فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / المندائية أو عقيدة التوحيد المنسية

المندائية أو عقيدة التوحيد المنسية

Specials- Mandaeism
عراقي من الأقلية الدينية، الصابئة المندائية، ينتظر دوره ليتم تعميده في مياه نهر دجلة خلال عيد التعميد الذهبي السنوي الذي أقيم في بغداد في ٢٢ مايو ٢٠٠٦. Photo: WISAM SAMI / AFP ©AFP ⁃ WISAM SAMI

لا يُعرف سوى القليل عن المندائية، وهي واحدةٌ من أقدم ديانات التوحيد في العالم. وخلافاً لليهود أو المسيحيين أو المسلمين، يُشكل المندائيون مجموعةً عرقية دينية تضم أقل من 100 ألف شخص يمارسون ديناً توحيدياً، التي ظهرت آثارها الأولى، وفقاً لعالمة الأنثروبولوجيا الفرنسية كلير ليفورت، في العصور السومرية، منذ أكثر من 3000 عام. . ومع ذلك، كافح الخبراء لتحديد متى ولدت المندائية بالضبط، بيد أنه لا يمكن الوثوق تماماً بأي بيانات.

بعد ظهور الإسلام، تم استخدام مصطلح “الصابئة” لوصف المندائيين وبعض الجماعات الأخرى. وحتى يومنا هذا، لا يزال يُشار إلى المندائيون باسم الصابئة في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط. وبالتالي، أصبح الكثير من المندائيين يصفون أنفسهم بـ “الصابئة المندائيين،” جامعين بين التسمية الدخيلة والمضادة.

إن الافتقار لوجود مصادر تاريخية حول التاريخ المبكر للمندائية يُفسر سبب الأساطير والخرافات التي تُحيط بهذا الدين، وفقاً لتشارلز هابرل، الأستاذ بجامعة روتجرز والخبير بالديانة المندائية. فقد كتب في ورقةٍ حملت عنوان “الرياء أم الإندماج؟ حال المندائيين،” أن نص حران كويثا (حران الداخلية) يُقدم سرداً تاريخياً رئيسياً لهجرة المندائيين من فلسطين إلى جنوب بلاد ما بين النهرين خلال القرن الأول. كما يوضح أنه حتى منتصف القرن العشرين، كان النص معروفاً للمندائيين فحسب. ومع ذلك، فقد تم نقل الروايات الشفوية عن إعادة توطينهم لأكثر من ألف عام. فقد أصبح النص في متناول العلماء فحسب عندما تمكنت عالمة الأنثروبولوجيا الثقافية البريطانية إيثيل إس دروور من الحصول على نسخة منه.

منذ القرن العاشر، ناقش العلماء والمحامون المسلمون ما إذا كان المندائيون “أهل كتابٍ” أم لا. يُصنف القرآن الكريم ثلاث جماعاتٍ من أهل الكتاب: اليهود والمسيحيين والصابئة. وبحسب ما قالته هابرل لنا في فَنَك “ظهرت الصابئة كجماعةٍ مبهمة في القرآن. عندما تبدأ بالفعل في قراءة التفسير، يبدو من الواضح أن لا أحد يملك أدنى فكرة عن الأمر. كان من الممكن أن يكونوا مصريين أو يونانيين أو من صحابة النبي محمد.”

ففي الأراضي الإسلامية، كان يحق للمؤمنين من أهل الكتاب ممارسة دينهم، شريطة أن يدفعوا ضريبة تسمى الجزية. ولفترةٍ طويلة، استفاد الصابئة المندائيون من هذا الوضع، إلا أن هذا بدأ يُشكل خطراً عندما زعمت عدة جماعاتٍ أخرى أنها صابئة لإظهار شرعيتها القرآنية، مما أثار الشكوك حول صحة هويتهم.

المندائية مستمدة من ديانات بلاد ما بين النهرين التي ظهرت حول نهري دجلة والفرات، في ما يعرف اليوم بجنوب العراق ومقاطعة خوزستان الإيرانية. تخلى المندائيون تدريجياً عن الشرك من أجل نظامٍ ازدواجي يعتمد على تناقضٍ بين النور والظلام. في هذا الصدد، تتقاسم المندائية سماتٍ مختلفة مع الديانات الفارسية الثنائية الأخرى مثل الزرادشتية والمانوية والتعاليم المَزدكية.

على الرغم من هذه الإزدواجية، لا يؤمن المندائيون سوى بإلهٍ واحد الذي يعيش في عالم النور. على النقيض من ذلك، في عالم الظلام، هناك كبرى الأرواح المسماة الروها (أي الروح الشريرة) والأمير بثاهيل، الذي يشبه الديميورغوس، أو خالق الكون المادي في الفلسفات الغنوصية (المعرفية)، الذي أفسد جميع الكائنات الروحية ليقودهم إلى خلق عالمنا المادي.

باعتبارها ديانة غنوصية، يؤمن المندائيون بخلاص الروح من خلال المعرفة السرية لله. وعلى عكس الديانات الغنوصية الأخرى، تدعم المندائية الزواج وتحرّم الإباحة الجنسية.

ووفقاً لمعتقدات المندائيين، كان آدم أول الأنبياء، تلاه شيث وسام. في حين أن التقاليد اليهودية المسيحية تعتبر حواء مسؤولة عن الخطيئة الأصلية، يعتبر المندائيون أن كلاً من آدم وحواء يتحملان هذا العبء. يقدس المندائيون أيضاً يوحنا المعمدان، الذي يعتقدون أنه نبيهم الأخير، حيث يُستمد من هذا الاعتقاد طقسهم الأكثر أهمية، المعمودية. يمكن تعميدهم عدة مرات في حياتهم، خلال طقوسٍ أسبوعية يوم الأحد أو خلال احتفالاتهم. مع ذلك لا يمكن أن تتم المعمودية إلا في المياه المتدفقة. الماء هو العنصر الأكثر أهمية الذي يأتي من عالم النور، وبالتالي يُنظر إليه كمصدرٍ للحياة. جانب رئيسي آخر للدين هو أن المندائيين لا يصلون للأصنام والصور. كتابهم الديني الرئيسي هو الكنزا ربّا، أي “الكنز العظيم،” وهو مكتوبٌ باللغة المندائية التقليدية، شكلٌ من أشكال الآرامية الشرقية.

اليوم، المندائية دينٌ مهدد بالانقراض. فمنذ غزو العراق عام 2003 بقيادة الولايات المتحدة، تعرض الصابئة المندائيون – كحال الأقليات الأخرى في العراق – للاضطهاد الديني والعرقي، بما في ذلك التعذيب والقتل والاغتصاب والترحيل والزواج القسري.

وعلى الرغم من أن تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية لم يصل أبداً إلى موطن المندائيين التاريخي في جنوب العراق، إلا أن مجتمع المندائيين تحمّل انتهاكاتٍ جسيمة لحقوق الإنسان مرتبطة بتصاعد التطرف الإسلامي وانعدام الأمن. تاريخياً، كان ينظر إلى المندائيين كأثرياء لأن الكثير منهم يعملون في صياغة الذهب. بيد أنه في الفوضى التي أعقبت الحرب، أصبحوا هدفاً للعصابات الإجرامية وتعرضوا للسلب والنهب والخطف. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يُدين دينهم العنف بشكلٍ قاطع، مما يجعلهم عرضة للهجوم بشكلٍ خاص.

في تقرير مؤسسة الشرق الأوسط للبحوث (ميري) بعنوان الصابئة المندائيون: مفهوم المصالحة والصراع، روى أحد الطلبة المندائيين بقوله: “لقد حدثت الكثير من عمليات الاختطاف بسبب المال. لا نعرف بالضبط من يقف وراء ذلك، لكن اختطف أخي عام 2008. وكان علينا دفع الكثير من المال لإعادته.”

إن حقيقة عدم ختان الرجال المندائيين هي أيضاً مصدرٌ للتمييز، إذ أنه ووفقاُ لفيورت، يذكرنا ذلك بالتمييز العنصري في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية أو الفصل العنصري في جنوب افريقيا. من الأمثلة على ذلك عدم السماح للمندائيين بلمس المنتجات في أكشاك التسوق أو حتى دخول الاستراحة في العمل. وفي تقرير مؤسسة ميري، قال أحد صائغي الذهب المندائيين: “في ميسان [في جنوب شرق العراق]، اعتدنا أن يطلق علينا اسم منبوذون أو نجسون. عندما نذهب إلى جنازةٍ ما ونشرب الشاي، فإنهم حتى لا يغسلون الأطباق لاحقاً ولكن يكسرونها. هذا هو مستوى العنصرية ضدنا. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تم فرض ارتداء الحجاب علينا.”

ووفقاً لهابرل، “انخرط المندائيون بالكامل في الهوية المعاصرة للعراق، خذ على سبيل المثال عبد الجبار عبد الله، الذي كان أول مديرٍ لجامعة بغداد، أو الشاعرين لميعة عمارة وعبد الرزاق عبد الواحد. كان العديد من المندائيين صائغي ذهب، وغالباً ما كانوا متعلمين. وفي عهد صدام حسين، كانوا يشكلون نخبةً ذات نشاطٍ سياسي.” وأضاف:”صحيح أن حكم صدام حسين كان دكتاتورية استبدادية، ولكن إحدى معالمه كانت الثقافة العلمانية.”

في العقود الأخيرة، انخفض عدد المندائيين في العراق انخفاضاً ملحوظاً، مع بقاء أكثر من 300 أسرة، بحسب ليفورت. فر معظمهم إلى دولٍ غربية، مثل السويد وألمانيا وأستراليا والولايات المتحدة، مما أثار مخاوف بشأن بقاء الدين الذي ظل حتى الآن ضمن جماعةٍ متزاوجة، إذ لا يمكن للرجال والنساء على حد سواء سوى الزواج داخل مجتمعهم، الأمر الذي يطرح العديد من التحديات حيث بات المجتمع مشتتاً بشكلٍ متزايد.

وبحسب ما خلص هابرل، “بدأ الشتات حقاً في عام 2003. الآن، لا يملك المندائيون وطناً. ذهب كل شيء أدراج الرياح.” وأضاف “يقول الناس، ‘نحن بحاجة إلى التأقلم مع هذا الوضع الجديد. أطفالنا سيكبرون في الولايات المتحدة أو في ألمانيا، وسيتزوجون من خارج دينهم. كحال أي مجتمعٍ يعاني من أزمة، نحن بحاجة إلى التغيير.‘ لكن يعتقد كثيرون آخرون أيضاً أنهم بحاجة إلى الالتزام بما يعرفونه للبقاء على قيد الحياة كمجتمع.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ WISAM SAMI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / Mandaeism or the Forgotten Monotheism

Mandaeism or the Forgotten Monotheism

Specials- Mandaeism
An Iraqi from the religious Sabian-Mandaeism minority wait in line to be baptized in the waters of the Tigris river during the annual Golden Baptism Ceremony held in Baghdad 22 May 2006. Photo: WISAM SAMI / AFP ©AFP ⁃ WISAM SAMI

Little is known about Mandaeism, one of the oldest monotheisms in the world. Neither Jewish, Christian or Muslim, Sabian-Mandaeans constitute an ethno-religious group of less than 100,000 people who practise a monotheistic religion and whose first traces, according to French anthropologist Claire Lefort, may date back to Sumerian times, more than 3,000 years ago. However, experts have struggled to establish exactly when Mandaeism was born and no data are considered to be fully reliable.

After the advent of Islam, the name ‘Sabians’ was used to designate Mandaeans and some other groups. To this day, Mandaeans are still referred to as Sabians throughout the Middle East. Hence, many Mandaeans have come to describe themselves as ‘‘Sabian-Mandaean’, combining both exonym and antonym.

The lack of historical sources on the early history of Mandaeans explains why the religion has remained shrouded in myth and legend, according to Charles G. Häberl, a professor at Rutgers University and Mandaean expert. In a paper titled ‘Dissimulation or Assimilation? The Case of the Mandaeans’, he wrote that the Hran Gauaita text provides the primary historical account of the Mandaeans’ exodus from Palestine to southern Mesopotamia during the first century. He explains that until the middle of the 20th century, the text was only known to Mandaeans. However, oral accounts of their resettlement were transmitted for more than a thousand years. It was only when British cultural anthropologist Ethel S. Drower managed to get hold of a copy of the text that the source became accessible to scholars.

Since the 10th century, Muslim scholars and lawyers have discussed whether Mandaeans are ‘people of the book’ or not. The Koran considers three groups to be people of the book: Jews, Christians and Sabians. “The Sabians appeared as an enigmatic group in the Koran. When you actually start reading the commentaries, it seems no one had a clue. They could have been Egyptians, Greeks or companions of the Prophet Muhammad,” Häberl told Fanack.

In Islamic territory, being people of the book gave believers the right to practise their religion, provided they paid a tax called the djizya. For a long time, Sabian-Mandaeans benefited from this status, but this was compromised when several other groups claimed to be Sabians to demonstrate their Koranic legitimacy, raising suspicions about the veracity of their identity.

Mandaeism derives from the Mesopotamian religions that emerged around the Tigris and Euphrates rivers, in what is now southern Iraq and the Iranian province of Khuzestan. The Mandaeans gradually abandoned polytheism for a dualist system that hinges on an opposition between light and dark. In this regard, Mandaeism shares various features with other dualist Persian religions such as Zoroastrianism, Manicheism and the teaching of Mazdak.

Despite this dualism, Mandaeans only believe in one God who lives in the World of Light. In contrast, in the World of Darkness, there is a chief called Ruha and a prince called Ptahil, who is similar to the gnostic Demiurge and who corrupted all spiritual beings to lead them to create our world.

As a gnostic religion, Mandaeism believes in the salvation of the soul through the esoteric knowledge of God. In contrast with other gnostic religions, however, Mandaeism supports marriage and prohibits sexual licence.

According to Mandaean beliefs, Adam was the first prophet, followed by Seth and Sem. While the Judeo-Christian tradition considers Eve as responsible for original sin, Mandaeans consider that both Adam and Eve carry this burden. Mandaeans also revere John the Baptist, whom they believe is their last prophet, drawing from this belief their most important rite, the baptism. They can be baptized several times in their lives, during weekly ceremonies on Sundays or during their celebrations. Baptism can, however, only take place in flowing water. Water is the most significant element that comes from the World of Light and is therefore perceived as a source of life. Another key aspect of the religion is that Mandaeans cannot pray to idols or images. Their primary religious book is the Ginza Rabba, which means the ‘great treasure’ and is written in classical Mandaic, a form of Eastern Aramaic.

Today, Mandaeism is an endangered religion. Since the American-led intervention in Iraq in 2003, Sabian-Mandaeans have – like other minorities in Iraq – been subject to religious and ethnic persecution, including torture, murder, rape, forced conversion and marriage.

Although the Islamic State never reached the Mandaeans’ historical homeland in southern Iraq, the community has endured severe human rights violations linked to the rise of Islamic extremism and lack of security. Historically, Mandeans have been perceived as wealthy because many of them work in the goldsmith trade. In the chaos following the war, they thus became a target for criminal gangs and subject to looting, robberies and kidnapping. In addition, their religion categorically denounces violence, making them particularly vulnerable to attack.

In a report by the Middle East Research Institute (MERI) titled The Sabian-Mandaeans: Perceptions of Reconciliation and Conflict, a Mandaean student recounted: “We had a lot of kidnappings because of the money. We don’t know exactly who is behind it, but my brother was kidnapped in 2008. We had to pay a lot of money to get him back.”

The fact that Mandaean men are not circumcised is also a source of discrimination that, according to Lefort, is reminiscent of segregation in the United States or apartheid in South Africa. As examples, she writes that Mandeans cannot touch products on market stalls or enter the rest area at work. In the MERI report, a Mandaean goldsmith said: “In Missan [in south-eastern Iraq], we used to be called outcasts or negiz. When we go to a funeral and we drink tea, they do not even wash the dishes later but break them. This is the level of racism against us. In addition to that, the practice of wearing the veil was imposed on us.”

According to Häberl, “Mandaeans have been fully engaged in the contemporary identity of Iraq. Take the example of Abdul Jabbar Abdullah, who was the first director of the University of Baghdad, or the poets Lamia Amara and Abdel-Razzaq Abdel-Wahed. Many Mandaeans were jewellers. They were often literate. Under the reign of Saddam Hussein, they constituted an elite with a political activity.” He added, “It is true that the rule of Saddam Hussein was an authoritarian dictatorship, but one of its features was the secular culture.”

In recent decades, the number of Mandaeans in Iraq has considerably declined, with no more than 300 families remaining, according to Lefort.

Most have fled to Western countries, such as Sweden, Germany, Australia and the United States, raising concerns about the survival of the religion which, until now, has remained endogamous. Both men and women can only marry within their community, which poses various challenges as the community becomes increasingly scattered.

“Diaspora really began in 2003. Now, Mandaeans have no homeland. Everything is sort of up in the air,” Häberl concluded. “People say, ‘We need to acclimate to this new situation. Our children are going to grow up in the US or in Germany. They will date outside their religion. Like any community in crisis, we need to change’. But many others also believe they need to stick to what they know to survive as a community.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ WISAM SAMI | ©AFP ⁃ WISAM SAMI

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.