فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / تاريخ الديانة اليهودية

تاريخ الديانة اليهودية

Specials- Orthodox Jewish
حاخام يهودي أرثوذكسي متشدد يستخدم ريشة لكتابة الحروف الأخيرة من لفافة التوراة أثناء حفل تدشين للكتاب المقدس في حي لليهود الأرثوذكس المتشددين في القدس. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ MENAHEM KAHANA

تماماً كحال أي ديانةٍ أخرى، تقوم اليهودية على عددٍ معين من المعتقدات الأساسية، فاليهودية ديانةٌ توحيدية وتعتبر واحدةً من أقدم الديانات التي لا تزال تتبع في العالم اليوم. وتماماً كحال الأديان الأخرى أيضاً، تشتمل على مللٍ أو طوائف متعددة.

يمتد تاريخ اليهودية لأكثر من 3000 عام، كما تمتد جذوره في الشرق الأوسط منذ العصر البرونزي. فقد تم تسجيل التاريخ والمعتقدات والتقاليد اليهودية في الكتاب المقدس العبري بدايةً في القرن الثامن قبل الميلاد. عرف آنذاك باسم “دين إبراهيم،” وذلك تيمناً باسم الرجل الذي كشف له الله، في الكتاب المقدس، الدين اليهودي. ولذلك يعتبر إبراهيم جد العبرانيين، الذين أطلق عليهم فيما بعد الشعب اليهودي. فقد انتشرت اليهودية نتيجةً للهجرة، وليس بسبب اعتناق الدين في ظل الحملات التبشيرية، كحال الكاثوليكية على سبيل المثال. وعلى الرغم من أن الديانة اليهودية لم تجذب أبداً أعداداً كبيرةً من الأتباع كحال الديانات الأخرى، إلا أنها لا زالت تتمتع بنفوذٍ قوي في العالم الحديث اليوم.

ما هي المعتقدات الأساسية في اليهودية؟

يتمتع التاريخ بدلالةٍ غاية في الأهمية في اليهودية، ذلك أن الكتاب المقدس يتركز حول السرد التاريخي ومعظم الأعياد اليهودية تهدف إلى ربط اليهود المعاصرين بأجدادهم وتقاليدهم التاريخيين. وبادعائهم سيادة الله على اليهود، المعروفين أيضاً باسم بني إسرائيل، أنشأ الله معهم عهداً وطلب منهم طاعة تعاليمه أو شريعته، التي تُسمى التوراة. تسترشد الشعائر والطقوس الدينية بالقانون الشفهي اليهودي المعروف باسم الهلاخاه، والذي يعني “الطريق الذي يسير فيه المرء.” وهو إطارٌ معقد من الوصايا الإلهية المدمجة بالشرائع الحاخامية. تعتبر الهلاخاه مركزيةً لليهودية، وتوجه الحياة اليومية، حيث تُظهر إقامة شعائر الهلاخاه الامتنان لله، مما يوفر الإحساس بالهوية اليهودية ويُضفي الطابع المقدس على الأعمال والأفعال اليومية في الحياة.

يمكن تحديد المبادىء اليهودية التي توجهها الهلاخاه في قيمٍ مثل العدالة، والحقيقة، والسلام، والمحبة، والرحمة، والتواضع، واحترام الذات. في حين تتمثل الممارسات اليهودية الأخرى بالصدقة وتجنب الثرثرة المؤذية (التي تعني حرفياً قول السوء).

أما الوصايا أو “ميصوة بالعبرية” فهي الشرائع العامة. يوجد في التوراة 613 وصية: 248 إيجابية (“يجب عليك القيام بذلك …”) و365 سلبية (“لا يجب عليك القيام بـ…”). وبالإضافة إلى الوصايا، تتكون الشريعة اليهودية من القواعد الحاخامية التي أضيفت على مر القرون.

تُقام صلاة اليهود في الكنيس، على الرغم من أن الصلاة الفردية تتلى حسب الاحتياجات، إلا أنهم يفضلون صلاة جماعة والتي تستوجب نصاباً من عشرة رجالٍ يهودٍ بالغين، وهو مصطلحٌ يُعرف باليهودية بالمنيان (يُسمح في اليهودية الحديثة بمشاركة المرأة بالصلاة أيضاً). المنيان مطلوبٌ لإقامة العديد من الواجبات الدينية مثل حفلات الزفاف والجنازات. يختلف نهج الصلاة بين مختلف الطوائف وذلك في ظل اختلاف النص، وتكرار الصلاة، وعدد الصلوات التي تتم تلاوتها في المناسبات الدينية، وما إذا كانت الآلات الموسيقية والترنيمات مسموحٌ بها.

الشريعة الغذائية اليهودية- كشروت

كشروت هي مجموعة من القوانين الغذائية التي تقيد استهلاك بعض الأطعمة وتحدد كيفية تحضير الأطعمة وتناولها. تستخدم كلمة كوشر لوصف الأطعمة التي تلبي هذه المعايير ويتم استخدام شهادة لمساعدة اليهود الملتزمين على تحديد الأطعمة الحلال. كما تتناول مبادىء كوشر اللوائح الصحية الناشئة والاعتبارات البيئية. ومع ذلك، فإن الرد المختصر حول السبب الذي يجعل اليهود يتقيدون بمبادىء كوشر يرجع إلى ذكر ذلك في التوراة، ويعد هذا سبباً كافياً لليهود الملتزمين ذلك أنهم يظهرون من خلال ذلك طاعتهم لله.

الأدب اليهودي

تهتدي الحياة والتقاليد اليهودية بالأدب، فلطالما كانت دراسة التوراة والنصوص اليهودية الأخرى أساسية للحياة الدينية منذ بدايات الدين اليهودي. يُمثل التوراة والتلمود والكتابات اليهودية الأخرى مصادر مهمة للتاريخ اليهودي والوصايا الإلهية، فقد كتبت العديد من التفسيرات لتوجيه اليهود من أجل تطبيق هذه الوصايا في حياتهم اليومية. وحتى يومنا هذا، تستمر هذه التفسيرات: ومع ظهور معضلاتٍ جديدة في العالم الحديث، يبحث اليهود عن حلولٍ في مطبوعاتهم الدينية.

أحد هذه الكتب هو التناخ، وهو أحد أسماء التوراة. يتألف التناخ من العهد القديم، أي الكتب الخمسة الأولى لقصة موسى. والتلمود، أو التوراة الشفوية، وهي مجموعة من الكتابات الحاخامية التي تفسر وتشرح كيفية تطبيق نصوص التوراة. والمدراش عبارة عن مجموعة كبيرة من الأدب اليهودي، وهي عبارة عن مجموعة من المواد الحاخامية المشتقة في المقام الأول من الخطب.

الحركات اليهودية

في عام 2015، بلغ عدد اليهود في جميع أنحاء العالم ما يُقارب الـ14,3 مليون نسمة (أو ما يمثل ما نسبته 0,2% من سكان العالم)، ومع ذلك، ليس جميع اليهود ملتزمين. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن اليهودية هي ثقافةٌ أيضاً، وليست مجرد ديانة، فالحياة اليهودية غنية بالتقاليد والطقوس والعطلات التي تحيي ذكرى الماضي وتحتفل بالحاضر وتعبر عن الأمل في المستقبل.

هناك ثلاث حركات رئيسية في اليهودية المعاصرة: اليهودية الأرثوذكسية، واليهودية المحافظة، واليهودية الإصلاحية. تتمثل الاختلافات الرئيسية بين هذه المجموعات بمفهومهم للشريعة اليهودية، وسلطة الشريعة الحاخامية، وأهمية دولة إسرائيل. فعلى سبيل المثال يؤمن اليهود الأرثوذكس بضرورة الإلتزام بالشريعة اليهودية والحاخامية ويعتبرون منشأهم إلهي.

بينما يعتبر اليهود المحافظين والإصلاحيين أكثر تحرراً، إذ يتبع المحافظون التفسير التقليدي لليهودية. كما أن هناك أيضاً يهود علمانيون ممن لا يتبعون القوانين الحاخامية، لكنهم يعتبرون أنفسهم يهوداً ذلك أنهم ولدوا في عائلةٍ يهودية ونشأوا في الثقافة اليهودية بهوية يهودية. وهناك أيضاً من اعتنقوا اليهودية، وهو الأمر الذي يجب أن تتم الموافقة عليه من قبل السلطة الحاخامية الأرثوذكسية. وعليه، يُمكن اعتناق جميع فروع اليهودية السائدة.

القدرة على التكيف والاستمرارية

حافظت العقيدة اليهودية على وجودها على مدى آلاف السنين، على الرغم من العديد من فترات الاضطهاد التي تعرضت لها عبر التاريخ فضلاً عن المحرقة في القرن العشرين، التي تعرض فيها ستة ملايين يهودي أوروبي للقتل بشكلٍ منهجي. كما واصلت اليهودية تمتعها بصفات المرونة والازدهار والضعف في نفس الوقت. فقد مر العالم اليهودي بتغيرٍ اجتماعي فاقم ذلك التغيرات المضطربة التي عصفت بالعالم. ولا تزال إسرائيل بؤرة اليهودية، على الرغم من الانتشار الجغرافي للمجتمعات اليهودية في جميع أنحاء العالم.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ MENAHEM KAHANA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / The History of Judaism

The History of Judaism

Specials- Orthodox Jewish
An Ultra Orthodox Jewish Rabbi uses a quill to write the last letters of a Torah scroll during an inauguration ceremony for the holy book in an Ultra Orthodox neighbourhood in Jerusalem. Photo AFP

Like other religions, Judaism is based on a certain number of core beliefs. Judaism is mono-theistic and is considered one of the oldest religions that is still followed. Also like other religions, it encompasses multiple denominations or sects.

The history of Judaism spans more than 3,000 years, with roots in the Middle East that go back to the Bronze Age. Jewish history, beliefs and traditions were recorded in the Hebrew Bible beginning as early as the 8th century BCE. It was then known as the ‘religion of Abraham’, after the man to whom God, in the Bible, reveals the Jewish tradition. Abraham is therefore considered the patriarch of the Hebrews, later called the Jewish people. The religion spread as a result of migration rather than missionary conversions, like Catholicism, for example. Although it never attracted the number of followers that other religions did, it still exerts a strong influence in the modern world.

What are the core beliefs of Judaism?

History has the utmost significance in Judaism, as the Bible is centred around historical narrative, and most Jewish holidays are intended to connect modern Jewish people with their historical ancestors and traditions. Claiming sovereignty over the Jews, also known as the Israelites, God established a covenant, or berit, with them and required from them obedience to his teaching, or law, which is called the Torah. Rituals and religious observances are guided by the Jewish oral law of halakhah, which means ‘the path one walks’. It is a complex framework of divine commandments, integrated with rabbinical laws. The halakhah is central to Judaism and guides daily life. Observing halakhah shows gratitude to God, provides a sense of Jewish identity and brings the sacred into everyday chores and acts in life.

Jewish principles guided by the halakhah can be outlined in values such as justice, truth, peace, loving kindness, compassion, humility and self-respect. Other Jewish practices are charity (tzedakah) and avoiding negative gossip (lashon hara, literally ‘evil speech’).

The commandments or mitzvot are the general laws. There are 613 commandments in the Torah: 248 are positive (‘you shall do this’) and 365 are negative (‘you shall not do this’). In addition to the commandments, Jewish law comprises rabbinical rules that have been added over the centuries.

Jewish worship is conducted in a synagogue, although solitary prayer is recited. Communal prayer is preferred and requires a quorum of ten adult males, called a minyan (in modern Judaism, women can also be included). A minyan is required for many traditional ceremonies such as weddings and funerals. The approach to prayer varies among the diverse denominations as to text differences, frequency of prayer, number of prayers recited at religious events, and whether musical instruments and choral music are allowed.

Jewish Dietary Laws

The kashrut is a set of dietary laws that restricts the consumption of certain foods and defines how foods must be prepared and eaten. The word kosher is used to describe the foods that meet these standards, and a certification is used to help observant Jews to identify kosher foods. The kashrut laws have to deal with nascent health regulations and environmental considerations. However, the brief response to why Jews observe kashrut is that the Torah says so, and that should be enough for a traditional Jew since he or she is showing obedience to God.

Jewish Literature

Jewish life and tradition are guided by literature. Study of the Torah and other Jewish texts has been central to religious life since the beginnings of the Jewish faith. The Torah, the Tal-mud and other Jewish writings are important sources of Jewish history and divine commandments, and many interpretations have been written to guide Jews in the application of these commandments in their daily life. These interpretations continue: as new dilemmas surface in the modern world, Jews look for responses in their religious literature.

One of the books is the Tanakh, which is an acronym of the Torah. It consists of the Old Testament, i.e. the first five books of the story of Moses. The Talmud, or the Oral Torah, is a collection of rabbinical writings that interpret and explain how to apply the Torah scriptures. The Midrash is a large body of Jewish literature, the collection of rabbinical material derived primarily from sermons.

Jewish Movements

As of 2015, approximately 14.3 million people (or 0.2 per cent of the global population) identify as Jewish worldwide, although not all Jews are observant. It is also important to note that Judaism is a culture, not just a religion. Jewish life is rich in traditions, rituals and holidays commemorating the past, celebrating the present and expressing hope for the future.

There are three main movements in Judaism: Orthodox, Conservative and Reform. The main differences between these groups are their conception of Jewish law, the authority of the rabbinic tradition and the significance of the state of Israel. Orthodox Judaism expects that Jewish and rabbinical law are strictly followed and considers them divine in origin.

Conservative and Reform Judaism are more liberal. Conservative Judaism follows a traditional interpretation of the religion. There are also secular Jews who do not follow rabbinical laws, yet consider themselves Jewish since they are born to a Jewish family and raised in the Jewish culture with a Jewish identity. There are also converts to Judaism, who have to be approved by an Orthodox rabbinical authority. All mainstream branches of Judaism are open to conversions.

Adaptability and Continuity

The Jewish faith has survived over millennia, despite many periods of persecution through-out history and the Holocaust in the 20th century, during which 6 million European Jews were systematically murdered. Judaism has persisted to be resilient, prosperous and vulnerable at the same time. The Jewish world has experienced societal change, compounded by the turbulent changes in the modern world. Israel is still at the epicentre of Judaism, despite the geographic dispersal of Jewish communities across the globe.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.