فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / في قرى مصر، ثقافة الإفلات من العقاب تُشجع على العنف ضد الأقباط

في قرى مصر، ثقافة الإفلات من العقاب تُشجع على العنف ضد الأقباط

افتتح الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي، في 6 يناير 2019، دارين للعبادة، مسجداً وكنيسةً ضخمين في العاصمة الإدارية الجديدة التي لا تزال قيد الإنشاء (العاصمة الجديدة). ويُقال أن الكنيسة هي الأكبر على الإطلاق في الشرق الأوسط ويمكن أن تتسع لـ8200 مصلٍ.

وقال السيسي خلال الافتتاح “نحن شيء واحد وسنبقى شيئاً واحداً،” في إشارةٍ إلى التنوع الديني في مصر حيث يُشكل المسلمون 90% والمسيحيون 10% من السكان.

وقد رحب وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو، الذي زار مصر بعد بضعة أيام، بافتتاح الكنيسة، وكتب على تويتر أن ذلك أظهر “التزام السيسي بتعزيز الحرية الدينية والتسامح بين الأديان.” وعلق الرئيس ترمب أيضاً على وسيلة التواصل الاجتماعي المفضلة لديه، مشيراً إلى أن “الرئيس السيسي ينقل بلاده إلى مستقبل أكثر شمولاً!”.

ولكن، بعيداً عن الأنظار، أظهرت الأحداث التي حصلت في صعيد مصر بعد أسبوعٍ من إفتتاح الكنيسة صورةً مغايرة تماماً، فقد أظهرت لقطاتٌ مصورة قرويين في منشية زعفرانة، جنوب المنيا، يحتجون على وجود كنيسةٍ صغيرة في قريتهم. ردت الشرطة بإغلاق دار العبادة المرتجل وطرد اثنين من القساوسة من القرية، العمل الذي قوبل بالاحتفالات.

وفي رد فعله على الحادثة، قال الأنبا مكاريوس، أسقف المنيا، “نحن دائماً نسعى للسلام والتهدئة، ولكننا نرفض الذلّ والهوان والذمّية والتنازل عن الحقوق.” يُشير مصطلح “الذميّة” إلى المفهوم الذي كان مطبقاً خلال الأيام الأولى للتوسع الإسلامي، عندما كان المسيحيون واليهود يخضعون للحكم الإسلامي مقابل الحماية من الحاكم.

كما كتب الأنبا مكاريوس عدداً من التغريدات شديدة اللهجة التي تنتقد غياب العدالة، حيث لم يتم ملاحقة الجناة بعد، فضلاً عن فشل الدولة في التدخل في الأحداث.

وخلافاً لكلمات الأنبا مكاريوس، قوبلت الحادثة بصمتٍ من زعيم الكنيسة القبطية المصرية. فعادةً ما يمتنع البابا تواضروس الثاني عن التعليق على الحوادث الطائفية، باستثناء الهجمات الكبيرة من قبل ما يسمى بالدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” والتي استهدفت مسيحيين عدة مرات منذ عام 2016.

وبما أن حادثة المنيا ليست بمعزلٍ عن الحوادث الأخرى، انتقد المعلقون الثناء على افتتاح الكنيسة في العاصمة الإدارية الجديدة، إذ قالوا أن الخدمة الحقيقية التي يمكن تقديمها للأقباط هي أن يواجهوا قيوداً أقل في حال أرادوا افتتاح كنائس في أماكن أخرى. وقال المحلل السياسي تيموثي كالداس على تويتر: “يكافح المسيحيون في جميع أنحاء مصر لفتح الكنائس حيث يعيشون بالفعل، وذلك بفضل قانون بناء الكنيسة المتعصب الذي تم تمريره في ظل حكم السيسي.”

Specials- Copts
الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي (يمين) يتحدث وهو يقف بجانب بابا الأقباط تواضروس الثاني (يسار) خلال قداس عيد الميلاد في كاتدرائية ميلاد المسيح في العاصمة الإدارية الجديدة بمصر، على بعد 45 كم شرق القاهرة، في 6 يناير 2018. Photo AFP

ففي سبتمبر 2016، أقرت إدارة السيسي قانوناً جديداً لبناء الكنائس يضمن حقوقاً متساوية للأقباط في بناء الكنائس. ففي مدينة القاهرة، التي تشهد توسعاً كبيراً، وما حولها، يمكن للمرء أن يرى بالفعل العديد من الكنائس الجديدة تحت الإنشاء. أما في المناطق الريفية في صعيد مصر، فإن الواقع مختلف.

وبموجب القانون، تستطيع السلطات منع بناء كنيسةٍ جديدة أو الترخيص لأحد الكنائس الموجودة في حال كان الأمن العام “في خطر.” وقد نتج عن ذلك العشرات من الحوادث التي احتج فيها مسلمون على بناء أو ترخيص كنيسةٍ في قريتهم، حيث تقوم السلطات في وقتٍ لاحق بإغلاق الكنيسة.

فقد أصدرت المبادرة المصرية للحقوق الشخصية تقريراً في نوفمبر 2018 يوثق 15 حالة من العنف الطائفي حول إضفاء الشرعية على الكنائس، مما أدى إلى إغلاقٍ دائم لـ11 من هذه الكنائس خلال فترة أكتوبر 2017-2018.

وفي كل مرة، يتكرر النمط نفسه: قرويون مسلمون يجتمعون للاحتجاج ضد أو مهاجمة الكنيسة؛ بينما تقف قوات الأمن دون تدخل؛ ليتم حل الأمور من خلال جلسات المصالحة المحلية. غالباً ما تؤدي هذه الجلسات إلى إغلاق الكنيسة، بينما يتجنب المهاجمون الملاحقة القضائية. وأحياناً تتعرض منازل أو متاجر الأقباط للهجوم بشكلٍ مباشر، إذ يحصل هذا على سبيل المثال عندما تنتشر شائعاتٌ في قريةٍ ما حول علاقةٍ جنسية بين مسيحي/ مسيحية بمسلمة/ مسلم، أو عندما يشاع أن قبطي قد أهان النبي محمد. في مثل هذه الحالات، غالباً ما يتم طرد الأقباط من القرية.

“الظروف في القرى تسمح بحدوث ذلك، بحسب ما قال لنا في فَنَك صموئيل تادرس، زميل معهد هدسون في واشنطن. وأضاف “في القرى، تكون القدرة على التعبئة بناءً على الشائعات أعلى بكثير [من المدن] بسبب تماسك المجتمع هناك.”

تتجلى المشكلة بشكلٍ رئيسي في صعيد مصر، حيث أن عدد المسيحيين هناك، على سبيل المثال، أعلى بكثير مما هو الحال عليه في القرى الريفية في دلتا النيل في مصر.

تُظهر عمليات إغلاق الكنائس أن المشاكل الطائفية في مصر أعمق بكثير من هجمات داعش وحدها. فقد رصدنا في فَنَك العديد من آراء المصريين المسلمين حول أغرب الشائعات التي تنتشر بين تلاميذ المدارس، منها على سبيل المثال أن رائحة المسيحيين كريهة، أو أن الخمر في الكنيسة هو في الواقع بول القس، أو أن على الفتاة أولاً قبل الزواج ممارسة الجنس مع القس.

وقال تادرس “لا يتم شن الهجمات من قِبل أعضاء الجماعات الإسلامية، بل إنهم أشخاصٌ عاديون، من الجيران أو الزملاء في العمل. أصبح التعصب منتشراً في هذا الجزء من البلاد بحيث أصبح يشكل اليوم مشكلةً بالنسبة للمسيحيين.”

كما ألقت امرأة من إحدى قرى دلتا النيل، والتي تحدثت معنا في فَنَك شريطة عدم الكشف عن هويتها، الضوء على انتشار الخطاب الطائفي في المجتمعات الريفية. فقد أخبرتنا أنها إلى أن أنهت دراستها الثانوية وانتقلت إلى القاهرة، كانت تعتقد أن المسيحيين مختلفين “لهم أنوفٌ أكبر أو ما شابه ذلك،” على حد قولها، إذ قالت “يتحدث الناس بشكلٍ سيء للغاية عن المسيحيين ولا يفهمون لماذا تبني الحكومة عدداً كبيراً من الكنائس عندما يكون عدد المسيحيين قليل.”

وأوضحت أن الناس في قريتها يشعرون أنه إذا ما تواجد المسيحيون في السلطة، سيعاني المسلمون، كما أن هناك خوفٌ أنه في حال عدم تتدين المسلمين بما يكفي، فسيقعون عرضةً للتخلي عن دينهم من قبل المسيحيين. أي بعبارةٍ أخرى، سيصبح المسيحيون “أكبر عدداً” من المسلمين. وقالت: “إنها عقلية ‘نحن -ضدهم‘،” المدفوعة جزئياً بنظرية المؤامرة بأن كل شخص يشن حرباً على الإسلام، وبالتالي فإن كل شخص غير مسلم هو عدو.

يحدد الباحث إسحاق إبراهيم من المبادرة المصرية للحقوق الشخصية الأسباب الجذرية لهذه التوترات الطائفية: أولاً، يعتقد بعض المواطنين أن مصر دولةٌ إسلامية ويجب ألا تسمح للمسيحيين ببناء الكنائس. وقال لفَنَك، “إنهم يشعرون بالمسؤولية لفرض هذا الأمر.”

وثانياً، ترسل الدولة رسالةً سلبية بعدم تطبيق القانون عندما يتم مهاجمة الكنائس، إذ قال إبراهيم: “يخبر هذا المتطرفين بأنهم سيفلتون من العقاب، ويُشعر المسيحيين بأنهم غير متساويين معهم.”

المصدر: Wikipedia and qscience.com. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack

يؤكد تادرس هذا: “يمكنك مهاجمة المسيحيين والإفلات من العقاب، مما يخلق ثقافة التشجيع. وعلاوةً على ذلك، تستسلم جلسات المصالحة في الواقع لمطالب الغوغاء.”

بالنسبة له، يمكن للسلطات معالجة المشكلة من خلال “تطبيق القوانين الأساسية،” إذ يقول: “إذا قام شخص بحرق منزلٍ ما، فينبغي معاقبته.” ويشرح أن الدولة تمتنع عن القيام بذلك لأنهم يشعرون بأن مقاضاة الجناة سيثير الاضطراب وهم (الدولة) يفتقرون إلى الحوافز لاتخاذ التدابير.

وقال تادرس: “تدعم قيادة الكنيسة النظام على أي حال وتحصل على ردود فعلٍ جيدة من الصحافة الدولية،” في إشارة إلى تغريدة ترمب الإيجابية عن الكنيسة الجديدة في العاصمة الإدارية، “إذاً، لماذا تتهم بالأمر؟” على حد تعبيره.

ولكن بينما يتواصل الدعم الكامل لقيادة الكنيسة للنظام، يرى تادرس ديناميكيةً متغيرة داخل المجتمع القبطي نفسه، والذي بدأ يصبح أكثر انتقاداً.

فقد قال إبراهيم، الذي ينحدر من المنيا، إنه عندما يرى الأقباط حوادث طائفية تحدث دون محاسبة، فإنهم يشعرون بأنهم مواطنون من الدرجة الثانية وأن الدولة لا تدعم حقوقهم. “يجب على الدولة حماية الحق في الصلاة لجميع المصريين، على قدم المساواة،” بحسب قوله.

فعلى سبيل المثال، انفجر الأقباط غضباً على العلن في ديسمبر 2018، عندما قتل ضابط شرطة يحرس كنيسةً في المنيا، أباً وابنه من الأقباط بعد نزاعٍ واضح. احتج مئات الأقباط في جنازتهم مطالبين بحمايةٍ أفضل. كما أدلى الأنبا مكاريوس ببيانٍ قوي رداً على الحادثة. “يبدأ الأمر بالاعتراف بحجم المشكلة،” بحسب إبراهيم.

وفي ما قد يكون الخطوة الأولى نحو هذا الاعتراف، شكّل السيسي لجنةً في أواخر ديسمبر 2018 تتكون من ممثلين من عدة وكالاتٍ أمنية لمكافحة الطائفية. كما عيّن اثنين من الأقباط في منصب محافظ في أغسطس الماضي.

إلا أن الشكوك لا تزال تساور تادرس، الذي قال “لا يوجد ما يدل على أن اللجنة الجديدة تمثل أي شيء مختلف. يجب على الرئيس شخصياً وضع القضية على رأس قائمة الأولويات.”

وبحسب تادرس، ربما يكون حافز النظام لتقديم دعمٍ أفضل لحقوق الأقباط اقتصادياً، إذ قال “الأقباط بشكلٍ عام أفضل تعليماً وأفضل تمثيلاً في القطاع الخاص، بسبب التمييز ضدهم في القطاع العام والقوات المسلحة.” ويرى اليوم موجة “تسونامي” لهجرة الأقباط، مما يضر بمصر اقتصادياً ويمكن أن يوفر حافزاً للدولة لحثها على معالجة القضية بشكلٍ أقوى. وختم بالقول: “إذا كنت تريد التقدم لمصر، فعليك أن تعالج قضية الاضطهاد الديني.”

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / In Egypt’s Villages, Culture of Impunity Encourages Violence Against Copts

In Egypt’s Villages, Culture of Impunity Encourages Violence Against Copts

On 6 January 2019, Egyptian president Abdel Fattah el-Sisi opened two enormous houses of worship, a mosque and a church, in the still-under- construction New Administrative Capital (New Capital). The church is said to be the largest ever in the Middle East and can hold 8,200 worshippers.

“We are one and will remain one,” el-Sisi said during the inauguration, referring to Egypt’s religious diversity of Muslims (90%) and Christians (10%).

US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, who visited Egypt a few days later, hailed the opening of the church, writing on Twitter that it showed el-Sisi’s “commitment to promoting religious freedom and interfaith tolerance.” President Trump also commented on his favourite medium, stating that “President El-Sisi is moving his country to a more inclusive future!”

But out of sight, events in Upper Egypt a week after the church opening showed a very different picture. Footage emerged of villagers in Manshiyet Zafarana, south of Minya, protesting the presence of a small church. The police responded by closing the improvised place of worship and expelling two priests from the village, an act that was met with celebrations.

“We are always striving for peace and calm but we reject humiliation, dhimmitude and the abandonment of rights,” Bishop Macarius of Minya responded after the attack. “Dhimmitude” refers to the concept applied during the early days of Islamic territorial expansion, in which Christians and Jews would be subject to Islamic rule in exchange for protection from the ruler.

Macarius also wrote a number of strongly-worded tweets criticising the absence of justice, as the perpetrators have not yet been persecuted, as well as the state’s failure to intervene in the events.

In contrast to Bishop Macarius’ words, the incident was met with silence from the leader of Egypt’s Coptic Church. Pope Tawadros II usually refrains from commenting on sectarian incidents, apart from high-profile attacks by the so-called Islamic State (IS), which has targeted Christians multiple times since 2016.

As the Minya incident does not stand alone, commentators criticised the praise over the New Capital church opening, saying that Copts would only be truly served if they faced fewer restrictions opening churches elsewhere. “Christians throughout Egypt struggle to open churches where they actually live, thanks to a bigoted church building law passed under el-Sisi,” political analyst Timothy Kaldas tweeted.

Specials- Copts
Egyptian President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi (R) speaks near Coptic Pope Tawadros II (L) during a Christmas Eve mass at the Nativity of Christ Cathedral in Egypt’s future administrative capital, 45 km east of Cairo, on January 6, 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ KHALED DESOUKI

In September 2016, the el-Sisi administration passed a new church-building law that would guarantee equal rights for Copts to build churches. In and around the expanding city of Cairo, one can indeed see many new churches under construction. In rural Upper Egypt however, the reality is different.

The law allows authorities to prevent the building of a new church or the licensing of an existing one if public security is “in jeopardy.” This has resulted in dozens of incidents of Muslims protesting against the building or licensing of a church in their village and the authorities subsequently closing down the church.

The Egyptian Initiative for Personal Rights (EIPR) issued a report in November 2018 documenting 15 cases of sectarian violence surrounding the legalization of churches, resulting in the permanent closure of 11 of those churches during the period of October 2017-2018.

The pattern has repeated itself: Muslim villagers gather to protest or attack a church; security forces fail to intervene; and the matter is dealt with through local reconciliation sessions. These sessions often result in the closure of a church, while the attackers avoid prosecution. Sometimes the homes or shops of Copts are attacked directly, for instance, when there are rumours in the village of a sexual relationship between a Christian and a Muslim, or when a Copt is rumoured to have insulted the Prophet Muhammad. In these kinds of cases, the Copts in question are often expelled from the village.

“Circumstances in villages allow this to happen,” Samuel Tadros, senior fellow at the Hudson Institute in Washington, told Fanack. “In a village, the ability to mobilise based on rumours is much higher [than in cities] due to the former’s cohesion.”

The problem manifests itself mainly in Upper Egypt, as the number of Christians there is much higher than, for instance, in Egypt’s rural Nile Delta.

The church closures show that Egypt’s sectarian problems run much deeper than IS attacks alone. Fanack collected accounts from several Egyptian Muslims of the strangest rumours circulating among school students, such as that Christians smell bad, or that the wine in the church is actually the priest’s pee or even that before marriage a girl must first sleep with the priest.

“Attacks are not executed by members of Islamist groups, they are regular folks, neighbours or co-workers. The intolerance has become so widespread in this half of the country that it’s now problematic for Christians,” Tadros said.

A woman from a village in the Nile delta, speaking with Fanack on the condition of anonymity, shed light on the spread of sectarian speech in rural communities. Up until she finished high school and moved to Cairo, she believed Christians look different, “with a bigger nose or something,” she said. “People speak very badly about Christians and they don’t understand why the government is building so many churches when there are so few Christians anyway.”

She explained that people in her village feel that if Christians were in power, Muslims would suffer and there is a fear that if Muslims are not pious enough, they will fall subject to conversion by Christians. In that sense, Christians would become “victorious” over Muslims. “It’s a mentality of ‘us versus them’,” she said, driven in part by the conspiracy theory that everyone wages a war against Islam, therefore everyone non-Muslim is an enemy.

Researcher Ishaq Ibrahim from the EIPR identifies two root causes of these sectarian tensions: first, some citizens believe Egypt is an Islamic state and should not allow Christians to build churches. “They feel responsible for enforcing this,” he told Fanack.

Second, the state is sending a negative message by not enforcing the law when churches are attacked. “This tells radicals that they will go unpunished and Christians that they are not equal,” Ibrahim said.

Egypt- Copts
Sources: Wikipedia and qscience.com. Click to enlarge. @Fanack

Tadros underscores this: “you can attack Christians and get away with it, which creates a culture of encouragement. Moreover, reconciliation sessions actually give in to mob demands.”

For him, authorities could tackle the problem through the “basic enforcement of the law.” “If someone burns a house, he should be punished,” he says. He goes on to explain that the state refrains from doing so because they feel persecuting perpetrators would stir unrest and they (the state) lack the incentives to take measures.

“The church leadership supports the regime anyway and they get good international press,” Tadros said, referring to Trump’s positive tweet about the new church in the administrative capital. “So why bother?”

But while the Church leadership remains fully supportive of the regime, Tadros sees a changing dynamic within the Coptic community itself, which has started to become more critical.

Ibrahim, who himself hails from Minya, said that when Copts see sectarian incidents occur without accountability, they feel like second-rate citizens and that the state does not support their rights. “The state should protect the right to prayer for all Egyptians, as equals,” he said.

For instance, Coptic anger burst into the open in December 2018, when a police officer guarding a church in Minya killed a Coptic father and son in an apparent dispute. Hundreds of Copts protested at their funeral demanding better protection. Bishop Macarius also made a strong statement in response to this event. “It starts with recognising the scale of the problem,” according to Ibrahim.

In what may be a first step toward that recognition, el-Sisi formed a committee in late December 2018 with representatives of several security agencies to combat sectarianism. He also appointed two Copts as governors that August.

But Tadros remains sceptical. “[There is] no indication that the new committee is represents anything different. The president personally needs to make this a priority.”

An incentive for the regime to better support the rights of Copts could be economic, Tadros argued. “Copts are generally better educated and better represented in the private sector, due to discrimination in the public sector and armed forces,” he said. He now sees a “tsunami” of Copts emigrating, which harms Egypt economically and could provide an incentive for the state to more forcefully address the issue. “If you want Egypt to progress, you need to address the issue of religious persecution,” he concluded.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ KHALED DESOUKI | ©AFP ⁃ KHALED DESOUKI

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.