في تركيا والمنطقة، مقياساً لتقدم المجتمع.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN | ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / What is Alevism?

What is Alevism?

Turkish Alevis
Turkish Alevis distribute a traditional Ashura meal in the city center of Ankara on October 26, 2015. Photo: ADEM ALTAN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

A religion with great local and transnational importance in Turkey, Syria, Iran and the Balkans, Alevism is not widely known outside this corner of the world. A key bastion of Turkey’s lauded historical diversity while also being widely persecuted, Alevism is often as misunderstood by those who are aware of it as it is ignored by those outside its sphere of contact. So what is Alevism?

Is Alevism part of Islam?

A branch of Shia Islam, Alevism is practiced by an estimated 20 per cent of Turkey’s population, a group around 25 million strong spanning local Arabs, Turkmen and Kurds. It is worth noting that the majority of the Alevi community lives within Sunni Muslim-majority countries (namely Turkey, total population 80 million). Loosely related to the Alawites in Syria, Alevis reside primarily in Turkey. Within Turkey at least, the exact number of Alevis is a matter of contention, with no official census measuring the size of particular religious communities. Unlike most Muslims, Alevis pray in Turkish, even many who come from the Balkan or Kurdish regions, which speaks to the deep Turkishness of this religious community.

A subsect of Islam, Alevi beliefs are distinct from both Sunni and mainstream Shia Islam. The term Alevi is thought to be tied to a descriptor for ‘those who follow Ali’, a reference to Ali ibn Abi Talib, Prophet Muhammad’s cousin whom Alevis, like other Shias, believe to be Muhammad’s rightful successor. Also like other Shias, Alevis reject the leadership of the first three ‘rightly guided caliphs’, who represent a key differentiator of Sunni beliefs. However, it would be wrong to categorize Alevis as Shias (whereas Ala-wites fit more neatly into this category), given their relatively unstructured interpretation of Islam and the religion’s syncretic nature, at times respecting some Christian or even Shamanistic traditions.

Alevis and Alawites are often confused or equated, but aside from a similar-sounding name – both a reference to Ali – they are very distinct. One key difference is ethnicity. Whereas Alevis are typically Turkish or ethnically Kurdish and they pray in Turkish, Alawites are Arab and, like nearly all other Muslims, pray in Arabic. Alawites are also firmly within the fold of Shia Islam, regarding Ali as a divine figure, unlike Alevis who merely respect him. Alawites are also notoriously secretive, guarding the details of their beliefs and rituals from outsiders and even from women within the community. Alevis, meanwhile, have greater gender equality and do not value secrecy as much.

Like Sufis, Alevis believe the Koran has both an open and hidden meaning, access to which is through religious practice that is unavailable to the uninitiated. Many Alevis gather on Thursdays for spiritual remembrance like Sufis and in contrast to the traditional Friday prayers. But like Shiites, Alevis give much importance to the 12 imams that make up Shia Islam’s initial succession of spiritual leadership, with 12-sided designs often incorporated in religious architecture.

Alevis consider themselves Muslims and their beliefs are firmly rooted in the teachings and lessons of the Koran. However, they do not adhere to several key pillars of Islam, which some might argue puts them outside the traditional conceptions of the faith. Some of these differences can be found in Islam’s most outwardly distinct characteristics. Notably, Alevis do not prostrate themselves during prayer and are not required to fast during the Muslim holy month of Ramadan, instead withholding from normal eating patterns during the ten holy days of Muharram, the Shia festival commemorating the martyrdom of Imam Hussein.

Alevis also gather for prayer and religious study in cemevis or ‘halls of worship’, not mosques like most Muslims. This has been a point of contention in terms of the group’s rights in Turkey as the government does not recognize cemevis as places of worship, depriving the Alevi community of funding and state support. Unlike all but the most liberal of Muslim communities, Alevi men and women typically pray in the same space within the cemevi.

Alevism
Alevis Turks attend a rally in Ankara on November 9, 2008. Photo: ADEM ALTAN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

Liberal or just modern?

Discrimination from the religious mainstream in Turkey has pushed the Alevi community to embrace the modern republic’s secular ideals, which have served as something of a guarantor of Alevi rights in the past century. Whether this has been a causal factor in the community’s more relaxed and less conservative gender and social norms is difficult to say, but among Alevi women, the use of the headscarf and more conservative clothing common to many pious women in Turkey is much rarer. Many Alevis also drink alcohol. Similarly, during cultural events, gendered segregation is not the norm, bringing a greater public feeling of equality between the sexes. Over time, the Alevi community has become strongly associated with the political left in Turkey, especially in the context of the Islamist revival of the 1980s. This association continues to this day.

As is almost always the case, Alevism is not just a religion but also a cultural grouping, with its own dances and sayings. These cultural ties serve as a wider bulwark for the community, building a sense of belonging and awareness of identity, even among non-practising Alevis. Unfortunately, such behaviours have also been used against the community, with President Recep Tayyip Erdogan claiming that Alevi places of worship are not religious sites but merely ‘centres for cultural activities’.

Outside the fold

As a subculture with beliefs distinct from the dominant Sunnis, Alevis have endured centuries of persecution, even being branded heretics by the Ottomans. More recently, in the political upheaval and repression of the 1970s, dozens of Alevis were murdered.

In 1993 in Sivas, more than 30 Alevis were burned alive in a building attacked by an Islamist mob. Amid Turkey’s increasing Islamism, Alevis remain second-class citizens, with their community’s needs or identity ignored by the dominant Sunni identity. This is not merely a question of numbers but is rooted in the regime’s conception of true Turkishness. This is seemingly unimpeded by the Turkish state’s official and nominal designation as secular. Alevis’ religious proximity to Syrian President Bashar al-Assad’s Alawite sect has made them convenient targets as hatred of the Syrian regime has built in Turkey.

On an institutional level, the government’s non-recognition of Alevism restricts everything from funding for places of worship to religious education (which was successfully challenged by a parent in the European Court of Human Rights) and representation within the Religious Affairs Ministry. Together, these re-trictions represent a gaping chasm in the rights afforded to Alevis. Even so, Alevi activism has led to a handful of victories. In 2018, a Turkish appeals court ruled that the state should pay the electricity costs of cemevis, effectively recognizing them as places of worship and ending a long-standing discriminatory practice, even if many Alevis doubt the government will respect the ruling. Between 2000 and 2013, the number of cemevis in Turkey tripled, from 300 to 900, although some of these sites were subsequently taken over by Sunni authorities. In another example, an Alevi religious leader, or dede (‘grandfather’), was permitted to visit an Alevi prisoner in 2015.

In 2013, the ruling Justice and Development Party promised a special Alevi package of reforms that it was hoped would redress some of this persecution. But little has come of this promise, even after national and international courts ordered the government to act.

A key part of Turkey’s and the region’s religious and cultural landscape, appreciation of and respect for Alevism’s history and traditions will remain a barometer of society’s progress.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN | ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN | ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.