فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الأديان في الشرق الأوسط / أسباب تنامي تأثير علّامة العصور الوسطى، ابن تيمية

أسباب تنامي تأثير علّامة العصور الوسطى، ابن تيمية

Specials- Ibn Taymiyyah
Photo: Wikipedia

يُمكن القول أن ابن تيمية، من ناحية التأثير والنفوذ، أحد أهم علماء العصور الوسطى في العصر الحديث. فقد جعل الصعود السريع للسلفية على مدى السنوات الخمسين الماضية وإنعكاساتها، من ابن تيمية اسماً مألوفاً. ففي أي وقتٍ يتم فيه خوض نقاشٍ حول جذور التطرف الإسلامي أو السلفية الجهادية، يظهر اسم ابن تيمية بطريقةٍ أو بأخرى. فقد ربط بعض العلماء المنظمات الإرهابية مثل تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” بأفكار ابن تيمية في العصور الوسطى، في حين اعتبره آخرون عالماً عظيماً لا ينبغي فهمه إلا في السياق التاريخي المناسب. حتى في حياته لم يكن هناك إجماعٌ حوله، ووجهات نظره أدت إلى انقسام الآراء بشدة.

فقد كان ابن تيمية كاتباً غزير الإنتاج ينتمي إلى المذهب الحنبلي في الفقه الإسلامي، حيث نجت العديد من أعماله على مدى العصور. تتضمن مجموعة كتبه البارزة كتاب السياسة الشرعية في إصلاح الراعية والرعية ومنهاج السُنة.

فكل فردٍ تحكمه التفاصيل الاجتماعية- السياسية السائدة في عصره، وبالتالي، للحصول على فهمٍ أفضل لعقلية ابن تيمية، فمن الأفضل إلقاء نظرةٍ سريعة على المرحلة التاريخية التي عاش فيها. ولد ابن تيمية عام 1263 في مدينة حران وتوفي عام 1328 في دمشق. تزامنت حياته مع الاضطرابات السياسية، مما كان له، على الأرجح، تأثيرٌ عميق على آرائه.

في عام 1269، هجر ابن تيمية مع والده وأخوته حران، التي دمرت بالكامل بسبب الغزو المغولي. انتقلت العائلة إلى دمشق التي كانت آنذاك تحت حكم مماليك مصر. ومع ذلك، طغى التهديد المستمر للغزو المغولي على الحياة في دمشق.

وقع الغزو الأول في وقتٍ ما من عام 1299 عندما تمكن جيش المغول الإلخانات من الوصول إلى دمشق. استمر الغزو الثاني بين أكتوبر 1300 ويناير 1301، في الوقت الذي بدأ فيه ابن تيمية بإلقاء الخطب عن الجهاد للدفاع عن المدينة. بعد ذلك بفترةٍ قصيرة، في عام 1303، وقع الغزو المغولي الثالث لسوريا عندما أعلن ابن تيمية أن الجهاد ضد الهجوم المغولي على المماليك لم يكن مباحاً فحسب بل إلزامي. لم يدعو ابن تيمية المسلمين للجهاد فحسب، بل انضم شخصياً إلى المعركة ضد الجيش المغولي.

وبصرف النظر عن هذه التهديدات الخارجية التي أثرت على نظرته للعالم، كان يخوض باستمرار مواجهاتٍ مع الحكام المحليين. فقد شهد عام 1293 أول تصادمٍ كبير لابن تيمية مع السلطات المحلية، التي أصدرت عفواً عن مسيحي اتُهم بإهانة النبي، حيث أسفر ذلك عن سجنه لأول مرة. وفي عام 1298، تم اتهامه بالتجسيم (إسناد الصفات والخصائص البشرية إلى الكائنات الأخرى) وانتقاده لشرعية اللاهوت العقائدي.

وصلت مواجهاته مع السلطات الدينية والسياسية المحلية نقطةً حاسمة عندما أرسل في عام 1306 إلى القاهرة للمثول أمام مجلسٍ بتهمة التجسيم مرةً أخرى، حيث تمت إدانته وسجن في قلعة القاهرة لعامٍ ونصف. بيد أن هذه لم تكن المرة الأخيرة التي يُسجن فيها بسبب أرائه المثيرة للجدل، فعلى سبيل المثال، في عام 1308، قضى عدة أشهرٍ في السجن بسبب استنكاره ممارسة عبادة الأولياء باعتبارها مخالفة للقانون الديني. بشكلٍ عام ، قضى ابن تيمية جزءاً كبيراً من حياته في السجن، مما يدل على أن أفكاره لم تكن منطقيةً بالنسبة للحكام المحليين والخطاب الديني السائد في ذلك الوقت.

فقد كان ابن تيمية يعتقد أن الإسلام ملوث بالثقافات والتقاليد المحلية الزائفة. واقترح أن عدم الاستقرار السياسي والتهديدات الخارجية في ذلك الوقت كانت ببساطة نتيجةً لحقيقة أن المسلمين قد انحرفوا عن “الطريق الصحيح.” لذلك، كان يعتقد أنه يجب إنقاذ الإسلام مما اعتبره ابتكاراتٍ من صنع الإنسان. في ضوء ذلك، رغب في العودة إلى مصادر الإسلام الأصيلة، إذ كان يؤمن بالالتزام الصارم بالقرآن والسنة، وأن الإجماع ليس له قيمة بحد ذاته.

عارض تقريباً جميع أنواع التشفع والرمزية في العبادة، وبالتالي اعتبر زيارة الأولياء والأضرحة تدنيساً؛ إذ كان يعتقد أنها تتناقض مع وحدانية الحقيقة وختام رسالة محمد. وبالتالي، لم يتردد في وصف هذه الممارسات – التي كانت شائعة في العديد من المجتمعات الإسلامية في ذلك الوقت – بالهرطقة. باختصار، كان ضد إدماج الثقافة بالإسلام.

كما كان يعتقد ابن تيمية أن أفضل مثالٍ على الحياة الإسلامية هي الأجيال الثلاثة الأولى من الإسلام (أي السلف). لذا ينبغي على المسلمين الرجوع فقط إلى معارف السلف عند تفسير المصادر الدينية. كما كان يعتقد أن الأجيال الثلاثة الأولى خلقت المجتمع الإسلامي “المثالي.” وبالتالي، للكف عن الفساد، ينبغي على المرء اعتبارهم قدوةً في أي وقت، إذ كان ينظر إلى أي انحرافٍ عن ممارستهم على أنه بدعة أو ابتكار.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، يشتهر ابن تيمية بانتقاده للشيعة، إذ يعتبرهم مفلسين دينياً والسبب الجذري للعديد من مصائب الإسلام. فقد قال في كتابه “منهاج السنة النبوية” إنه لا ينبغي إعتبارهم مسلمين، بل يجب أن يواجههم المسلمون “الحقيقيون.” كما كان ابن تيمية من المؤيدين بقوة للجهاد باعتباره وسيلةً فعّالة لخلق مجتمعه المثالي. ففي كتاباته، سلط الضوء على الأهمية الدينية والسياسية للجهاد.

دون أدنى شك، كان لكتابات ابن تيمية تأثيرٌ عميق على محمد بن عبد الوهاب، العالم الحنبلي الذي أسس الوهابية في شبه الجزيرة العربية في القرن الثامن عشر. في الحقيقة، لولا الحركة الوهابية، التي ساهمت في نهاية المطاف في تأسيس الدولة السعودية الحديثة في أوائل القرن العشرين، لما كانت كتابات ابن تيمية تحظى بالأهمية التي تحظى بها اليوم. وعندما أصبحت الوهابية دين الدولة في المملكة العربية السعودية، ساهمت القوة الاقتصادية والإرادة الدينية السياسية لهذه المملكة المتعصبة في نشر الأفكار التي دعا إليها ابن تيمية في القرن الرابع عشر، على جناح السرعة.

واليوم، توجد حركاتٌ سلفية مختلفة في جميع أنحاء العالم مستوحاةٌ من كتابات ابن تيمية. وبالإضافة إلى الأصوليين والنشطاء السلفيين، كان الجهاديون السلفيون يشيرون إلى ابن تيمية باعتباره مُلهمهم. فعلى سبيل المثال، حمل تنظيم داعش لواء أفكارٍ وممارساتٍ دعا إليها ابن تيمية، بشتى الطرق. وبعد قرونٍ عديدة من وفاته، ترجمت أفكاره، التي اعتبرها الكثير من علماء عصره غير مقبولة، إلى أفعالٍ سياسية. كان ابن تيمية صنيعة عصره، ونظراً لعدم الإستقرار السياسي في تلك الفترة، كانت أفكاره مشروطةً بكل وضوح بالإضطرابات والصراعات آنذاك. ومن المثير للاهتمام أننا نرى كيف أنه بعد قرونٍ عدة، في عصرٍ آخر من الاضطرابات والصراعات التي تجتاح الشرق الأوسط اليوم، وجدت أفكاره سبيلاً جديداُ.

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Religions in the Middle East / Why the Impact of the Medieval Scholar Ibn Taymiyyah is Growing

Why the Impact of the Medieval Scholar Ibn Taymiyyah is Growing

Specials- Ibn Taymiyyah
Photo: Wikipedia

In terms of impact and influence, it is possible to say that Ibn Taymiyyah is of the most important medieval Islamic scholars of modern times. The rapid rise of Salafism over the last fifty years and its repercussions have made Ibn Taymiyyah a familiar name. Any time there is a discussion about the roots of Islamic extremism or jihadi Salafism, the name of Ibn Taymiyyah is featured in one way or another. Some scholars have linked terror organizations such as Islamic State (IS) to the medieval ideas of Ibn Taymiyyah, while others have regarded him as a great scholar who should only be understood within the appropriate historical context. Even in his own lifetime there was no consensus around him, and his perspectives sharply divided opinions.

He was a prolific writer who belonged to the Hanbali school of jurisprudence. Many of his works have survived through the ages. Some of his notable books include As-siyā-sat ash-sharʿīyah (or Treatise on Juridical Politics) and Manhāj as-sunnah (or The Way of Tradition)

Every individual is conditioned by the prevailing socio-political particulars of their time. Hence, in order to gain better insight into Ibn Taymiyyah’s mind, it is best to briefly glance at the historical phase in which he lived. Ibn Taymiyyah was born in 1263 in Harran and died in 1328 in Damascus. His life coincided with a politically turbulent time, which likely had a profound impact on his views.

In 1269, Ibn Taymiyyah together with his father and siblings left Harran which was completely destroyed by the Mongol invasion. The family moved to Damascus, which at the time was ruled by the Mamluks of Egypt. However, life in Damascus was also overshadowed by the constant threat of the Mongol invasion.

The first invasion took place between in 1299 when the Ilkhanate army managed to reach Damascus. The second invasion lasted between October 1300 and January 1301, at which time Ibn Taymiyyah began giving sermons on jihad to defend the city. Soon after that, in 1303, the third Mongol invasion of Syria took place when Ibn Taymiyyah declared that jihad against the Mongol attack on the Mamluks was not only permissible but obligatory. Ibn Taymiyyah did not only call Muslims to jihad but also personally joined the battle against the Mongol army.

Apart from these external threats which affected his worldview, he was constantly in confrontation with the local rulers as well. In 1293 Ibn Taymiyyah had his first major clash with local authorities, who pardoned a Christian who was accused of having insulted the Prophet. That resulted in his first imprisonment. In 1298, he was accused of anthropomorphism and for having criticized the legitimacy of dogmatic theology.

His confrontations with the local religious and political authorities reached a breaking point when in 1306 he was sent to Cairo to appear before a council on charges of anthropomorphism again. He was found guilty and imprisoned in the Cairo citadel for a year and a half. This was not the last time he was imprisoned for his controversial ideas. For example, in 1308, he spent several months in prison for having denounced the practice of worshiping saints as being against the religious law. Overall, Ibn Taymiyyah spent a considerable part of his life in prison, which indicates his ideas were not considered legitimate by the local rulers and the prevailing religious discourse of the time.

Ibn Taymiyyah believed that Islam was contaminated by inauthentic local cultures and traditions. He suggested that the political instability and external threats at the time were simply a result of the fact that Muslims had deviated from the ‘true path’. Therefore, he believed that Islam should be saved from what he considered to be man-made innovations. In this light, he desired a return to the authentic sources of Islam. He believed in a strict adherence to both the Koran and the Sunnah, and that the ijmāʿ, or community consensus, had no value in itself.

He opposed almost all types of intercessions and symbolism in worship and accordingly considered saints and shrine visitations as sacrilegious; he believed they contradicted the oneness of truth and the finality of Mohamed’s message. He therefore did not hesitate to call these practices – which were popular in various Muslim societies at the time – heretical. In short, he was against an amalgamation of culture and Islam.

Ibn Taymiyyah believed that the best role models for Islamic life were the first three generations of Islam (salaf). Therefore, Muslims should refer only to the understanding of the salaf when interpreting scriptural sources. He also believed that the first three generations created the ‘ideal’ Muslim society. Hence in order to refrain from corruption, one must closely follow their examples at any time. Any deviation from their practice was viewed as bid’ah, or innovation.

Ibn Taymiyyah is famous for his criticism of Shia Muslims; he regarded them as religiously bankrupt and the root cause of many of Islam’s ills. In his major book Manhaj as-sunnah an-nabawiyyah, he argued that they should not be considered Muslims and, in fact, should be confronted by the ‘true’ Muslims. Ibn Taymiyyah was also a strong advocate of jihad as an effective instrument to create his ideal society. In his writings, he extensively highlighted the religio-political significance of jihad.

Without a doubt, Ibn Taymiyyah’s writing had a profound influence on Muhammad ibn Abd al-Wahhab, a Hanbali scholar who founded Wahhabism in the Arabian Peninsula in the 18th century. Perhaps had it not been for the Wahhabi movement, which eventually helped lead to the establishment of the modern Saudi state in the early 20th century, Ibn Taymiyyah’s writing would not have its current importance. When Wahhabism became the state religion of Saudi Arabia, the economic power and the religio-political will of this new zealous kingdom rapidly helped to spread ideas which were advocated by Ibn Taymiyyah in the 14th century.

Today there are various Salafi movements across the world which have been inspired by Ibn Taymiyyah’s writing. In addition to purists and activist Salafis, Salafi jihadis have been referring to Ibn Taymiyyah for inspiration. For example, IS in many ways championed ideas and practices which were advocated by Ibn Taymiyyah. Many centuries after his death, his ideas, which were once considered unacceptable by many scholars of his time, have been translated into political action. Ibn Taymiyyah was a creature of his time, and given the political instability of this period, his ideas were clearly conditioned by turbulence and conflict. It is interesting to see how many centuries later, at yet another time of conflict and turbulence in the Middle East, his ideas have found a new agency.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.