فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / الدين البهائي والأسباب الكامنة وراء اضطهاد أتباعه

الدين البهائي والأسباب الكامنة وراء اضطهاد أتباعه

Specials- bahai
خاتم الاسم الأعظم و هو من الرموز البهائية المقدسة لدى البهائيين. Photo Wikipedia

يعتبر الدين البهائي أحد الأديان الحديثة في العالم، فقد ظهر في عام 1844 في إيران، وفي غضون أقل من قرنٍ من الزمان أصبح ديناً عالمياً. تُشير غالبية المصادر إلى أن أتباع الدين البهائي يبلغ عددهم حوالي 5-6 ملايين فقط، إلا أنهم يتواجدون تقريباً في جميع بلدان العالم. وبالتالي، فإن البهائية هي ثاني أكثر الديانات إنتشاراً جغرافياً بعد المسيحية. وعلى الرغم من أن البهائية تشترك في أوجه تشابهٍ مع الديانات التوحيدية الأخرى، إلا أن البهائيين غالباً ما يتعرضون للإضطهاد في البلدان الإسلامية. ففي إيران، على سبيل المثال، ومنذ إنشاء الجمهورية الإسلامية في عام 1979، تتعرض الطائفة البهائية، وعلى نحوٍ مكثف، للمضايقة والتمميز على حد سواء. وفي هذا المقال، نتناول بإيجاز تعاليم هذا الدين ونناقش الأسباب الكامنة وراء اضطهاد أتباعه.

كان السيد علي محمد شيرازي، المُلقب بالباب (1819-1850)، تاجراً من مدينة شيراز في جنوب إيران. في عام 1844، عندما كان يبلغ 24 عاماً، ادعى أنه رسول الله. ألغى الشريعة الإسلامية وأصدر نظاماً أسماه القانون البابي، وبذلك أسس ديناً مختلفاً عن الإسلام. تضمنت بعض القوانين الجديدة تغيير التقويم القمري إلى تقويمٍ شمسي يتضمن 19 شهراً و19 يوماً، والذي أصبح فيما بعد أساس التقويم البهائي، وتغيير اتجاه قِبلة الصلاة من مكة إلى بيت الباب في شيراز. وسرعان ما جذب أتباعاً، مما جذب أيضاً أنظار الحكومة المركزية. وفي عام 1850، اتهم بالرِدة وتم إعدامه. وقبل موته، ادعى أن تعاليمه كانت إلهاماً من الله وتوقع أن تظهر شخصية نبوية جديدة قريباً. يعتبر البهائيون بهاء الله (1817-1892) ذلك الشخص.

وعلى الرغم من أن البابية والبهائية حركتين مستقلتين، إلا أنهما متشابكتان بشكلٍ كبير. واليوم، يحتفل البهائيون بميلاد الباب، ووفاته، ويعتبرونهم أياماً مقدسة. فهو يعتبر أحد الشخصيات المحورية للبهائية، إلى جانب كلٍ من بهاء الله وابنه البكر، عبد البهاء.

كان الميرزا حسين علي النوري (1817-1892)، المولود في طهران، أحد أوائل أتباع الباب، الذي حمل فيما بعد لقب بهاء الله. وعلى الرغم من أن العديد من أتباع البابية اتبعوا تلميذاً آخر للباب، الملقب بـصبح أزل، إلا أن بهاء الله اكتسب تدريجياً ولاءهم، وأصبحوا يعرفون بإسم البهائيين.

Specials- Bahai israel
حدائق البهائيين في حيفا. Photo Wikipedia

بعد فترة وجيزة من إعدام الباب، طُرد بهاء الله من طهران إلى بغداد، التي كانت جزءاً من الإمبراطورية العثمانية في ذلك الوقت، ليتم إرساله إلى اسطنبول وبعد ذلك إلى أدريانوبل (أدرنة). وأخيراً، في عام 1868، تم إرساله إلى السجن العثماني في مدينة عكا، أي اسرائيل في الوقت الحاضر. توفي ودفن هناك في عام 1892، حيث يتجه البهائيون في صلاتهم كل يوم نحو ضريحه.

بعد وفاة بهاء الله، أصبح عبد البهاء زعيم هذه الطائفة الدينية حديثة العهد. وبعد وفاته في عام 1921، خلفه حفيده الأكبر شوقي أفندي. وبعد وفاة أفندي في عام 1957، أصبحت قيادة الدين جماعية وتم نقلها إلى مجموعة من المؤمنين بالبهائية بدلاً من فردٍ واحد. واليوم، يتولى بيت العدل الأعظم شؤون البهائيين.

المصادر: Wikipedia, bahai-library.com and encyclopedia.com. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack

من حيث العقيدة، يؤمن البهائيون أن الله متعالٍ ولا يمكن عرفان الله أو فهمه دون أنبياء، وآخرهم كان بهاء الله. كما يؤمنون بوجود إلهٍ واحد ينتمي له كل الكون والخلق. فهو القادر على كل شيء، والكامل، ويمتلك معرفةً شاملة بالحياة.

فقد جعل بهاء الله الصلاة الخاصة اليومية فريضةً دينية إلزامية على جميع البهائيين من سن الـ15 فما فوق. ولكن، يمكن لأتباع البهائية الاختيار ما بين الصلاة الصغرى، والوسطى، والصلاة الكبرى كل يوم.

يُركز البهائيون على نحوٍ كبير على السلام والوحدة بين الناس. بالنسبة لهم، تتألف البشرية من عرقٍ واحد، الذي ينبغي أن يتحدّ في في مجتمعٍ عالمي واحد. وبالتالي، يعتبرون أن أصل الأديان ومنبعها واحد، بالرغم من اختلافاتها، وأن جميع الأديان التي ظهرت قبل البهائي صحيحة ويجب احترامها. كما يؤمن البهائيون أيضاً أنه لم يكن هناك سوى إلهٌ واحد، الذي يُدعى بأسماء مختلفة في مختلف الأديان. وبالتالي، فهم لا يؤمنون بأن دينهم ينطوي على الحقيقة النهائية، بل إنه يمثل المجموعة الكاملة من الحقائق التي يمكن الوصول إليها في الوقت الحالي.

وبالإضافة إلى التأكيد على المساواة بين الأعراق، يدافع البهائيون عن المساواة بين الجنسين. كما تعدّ المشاركة في المجتمع البهائي جزءاً أساسياً من كون المرء بهائي. توجد محافل روحانية في جميع أنحاء العالم تتكون من تسعة أعضاء من الطائفة يتم انتخابهم من قِبل أبناء الطائفة لتولي مناصبهم لمدة عام. كما يوجد المركز البهائي العالمي في عكا، حيث يوجد أيضاً ضريح بهاء الله. بينما يقع بيت العدل الأعظم، الذي يُمثل أعلى هيئة إدارة لإدارة الدين البهائي، في مدينة حيفا، الواقعة على البحر المتوسط في اسرائيل. يحجّ غالبية البهائيين إلى هذه الأماكن.

Specials- Baha'i faith
كويتيون ومغتربون ملتزمون بالدين البهائي يجتمعون للعبادة وأداء الطقوس الدينية قبل بداية شهر الصوم في مدينة الكويت، 28 فبراير 2018. Photo AFP

وعلى الرغم من أن الطائفة البهائية كانت تتألف بدايةً من الإيرانيين بخلفيةٍ شيعية، إلا أن البهائيين المعاصرين يشكلون ما نسبته واحد فقط من بين كل عشرة إيرانيين. وعلى الرغم من قلة عددهم، ما زال الإيرانيون البهائيون يواجهون تمييزاً كبيراً. وفقا للدكتور أفشين شاه، المحاضر الأقدم في سياسات الشرق الأوسط في جامعة برادفورد في المملكة المتحدة، فإن سبب ذلك بسيط. “تاريخياً، كان رجال الدين الشيعة معادين للبهائيين لأن دينهم يشكك في “ختام” الإسلام. يؤمن البهائيون بأن جميع الأديان السابقة بما فيها الإسلام هي من نفس المصدر وهي في جوهرها فصولٌ متعاقبة لدينٍ واحد من الله. وبالتالي، فهم يعتقدون أن العقيدة البهائية، التي ظهرت في القرن التاسع عشر، هي “أحدث” مظاهر “الحقيقة.” وكما يدعي الإسلام أيضاً بأنه “الحقيقة النهائية،” لطالما كانت بعض السلطات الدينية، السُنية والشيعية، معاديةً بشدة للطائفة البهائية.”

يرتبط هذا التناقض بالروايات بشكلٍ وثيق بتوجسٍ متجذر ما بين رجال الدين الإيرانيين من القوى الخارجية. وحتى قبل ثورة 1979، كان العديد من رجال الدين يعظون من أن الدين البهائي ليس سوى صنيعة “ثعلب الإمبريالية الأكبر،” بريطانيا. فقد زعموا أنّ الإمبراطورية البريطانية، التي ازدهرت على فكرة فرّق تسد، أوجدت هذا الدين لإضعاف الشعور بالوحدة لدى الأمة الإسلامية. وبعد الثورة، أصبحت وجهة النظر العدائية هذه جزءاً لا يتجزأ من خطاب الدولة.

وفي ظل وجهة النظر التآمرية هذه، تعتقد الجمهورية الإسلامية بأن البهائيين يستخدمون وسائل الإعلام البريطانية لتقويض السلطة الإٍسلامية في إيران. فالنظام يُشكك بشدة بهيئة الإذاعة البريطانية (بي بي سي) ويعتقد أنها لعبت دوراً حاسماً في حشد الاحتجاجات المناهضة للنظام في أوائل عام 2018 بعد الانتخابات الرئاسية في العام السابق. كما يعتقدون أن بي بي سي بالفارسية موجودة لخدمة الأجندة البهائية. فقد سبق ووصف حداد عادل، المتحدث السابق باسم البرلمان الإيراني والمقرّب من المرشد الأعلى علي خامنئي، البي بي سي بـ”بهيئة الإذاعة البهائية.” ولا تزال نظريات المؤامرة التاريخية هذه تلقي بظلالها على الطائفة البهائية، حيث تروج الدولة بنشاط لهذه الأفكار لتشويه صورة البهائيين وإضفاء الشرعية على اضطهادهم الجماعي.

وفي حال لم تكن نظريات المؤامرة البريطانية كافية، يربط النظام أيضاً الدين البهائي بالصهيونية. فالجمهورية الإسلامية تعتقد بأن السبب في ذلك يعود إلى أن مقر البهائيين والعديد من المواقع الدينية البهائية الهامة تقع في إسرائيل. عندما سجن بهاء الله، مؤسس الدين، في عكا، كانت المدينة تحت الحكم العثماني، بيد أنه بعد مايو 1948، عندما أنشئت دولة إسرائيل، أصبحت جميع تلك المواقع جزءاً من الأراضي الإسرائيلية. وبما أن العديد من البهائيين يحجّون إلى إسرائيل ويزورون مواقعهم الدينية هناك، اتهمت الجمهورية الإسلامية الإيرانية العديد من البهائيين “بالتجسس” لصالح الصهيونية.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / Bahai Faith and the Reasons Behind the Persecution of its Followers

Bahai Faith and the Reasons Behind the Persecution of its Followers

Specials- bahai
The Ringstone symbol represents humanity’s connection to God. Photo Wikipedia ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

The Bahai faith is one of the youngest religions in the world. It emerged in 1844 in Iran, and in a less than a century it had become a global religion. Most sources suggest that there are only around 5-6 million followers, but they are found in almost every country in the world. Hence, Bahaism is recognized as the second-most geographically widespread religion after Christianity. Although the Bahai teachings share similarities with other monotheistic faiths, Bahais are often subject to persecution in Muslim countries. In Iran, since the emergence of the Islamic Republic in 1979, both harassment of and discrimination against the Bahai community has intensified. In this article, we look briefly at the teachings of this religion and discuss the reasons behind the persecution of its followers.

Siyyid Ali Muhammad Shirazi, also known as the Bab (1819-1850), was a merchant from Shiraz in south Iran. In 1844, at the age of 24, he claimed to be a messenger of God. He revoked Islamic law and promulgated a system of Babi law, thus establishing a religion distinct from Islam. Some of the new laws included changing the lunar calendar to a solar calendar of 19 months and 19 days, which later became the basis of the Bahai calendar, and changing the direction of prayer from Mecca to the Bab’s house in Shiraz. He quickly attracted followers, which drew the attention of the central government. In 1850, he was charged with apostasy and executed. Before his death, he claimed that his teachings were a revelation from God and predicted that a new prophetic figure would soon appear. Bahais consider Bahaullah (1817-1892) to be that person.

Although Babism and Bahaism are distinct movements, they are deeply intertwined. Today, the Bahais celebrate the Bab’s birth, death and declaration as holy days. He is regarded as one of the three central figures of the faith along with Bahaullah and Abdul-Baha, Bahaullah’s eldest son.

Born in Tehran, Mirza Husayn Ali Nuri (1817-1892) was one of the early followers of the Bab, and later took the title of Bahaullah. Although many of the Babis followed another of the Bab’s disciples, Subh-i-Azal, Bahaullah gradually gained their allegiance, and they came to be recognized as Bahais.

Specials- Bahai israel
Bahá’í gardens in Haifa. Photo Wikipedia ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

Shortly after the Bab’s execution, Bahaullah was expelled from Tehran to Baghdad, which was part of the Ottoman Empire at the time. He was then sent to Istanbul and later to Adrianople. Finally, in 1868, he was sent to the Ottoman penal colony of Acre, which is in present-day Israel. He died and was buried there in 1892, and Bahais pray towards his resting place each day.

Following Bahaullah’s death, Abdul-Baha became the leader of this fledgling religious community. After his death in 1921, he was succeeded by his eldest grandson, Shoghi Effendi. After Effendi’s death in 1957, the leadership of the faith became collective and transferred to a group of believers rather than an individual. Today, the leadership rests with the Universal House of Justice.

Bahai
Sources: Wikipedia, bahai-library.com and encyclopedia.com. Click to enlarge. @Fanack

In terms of ideology, Bahais believe that God is transcendent and cannot be known or understood without prophets, the most recent of whom was Bahaullah. They believe there is one God and that all the universe and creation belong to him. He is omnipotent, perfect and has complete knowledge of life.

Bahaullah made daily private prayer a religious obligation for all Bahais from the age of 15 upwards. But believers can choose between a short prayer, a medium prayer and a long prayer each day.

Bahais put a lot of emphasis on peace and unity among people. For them, humankind is made up of a single race, which should be united in a single global community. Therefore, all religions have the same divine foundation, despite their differences, and all religions that emerged before Bahaism are true and must be respected. Bahais also believe that there has only ever been one God, who is called by different names in different religions. Therefore, they do not believe that their faith holds the final truth but that it represents the most complete set of truths accessible in the current time.

As well as the emphasis on equality between races, the Bahai faith advocates equality of the sexes. An essential part of being a Bahai is participation in the Bahai community. There are Spiritual Assemblies around the world that consist of nine members of the community elected by the community to hold office for a year. The Bahai World Centre is in Acre, where the Shrine of Bahaullah is also located. The Universal House of Justice, which represents the religion’s supreme governing body, is located in Haifa, on Israel’s Mediterranean coast. Many Bahais make pilgrimages to these places.

Specials- Baha'i faith
Kuwaitis and expatriates adhering to the Baha’i faith gather to worship and perform religious rituals before beginning the fasting season, in Kuwait City on February 28, 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ STRINGER

Although the Bahai community was initially made up mainly of Iranians with a Shiite background, in the contemporary Bahai population only one in ten is Iranian. Despite their small number, Iranian Bahais continue to face significant discrimination. According to Dr Afshin Shahi, senior lecturer in Middle East Politics at the University of Bradford in the United Kingdom, the reason for this is simple. “The Shiite clergy has been historically hostile towards the Bahais because their belief questions the ‘finality’ of Islam. Bahais believe that all previous religions including Islam are from the same source and are in essence successive chapters of one religion from God. Hence, they believe the Bahai faith, which emerged in the 19th century, is the ‘latest’ manifestation of ‘the truth’. As Islam also claims to be the ‘final truth’, some clerical authorities, both Sunni and Shia, have always been deeply hostile to the Bahai community.”

This incompatibility of narratives goes hand in hand with a deep suspicion among the Iranian clergy of outside forces. Even before the 1979 revolution, many clerics preached that the Bahai faith is nothing more than a construction by ‘the old fox of imperialism’, Britain. They alleged that the British Empire, which thrived on the notion of divide and conquer, created this religion to weaken the sense of unity in the Islamic Ummah (‘community’). After the revolution, this antagonistic view became an integral part of the state discourse.

Following that conspiratorial view, the Islamic Republic believes that Bahais use the British media to undermine the Islamic authority in Iran. The regime is highly suspicious of the BBC and believes that it played a crucial role in mobilizing the anti-regime protests in early 2018 after the presidential election the previous year. It also believes that BBC Persian exists to serve the Bahai agenda. Hadad Adel, a former speaker of the Islamic Consultative Assembly and a close follower of the Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei, dubbed the BBC the “Bahai Broadcasting Company”. These historical conspiracy theories continue to overshadow the Bahai community, and the state actively promotes these ideas to demonize Bahais and legitimize their collective persecution.

If the British conspiracy theories were not enough, the regime also associates the Bahai faith with Zionism. The Islamic Republic makes this connection because the Bahai headquarters and many important Bahai religious sites are located in Israel. When Bahaullah, the founder of the faith, was jailed in Acre, the city was under Ottoman rule. However, after May 1948, when the state of Israel was established, all those sites became part of Israeli territory. Since many Bahais make pilgrimages to Israel and to visit their religious sites there, the Islamic Republic has accused many Iranian Bahais of ‘spying’ for Zionism.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS | ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS | ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS | ©AFP ⁃ STRINGER

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.