فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / مواكبة الشركس: كيف تستعيد جماعة مضطهدة تراثها

مواكبة الشركس: كيف تستعيد جماعة مضطهدة تراثها

Specials- Circassian
أتراك من أصول شركسية يتظاهرون حاملين لافتات خارج السفارة الروسية في أنقرة في ٢١ مايو ٢٠١٤، في الذكرى ١٥٠ للإبادة والتهجير القسري للشركس. Photo: ADEM ALTAN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

يحاول الشركس، وهم أقليةٌ مسلمة تم طردهم من روسيا خلال الفترة الحكم القيصري، في جميع أنحاء العالم، استعادة تراثهم. وعليه، يتنافس الشركس في دول المنفى مثل تركيا وسوريا وإسرائيل والأردن ومصر ولبنان ومنطقة البلقان، على بناء والحفاظ على هويةٍ ثقافية شركسية مميزة، بما يحمله ذلك من آثارٍ سياسية.

فقد كانت الذكرى السنوية الـ155 للإبادة الجماعية الشركسية في عام 2019 بمثابة تذكيرٍ بأنه في الفترة ما بين 6 مارس و21 مايو 1864، أشرفت الإمبراطورية الروسية على مذبحةٍ قُتل فيها 400 ألفٍ من الشركس إلى جانب النفي القسري لـ4 ملايين نسمة منهم، ليبقى 50 ألفاً فقط في وطنهم. وعلى الرغم من أن هذا العدد قد ارتفع منذ ذلك الحين إلى ما يقرب من 400 ألف، إلا أن اضطهاد الشركس استمر حتى انهيار الاتحاد السوفيتي في عام 1991.

في ذلك الوقت، تم إعادة تشكيل فكرة الهوية الشركسية الموحدة، على الرغم من أن المشاعر القومية ظهرت خلال أوائل القرن التاسع عشر عندما صمم الدبلوماسي الاسكتلندي ديفيد أوركهارت العلم الشركسي، وفي ستينيات القرن التاسع عشر، اتحدت عشائر مختلفة في محاولةٍ فاشلة لتقديم التماساتٍ إلى القيصر للتفاوض على معاهدة سلام في سوتشي.

وفي التسعينيات، ركز النشاط الشركسي على إلغاء أسماء الأقليات العرقية، واقترح بدلاً من ذلك مصطلح “شركسي” لجميع أعضاء المجموعة.

وفي حين فشل هذا أيضاً، فمن الواضح أن الشتات الشركسي حريصٌ على الإنخراط بتراثه واستعادته. تجلى ذلك بطرقٍ مثيرة للاهتمام، من تكييف الأزياء التقليدية مع العصر الحديث إلى محاولة إنشاء أو الحفاظ على الهوية الشركسية المتميزة للمدن التي يعيشون فيها. فعلى سبيل المثال، حاول رئيس المجلس في كفر كما، وهي بلدة شركسية في شمال إسرائيل، مؤخراً تطبيق إعلانٍ بأنه لا ينبغي للبلدة أن تسمح لغير الشركس ببناء منازل في المنطقة، مصحوباً بعريضة موقعة من حوالي 1200 شخص.

نشر السكان علم الشركس على صفحاتهم على الفيسبوك، بينما انتشر وسم #ImACircassianAreYou (أنا شركسي هل أنت كذلك) على مختلف وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. كما ظهرت جهودٌ للحفاظ على اللغة الشركسية، وكذلك السياحة التراثية، مما دفع الكثيرين في الشتات لزيارة المناطق الشركسية مثل أديغيا في روسيا.

ومع ذلك، تعتقد بعض العناصر من السكان الشركس أن تبني الممارسات التقليدية ليس كافياً ويؤيدون اتخاذ إجراءاتٍ أكثر تطرفاً، بما في ذلك العودة إلى “الوطن.”

إن عودة الشركس إلى روسيا ليس بالأمر الجديد، إلا أن الحصص النسبية الصارمة والإجراءات المطولة جعلت هذا الأمر شديد التعقيد، بحسب ما قاله أحمد كتاو، رئيس المنظمة الوطنية للتنوع في العراق، مما يُثني الكثيرين عن القيام بذلك.

وقال نيل هاور، وهو صحفي كندي ومحلل لقضايا الأمن في دول القوقاز: “يُحرمون بانتظام من الوثائق أو يُبعدون عند الحدود.” وأضاف “لكن في ظل غياب حملة قمع كاملة من الجانب الروسي، لا يزال هناك ما يكفي من الإرادة من الشتات الشركسي للحفاظ على استمرار جهود الإعادة إلى الوطن على مستوى ما.”

فقد شهدت الحرب في سوريا عودة العديد من الشركس السوريين إلى روسيا. وعلى الرغم من عدم كونهم لاجئين رسميين، إلا أنهم تمكنوا من التأقلم والعثور على وظائف بمساعدة المنظمات غير الحكومية، على حد قول هاور.

أما أولئك الذين يملكون طموحاتٍ أكبر، فيودون أن تعترف موسكو بالإبادة الجماعية الشركسية والتهجير الذي أعقب ذلك. وقال كتاو “[الحكومة] لا تقدم أي تعويضاتٍ أو تسهيلاتٍ لعودة الشركس إلى وطنهم”.

Circassian
المصدر: Caucasus: Russian Atrocities in the North (18th–20th Centuries), by Andrew Andersen. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack.com

وفي كل عام، يُحيي الشركس ذكرى الإبادة في 21 مايو، التي يُشيرون إليها بـ”اليوم الأسود،” إذ لا تزال ذكريات هذه المأساة والغضب العميق الذي تسببت فيه محورية للهوية الشركسية.

“هناك رغبة قوية للغاية بين جزء كبير من الشعب الشركسي … لرؤية الجمهوريات الشركسية الثلاث كلياً أو الشمالية بالكامل في شمال القوقاز – قبردينو – بلقاريا، و قراتشاي- شركيسيا، وأديغيا – متحدون في جمهورية واحدة،” بحسب ما يقوله هاور، وهي الفكرة الأخرى التي تعتبر أكثر تطرفاً بين الشركس الذين يفضلون الالتزام بخط أكثر ودية مع روسيا. وأضاف “أصبح [الاتحاد] مطلباً للنشطاء والحركات الوطنية الشركسية، الذين يشعرون بالفزع بسبب سياسات مثل ما حصل العام الماضي باختزال تعليم اللغة الأم باعتبارها مادة اختيارية في المدارس.”

ففي 19 يونيو 2018، اعتمد البرلمان الروسي مشروع قانون يجعل التعليم بـ34 لغة من لغات روسيا الرسمية البالغ عددها 35 لغة اختيارياً، ليقتصر تعليم لغات الأقليات على ساعتين في الأسبوع. في السابق، كانت الحكومات الإقليمية تحدد طريقة تعليم اللغات أو تطبيقها في المدارس، إذ كان كثيرون يعتمدون لغتهم الرسمية الخاصة بالأقلية في السنوات القليلة الأولى من التعليم الابتدائي، حسب ما كتب هاور في مجلة فورين بوليسي. وأشار إلى أن مشروع القانون كان يهدف إلى قمع هوية الأقليات في شمال القوقاز خوفاً من القومية العرقية، والتي، ربما من المفارقات، بدأت في الازدياد مع بدء مناقشة مشروع القانون.

ترى موسكو أن أي تحركاتٍ نحو القومية الشركسية يُشكل تهديداً، حتى وإن أكد غالبية النشطاء تفانيهم تجاه الاتحاد الروسي، وفقاً لهوير، إذ إن “أي نشاطٍ قومي في شمال القوقاز مرتبطٌ بشكل لا ينفصل في ذهن الكرملين بالشيشان والانفصالية.” وأضاف أن هذا يؤدي إلى تعرض الناشطين للمضايقة من قبل الأجهزة الأمنية وتهميشهم من خلال تقوية تلك المنظمات التي تلتزم بشكلٍ أقرب إلى خط الحكومة.

هذه الفجوة في الدوائر الشركسية تمنع حقاً الحركة الموحدة، ففي تركيا، على سبيل المثال، حيث يتراوح عدد الشركس بين 130 ألفاً و3 ملايين نسمة، اعتماداً على المعايير المستخدمة، هناك مجموعتان رئيسيتان: اتحاد الجمعيات القوقازية في تركيا، والمعروف أكثر باسم اختصاره التركي الكافييد (KAFFED)، واتحاد الجمعيات الشركسية أو CERFED. في حين يحتفظ اتحاد الجمعيات القوقازية في تركيا بنظرة محافظة ونشاطٍ سياسي، فإن اتحاد الجمعيات الشركسية أكثر ليبرالية بالمعنى الديني ويزعم أنه غير سياسي بطبيعته، على الرغم من نموه في ظل حزب العدالة والتنمية الحاكم في خضم محاولاته جذب الناخبين الشركس. تسعى كلتا المجموعتين إلى إنشاء روابط أقوى مع الوطن التاريخي على الرغم من اختلاف نهجهما. ويؤكد اتحاد الجمعيات القوقازية في تركيا على العلاقات البراغماتية مع روسيا، في حين اختار اتحاد الجمعيات الشركسية خطاباً أكثر حدة.

من جهتهم، لا يدعو ممثلو المنظمات الشركسية التي تعمل رسمياً في روسيا إلى الاعتراف بالإبادة الجماعية أو إستعادة الأراضي التاريخية الشركسية. ومع ذلك، فإن عدد الشباب الذين يدعمون هذه الفكرة الأكثر تطرفاً يتزايد باطراد. ويشعر النشطاء أن شخصيةً ما يمكنها تعبئة “الشباب الوطني” ستكون قادرة على قيادة حركة قومية في المستقبل. فقد تم تعزيز هذه الحركة عن طريق الإنترنت، حيث وجد الشركس في جميع أنحاء العالم بعضهم البعض من خلال منتديات الدردشة وما شابه ذلك.

وبالرغم من أنه بات اليوم بإمكان الشركس المشتتين جغرافياً التواصل وتنظيم صفوفهم، إلا أنه من المرجح أن تظل محاولات إعادة تحديد هويتهم وتراثهم رمزية إلى حدٍ كبير ما لم يتمكنوا من التغلب على المقاومة السياسية الشرسة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / Keeping Up with the Circassians: How a Persecuted Group is Reclaiming its Heritage

Keeping Up with the Circassians: How a Persecuted Group is Reclaiming its Heritage

Specials- Circassian
Turks of ethnic Circassian origin protest with a banner outside the Russian embassy in Ankara on May 21, 2014, on the 150th anniversary the mass deportation and killings of ethnic Circassians by Tsarist Russia in the 19th century on May 21, 1864. Photo: ADEM ALTAN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

The Circassians, a mainly Muslim minority expelled from Russia during the Tsarist period is, all over the world, trying to reclaim its heritage. Exiled to countries including Turkey, Syria, Israel, Jordan, Egypt, Lebanon and the Balkans, the group is vying to carve out and retain a distinct Circassian cultural identity that has political implications.

The 155th anniversary of the Circassian genocide in 2019 was a reminder that between 6 March and 21 May 1864, Imperial Russia oversaw the massacre of 400,000 Circassians and forcible exile of 4 million, leaving only 50,000 in their homeland. Although that number has since risen to almost 400,000, oppression of the Circassians continued until the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991.

It was at this time that the idea of a unified Circassian identity was reignited, although nationalist sentiment emerged during the early 19th century when Scottish diplomat David Urquhart designed a Circassian flag and, in the 1860s, different clans united in a failed attempt to petition the tsar to negotiate a peace treaty in Sochi.

In the 1990s, Circassian activism focused on eliminating the names of sub-ethnicities, instead proposing the term ‘Circassian’ for all members of the group.

While this failed too, it is apparent that the Circassian diaspora is keen to engage with and reclaim its heritage. This has manifested in interesting ways, from adapting traditional fashion for the modern era to attempting to establish or retain the distinct Circassian identity of towns where they live. For instance, the council head in Kafr Kama, a Circassian town in northern Israel, recently tried to enforce a declaration that the town should not allow non-Circassians to build homes in the area, accompanied by a petition signed by around 1,200 people.

Residents posted the Circassian flag on their Facebook profile, while the hashtag #ImACircassianAreYou has appeared on various social media. Efforts to preserve the Circassian language have also emerged, as has heritage tourism, prompting many in the diaspora to visit Circassian areas such as Adygea in Russia.

However, some elements of the Circassian population believe adopting traditional practices is not enough and espouse more radical action, including a return to the ‘homeland’.

Repatriation of Circassians to Russia is not unheard of. However, strict quotas and lengthy procedures have made this complicated, according to Ahmed Kataw, head of the Iraq-based National Diversity Organization , deterring many from doing so.

“They are regularly denied documents or turned away at the border,” said Neil Hauer, a Canadian journalist and security analyst based in the Caucasus. “But in the absence of a total crackdown from the Russian side, there is still enough will from the Circassian diaspora to keep a repatriation effort ongoing on some level.”

The war in Syria has seen many Syrian Circassians returning to Russia. Although not official refugees, they have been able to acclimatize and find jobs with the help of NGOs, said Hauer.

Those with bigger ambitions would like Moscow to recognize the Circassian genocide and the displacement that followed. “[The government] doesn’t offer any compensation or facilities for the return of Circassians to their homeland,” said Kataw.

Circassian
Sources: Caucasus: Russian Atrocities in the North (18th–20th Centuries), by Andrew Andersen. Click to enlarge. @Fanack.com

Each year, Circassians commemorate the genocide on 21 May, referred to as a ‘black day’. Memories of this tragedy and the deep resentment it caused is still central to the Circassian identity.

“There is a very strong desire among a significant part of the Circassian population…to see the three partly or entirely Circassian republics of the North Caucasus – Kabardino-Balkaria, Karachay-Cherkessia, and Adygea – united into one republic,” said Hauer, which is the other idea considered more radical among Circassians who prefer to toe a more Russia-friendly line. “[Unification is] becoming a demand of Circassian activists and national movements, who are dismayed by policies such as last year’s reduction in status of native language education to a voluntary school subject.”

On 19 June 2018, the Russian parliament adopted a bill making education in 34 of Russia’s 35 official languages optional, limiting instruction in minority languages to two hours per week. Previously, regional governments determined how languages would be taught or applied in schools, and many would offer the first few years of primary education in their own official minority language, Hauer wrote in Foreign Affairs magazine. He noted that the bill was intended to suppress minority identity in the North Caucuses out of fear of ethnic nationalism, which, perhaps ironically, started to grow as discussion of the bill got under way.

Moscow sees any moves towards Circassian nationalism as a threat, even if the majority of activists stress their dedication to the Russian Federation, according to Hauer. “Any nationalist activism in the North Caucasus is inextricably linked in the Kremlin’s mind with Chechnya and separatism.” This, he added, leads to activists being harassed by security services and marginalized by strengthening those organizations that stick closer to the government line.

This fissure in Circassian circles prevents a truly unified movement. In Turkey, for instance, where the number of Circassians ranges between 130,000 and 3 million, depending on the criteria used, there are two main groups: the Federation of Caucasian Organizations of Turkey, better known by its Turkish acronym KAFFED, and the Federation of Circassian Associations or CERFED. While KAFFED retains a conservative outlook and is active politically, CERFED is more liberal in the religious sense and purportedly apolitical in nature, despite gaining ground under the ruling Justice and Development Party amid its attempt to appeal to Circassian voters. Both groups seek stronger links to the historic homeland although their approach differs. KAFFED emphasizes pragmatic relations with Russia whereas CERFED opts for more heated rhetoric.

Representatives of Circassian organizations that work officially in Russia do not advocate recognition of the genocide or the return of historical Circassian lands. However, the number of young people supporting this more radical idea is steadily growing. Activists feel that a figure who can mobilize this ‘patriotic youth’ would be able to lead a nationalist movement in the future. This movement has been aided by the internet as Circassians around the world have found each other through chat forums and similar.

Yet while geographically dispersed pockets of Circassians can now connect and organize, attempts to re-establish their identity and heritage are likely to remain largely symbolic unless they can overcome fierce political resistance.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ 000_Par7886070 | ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.